Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2008 All Stars

• 21-09-2008 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    2.Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone)
    3.Michael Ennis (Westmeath)
    4.Kieron O Connor (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    10.Declan O Sullivan (Kerry)
    11.Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
    13.Colm Cooper (Kerry)
    14.Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
    15.Mattie Forde (Wexford)

This is my stab at the all stars.It really was hard to keep the number of Tyrone all stars down but Tyrone were way ahead of the rest this year.The forward lines were also difficult.Meehan,Lyng,Banville and Cussen were all worthy nominations and could be slotted into anybody all star list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

blackbelt wrote: »
    1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    4.Kieron O Connor (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    11.Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
    13.Colm Cooper (Kerry)

This is my stab at the all stars.It really was hard to keep the number of Tyrone all stars down but Tyrone were way ahead of the rest this year.The forward lines were also difficult.Meehan,Lyng,Banville and Cussen were all worthy nominations and could be slotted into anybody all star list.

I think Tommy Walsh instead of Mattie Forde as I have a feeling he will be named young footballer of the year for what he did in the U-21's as well what he did with the seniors. Great list, that is pretty close to what the all stars should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

1. Masterson; 2. Ryan McMenamin, 3. Conor Gormley, 4. Marc O'Sé; 5. Davy Harte, 6. Tomás Ó'Sé, 7. Philip Jordan; 8. Pearse O'Neill, 9. Enda McGinley, 10. Brian Dooher, 11. Colm Cooper, 12. Ciarán Lyng; 13. Ronan Clarke, 14. Séan Cavanagh, 15. Keiran Donaghy.

Lots of unusual decisions here IMO. No Shane Ryan, Joe McMahon, Dara O'Sé. Ciarán Lyng ahead of Mattie Forde? No Tommy Walsh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I merged the two threads. I have to say that I perfer the look of the Sunday Game selection to your Blackbelt. I will post mine tomorrow when I have more time

Here's mine:

Hearty; McMenamin, McMahon, Lynch; Harte, T. O'Sé, Jordan; Ryan, McGinley; Dooher, Cavanagh, O'Sullivan; Meehan, Donaghy, Walsh.

Cavanagh and Donaghy going for the same spot. Moved Cavanagh out to centre forward. He seemed to roam out to the half-forward line from time to time throughout the championship anyway. No Cooper, I know he did get some crucial scores for Kerry (goal against Cork in the Semi replay) but he wasn't his best this year. Shane Ryan makes it in midfleid for me ahead of Dara O'Sé for his huge improvement this year.

I merged the two threads. I have to say that I perfer the look of the Sunday Game selection to your Blackbelt. I will post mine tomorrow when I have more time

Is that because they have some Wexford players on their team? Baffled by Masterson between the sticks, I remember the Dubs scoring 3 goals against him in one game.

I think most of the football pundits on the Sunday game haven't a clue. Tohill and McStay seem to have real attitudes and often dig themselves into holes. Tony Davis is the only logical one. Brolly is good in the entertainment stakes. He was the only one to predict the winner correctly today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

At least you didn't pick M. O'Se. The rest on the Sunday game team I could understand!

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    3.C. Gormley (Tyrone) (today decided it)
    4.A. Lynch (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.E. McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.M. McGrath (Fermanagh) (to be through what he has been through and still be the best midfielder in Ulster and indeed against Kildare)
    10.Dooher (Tyrone)
    11.Cooper (Kerry) (for play making)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone) (though Lyng close, the versatility won it)
    13.T. McGuigan (Tyrone) (for class and grafting, you can leave the other 2 inside all day)
    15.Star (Kerry)

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Seanies32 wrote: »
    At least you didn't pick M. O'Se. The rest on the Sunday game team I could understand!

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    3.C. Gormley (Tyrone) (today decided it)
    4.A. Lynch (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.E. McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.M. McGrath (Fermanagh) (to be through what he has been through and still be the best midfielder in Ulster and indeed against Kildare)
    10.Dooher (Tyrone)
    11.Cooper (Kerry) (for play making)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone) (though Lyng close, the versatility won it)
    13.T. McGuigan (Tyrone) (for class and grafting, you can leave the other 2 inside all day)
    15.Star (Kerry)

That makes 1 player from the 4 provincial champions. I think people will care even less about them next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    4.Kieron O Connor (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    11.Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
    13.Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Come off it thats a joke right, Kieran O'Connor? Shane Ryan? Alan Brogan? And no Donaghy!

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    4.Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Brendan Doyle (?) (Wexford)
    9.Séamus Scanlon (Kerry)
    11.Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
    12.Micheal Meehan (Galway)
    13.Colm Cooper (Kerry)
    14.Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)

Maybe ^ Not sure about Marc or Ennis but other then that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Come off it thats a joke right, Kieran O'Connor? Shane Ryan? Alan Brogan? And no Donaghy!

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    4.Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    9.Séamus Scanlon (Kerry)
    13.Colm Cooper (Kerry)

i dont think donaghy was too impressive this year compared to other years.maybe a nomination but there is no way in hell he should get one ahead of sean cavanagh thats for sure.

and please,seamus scanlon is not in the running for an all star.he had one good game in my book against cork in the replay,scoring 2 nice points but scanlon...not a hope.you are having a laugh right.

i am open to discussion on alan brogan.all the matches he did play he stood out by a mile.its unfortunate he went off injured v tyrone.shane ryan is the most consistent and improving midfielder.his man of the match performance against wexford merits an all star.

i picked michael ennis for westmeath because he was a great defender and went forward to score goals and points.he gave westmeath a platform to build on to beat the dubs but the westmeath full forward line especially dolan wasted that chance so ennis has to be commended.

CyberDave wrote: »
    1. Masterson; 2. Ryan McMenamin, 3. Conor Gormley, 4. Marc O'Sé; 5. Davy Harte, 6. Tomás Ó'Sé, 7. Philip Jordan; 8. Pearse O'Neill, 9. Enda McGinley, 10. Brian Dooher, 11. Colm Cooper, 12. Ciarán Lyng; 13. Ronan Clarke, 14. Séan Cavanagh, 15. Keiran Donaghy.

Lots of unusual decisions here IMO. No Shane Ryan, Joe McMahon, Dara O'Sé. Ciarán Lyng ahead of Mattie Forde? No Tommy Walsh?

I would have Ciaran Lyng ahead of Forde definitely. Lyng has been very productive all year, he has been almost perfect with placed balls and has chipped in from open play. He hasn't had some of the big scoring games that Forde has had because of the tactics that Wexford have used at times, but, when his role changed against Tyrone he stepped up to the mark big time.
    Is that because they have some Wexford players on their team? Baffled by Masterson between the sticks, I remember the Dubs scoring 3 goals against him in one game.

Poor attempt at getting a rise out of me there ;) One game, the all-stars shouldn't be picked on one game. Masterson had clean sheets against Armagh, Tyrone, Down and Laois, including a great save to make sure that Armagh didn't come back in the game. Being a goalkeeper is not just about shot stopping, one of the big concerns about this Wexford team was winning ball in the middle third. His kick outs were crucial, both short and long, for the success of the team.
    i dont think donaghy was too impressive this year compared to other years.maybe a nomination but there is no way in hell he should get one ahead of sean cavanagh thats for sure.

I think they both should get one. Donaghy has been very influential this year for Kerry. While you may not think he has been as impressive as other years he has been impressive for me.
    and please,seamus scanlon is not in the running for an all star.he had one good game in my book against cork in the replay,scoring 2 nice points but scanlon...not a hope.you are having a laugh right.

i am open to discussion on alan brogan.all the matches he did play he stood out by a mile.its unfortunate he went off injured v tyrone.shane ryan is the most consistent and improving midfielder.his man of the match performance against wexford merits an all star.
    I am wondering how you can say Shane Ryan should get an all-star based on his performance in the Wexford game, but Scanlon not get one for the Cork game, a bit of a contradiction there. TBH I don't think that either deserve an all-star but that both will probably get nominations.

As for Brogan, with the exception of the Wexford game I don't think that he looked very impressive. I think that with the exception of that game where he scored 1-03, that he hasn't had a decent score against any other opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

So you'd givean All Star to Alan Brogan and Shane Ryan for playing well-ish vs Louth, Westmeath and Wexford.
    But you wouldn't give an All Star to Donnaghy and Scanlon for playing well vs Clare, Monaghan, Cork Twice (badly once) and Galway. Also yesterday Scanlon played well but was substituted at the wrong time, and Donnaghy soldiered on through the injury... Slight bit of hypocracy.

