Tasers in NI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

cushtac wrote: »
    Once again Eroo you spout off about stuff you know absolutely nothing about. You've never been in anything remotely like the situations being described here, nor does being from Limerick qualify you to talk about policing. You know nothing about the Gardai's policies on the use of force and you've no business telling Gardai about it.
    Easy tiger.
    Eroo is a good contributor to this forum. He's entitled to his/her opinions which are well balanced, to my eyes at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Once again Eroo you spout off about stuff you know absolutely nothing about. You've never been in anything remotely like the situations being described here, nor does being from Limerick qualify you to talk about policing. You know nothing about the Gardai's policies on the use of force and you've no business telling Gardai about it.

Ah, you again.

Now, Karlitos and Nog have not perceived my post as me telling them or other Gardai what to do. Nor did I say I knew anything about Garda policies. I gave my opinions, so stone me to death for doing so!

civdef wrote: »
    I'd appreciate if you can let us know the basis for you making that assertion.

I was told by a Garda working in Limerick City. Doesn't mean I am right, but that's what I was told.

Eroo, Im not in Public Relations, Im a police officer. How people percieve me is not really a concern.
    The point of using a Tazer I think we agree on. The reality is someone refusing to get out of a car for the purposes of arrest needs to be removed from the car otherwise the criminal justice system becomes redundant. Therefore you have a number of choices, physically remove them, stun/spray/whatever them or let them sit there. My point to Verb was the fact that he seemed to think we should not do anything to them and let them sit there. As for GSOC complaints, part and parcel of being a Garda in all honesty. People always feel aggrieved but as the old saying goes, better judged by 12 than carried by 6.:)

Horses for courses I suppose but IF and I mean IF we get something new it will be one new item not everything on the market. Sometimes Tazer is the best option, sometimes not. I said it before give me a stun baton.
    I know your not in PR, but public support is the baseline of any police force, otherwise you'd be in trouble!lol

Stun baton I had not thought of. Then again, ASP is cheaper.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭civdef

I was told by a Garda working in Limerick City. Doesn't mean I am right, but that's what I was told.
    This is the thing, you were repeating somethiong you were told, but didn't make that clear.

For the avoidance of any future doubt, can people make absolutely clear when they are relying on something they read / were told or whatever, rather than personal experience?

civdef wrote: »
    This is the thing, you were repeating somethiong you were told, but didn't make that clear.

For the avoidance of any future doubt, can people make absolutely clear when they are relying on something they read / were told or whatever, rather than personal experience?

Will do, my apologies if it seemed I was speaking from personal experience.

EDIT: I edited my earlier post, so as to avoid any further confusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

deadwood wrote: »
    Easy tiger.
    Eroo is a good contributor to this forum. He's entitled to his/her opinions which are well balanced, to my eyes at least.

He's a teenager who's based his opinions on the effectiveness of taser on what he's heard second-hand from a neighbour, how well-balanced is that?

Neighbor? He was not a neighbor. He was on duty. I don't even know his name.

Also, I never said the tazer was ineffective. That was not my opinion. Get your argument right. I merely highlighted that it didn't work in that incident and maybe it might not always work. However, I take CLADA's word that it did work, as the Garda who told me might have wrong. I take his word because he regularly contributes to the forum, and when he sees a post he dislikes or disagrees with, he doesn't respond with insulting replies. Disagree with me, but don't talk down to me. I don't care what age you are or who you are, you've no right to be disrespectful to me.

You're confusing "balance" with what may described as hearsay, chinese whispers, bad info., gossip etc.

Imagine a teenager having an opinion. It's a good thing they can't vote.

I'm a guard and just a tad over my teens (innit, yeah?) but I haven't had my default setting activated which equips me with an encyclopedic knowledge of non-lethal weaponry. (Maybe I missed the "cool stuff everyone else gets but we don't" module in Fantasy Farm.)

Eroo is entitled to express his opinion. They're like a#$eholes. Everyone's got one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

deadwood wrote: »
    I'm a guard and just a tad over my teens (innit, yeah?)

My God:eek: I was in uniform when you were still in liquid form:D

CLADA wrote: »
    My God:eek: I was in uniform when you were still in liquid form:D
    Wishful thinking on my part. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

eroo wrote: »
    Ah, you again.

Now, Karlitos and Nog have not perceived my post as me telling them or other Gardai what to do. Nor did I say I knew anything about Garda policies. I gave my opinions, so stone me to death for doing so!

I did not but in all honesty Eroo I had to read your post a few times and even then I was still left a little uncertain where you were going with it. I can see how someone would have taken your post the wrong way.

As for PR, I think you like many people, underestimate the silent majority. We have the public support to do our jobs and use force. Remember a good chunk of the population in modern Ireland are coming from nations that police a hell of a lot heavier than we do, its natural for them. Same for the older generation, they grew up with clips around the ear from the local Guard if you were acting the maggot and still see nothing wrong with it.

Its only (and I mean no disrespect nor am I pointing a finger) the modern late teens / early twenties that have grand ideas about how everything should work and be done. See someone screaming 'police brutality' at the Gardai or telling us how it should be done and they will be mostly Irish teens or young twenties.

Especially people who are clearly more intelligent and educated than me because they now have 3 weeks of college under their belts and everyone knows the Gardai dont even have a leaving cert between them :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Taser guns given go-ahead in North
    Thursday, 2 October 2008 15:26

Taser guns were given the go-ahead by the Northern Ireland Policing Board today.

The PSNI had been using the weapon under a pilot scheme but the board's move will allow Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde to roll the deployment out fully. The pilot scheme was introduced in January and a Taser gun has been used on one occasion since then, in Derry in August. The board's decision follows the recommendations of human rights experts who helped carry out an equality impact assessment on the use of Tasers. Board members voted 12 to three in favour, with the three Sinn Féin representatives opposing the move.

Sinn Féin wanted the decision deferred until a forthcoming judicial review of the weapon's use was heard.
    Source

Sinn Fein, well known for its anti-weapons and pro police stance :rolleyes:

Especially people who are clearly more intelligent and educated than me because they now have 3 weeks of college under their belts and everyone knows the Gardai dont even have a leaving cert between them :p
    At least your honest!;):pac: