Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

warning people of checkpoints???!

• 09-09-2008 5:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

just wondering how many of ye warn oncoming vehicles that there is a checkpoint ahead, by flashing lights.

dont really know if i agree to it or not. I was driving home the other day and i might have been doing a bit over the limit, somecar comeing towards me flashes. i slow down, then up the road i see unmarked car with speed gun.

lucky

what are yer views?
    if this has been done already then sorry......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

You're evil. I'm reporting you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Personally I hate it and will do that for no one if I see a check point. If there was a crash or something blocking part the road ahead I would flash then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

what i find more strange are the signs on the side of the road like "speed cameras ahead" ......why tell people? All they will do is slow down for a small distance then speed up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭mozil

I have flashed :P and like to see other people flashing ;) even though I dont speed myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

i'm a flasher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

i think the gards can pull you over if they see ya doing it.

and anyway if it was some boy racer tearing down the road in his "pimped out" gimpmobile id want him to get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Everyone should flash. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yeah i flash. I also pretend there's a checkpoint sometimes if a car is going too fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

what i find more strange are the signs on the side of the road like "speed cameras ahead" ......why tell people? All they will do is slow down for a small distance then speed up again.

I believe it's a legal issue, they must be sign posted, and have those markings on the road. At least that's what i understood it to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I'd flash anyway.

I was going around a turn into a small village once and I see this lad flapping his arms on the path so I slowed down just in case. There was a squad car sitting with a the speed gun just around the corner.

I wasn't going overly fast but I would have been over the limit by about 10mph so he saved me some points. It's a random act of kindness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I always flash. Feel it's karma you know maybe someday I get the favour returned.

Anyone ever get that email bout the kid who held a sign up up the road from a checkpoint saying checkpoint ahead. Cops couldnt figure out why they werent catching people. Eventually caught the kid and a mate of his up the road on the other side with a bucket full of money and another hand made sign saying "Tips"

Dont know if its true or not... but was pretty funny.

I believe it's a legal issue, they must be sign posted, and have those markings on the road. At least that's what i understood it to be.

That is in the UK, fixed cameras MUST be signposted and hi-vis (still one Police force in North Wales hides them behind bridges etc), unsure about here.

Mobile cameras in the UK are often hi-vis, but some forces (North Wales again) hide them in horse boxes.

As it is I always warn drivers of "hazzards" ahead, a hazard is defined as something that causes the driver to change speed or direction of may impede progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

whatever about flashing for speed cameras, no one should ever flash for checkpoints, maybe the gards are looking for a particular person, well done flashers youve just given the scumbag with 2 guns in the boot a good warning to turn around!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I find speeding a very stressful way to drive so I rarely if ever break speed limits.

That said, I don't flash to warn other motorists of a guards ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Mairt wrote: »
    I find speeding a very stressful way to drive so I rarely if ever break speed limits.

That said, I don't flash to warn other motorists of a guards ahead.

some of the speed limts are a joke tho, if i was to stick to some speed limits in certain areas(i mean tractor slow), it would cause more accicdents because more people would be attempting dangerous overtaking manovers.

im not saying i speed now. just occasionaly i might find myself slightly over the speed limit.
    maybe a few speed tickets might get the message across to some people, therefore maybe its not right to flash people. its hard to call!

zig wrote: »
    whatever about flashing for speed cameras, no one should ever flash for checkpoints, maybe the gards are looking for a particular person, well done flashers youve just given the scumbag with 2 guns in the boot a good warning to turn around!!

If they are after scumbags, they are not going to advertise their presence. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

well you know what i mean, a certain car reg plate or something!

zig wrote: »
    well you know what i mean, a certain car reg plate or something!
    Undercover boys would use ANPR systems to identify these vehicles, then lay in wait hidden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If they are after scumbags, they are not going to advertise their presence. :rolleyes:
    Undercover boys would use ANPR systems to identify these vehicles, then lay in wait hidden

I think you know what zig is getting at. Sometimes the checkpoints are set up to look for a certain car model/colour or a driver that matches a description. ANPR will only help if they have the reg which they may not. I've certainly passed through checkpoints where there was no speed camera equipment and no breath testing going on. I can only assume they were looking for something specific.