Tommy Walsh for Young Player of the Year maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Surprised with people saying Masterson, thought he was some what of a weak link for wexford. Very Nervy at times throughout the championship. Absolutlely sicken Red Barry didn't have a better game against Tyrone or he was a Shoe-in

People saying Shane Ryan and Brogan. Not too sure but by the Sunday game panelists scoring i'd say Shane Ryan does deserve a place IMHO hes the best midfielder in the country,but by my scoring of deserving all star he doesn't deserve a place. Ya dig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

thomas o shea will defo get one, mark had a super game yesterday. killian young wont be far off, but Harte, O Shea and Jordan will be the half back line.

full back like is wide open, with 2 tyrone lads and then a few lads fight for the number 4 spot.

it was a bad year for goal keeping. nobody stands out. pascal mconnell could get it after his display yesterday :D

suppose mcginly will get one midfield spot, but i think Darragh o Shea had a super game yesterday. he may not get it as he was sent off. scanlon was ok yesterday, didnt think he should have went.that may have cost him an all star. shane ryan will not get an all star. the second spot is open.cant see o neill getting it.

forwards, well from kerry, tommy walsh and gooch should get them, with kavanagh getting one also. young player of the year award could cost tommy walsh. i dont think donaghy will get one, tho he did get 2 man of the match awards. dooher will prob get the 10 and i think matty forde should get one. i would need to think about the team tho to finalise it. will be hard to predict it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    3.Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)
    4.Kieron O Connor (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Barry Cahill (dublin)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    11.Biran Dooher (Tyrone)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
    13.Michael Meehan (Galway)

I know Barry Cahill got one last year and is unlikley to get one again but he was dublins best player imo

Alany wrote: »
    1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    3.Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)
    4.Kieron O Connor (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Barry Cahill (dublin)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    11.Biran Dooher (Tyrone)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone)

I know Barry Cahill got one last year and is unlikley to get one again but he was dublins best player imo

Tom O'Sullivan had a poor game against Galway and had to be switched off Meehan. I definitely think McMahon deserves the full-back birth ahead of him.

I would have Ciaran Lyng ahead of Forde definitely. Lyng has been very productive all year, he has been almost perfect with placed balls and has chipped in from open play. He hasn't had some of the big scoring games that Forde has had because of the tactics that Wexford have used at times, but, when his role changed against Tyrone he stepped up to the mark big time.

A lot of what you say is true, but Forde got the big scores when the pressure was on, like the goal against Armagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Tom O'Sullivan had a poor game against Galway and had to be switched off Meehan.
    And got destroyed early on yesterday too. Don't think he should get one.

And Blackbelt, while I'm sure you have your reasons, how you can leave out Dooher is beyond me.

Don't think Tommy Walsh will (or should) get an All-Star but would be a deserved Young Player of the Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Alany wrote: »
    1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    3.Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)
    4.Kieron O Connor (Cork)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Barry Cahill (dublin)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8.Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    11.Biran Dooher (Tyrone)
    12.Joe McMahon (Tyrone)

very weak team. at least 6, if not 7, of that team will be no where near it. gooch will walk on to the team. was brilliant yesterday as was against cork and galway. if anybody does not think gooch deserves an all star, then i would seriously question your footballing judgement. i dont think meehan should get one based on 1 good performance, but i would not be surprised one bit, maybe a way of giving one to provincial winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Frankdtank

1.Anthony Masterson 2.Ryan McMenamin 3.Justin McMahon 4.Conor Gormley5.Davy Harte 6. Tom Se7. Philip Jordan 8. Pearce O Neill 9.Enda McGinley 10.Brian Dooher 11.Declan O Sullivan 12.Ciaran Lyng
    13.Gooch 14.Sean Cavanagh POTY 15. Ronan Clarke

Thats my team lads always very interesting but dont think ill be very far off with this team. Unlucky to miss out Keane,Meehan,Forde,Joe McMahon and Walsh

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Surprised with people saying Masterson, thought he was some what of a weak link for wexford. Very Nervy at times throughout the championship. Absolutlely sicken Red Barry didn't have a better game against Tyrone or he was a Shoe-in

dont know how you think that when he kept 4 clean sheets out of 6, and in the Meath game he made 3 absolutely vital saves during the first half that would have virtually sealed it for Meath. His kick outs were good and used the short and long kick well.

