Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Kit?

• 11-09-2008 3:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭

Sorry lads for going way off topic (this will my day good!!!!!!) but does anyone know which is a good website/shop etc for buying pouches for torches etc etc, so many dont know which one has best selection - Any suggestions mush appreciated :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Sorry lads for going way off topic (this will my day good!!!!!!) but does anyone know which is a good website/shop etc for buying pouches for torches etc etc, so many dont know which one has best selection - Any suggestions mush appreciated :):)

eBay by far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

www.combatsouth.co.uk have a great line in 5:11 products. they also supply blackhawk gear. Niton also I believe have a good range, also ASP, mainly U.S. import though.;)

If you give Combatsouth a shout ask for Steve Banks, excellant service and prompt delivery.

And expensive to boot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

I'd recommend Niton. I've used them a number of times to buy various pieces of additional kit and their service is excellent. They even do some badged Garda kit (skip hats and such) but will only post badged kit to a Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

To jump back to metmans comment, wat branded stuff do Niton sell?

Cant see it!

Watch hats here. If you click on the 'please choose size/colour/type' you'll see Garda is an option. I remember seeing a jacket on there as well with Garda markings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I tried to order off niton before, and apparently they don't accept intl credit cards, so you'll have to set up a money transfer from bank to bank or send them a bank draft. which will take a while to go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

+1 on the Niton, Combatsouth and eBay front...

Pump google for all it's good for.:D .. Lot's of good companies over here in the UK and in the states but beware of import duty and shipping prices from the states.

Just one thing, be slightly wary of "viper" kit, wears out or breaks after not much wear and tear, theres better options out there for a couple of quid more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

iceage wrote: »
    www.combatsouth.co.uk have a great line in 5:11 products. they also supply blackhawk gear. Niton also I believe have a good range, also ASP, mainly U.S. import though.;)

If you give Combatsouth a shout ask for Steve Banks, excellant service and prompt delivery.

I was on website and its all working except the store part wont open at all for me - any ideas why :confused:

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    eBay by far

Any particular shops on ebay

What im more or less looking for is holder for streamlight scorpion, leather cuff pouch - pref highmark brand (someone "borrowed" :mad::mad: my issued leather pouch which are no longer issued by job) and a couple of other bits and pieces. iv actually checked every possible website at this stage for the highmark leather pouch and cant find one anywhere, does anyone know if these were actually just made for Garda tender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

google and eBay search what your looking for then try a couple of the results and you will usually get the best price for the kit item.

As Jon said though the US shipping can put the price way up and also not all the shops will send here. With eBay always check the seller rating before bidding as some of them can be going downhill and the feedback will let you know in advance.

Last item I got was ASP hinged cuffs and pouch through 2 seperate shops and couldnt have been happier with the products

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Price Western Leather do a nice range of high end leather pouches and holsters.. they're based in the UK and should shp to Ireland.

http://www.pwluk.com/

These supply our Speedcuff holders, CS pouches, magazine pouches, etc and used to supply our holsters til we went over to Safariland.

As Karl said dj technics, just a point to note, when searching on the left hand side click "Show products from European Union" click worldwide for more results also click "Add shop inventory"

Itll give you a wider choice, also be sure to check shipping and feedback. Caveat emptor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

I was on website and its all working except the store part wont open at all for me - any ideas why :confused:

Sorry I couldn't get back to you sooner. Send them a quick Email steve@combatsouth.co.uk or better still give them a bell (004423) 92655636

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Jerico

Have you looked at www.team-alpha.ie Stuff there is quite good....

I have a Streamlight TL2, i found a 5.11 pouch on that team-alpha.ie site if that helps..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Jerico wrote: »
    I have a Streamlight TL2, i found a 5.11 pouch on that team-alpha.ie site if that helps..

Any good?

I can absolutely recommend buying a Surefire. The Streamlight puts out 78 lumens whereas a smaller Surefire puts out 120. It is actually blinding at night time, and is sold as a minimum use of force tool to temporarily blind suspects at night. Does what it says on the tin and sits on your belt without taking up much space at all.

surefire g2 eats batteries though

Any good?
    Have bought most of my 511 gear & pouches from them. They seem rerasonable enough in price when i take the posted off.

metman wrote: »
    I can absolutely recommend buying a Surefire. The Streamlight puts out 78 lumens whereas a smaller Surefire puts out 120. It is actually blinding at night time, and is sold as a minimum use of force tool to temporarily blind suspects at night. Does what it says on the tin and sits on your belt without taking up much space at all.
    I put the asp light on my baton, its a bit heavy but effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭oldhead

Well lads, just wondering what kit did you buy, and did you find it any good.

oldhead wrote: »
    Well lads, just wondering what kit did you buy, and did you find it any good.

got one of these and a holster for it up in the college, find it just as powerful as the issued led lenser torch and much easier to carry around. also got a small led lenser black light for checking forged documents, great bit of kit. Also got a long asp key for the cuffs as the new ones are issued with only one key.

next item for purchase is a leverage end cap for the asp, so i don't loose it some night while trying to open it.

foinse wrote: »
    got one of these and a holster for it up in the college, find it just as powerful as the issued led lenser torch and much easier to carry around. also got a small led lenser black light for checking forged documents, great bit of kit. Also got a long asp key for the cuffs as the new ones are issued with only one key.

next item for purchase is a leverage end cap for the asp, so i don't loose it some night while trying to open it.

You can pick up little uv keychain lights for nothing. Also, with the dollar so bad now you can pick a good pair of ASP cuffs cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Those little LED Lenser torches are brilliant. I have one too from the college. Great for checking documents and searching cars. The only problem is the pouch cos its losing the velcro off it already after a year.

TheNog wrote: »
    Those little LED Lenser torches are brilliant. I have one too from the college. Great for checking documents and searching cars. The only problem is the pouch cos its losing the velcro off it already after a year.

i picked up a different pouch for it, with a magnetic clasp for closing it, also from the college shop, way better than the pouch you get with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Except the magnet goes on those holders after a while too!

Id recommend one of the lanyards that screw on to asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Jesus, how do ye go to the toilet with all that crap on?

deadwood wrote: »
    Jesus, how do ye go to the toilet with all that crap on?

Easy, you open the belt take it off, then drop your pants as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I've been told the LED Lensers are pretty cheap in the College. Can't say I've seen it..but it's been almost two years since I was last there. Any truth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

€48 or so for a LED Lensesr hockus focus, the small one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭oldhead

cheers for that boys

Any one try www.team-alpha.ie for kit, is it any good?

Haven't tried them but looking at some of their prices I'd say I won't be either. The torches and ASP gear are good but the likes of boots, way too expensive tbh and the jackets are outrageously priced.

Meh maybe thats just me

Cheers, may invest in some of thier asp gear, but their 5.11 is a bit steep alright.

L.E.D.s, ASPs, rigid cuffs - sounds like a night in at Deadwood Mews.

This is essential kit:

TV76.jpg:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

AA031.jpg
    The Metropoliatan whistle.

Enlighten us Metman. Do officers still use this antique? I'm guessing no.

Source:Niton.

We still get issued the whistle as part of number one dress (tunic etc).....which is only worn for Crown court or ceremonial duties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

did you try www.niton999.co.uk

they deal with a load of police stuff!

*Deadwood receives his new LED baton as he heads out on the Beat*

productimage.250%5CLEDBATON.jpg

*5 minutes later Deadwood in his new body armour, breaks the bloody thing*

507244.jpg

donvito99 wrote: »
    AA031.jpg

Do they not still issue these here? I still have mine in my special-issue tunic with the ninja-style popping buttons!

@deadwood - In my ignorance I thought every copper had a whistle...... :rolleyes:

metman wrote: »
    @deadwood - In my ignorance I thought every copper had a whistle...... :rolleyes:
    The clients in my area know when they hear Deadwoods whistle, help is only 35 minutes away! I'm too old to run and blow at the same time. (Quiet at the back, Metman)

I forgot this piece of kit too -
    476926116_871688524d.jpg%3Fv%3D0
    Easy on the pepper lads.

This is usually where Civdef kicks in - funny how the Off-topic stuff seems to deteriorate on a Friday night!

:D running and blowing.....too easy.

And I was about to ask you why you're putting pepper on your chocolate eclair until discovered the zoom button.....:p

*resumes drinking*

Not enough beer in the Deadwood catacomb tonight - I think i'm about to make a sensible suggestion.
    What do posters think should be standard issue kit we don't alraedy have.

Decent cars, tasers, guns etc excepted, keep it realistic.

My suggestion #1 A bag to hold all this new stuff we'll get when management log in on Monday, Tuesday morning.

donvito99 wrote: »
    AA031.jpg

Source:Niton.

Well according to the latest Bourne movie they do still use this, evidently radios are too advanced for unarmed coppers. :p