Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Re starting an old game

• 12-09-2008 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭

Last year in the sports we had a gg on thursday.
    Regular characters included myself, D Norton, R Brown, Jay O Toole, Tilty Taylor, Noel Hayes, Seamus, Demot, Mark, Martin and a few other colourful lookin characters.
    Any interest in gettin this goin again? I propose we move it to the fitz.
    They have the n fud and also you will pick up more passing traffic.
    Also talken to some of the lads and they were sayen we could make it a round of each as all the lads now play plo.
    Also have a min buyin of 200 and a max of 2k with blinds of 2/5.
    Mayb introduce the missippi straddle in aswel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

dagunman wrote: »
    Mayb introduce the missippi straddle in aswel?

What's this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

What's this?

straddle from the button

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Nice proposal and moving it to the fitz seems like the logical thing to do.
    The sporting with the large fall in numbers since this game was regular prob wouldnt attract the important passing traffic.
    If the game got going as a 2 5 game from say thurs to saturday hopefully it would get going.
    At the betfair game in cork last month they were able to get 3 5 5 10 live nl games going.
    A lot of the players who played this were 1 2 regulars.
    Iwas talking to afew players in Cork who used play in Dublin but couldnt be arsed with 1 2plholdem if abigger regular game got going eg 2 5 nl hopefully bthey would hear about it and flock back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

kryogen wrote: »
    straddle from the button

a mississippi straddle is one from any position in the table with button having first option, then SB, BB, UTG etc etc.

A button straddle is just what it is, a button straddle. The two are frequently confused, mostly because if a mississippi one is in play the button rarely passes up his option.

Edit - Alex proposed a 2/5 game in the SE for every Thursday night when we were in their earlier this week. He suggested doing it with a reduced rake (i.e. rake from a 50 game), I also suggested that they throw in some food and he said he would get back to us and that he would post something on boards before next Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Noel, i've never played with either button or mississippi stradle,
    could you, or anyone, explain how the betting goes,

Mellor wrote: »
    Noel, i've never played with either button or mississippi stradle,
    could you, or anyone, explain how the betting goes,

Wherever the staddle goes, the person to the left is first to act preflop. Postflop action is normal.

So if the game is 2/5 and there is a button straddle for 10 then preflop the SB is the first to act, obv the minimum bet is now 10.

If for some reason the CO is the straddle then the button is first to act and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Who decides who the straddle is?? It'd be pretty sweet if you could be the straddle every hand... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭dagunman

i am easy sports or fitz, but the way the sports is setup you wont get any passing traffic. I am sure the fitz would agree to a reduced rake aswel to get the gaming goin.
    Also you simply cant get icecream anywhere, that you do in the fitz.

Are you not barred from the fitz?dagunman after your outburst againest Paul fish one night you eoin o dea and co came in smashed?

Ste05 wrote: »
    Who decides who the straddle is?? It'd be pretty sweet if you could be the straddle every hand... :p

see below
    a mississippi straddle is one from any position in the table with button having first option, then SB, BB, UTG etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Ahhh, I didn't click that first time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭ShipIt

I will def play this every Thursday.
    If played in the Sports it will be the usual regs playing each other, while if played in the Fitz we would see alot more traffic.
    My only opinion is that there should def be a minimum buy n of €200, the worst thing about the Fitz is the minimum buyin shot takers.
    Also cant see why this game cant get going on a Fri/Sat night also. Everyone I speak to seems to want a game like this in Dublin. All it need is organising and benefits like reduced rake and grub and so on....

Was in fitz there and Denise said she run the game with a 1/2 rake.
    Theres already about 5 ppl who said they'd defo play,get the game started at 9/10ish.
    It be a 2/5 live 10 nlh game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Was in fitz there and Denise said she run the game with a 1/2 rake.
    Theres already about 5 ppl who said they'd defo play,get the game started at 9/10ish.
    It be a 2/5 live 10 nlh game.

Can they include PLO as a ROE game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

I agree with all this. It will most likly be a roe. NLHE and PLO. I just don't like how crowded the fitz is. As in too cramped and noisy on the bottom floor. Agree that more traffic will be good for it, as when we played in the SE it was pretty much only the players John mentioned. I think the plo will bring evn more traffic. Maybe some of the big PLO players might fancy a pop.

It seems that both the SE, Jackpot and Fitz are dying to get this game permanently. So should def shop around.Should be run Thursday Fri and Sat.

The Fitz does have great Ice cream though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

The Fitz does have great Ice cream though

Is it really that good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Is it really that good?

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

It repeats on me don't like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

Whats the min buyin again? I'd pay to be sensually spoon fed ice cream by some ravishing enchantress/waitress.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Conbro wrote: »

it repeats on me don't like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Id hope to play semi regularly if it was held in the Jackpot/SE. (In about a year when I have the buyin nevermind the bankroll)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Conbro wrote: »

Icecream that repeats on you?