most Wexford people who saw their games this year would have Forde well down on the list of Wexford performers. Whilst grabbing headlines, other players would be rated higher for their performances this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Ah Blackbelt (2 dubs) come on like:D
    Goalie (cant decide)
    Kerry only deserve 3 this year T o Se, D O Se and Gooch.
    I think McGrath of Fermanagh should get one with O Se at midfield
    Tyrone should get about 7 in total 2,4,5 and 7 should all be Tyrone. Maybe Ennis or Gormley at 3 (Cant decide)
    I would select the Gooch at 11 , at 10 Dooher and the Wexford chap Red Barry at 12.
    Full forward line Id go with Cavanagh Clarke and Meehan (Or McDonnald)

Okay here is my slighty biased picks, but not more than some people on here ;)

1. Anthony Masterson
    2. Ryan McMenamin
    3. Conor Gormley
    4. Anthony Lynch
    5. Davy Harte
    6. Tomás Ó'Sé
    7. Philip Jordan
    8. Pearse O'Neill
    9. Enda McGinley
    10. Redmond Barry
    11. Colm Cooper
    12. Ciarán Lyng
    13. Ronan Clarke
    14. Séan Cavanagh
    15. Kieran Donaghy

hawkwing wrote: »
    That makes 1 player from the 4 provincial champions. I think people will care even less about them next year...

LOL That was my team, but if you want to include the usual politics, there would be one from each of the provincial champions, the League champions, 3/4 from the AI losers and 6/7 from the winners!

Going on that Lyng, Meehan and O'Neill would be in. For Dublin probably Bernard Brogan. The problem is who loses out?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

DDC1990 wrote: »

1.John Devine (Tyrone)
    4.Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)
    5.David Harte (Tyrone)
    6.Tomas O Se (Kerry)
    7.Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    9.Séamus Scanlon (Kerry)
    13.Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Jaysus 6 Kerry and 5 Tyrone! I know it's the Kerry sunglasses but:

How you can leave out the main reasons they improved and won the AI, E. McGinley and Cavanagh?

Poor attempt at getting a rise out of me there ;) One game, the all-stars shouldn't be picked on one game. Masterson had clean sheets against Armagh, Tyrone, Down and Laois, including a great save to make sure that Armagh didn't come back in the game. Being a goalkeeper is not just about shot stopping, one of the big concerns about this Wexford team was winning ball in the middle third. His kick outs were crucial, both short and long, for the success of the team.

I was just having the craic with you. He is a Cluxton like keeper in relation to his kickouts, he is quite good. But I think Devine deserves the AS. Redmond Barry, Ciaran Lyng and Mattie Forde are shoo ins for a nomination but I think neither of them will get the AS, although Lyng has an outside chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Who do you all think will get player of the year?

Sean Cavanagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Unlike the RTE panel,I picked the players based on what their actual real positions are.I know I left out Dooher but I could easily have him in the team.

I think it is actually between Cavanagh and Dooher.Walsh will probably get young player of the year award.However,I think they just base it on championship.Had they placed emphasis on the league,my cousin David Duffy (Westmeath midfielder) along with Eamon Fennell would get nominations.Unfortunately,league will probably be disregarded and while these two midfielders weren't afforded the proper opportunity in the champo,they won't be acknowledged.:(

Unlike the RTE panel,I picked the players based on what their actual real positions are.I know I left out Dooher but I could easily have him in the team.

I think it is actually between Cavanagh and Dooher.Walsh will probably get young player of the year award.However,I think they just base it on championship.Had they placed emphasis on the league,my cousin David Duffy (Westmeath midfielder) along with Eamon Fennell would get nominations.Unfortunately,league will probably be disregarded and while these two midfielders weren't afforded the proper opportunity in the champo,they won't be acknowledged.:(

On league performance, Fergal Doherty, but then you're putting him ahead of McGinley, McGrath, Doyle, Duffy (even if he is your cousin!), Ryan, O'Neill, O' Se etc.

Also his temperament is suspect but sure since the sending off rule went, who cares?

Players of the year, McGinley or Cavanagh.

Personally, I'd give it to Joe McMahon for versatility, the goal against Dublin to finish the game and his marking on Walsh, though it was borderline legal!

I was just having the craic with you. He is a Cluxton like keeper in relation to his kickouts, he is quite good. But I think Devine deserves the AS. Redmond Barry, Ciaran Lyng and Mattie Forde are shoo ins for a nomination but I think neither of them will get the AS, although Lyng has an outside chance.

