Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you blow off charities/ beggers/ collections etc

• 19-09-2008 1:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭

It is indeed true to say that if one were to give generously at ever opportunity whilst walking the streets of Dublin in this day and age, quickly would one find oneself in the poorhouse. So, it is necessary for all of us, with a varying degree of frequency, to ignore the requests of the many who so endeavor to part us with our money. I, being of a peevish disposition, tend to look them in the eyes and walk straight past without wavering one jot. I am well aware that others adopt strategies much different to my own, and I would be interested in hearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

How about a polite no thank you

I'm inclined to give the benefit of the doubt to begging, if I have some change on me i'll let it go where possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I adopted a new apprach: I take postcards of my paintings with me and try and sell them to the chuggers. Nothing defeats a sales-pitch like a good old fashioned reversal.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

putting their cock in your mouth would be a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I used to live in town and they were the biggest pain... they were everywhere! Now I dont mind giving to charity, but I ain't giving my bank details to some chugger on the street..

After a while I generally just swore at them. A polite "F**K OFF" usually did the job. I also got a small badge that said "F** YOU"... Pointing to that as well generally did the trick :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Ask them politly, "would you accept a cheque" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

paint yourself black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

chugger: can i have a quick word?

me: "rapidly". /walk off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭CursedSkeptic

putting their cock in your mouth would be a good start.

Is such vulgarity really necessary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭krpc

"Get a job, you bum."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭krpc

Is such vulgarity really necessary?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I carry around headphones in my ears not attached to anything. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

My dad is from kerry and has a very very strong accent-he's approach is..."No-would you ever feck off!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

This is after hours.

Then again its about as necessary as Shakespearean dialect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

If a charity person asks "can i stop you for a second" or whatever. I say "no"
    Once a guy came up to me and said "Baby, give me a euro" I did my usual "no" He looked a bit suprised and said "why not"
    Yes i know it's rude. I have an attitude problem. I admit it..................
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Wagon wrote: »

You should get yourself a bucket and make up a charity. You might collect enough to buy an mp3 player then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Wagon wrote: »

This does not deter them anymore, they guy who begs at the luas at Stephens Green was roaring at me the other day, when I didn't hear him because of my earphones.

Why wouldn't you just attach them to something anyway when you have them in? If they are there to prevent the chuggers etc would it not be nice to have music too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Cremo wrote: »
    chugger: can i have a quick word?

me: "rapidly". /walk off.

me: "you just had one!" - walks off.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Just say a work takes of a percent of your wages which is donated to various charities.

Works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Irish homeless will get my all my change 9 times out of 10, random charitys with buckets I just don't trust... I usually just say no thanks or if its one of those poor concern ****ers I'll stop and let them say thier piece and politely decline.

Yes thats right, I'm not an asshole*

*subject to terms and conditions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Just keep on walkin'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Have ye got change of a fifty?? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

i usually say no and then ask them for a smoke,works all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

"I have no Concern!"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Chugger: Can you spare a few minutes?

Me: HEADBUT

Then walk away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

The Master wrote: »
    Chugger: Can you spare a few minutes?

Yes. But no money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Chuggers arent allowed get bank details of anyone under 18. i just tell them im 17 and they leave me alone. i look young so i get away with it.

i think everyone should tell the chuggers that they are 17. How are the chuggers going to prove you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Beggars try every trick in the book to get a few quid out of ya, I just ignore their big puppy/Drugged up eyes and walk on.

"Get the Boat!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Try to avoid making eye contact with them as much as possible, the majority of them pick their targets this way. I usually try to make sure there is someone between me and the chugger. If i am approached, i give a quick "No thanks" while maintaining current velocity.

Well for the junkies what I tend to do is piss myself when they approach. They dont beg from their own kind you see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

With a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

i tell the chuggers to go Fornicate Under Command of the King themselves and if they try and be witty walk straight up to them and say i don't like you harrasing me so i'll tell you waht you ever hassle me again i will punch you square in the face. Understand? They usually roll their eyes and say ok so if you have a recorder on your phone you now pretty much have an ageement between the two of you. haven't bothered me since, although i didn't hit him just played him the recording and that was it :)

also if you start giving out that they can get 15 quid an hour for this and other bonuses ike half day fridays with X people signed up they usually shut up and if you are lucky other people will hear and not sign up

