Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your favourite tabloid headline?

• 21-09-2008 12:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

There's been some classics over the years but I reckon mine is :-

Freddie Star Ate My Hamster:D

See it on his Wiki page
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freddie_Starr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

RATM wrote: »
    There's been some classics over the years but I reckon mine is :-

Freddie Star Ate My Hamster:D

That would be more of a Headline rather than a tabloid.

Sunday Sport FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

The Sun for obvious reasons.

Does anyone remember the Weekly Sport I think it was called?
    Talk about false advertising!

tribulus wrote: »

That started life as The Sunday Sport then came out once a week too. Now it is a Daily edition.

Has a good take on modern SocioPoliticoPorno current events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I was particularly impressed with the poetry of one of The Sun's Falkland/Malvinas War headlines. "Bastards"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

'It Was The Sun Wot Won It'

'Up Yours Delores'

SUPER CALEY GO BALLISTIC, CELTIC ARE ATROCIOUS legendary back page headline in the Sun.

Mike.

The Daily Sport Headline when Versace was shot.

"Shoots you, Sir"

Classy!

After Pedro Diniz's Ligier burns into flames during the 1996 Argentian grand prix.

Pic>>> http://www.f1pl.com/images/random/diniz2.jpg

The Sun went with "Diniz in the Oven".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

This

No real time for the Sun. Would read the mirror now and again for my fix of Sport and celeb tittle tattle. Tabloids serve a purpose as much as the broadsheets do, I can't stand newspaper snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭blue4ever

I think the Daily Sport created another gem (after the Freddie one) they had ‘Bus found on Moon’ one the front page they had very badly superimposed a London bus on a picture of the moon – it was a classic.

The Sun ‘Stick it up your Junta’ when the Brits sunk the Belgrano (I think). Feflected the time/mood.

Our very own Daily Star during the whole horse doping/O’Connor fiasco – headline ‘Who’s Taken the Piss?’ after the second urine sample was stolen.

My favourite two relate to the same story. They both sailed so close to the edge: after George Michael was caught allegedly ‘cottageing’ initially The Sun had the headline ‘Don’t Let your Son go Down on Me’ – a classic play on the song title – then followed it up with (due to some details of Mr Michaels sex life) ‘Careless Whispa – replete with a huge picture of the bar.

Still makes me smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,979 ✭✭✭445279.ie

mike65 wrote: »

SUPER CALEY GO BALLISTIC, CELTIC ARE ATROCIOUS legendary back page headline in the Sun.

I agree 100%

cannot be beaten

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The one that appeared after a particularly riotous Féile one year:

TEENAGE MUTANTS BINGE IN THURLES

No idea which paper it was but it was a work of genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

I can't remember which paper it was (probably The Sun) but when Elton John & David Furnish got married the headline was......

Elton Takes David Up The Aisle :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

keefg wrote: »
    I can't remember which paper it was (probably The Sun) but when Elton John & David Furnish got married the headline was......

Bastard! I was just gonna post that! Best headline ever

Twas The Sun btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jaysus! What a question! A bit like asking me who my favourite Tallaght scumbag is.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

There was one brilliant headline in the Sunday World about 2 years ago. The story was about animals being skinned for their fur...........the headline was "For Fur's Sake" .......hardly amazing, but it made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

This one from the Daily Mirror back in 1998.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/qwghlm/46914328/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Don't touch tabloids me.

leave 'em for the chavs and skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

blue4ever wrote: »
    I think the Daily Sport created another gem (after the Freddie one) they had ‘Bus found on Moon’ one the front page they had very badly superimposed a London bus on a picture of the moon – it was a classic.

The Sun ‘Stick it up your Junta’ when the Brits sunk the Belgrano (I think). Feflected the time/mood.

I think the 'Stick it up you Junta' was when General Galtieris government unconditionally surrendered.
    When the Belgrano was sank the Sun ran with a simple 'GOTCHA', which was superb as well.
    Its a shame we no longer get the UK editions of the tabloids, the Irish editions always seem to lead with road accidents.