How can you say he is good and the compare him to Cluxton :P
    smashey wrote: »
    Who do you all think will get player of the year?

Sean Cavanagh?

I would say that Sean Kavanagh will get player of the year and Tommy Walsh will get young player.

In relation to picking a player from all of the provincial champions, I woul have picked Joyce from Galway ahead of Meehan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Dooher and Walsh absolute certain for the respective player of the year awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Regardless of who makes the All Star Team, I have to say that the quality of football, once into the AI series proper was very high and hence the competition for places on the All Star Team will be very competitive.

I know a lot of people have been pessimistic about the competitiveness of the football championship over the last few years, but this year a lot of teams really put it up to Kerry and but for the kick of a ball could have beaten them, while on the other side of the draw, Tyrone and Wexford really are forces to be reckoned with.

Overall I think everyone else is coming up and even surpassing Kerry's level and this has to be good for the future of the game.

No more than in hurling, it's not good to have the same county winning year after year, since people lose interest in the lesser counties and turn to other sports.

I think the certainties are Dooher, Gooch, possibly Cussan at full forward with Cavanagh corner forward, Declan O'Sullivan, don't know is there room for Michael Meehan or Padraic Joyce

...the backs will be harder to pick, but there was some wonderful displays of forward play this year...

I don't think Tommy Walsh did enough to justify inclusion, he was taken off in the final after a quiet game, and has a habit of dissapearing from games for long periods when Kerry most need him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

plasmaguy wrote: »
    I think the certainties are Dooher, Gooch, possibly Cussan at full forward with Cavanagh corner forward, Declan O'Sullivan, don't know is there room for Michael Meehan or Padraic Joyce

Cussen will be extremely lucky to even get a nomination imo, and certainly doent deserve an all-star, he couldnt make the cork team at the start of the year, he was completely ineffective anytime he was moved to midfield and there were at least three better full forwards -Donaghy, Kavanagh and Clarke

I agree - think Cork's forward effort was generally more of a team thing, although if I were picking anyone out, it'd have to be John Hayes. But Cussen, no way for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I cannot understand why people are including Marc O'Se. He had a dodgy enough year by his standards. Freeman caused him alot of problems and Meehan gave him a roasting in the Galway match while he was on him. I don't think Kieran Donaghy had that great a year either.

Cavanagh is a shoo-in for player of the year. He was good in all the games and rounded it off with an outstanding performance against Kerry. Tommy Walsh would have to be near enough a dead cert for young player of the year too.

In relation to picking a player from all of the provincial champions, I woul have picked Joyce from Galway ahead of Meehan

Good call, finally a man talking sense! Joyce was outstanding all year, right through the league and championship. He didn't play that badly against Kerry either, he won his share of ball but wasn't as influential as he had been in other games and was well marked that day by AOM. I'd have to admit that Meehan probably doesn't deserve one on his overall performances throughout the year, brilliant as he was against Kerry. A worthy nominee though.

I think Tommy Walsh instead of Mattie Forde as I have a feeling he will be named young footballer of the year for what he did in the U-21's as well what he did with the seniors. Great list, that is pretty close to what the all stars should be.

The young player of the year often doesn't get an all-star, odd as that may seem. Maybe they feel he's being acknowledged already by getting the ypoty award.

And blackbelt I don't know why you put Alan Brogan on it, he didn't do anything special this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Official nominations just announced.
    Delighted that Wexford got 4
    Think Masterson is now a shoe-in for 1 at least

Goalkeeper
    Gary Connaughton (Westmeath)
    Anthony Masterson (Wexford)
    James Reilly (Cavan)

Full Backs
    Francie Bellew (Armagh) All-Star '03
    Finian Hanley (Galway)
    David Henry (Dublin)
    Conor Gormley (Tyrone)
    Justin McMahon (Tyrone)
    Dessie Mone (Monaghan)
    John Keane (Westmeath) All-Star '04
    Anthony Lynch (Cork) All-Star '99, '02
    Marc O'Se (Kerry) All-Star '06, '07

Half Backs
    Graham Canty (Cork) All-Star '07
    Michael Ennis (Westmeath)
    Davy Harte (Tyrone)
    Philip Jordan (Tyrone) All-Star '03, '05
    Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone) All-Star '05
    Ryan McCluskey (Fermanagh)
    Thomas McElroy (Fermanagh)
    Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry) All-Star '06, '07
    Tomas O'Se (Kerry) All-Star '04, '05. '07