For those people who flash other drivers, what if the driver you warn is pissed and subsequently goes on to knock down your uncle Ben? Haven't you seen Spider-Man? You'll feel awful then.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

In France by law everyone has to be told where the fixed and mobile speed cameras are. Their point isn't to catch people speeding but to prevent people speeding in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

If it's just the usual tax/licence checkpoint i wouldn't flash. But if it was a speed trap, i flash the odd time if somebody is clearly over the limit

Bryn wrote: »
    If it's just the usual tax/licence checkpoint i wouldn't flash. But if it was a speed trap, i flash the odd time if somebody is clearly over the limit

Em do you mind me asking why you flash to warn speeders but you let those dastardly motor tax dodgers get caught?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

javaboy wrote: »
    Em do you mind me asking why you flash to warn speeders but you let those dastardly motor tax dodgers get caught?

It is very easy to stray slightly over the limit, and if the guards are being sneaky about the speed traps, or are on roads where there are no need for them, then i will flash

Ponster wrote: »
    In France by law everyone has to be told where the fixed and mobile speed cameras are. Their point isn't to catch people speeding but to prevent people speeding in the first place.

The problem with advertising every camera is that the cameras are only effective for the singe stretch of road they are on.

If people know when they are not being watched, they can confidently speed all they want.

It's the equivalent of a FSA inspector giving a restaurant advanced warning of every inspection.

Bryn wrote: »
    It is very easy to stray slightly over the limit, and if the guards are being sneaky about the speed traps, or are on roads where there are no need for them, then i will flash

On my car's speedo, I have to travel at about 54km/h to be actually breaking a 50km/h speed limit and 127km/h to break a 120km/h limit. Most cars will have a similar margin of error. Add to that the fact that the guards are rarely out to catch the 1km over the limit types, then it is not very easy to stray above the limit. It's a decision people make.

But again, why don't you warn people of tax/license checkpoints?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I think though they generally only get put up in areas where excessive speeding has lead to several accidents. Some would say that 120Km/h is fast enough for most people anyhow.

I believe they have a 5km/h leeway on the cameras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 piedpiper

There was a speed trap down the road from me a few years back. Further down the road was another garda car pulling everyone that was caught flashing. They all got some sort of a fine.

Cheeky garda with feck all else to be at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

all well and good until its your child thats knocked down by a speeding car and then all you flashers will be out demanding that the guards do something about it :mad:

Shelflife wrote: »
    all well and good until its your child thats knocked down by a speeding car and then all you flashers will be out demanding that the guards do something about it :mad:

There's a major difference between speeding in a built-up area with pedestrians, children parked cars etc and speeding on an open road.

A bit of common sense behind the wheel goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

piedpiper wrote: »
    There was a speed trap down the road from me a few years back. Further down the road was another garda car pulling everyone that was caught flashing. They all got some sort of a fine.

Cheeky garda with feck all else to be at.

Fair play to them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

just wondering how many of ye warn oncoming vehicles that there is a checkpoint ahead, by flashing lights.

dont really know if i agree to it or not. I was driving home the other day and i might have been doing a bit over the limit, somecar comeing towards me flashes. i slow down, then up the road i see unmarked car with speed gun.

lucky

what are yer views?
    if this has been done already then sorry......................

It's common practice where I live for call into a pub to warn people that the there is a checkpoint. I'm against it, if some drink and drives, throw the book at them no matter who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Isn't this gone a bit off topic, it's about flashing for checkpoints, not speedtraps.
    Picture this, a drunken driver seriously injures someone in a hit and run, a couple of miles ahead there's a garda checkpoint but mr. nice guy coming the other way flashes to warn other drivers including the criminal who then avoids the checkpoint, so what's the sense in flashing?

m@cc@ wrote: »
    It's common practice where I live for call into a pub to warn people that the there is a checkpoint. I'm against it, if some drink and drives, throw the book at them no matter who they are.

I'd warn them regardless, I just wouldn't tell them where the checkpoint is, or lie and say it's just outside the pub carpark. If they have half a brain (left) they'll walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I'd warn them regardless, I just wouldn't tell them where the checkpoint is or lie and say it's just outside the pub carpark. If they have half a brain (left) they'll walk!

They don't deserve a warning. The warning they should get is that one of your loved ones could be driving sober on the road and meet them head on.

I'd rather stop then driving full stop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Some gob****e in a beemer was hooring up the n4 last night, must have been going at least 120kph. I tried to flash him to tell him there's a camera under the bridge, but you can't help some people. He was definately caught.

come on people ye know the code when ye're driving flash your lights for checkpoints/speed traps and customs. Ive been been saved a speeding ticket or too and fines for no tax thanks to some friendly flashers( or lad on a push bike once waving his hands to get me to slow down).