Right this game will happen in the fitz on thursday. Speakin to a few good few ppl and a lot of interest.
    From speaken to ppl the feeling is the game should be 400 min buyin and 2k max. It wil be a roe game plo and nlh with 2/5 live 10.
    Fitz have agreed to rake it as a 1/2 so we will be paying the lowest rake in town.
    KO AT 9. I'll ask the fitz and see can we get a bit of ice cream throwin in aswel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭OutOfPosition

Right this game will happen in the fitz on thursday. Speakin to a few good few ppl and a lot of interest.
    From speaken to ppl the feeling is the game should be 400 min buyin and 2k max. It wil be a roe game plo and nlh with 2/5 live 10.
    Fitz have agreed to rake it as a 1/2 so we will be paying the lowest rake in town.
    KO AT 9. I'll ask the fitz and see can we get a bit of ice cream throwin in aswel.

your posts tilt me hard.

Can anyone walk into this game or do you have to reserve a seat

lol if my posts tilt u hard u wont wanna hav to listen to me for the nite, then u will no some real tilt.
    yeh any1 can walk in and play.

OUt of position im guessing there is not a lot happening in your life if a couple of minor spelling errors tilt you.
    Fffs the guy has made an effort to get a good game going the only thing i think 400 buy in not may put off some fish who wouldnt mind losing a few 200 buy ins but well see cant play tuesdays or thursdays and more hopefully its going friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Sounds like it could be a pretty sick game (sick as in good)...fair play for organising it John...I'd nearly fly home for it...especially with you and Rob Taylor on the same table!!

Let's hope it keeps going for a long time...for what it's worth, I think a 400 min buy-in might be a bit much for some casual players, which you obviously need to keep it going regularly and not have 8 / 9 good players at the table all the time just exchanging money over a couple of months. I would leave the min buy-in at 200.

I agree with swar about the 200 buy in.
    In the 50 omaha game many buy in for 150 or 200 5 or 6 times a night they wont buy in deep but will bleed chips and pay the rake for the sharks so to speak no names mentioned but sure see how it goes.

i agree with the min buy in. traffic wont casually buy in for 400+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Prime_

Agreed about the €200 buyin.

Should be a great game..

Swar the fitz has agreed to pay for you to fly over, it'll be +EV for them and everyone at the table

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Prime_ wrote: »
    Agreed about the €200 buyin.

Should be a great game..

Swar the fitz has agreed to pay for you to fly over, it'll be +EV for them and everyone at the table

Why don't we fly out to him?.......mmmm middle eastern road trip........

yeh 200 is what i taught at the start but then someone was sayen 400, but yeh agreeded 200 is a better idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

wp n organizn dis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

wp n organizn dis

soz cnt spel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Good stuff John. Won't be there on Thursday to donate but I might make it in on Friday if it was going. I'd still prefer to see it in the SE though as the surroundings are better, not so much noise etc. Plus their icecream has improved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Oh the sickness is back... Woo hoo.. I would agree with Paul re playing this in the SE but this game will simply need more traffic if it is to keep going. We got a half decent game going last week in the SE but it tapered off due to no traffic.

Maybe consider alternating venues if it really gets going. I should be ok for Thurs which will deffo add to the numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

im in belfast thurs and off to portugal for 5 or 6 days fri, but will defo play it from the week after on...

Moving it to the emporium seems like a really really bad idea. By all accounts that place is dead now. Just keep it in the only place which can sustain it imo.

Rob your really going to hurt the numbers by not playen,half the reason we got the game goin was to watch noel hayes call you with a hi and get a chunk of that 40k you now have, while simulatainously watch you explode at his fishy play.(remains the funniest thing I have yet to see at a poker table).
    If we wanted a quite setting we could always ask for the balconey in the fitz,but the whole point is to get more passing traffic. I know fitz can be cramped at times, but come on, theres surely worse working conditions.
    Also in the long term the game has a much better chance of surviving in the fitz.

NOT PLAYING IF TILTY TAYLOR ISNT PLAYING. I MADE THIS CLEAR JOHN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

will the game be 10 handed or 9 handed?

i assume 9,10 b a bit ridic. wats the norm in there?
    ppl sayen the plo round should be 1/2 live 5 and the nlh 2/5 live 10.
    Seems to be a fair point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

any idea what the lineup is yet?

Usual_Suspects.jpg

confirmed so far:
    John O Shea
    Donal Norton
    Seamus
    David Hall
    Jay O' Toole
    Chub

good few other ppl cumin in,about 10 50/50's.
    Denise said theres interest from a few fitz regs so it wil defo fill

If this game keeps running I'm sure I'll come in to play it next time I'm back in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

If this game keeps running I'm sure I'll come in to play it next time I'm back in Ireland.

How's Argentina?

bump etc all that bollix.
    Game on tonight, ko at 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

how's all that money you owe me?

RoundTower wrote: »
    how's all that money you owe me?

I don't owe you any money