My fav Sunday Sport headline was a double one really.
    Week 1 they led with 'Statue of Elvis found on Mars', and the following week they led with 'Statue of Elvis Stolen from Mars'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Heard of a good Tabloid headline years ago, second hand from a mate.
    Can't remember the full details, but it was something about the BBC giving out about some idiot. The headline was

"The Beeb bops the lula"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

from spitting image
    Sex Porn Orgy Romp Titilation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

back page of the suns sport section after england gave a particulary poor show against uncle sam at soccer

YANKS 1 PLANKS 0

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Fromage Fray

In relation to small French cheesemakers' battle against the major dairy companies. Actually from the Guardian though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

My favourite two relate to the same story. They both sailed so close to the edge: after George Michael was caught allegedly ‘cottageing’ initially The Sun had the headline ‘Don’t Let your Son go Down on Me’ – a classic play on the song title – then followed it up with (due to some details of Mr Michaels sex life) ‘Careless Whispa – replete with a huge picture of the bar.

Still makes me smile.
    "Zip me up before you go go", think it was in the sun but can't remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Hungover, strolling into Centra for a Yop and some munch I peeked the Sun headline "Psychic Says Maddie is Still Alive".. I giggled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

keefg wrote: »

Another Elt one: He had just arrived back in the UK after a lengthy stint in the US and was looking decidedly pudgier... "Goodbye normal jeans".

I think some of these are urban myths. I heard of one about a male jockey who had a sex change and the headline was "...And they're off!" Don't know whether it's true or not though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

Kold wrote: »
    Hungover, strolling into Centra for a Yop and some munch I peeked the Sun headline "Psychic Says Maddie is Still Alive".. I giggled.
    haha that is funny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The Master wrote: »
    The Weekly World News... I don't know what exactly its function is - is it a pisstake or what?
    irish_bob wrote: »
    back page of the suns sport section after england gave a particulary poor show against uncle sam at soccer

YANKS 1 PLANKS 0
    Reminds me of when England was beaten by Sweden in Euro 92: "Swedes 2 Turnips 1".
    Don't touch tabloids me.

leave 'em for the chavs and skangers.
    Shur where would you get the time to read them anyway with all that highbrow activity you're engaging in... like starting poo threads and such... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

"They`ve taken the piss/Someone`s taken the piss"

Variants of the above on quite litreally every redtop when the urine sample from that Irish showjumpers horse went missing.

Original eh :pac:

i remember one a few years back, it was either the daily sport or the national enquirer:

ALIENS ABDUCTED MY SON AND TURNED HIM INTO FISH FINGERS.

pure class:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

did it even have any sport in it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,986 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

OPENROAD wrote: »
    This one from the Daily Mirror back in 1998.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/qwghlm/46914328/

Jaysus I dont remember that... muppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

In the sun, back in the day this incident got the headline "Ignited colours of Benetton"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

No, their headline for that was simply "Gotcha!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Has anybody mentioned Zip Me Up Before You Go Go (Geroge Michael's public toilet affair)...?

Also Swedes 1 Turnips 0. Poor Old Graham Taylor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

"Grossed out surgeon vomits inside patient"

What a beauty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

No, their headline for that was simply "Gotcha!".

Early editions of the Sun went out with that headline, but they quickly changed it afert they realised it was pretty ****ing tasteless and got loads of complaints. (I think it was actually "GOTCHA! you Argie Bastards.")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

Local rag once ran a story headlined: 'Boyracer is a girl' :pac:

Though it was gas, even if you didn't know the girl in question :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

The Sun also ran the "Bonkers Bruno Locked Up" headline till complaints forced a retraction

Not a headline but i went like this. " My husband crapped in my Spaghetti " , I kept that bad boy:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1736666.ece

Not the main headline, but the headline directly underneath the photo of your one pushing the pram :pac: :D

Not to mention the caps lockism in bold:

"Today The Sun can reveal how busty Yasmin has turned her BACK on her father’s fundamentalist teachings to flash her FRONT in men’s clubs. " :rolleyes:

There was also the "Sling your hook" headline regarding his one handed friend :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Super Sidious

My favourite was when the whole doping scandal with cian oconnors horse was doin the rounds, and the horses urine sample went missing, the start had...

"Whos's taken the piss?"

I laughed out loud in the shop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Estella

From the Sun, I think, Michael Jackson turned up to Court wearing his pyjamas, the headline,
    BANANAS IN PYJAMAS

Other one, which I though was clever,Tom Ford the designer was poached from some fashion house to work for Gucci. Headline (in the Times style magazine) was GUCCI COUP. Someone from Hotpress magazine must have also thought it was clever, cause they used the exact same headline a few weeks later.

This is more tragic than funny. From an American newspaper, a mental home had gone up in flames, I think a few people were killed. The headline, Roasted Nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Dave McSavage Beaten Up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭flybynight

SERBS YOU RIGHT!

One of the tabloid headlines when NATO started bombing Belgrade - classic!