Midfield
    Fergal Doherty (Derry)
    Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    Martin McGrath (Fermanagh) All-Star '04
    Darragh O'Se (Kerry) All-Star '00, '02, '06, '07
    Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    Seamus Scanlon (Kerry)

Half Forwards
    Redmond Barry (Wexford)
    John Doyle (Kildare)
    Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone) All-Star '03, '04, '05
    Michael Cussen (Cork)
    Pearse O'Neill (Cork)
    Brian Dooher (Tyrone) All-Star '03, '05
    Colm McCullough (Tyrone)
    Padraic Joyce (Galway) All-Star '98, '00, '01
    Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry) All-Star '07

Full Forwards
    Alan Brogan (Dublin) All-Star '06, '07
    Ronan Clarke (Armagh) All-Star '06
    Colm Cooper (Kerry) All-Star '02, '04, '05, '07
    Kieran Donaghy (Kerry) All-Star '06
    Tommy Walsh (Kerry)
    Matty Forde (Wexford) All-Star '04
    Ciaran Lyng (Wexford)
    Tommy McGuigan (Tyrone)
    Michael Meehan (Galway)

now that the nominations are out the picture is a bit clearer. Cavanagh has obvioulsy been nominated in the half forward line to accomodate someone else inside.

Here's what I think it will be now.

1.Gary Connaughton (hardly a vintage year for goalies really.Masterson to get it if Wexford don't claim one of the forward spots)
    2.not sure about this one
    3.Justin McMahon (almost certainly)
    4.Conor Gormley (probably)
    5.Davy Harte/Tomas O'Se (a close call. I'd give it to Harte but either would be deserving. Harte will get it I'd say, had a better final)
    6.Ryan McMenamin (close between himself and Aidan O'Mahony)
    7.I was going to say Phillip Jordan but that would leave Tyrone with 5 of the defensive positions which is unlikely. Cork will surely get one so maybe Graham Canty.
    8.Enda McGinley (a dead cert)
    9.Shane Ryan (should get this one)
    10.Brian Dooher (dead cert)
    11.Declan O'Sullivan (probably. Joyce was very good too but I can't see them not giving it to DOS)
    12.Sean Cavanagh (Player of the year)
    13.Gooch (very likely)
    14.Cavanagh's positioning at half forward is to make room for somebody else here, the contenders being Donaghy,Meehan and Forde. Donaghy wasn't as good as in other years and had a very poor final, maybe Meehan to be rewarded for his heroics against kerry, or Forde could get it either.
    15.could be any one of Forde,Meehan,Brogan,Lyng. Wexford will definitely get one and I expect it will be Forde, with Ciaran Lyng missing out.

That leaves Tyrone 7, Kerry 2, Cork 1, Galway 1, Dublin 1, Wexford 1, Westmeath 1. Kerry will probably get more than 2, so I'm thinking they might put Marc O'Se in at number 2 even though I don't think he had a great year overall.

Definitely a bit of moving about players there to facilitate a few players!

Doherty in midfield must be to recognise the League, he was immense and probably the biggest reason they beat Kerry!

1. Masterson (Wexford) Has to be really and also gives Wexford an All Star.

2. D. Mone (Monaghan) for both this and last year. (O'Se will get it though!)
    3. J. McMahon (Tyrone)
    4. A. Lynch (Cork) Personally I think Gormley should get it. This Sorts Corks All Star!

5. D. Harte (Tyrone)
    6. T. O'Se (Kerry)
    7. P. Jordan (Tyrone)

8. E.McGinley (Tyrone)
    9. S.Ryan (Dublin) Should be McGrath though, recognition of the best midfield and half back line in the country. This sorts the Dubs All Star though!

10. Dooher (Tyrone) Cert
    11. Cavanagh (Tyrone) Cert
    12. O'Sullivan (Kerry)

13. C. Cooper (Kerry)
    14. K. Donaghey (Kerry) Only 1 All Star
    15. R. Clarke (Armagh) Sorts the Ulster Champions. Forgot that!

A couple out of position but I think it will be close.

Covers 1 from the Provincial champions except Galway and 4 from Kerry, though I can see M.O'Se instead of Mone.

