Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uber thin advert models

• 15-09-2008 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Hope this is the right venue for this mods, sorry if its not, and feel free to move

I was just watchin tv and wondered how many other people think that some women on ads are way too slim?? Id be interested in the fellas opinions equally, as Id like to get a whole curvy -vs- uber slim thing goin.
    Also which ads are the worst, for me its the nivea q10 face cream ad, an absolutely stunning woman with short blonde hair, but jesus she looks like a belsen victim, I mean WTF???? EAT SOMETHING :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Check your remote for a button with 16:9 over it. That will solve your problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well it all depends on the woman, but i have noticed that when women say 'curvy' they don't mean curvy, they mean fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Pics please OP? For "research"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I qutoe Garfield:

How many thin people does it take to fill a shower?
    I have no idea - they keep slipping down the drain...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

v.true Mistress Mord, Kelly Brook to me is curvy, also who's the blonde girl that does X Factor? Holly Willoughby I think? She's unreal and I'd class her as curvy too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

well it all depends on the woman, but i have noticed that when women say 'curvy' they don't mean curvy, they mean fat.

Indeed :) however, I reckon when ye can count the bones on the front of the chest of someone, they're a stone or 3 underweight

Pics please OP? For "research"...

Are ye tryin to catch me out or somethin :D or do ye mean the ad Ive refered to

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    Are ye tryin to catch me out or somethin :D or do ye mean the ad Ive refered to

Catch you out how? Start with the ad you referred to first, and any other models you care to post up...

apologies, it was an attempt at humour :pac: I cant find it on the net, but watch out for it on telly. You get to see almost all the bones

http://www.visit4info.com/externalurl.cfm?id=63044&link=home&ext_url=http://www.nivea.co.uk
    Found it, hope this works

I was shocked on a recent night out in non culchie Dublin. Skinny has got alot skinnier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

but sure if ya hit it you'd cut yourself on thier pelvises and collarbones.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Anyone ever see those extravision ads? Or maybe it's chartbusters. The one for tanning with the sandy arse on it. There is one next to it with a skinny girl with a tape measure around her body. Her body really looks like an arm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Nothing wrong with a bit of meat on the bone(r)....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Uber Thin Advert Models: if they're under 30, Twitching Anus probably finds them attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Bit of cushion for the pushing, ahh everyone needs a bit of meat on them, Its horrible looking like skeletor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

OP, did you use an electric or manual tin-opener for this can of worms? :)

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Bit of cushion for the pushing, ahh everyone needs a bit of meat on them, Its horrible looking like skeletor.

Whatcha talkin' about foo'-Skeletor is ripped! http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/6258/skeletor08mj5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Whatcha talkin' about foo'-Skeletor is ripped! http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/6258/skeletor08mj5.jpg

For a skeleton, he is! What the hell? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

nope.... i dont discriminate against the woman who are models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

There are some skinny people that I know, that I would just bang the bejaysus out of them.

Very slim can look really elegant - e.g. Erin O'Connor - but scrawny, e.g. the woman in the ad the OP is talking about... it's miserable looking.
    And the irony in this youth-obsessed culture is that extreme skinniness majorly ages women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Dudess wrote: »
    Very slim can look really elegant - e.g. Erin O'Connor - but scrawny, e.g. the woman in the ad the OP is talking about... it's miserable looking.
    And the irony in this youth-obsessed culture is that extreme skinniness majorly ages women.

Well said

Designers prefer skinny models as they create a surreal fantasical image and they wont detract from the clothes.

Its brave and talented one that will create and perhaps even show designs that look hot on sizes 12+ (distracted thought wouldn 't a Stella McCarthy show using curvy models be ammmazing).

curvy and shapely sillhouettes are becoming increasingly fashionable so rejoyce real fillys mater of time before waif skinnys will no longer be en vogue!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I had to google that erin o connor one. She is not attractive at all. Way too skinny.

http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/03_02/erinMOS1403_468x927.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I had to google that erin o connor one. She is not attractive at all. Way too skinny.

http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/03_02/erinMOS1403_468x927.jpg
    if she raped you, would you resist? really?
    don't deny it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

nevf wrote: »
    don't deny it..

Lolz like she has the strength to rape even the puniest boards nerd. I'd hit though, but then I'd hit just about anything atm...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

nevf wrote: »
    don't deny it..

Seriously, I know skinny girls that I would gladly do but not her. She looks rank. Saying that enough booze and I'd hit pretty much anything. Nudge, nudge, brian. :pac:

erin_o_connor_380.jpg

besides her tendencies to go around raping people she is fab -
    lovely decent soul too by sounds of it!
    Was a geek at school used to get slagged bla bla
    she is just cool.
    Guess thats something ye boys wouldn't understand:p

Seriously, I know skinny girls that I would gladly do but not her. She looks rank. Saying that enough booze and I'd hit pretty much anything. Nudge, nudge, brian. :pac:

pfft, you'd be buying me drinks tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Pinocchio, whya you tella dem lies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

skinny women are hot, the op is prob just fat and jealous.

Perhaps
    but I think you could be wrong or perhaps missing the point- whilst I am far from body perfection am toned and not fat I can still categorically say believe that curvy woman look better then the skinnys we see in ads - esp in real life.

And if you find skinny more attractive - more power too you!
    Just dont marry one because of it! :D

That line's always thrown out on Boards - it's really sh1tty. If a woman questions the likes of http://www.strangecosmos.com/images/content/115306.jpg being used to sell products it does not mean there's a good chance she's fat and/or jealous.

And when you say "skinny women are hot" I'm pretty certain you don't mean women as skinny as the one in the link. Yes, healthy thin can be very attractive but "at death's door" isn't. And it's a serious problem - women have died because of it. That's what the OP's getting at...

From the chin up she is pretty hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I find skinny women very attractive, most of my mates don't. Some do. There you go OP. The male perspective.

Ugh Vile!
    Fact is so many young girls are been influnced by profiled bueatiful young girls in pic above. This can cause serious illness not just talking about anorexia or bulemia but the knock on effects these cause - epelipsy bone deficincy and many more. This is not to mention the psychological and social issues incured for the individual and family/freinds.

Do you honestly think that skinny girl is hot!?
    A bueatiful face no doubt but so starved she looks as if she is on deaths door.

I encourage ye boys to get over weight issues and preferences - as they are a contributing factor to feeding a zeitgeist that could some day be the corupption and loss of a life of someones sister/ daughter/girlfreind.

On a lighter note Eirn O Conner is part of a campian to encourage models to eat healthier and got angry chef guy on board - Ramsey. So hopefully gradually is a changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

That line's always thrown out on Boards - it's really sh1tty. If a woman questions the likes of http://www.strangecosmos.com/images/content/115306.jpg being used to sell products it does not mean there's a good chance she's fat and/or jealous.

And when you say "skinny women are hot" I'm pretty certain you don't mean women as skinny as the one in the link. Yes, healthy thin can be very attractive but "at death's door" isn't. And it's a serious problem - women have died because of it. That's what the OP's getting at...

lol are u serious? i don't think that's the type of girl anyone thinks of when when they say skinny, i've certainly never seen them used to sell stuff. The only time i've seen girls like that is in thread like this when some girl pulls it out to make some argument that skinny girls are sickening and staving themselves to death. It's the equivalent of me posting this as an example of how disgusting "curvy" women are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

lol are u serious? i don't think that's the type of girl any thinks of when they're talking about when they say skinny, i've certainly never seen them used to sell stuff. The only time i've seen girls like that is in thread like this when some girl pulls it out to make some argument that skinny girls are sickening and staving themselves to death. It's the equivalent of me posting this as an example of how disgusting "curvy" women are.

Dudess Law matey....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57223881&postcount=18

Inevitable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I don't understand why the OP is posting this really, I mean the girl is f*cking gorgeous in the advert, and has a beautiful body. She's obviously just angry that men fancy that type of girl, and she's not like that. Get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I think any of the girls in any Nivea ad are fookin beautiful.

But then im a weirdo who watches too much TV and jerks off while my dog watches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

That's a photoshopped pic, although the original isn't THAT far off http://jeanluc.croix.free.fr/comparaisonimages.htm

would totally do the original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭scoey

Just got back to Ireland after being away for a year, and from looking around, I'd say that there must be a lot of ads on tv with big fatsos on them, encouraging women to stuff junk food down their throats and do no exercise. I wouldn't be worried about the media encouraging women to be too thin, we are not suffering from an epidemic of thin women, don't worry!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

scoey wrote: »
    Just got back to Ireland after being away for a year, and from looking around, I'd say that there must be a lot of ads on tv with big fatsos on them, encouraging women to stuff junk food down their throats and do no exercise. I wouldn't be worried about the media encouraging women to be too thin, we are not suffering from an epidemic of thin women, don't worry!

No, instead we have an epidemic of girls with low self-confidence and serious body issues, a rise in eating disorders and young women who think their entire worth is based on their looks and they're worth nothing if they don't confirm.

We have an epidemic of girls with too little confidence to go and and compete healthily in sports, instead subscribing to ridiculous diet liks Lipotrim and Celebrity Slim in a desperate attempt to get skinny.

The amount of judging, analysis and comment that happens over women's bodies, as if they're little more than a commodity, a piece of meat is truly disgusting. And that's only on Boards. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate a nice bit of male ass but the difference is that I look admiringly, not critically.

But thanks for your helpful comment. Care to post up a picture of your own stunning specimen of a male body so that we can poke, prod and pour scorn as well?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

taconnol wrote: »
    But thanks for your helpful comment. Care to post up a picture of your own stunning specimen of a male body so that we can poke, prod and pour scorn as well?

I personally try and look after myself and I know I'm by no means perfect but I exercise regularly etc. At the end of the day people judge other people's bodies, if you see a fat person you think they eat junk food all day and are lazy etc. It's human nature to do this. I think the blokes on here calling fat chicks disgusting etc are no worse than the girls whingeing about skinny girls on Nivea adds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Remember that sprite zero ad? With yer one waiting at (what looks like) a train station and some perv spying on her through the security cameras. Throw her a sandwich. Please no woman should be on telly if you can play the washboard on her ribs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I personally try and look after myself and I know I'm by no means perfect but I exercise regularly etc. At the end of the day people judge other people's bodies, if you see a fat person you think they eat junk food all day and are lazy etc. It's human nature to do this. I think the blokes on here calling fat chicks disgusting etc are no worse than the girls whingeing about skinny girls on Nivea adds.

Well my point would be that women's bodies are judged far more than men's. Women's bodies are used to sell stuff to women AND men. Where are all the hot naked men in ads?? All we have to drool over is that Aero guy. Slim pickings. I bet if you were to sit in front of the TV & count how many half-naked men/women you saw, you'd see way more women.

Plus the male ideal is a hell of a lot healthier than the female ideal.

How can you compare girls who are identifying this unhealthy trend of using uber-slim models and speaking out about it, with idiotic blokes calling fat chicks disgusting? The latter are adding to the problem and the former are trying to do something about it.

lol are u serious? i don't think that's the type of girl anyone thinks of when when they say skinny, i've certainly never seen them used to sell stuff. The only time i've seen girls like that is in thread like this when some girl pulls it out to make some argument that skinny girls are sickening and staving themselves to death. It's the equivalent of me posting this as an example of how disgusting "curvy" women are.

Yes phantom lord, Im a HUGE, a morbidly obese size 12 :rolleyes:, and its difficult to type this cause I cant see over my 34 dd tits, have to rest the laptop on them, very uncomfortable :p
    Seriously though, If you'd bothered to actually read my first post before jumping in with such an intelligent remark, you would have seen the ad I was refering to, and I posted a link to it as well. I wouldnt describe morbidly obese as curvy. Im 5'6" so anything near a size 10 and I start to look like the belsen victim, wher some women are tall and slim and look fantastic, it suits some to have more meat than others, end of. But Im describing bones, I dont want to see someones conformation ffs, its not a horse Im lookin at, and its VERY VERY unhealthy, and not something Id want my daughter to assume is the norm

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    Yes phantom lord, Im a HUGE, a morbidly obese size 12 :rolleyes:, and its difficult to type this cause I cant see over my 34 dd tits, have to rest the laptop on them, very uncomfortable :p

LOL. I would go a step further carlybabe1 and say that even if the ideal female shape becomes healthier, we still fuss too much over women's bodies. Right, there will always be an ideal, but do we have to be so obsessed?

I would love men to be subjected to the same sort of intense scrutiny just for a week to see what it feels like. It's no coincidence that the vast majority of people with eating disorders are women.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I don't understand why the OP is posting this really, I mean the girl is f*cking gorgeous in the advert, and has a beautiful body.

Are we talkin bout the same ad? you can see a hole on her chest between her shoulder and her right breast when she moves her arm up, and its from nothing other than lack of muscle :confused:

She's obviously just angry that men fancy that type of girl, and she's not like that. Get over it.

Yet another hugely intelligent remark, thanks for your insight, seriously, I dont know how I didnt see it myself, you've opened my (fat) eyes, thanks :rolleyes:
    Sounds to me like your gettin a bit defensive??? Theres nothing wrong with slim, and although men have thier 'types' I genuinely believe that as a whole, men find confidence just as sexy in a woman as body shape (open to correction)

Seriously though, If you'd bothered to actually read my first post before jumping in with such an intelligent remark, you would have seen the ad I was refering to, and I posted a link to it as well. I wouldnt describe morbidly obese as curvy. Im 5'6" so anything near a size 10 and I start to look like the belsen victim, wher some women are tall and slim and look fantastic, it suits some to have more meat than others, end of. But Im describing bones, I dont want to see someones conformation ffs, its not a horse Im lookin at, and its VERY VERY unhealthy, and not something Id want my daughter to assume is the norm