NOw i'm all for charity i'll throwchange in the collection boxes all that not a bother but those feckers are scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I like Jimmy Carr's line:
    A lady with a clipboard stopped me in the street the other day.
    She said, "Can you spare a few minutes for cancer research?"
    I said, "All right, but we won't get much done."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

"Sorry, im not allowed to talk to strangers."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

A polite "F**K OFF" usually did the job
    I didn't know such a thing existed:rolleyes:
    Usually I tell them I've already signed up. This way they can't complain, though if they ask any follow-up questions I run like hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

With chuggers, I usually ask them for 'their' bank account details, so I can put the money in 'their' account. This results in them either walking away silently or giving me the 'Does not compute!' look, which leads me to believe that they are actually sophistimacated begging robots, sent back in time from a future poverty stricken Ireland on a mission to collect money to fuel the futures rocket cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I usually have my headphones on, so make do with a mumbled "mnegh!" as I speed off into the distance.

They're getting crafty these days though, even going so far as to employ foxy looking wimins... It can be kind of hard to just keep walking sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Leonid

Walk on by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

just walk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

If you want rid of them forever just wait til they stop you and as they are talking whip your lad out and jiggle it around will maintaining eye contact with them and keeping a serious and concerned expression on your face.

hope that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Girl chugger: I stop and chat for a bit before saying "I gave at the office" and just leave (might try for her phone number next time :D).
    Guy chugger: "Ja nie rozumiem!?", "Ja nie rozumiem!?", "Ja nie rozumiem!?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

If it's a cute girl I'll honestly stop for a chat but otherwise I don't give a **** and I either just keep on walking or striaght out say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

I always just claim to be a massive racist. That shuts them up.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I hate them and they make me nervous so I'll either fake a phone call or actually call someone and start having a good aul chat.

I have a friend who screams at them sometimes, only if they are actually bothersome obviously.
    He'll Scream nerd **** like "SPAM" and "REAL LIFE SPAM"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i smile at beggers and ask how they are getting on

i terll chuggers to shoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭marknoonan1974

i tell chuggers i've already signed up to whatever they r selling, gets rid of em str8 away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

I tried this with a friend once. *

The chugger approached us.. bla..bla ..."my name is asshole etc..."

Then I make a horrified face and point at something high up behind him
    and shout "WHAT THE **** IS THAT !!!!!".

He then looks up to see, we leg it the other direction. :pac:

It worked that time but the second time we tried it the bastard
    chased us down Grafton street!

Naturally we had agreed on the tactics beforehand. :)

* Only use this technique if you are going to be on Grafton street
    once during the day as if you are seen again he will jump on you and
    hump your leg to get you to buy a card off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭taibhse

whenever I have to walk down a bsy shopping street where they may be lurking
    I usually just put on my giant hulk hands

http://photos8.flickr.com/8054587_94d8c81b0e.jpg

Tie them on nice and tight

and proceed to sing the following:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭pajodublin

^^Ha ha LOL'd
    what i do depends on the situation
    1. Not in a hurry or waiting someone...
    they approach and i give them a big smile. They start with the usual bollox, sick children, african midgets, Hippies with no weed or whatever...
    Me: Im very interested in donating
    Chug:really!!
    Me: so how much
    Chug: well eh hows 10 euro a month
    Me: hows 200 a month sound
    WIDEMOUTH CHUG: well yeah ok, i need your name address blah blah..
    Me: (hmm who do i not like this week) some random name and address
    Chug:Bank account details
    Me: oh sorry i dont have them with me but i tell you what, take down my phone number and ring me at 6 and i'll give them to ya
    Chug: eh ok, thanks, eh eh eh
    Me:08******** (random number)
    Chug: talk to you at eh 6 then
    Me: Cya now enjoy your day
    Chug: eh you too

Always look back to see them still standing there with their jaws on the floor

2. In a hurry or just not in the humour,
    i used to cross the street but they figured that one out by puttin one on either side the crafty beggers
    so as they say excuse me sir can i.....
    i dont even look up i just say...NO and walk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭ElBarco

It's easier when they approach you on the street.

I had one knock at the door a few weeks ago. I informed her that I already had a direct debit with another charity. Her response? "It's amazing how many people on your road have that".

My response? "It's amazing how many gobsheens think they have the right to judge me when they're being paid to annoy people in their own homes". I don't think I made a new friend but at least I pissed them off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭ShellBell1

I just speed up my walking pace and suddenly appear captivated by the roof of some building ahead of me.

I recommend that a person always walks fast when walkin' around town anyway- you get far less hassle from yokes in general.