1 from Monaghan, 1 each for the 2 Semi Finalists and 6 from Tyrone.

Gormley, McMenamin and O'Mahoney unlucky to lose out, the same with McCloskey and Scanlon.
    Full forwards hard to pick. Meehan or Forde may sneak in, Forde because he has only 1 All Star, rather than this years performances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 L_Mn

Right Heres my team:

1.Anthony Masterson(Wexford)
    2.Conor Gormley(Tyrone)
    3.Justin McMahon(Tyrone)
    4.Anthony Lynch(Cork)
    5.Tomas O'Se(Kerry)
    6.Davy Harte(Tyrone)
    7.Micheal Ennis(Westmeath)
    8.Enda McGinley(Tyrone)
    9.Shane Ryan(Dublin)
    10.Brian Dooher(Tyrone)
    11.Sean Cavanagh(Tyrone)
    12.Declan O'Sullivan(Kerry)
    13.Gooch(Kerry)
    14.Kieran Donaghy(Kerry)
    15.Micheal Meehan(Galway) ( I have a feeling T Walsh will get it though, but doesn't deserve it IMO)

Tyrone-6
    Kerry-4
    Wexford, Dublin, Cork, Westmeath and Galway 1 each.

Pearse O Neill unlucky but the half forward line is a dead cert IMO
    Ryan McMen could shade it for Ennis but I'll stick with him.
    My only 50/50 is Forde or Walsh instead of Meehan.

Half forward line of Dooher, O'Sullivan, Cavanagh is a dead cert alright.

12. Joyce (Galway) Honoring probably his last year!

Joyce has stated that he has no intention of retiring yet. He's only 31 so no reason why he couldn't give it 1 more year at least. He was excellent this year having finally shaken off a niggling injury.

will1977 wrote: »
    Official nominations just announced.
    Delighted that Wexford got 4
    Think Masterson is now a shoe-in for 1 at least

Goalkeeper
    Gary Connaughton (Westmeath)
    Anthony Masterson (Wexford)
    James Reilly (Cavan)

Full Backs
    Francie Bellew (Armagh) All-Star '03
    Finian Hanley (Galway)
    David Henry (Dublin)
    Conor Gormley (Tyrone)
    Justin McMahon (Tyrone)
    Dessie Mone (Monaghan)
    John Keane (Westmeath) All-Star '04
    Anthony Lynch (Cork) All-Star '99, '02
    Marc O'Se (Kerry) All-Star '06, '07

Half Backs
    Graham Canty (Cork) All-Star '07
    Michael Ennis (Westmeath)
    Davy Harte (Tyrone)
    Philip Jordan (Tyrone) All-Star '03, '05
    Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone) All-Star '05
    Ryan McCluskey (Fermanagh)
    Thomas McElroy (Fermanagh)
    Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry) All-Star '06, '07
    Tomas O'Se (Kerry) All-Star '04, '05. '07

Midfield
    Fergal Doherty (Derry)
    Enda McGinley (Tyrone)
    Martin McGrath (Fermanagh) All-Star '04
    Darragh O'Se (Kerry) All-Star '00, '02, '06, '07
    Shane Ryan (Dublin)
    Seamus Scanlon (Kerry)

Half Forwards
    Redmond Barry (Wexford)
    John Doyle (Kildare)
    Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone) All-Star '03, '04, '05
    Michael Cussen (Cork)
    Pearse O'Neill (Cork)
    Brian Dooher (Tyrone) All-Star '03, '05
    Colm McCullough (Tyrone)
    Padraic Joyce (Galway) All-Star '98, '00, '01
    Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry) All-Star '07

Full Forwards
    Alan Brogan (Dublin) All-Star '06, '07
    Ronan Clarke (Armagh) All-Star '06
    Colm Cooper (Kerry) All-Star '02, '04, '05, '07
    Kieran Donaghy (Kerry) All-Star '06
    Tommy Walsh (Kerry)
    Matty Forde (Wexford) All-Star '04
    Ciaran Lyng (Wexford)
    Tommy McGuigan (Tyrone)
    Michael Meehan (Galway)

I am disappointed that Colm Morris didn't get a nomination

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Joyce has stated that he has no intention of retiring yet. He's only 31 so no reason why he couldn't give it 1 more year at least. He was excellent this year having finally shaken off a niggling injury.

I agree with this. Dooher is 33 and he will probably return next year for another crack at Sam. People have been trying to write Joyce off for the last two years. The minute Galway are beaten, it is mentioned in the media. Who would have thought after last years defeat to Meath, when Joyce wasn't even on the starting 15, that he would have the year he has had.

Ah but Dooher is a freak of nature! Sorry, even the Tyrone lads can't believe his fitness!

Joyce is a different type of player so age isn't as important. Thought he was a year or 2 older.

That makes O'Sullivan a Cert then, the half back line is too! Meehan comes into the picture now.

Did Sligo get an All Star last year? I think another year the Connacht champions didn't get one either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Ah but Dooher is a freak of nature! Sorry, even the Tyrone lads can't believe his fitness!
    I was reading Ryan McMenamin's interview in The Sunday Times and he said he had become a bit disillusioned but early this year he got the spark back and decided to put in the extra effort. As he put it, the training was a killer. Doing it with Brian Dooher made it a whole lot worse. :D

I was thinking the other day that it'd make sense to stick Cavanagh centre-half forward and Gooch in the corner, leaving more options in the full-forward line and making it easier to get Donaghy and Clarke both in if they want. So that makes sense to me.

But it strikes me as very odd that McMenamin is named in the half-back line - everyone knows he doesn't play at 2 but I thought he'd be nominated there for simplicity's sake. Certainly doesn't bode well for one of him, Harte or Jordan as they'll surely only get 2 of those spots beside Tomás Ó Sé. For me, Harte could well miss out as McMenamin complements his attacking with more defensive work than Harte.

Personally I still wouldn't be calling Declan O'Sullivan a dead cert either - he was injured, was quiet against Monaghan and really only shone consistently in the Galway game (and 10 minutes of the final) so think Lyng could still squeeze it... particularly if Forde gets cut in favour of a Clarke-Donaghy-Cooper full-forward line.

smashey wrote: »
    I was reading Ryan McMenamin's interview in The Sunday Times and he said he had become a bit disillusioned but early this year he got the spark back and decided to put in the extra effort. As he put it, the training was a killer. Doing it with Brian Dooher made it a whole lot worse. :D

True, think it was the Tribune who did a piece on him. The medical team where testing some of the Tyrone players. Their heart rates and lung capacity where at 100%, Dooher was just ticking along nicely!:D

He's only in his prime!

Joyce is a different type of player so age isn't as important.

Dooher is a grafter and Joyce is a more of a stylist.

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    I was thinking the other day that it'd make sense to stick Cavanagh centre-half forward and Gooch in the corner, leaving more options in the full-forward line and making it easier to get Donaghy and Clarke both in if they want. So that makes sense to me.

But it strikes me as very odd that McMenamin is named in the half-back line - everyone knows he doesn't play at 2 but I thought he'd be nominated there for simplicity's sake. Certainly doesn't bode well for one of him, Harte or Jordan as they'll surely only get 2 of those spots beside Tomás Ó Sé. For me, Harte could well miss out as McMenamin complements his attacking with more defensive work than Harte.

Personally I still wouldn't be calling Declan O'Sullivan a dead cert either - he was injured, was quiet against Monaghan and really only shone consistently in the Galway game (and 10 minutes of the final) so think Lyng could still squeeze it... particularly if Forde gets cut in favour of a Clarke-Donaghy-Cooper full-forward line.

Noticed that about Harte and McMenamin too. There's nothing between both of them.
    cyberdave wrote:
    Dooher is a grafter and Joyce is a more of a stylist.

IMO, not anymore, he's a playmaker from attacking deep when cleaning up at the full back line.

Those 2 points in the final where stylish enough for me! Best striker of the ball with the outside of the boot in the game, seems to do it in every match.

David O'Callaghan and Ronan Fallon have gotten All Star Nominations for the hurling. Kilkenny got 14 nominations, that is 1/3 of the nominations. Joe Canning was Galway's only representative in what was a bad year from them.

Hurling all stars story- http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0925/allstars1.html?gaa

List-
    Goalkeeper
    Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) AS 00, 01, 03
    Clinton Hennessy (Waterford)
    PJ Ryan (Kilkenny)

Full Backs
    Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny) AS 02, 03, 07
    Noel Hickey (Kilkenny) AS 00, 03
    Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny) AS 07
    Paul Curran (Tipperary)
    Conor O'Brien (Tipperary)
    Shane O'Neill (Cork)