And if the guards see you flashing sure it was my neighbour and i was saying hello!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

For those people who flash other drivers, what if the driver you warn is pissed and subsequently goes on to knock down your uncle Ben?
    I don't think that's realistic, the sauces section would have to be really near the entrance to the supermarket.

344-347-UB-medCurry.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

WhenI was living just over the border it was an absolute must to flash lights. On numerous occasions the police and army would be out on patrol and the army in camo gear,often in evening time. Its by the grace of Allah on several occasions that you wouldn't knock them down solely because of their attire, they were practically invisible.
    Generally back in Dundalk though I would flash if there was anything up ahead be it a parked car, pedestrian, stray animals or obstruction/hazard on the road out of sight of on coming traffic. It should be compulsory IMO. It achieves the entire purpose of making people drive more carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I always flash and then hope other people will flash me.Has saved my ass a few times, i have to say:). Nothing like gettin one over on the traffic core:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I always flash. Feel it's karma you know maybe someday I get the favour returned.

Karma could be a fukking boyracer speeding round a corner right into your car, karma works both ways!!! Don't believe me, ask Spiderman!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

There's a major difference between speeding in a built-up area with pedestrians, children parked cars etc and speeding on an open road.

A bit of common sense behind the wheel goes a long way.

Would that include following the speed limits or maybe common sense would include going 20 km/h over the speed limit on an N road. There are speed limits for a reason.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

yea I'll usually take me knob out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

For those who flash to warn others of a checkpoint, tbh you are doing more harm than good. As has already been pointed out checkpoints is a good way of catching traveling criminals. THose criminals can be out to commit burglary or transport drugs or weapons and all you are doing is allowing them to turn away from the checkpoint. Who cares if a person is caught with no tax or speeding. The fines are only €60 and €80 with 2 points.

There is a specific offence for flashing and that is causing obstruction to a Garda with the maximim fine of €3,000. I did hear that now retired Judge John Brophy handing a few maximum fines for it and believe me there are checkpoints set up with extra resources just to catch people flashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Curvy Vixen

Nope, wouldn't flash anyone to warn them!

But I read somewhere else on the boards (where someone was querying people turning before they reached a checkpoint), that the poster often flashed boy racer/speeder type drivers when there wasn't a checkpoint :D Said he got an extra buzz when he saw them turning around too :D:D

So I tried it...and laughed my socks off when the pimped up speeding gobsh*te skidded to a halt and turned around the other way, driving at a normal speed and waved to thank me! Now I do it whenever I spot one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I always flash. The speed limits and taxation on cars is a joke in this country so imho its always nice to see someone getting away with either. It rarely affects me though because usually I'm the guy pulled over at the checkpoint for having no tax. Saying that though there has been a few times when a flasher has gotten me out of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Ponster wrote: »
    I think though they generally only get put up in areas where excessive speeding has lead to several accidents. Some would say that 120Km/h is fast enough for most people anyhow.

I have never once seen a speed trap on a 120kmh stretch of road - they are always on stretches where the speed limit has just dropped to 60kmh from 80 or 100.

It's this "shooting fish in a barrel" approach (whether real or perceived) that annoys a lot of motorists and leads to them warning other drivers. If people genuinely thought that the Gardai were out catching speeders on the crappy, twisty, unlit back roads where the vast majority of fatal accidents occur, they would have a completely different attitude.

In all my years travelling the N81, I have never seen an accident - minor, major, fatal or otherwise - on the approach to Baltinglass from Tullow, yet the police have a speed trap here at least once a month.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    In all my years travelling the N81, I have never seen an accident - minor, major, fatal or otherwise - on the approach to Baltinglass from Tullow, yet the police have a speed trap here at least once a month.

So the speed traps are working obviously! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

So the speed traps are working obviously! :pac:

Touché!

My point is, though, that it's a perfectly straight stretch of road, great visibility,is not a known accident black-spot, but the speed limit changes from 100kmh to 60 halfway down it, and the cops know that they can make some easy catches there. And that's the problem that a lot of motorists have with speed checks in general - they're seen as a revenue generating exercise, not a life-saving one. Until the Gardai do something to change that perception, people will continue to warn other drivers of checkpoints.

And as I write this, there is a taxi outside reversing the wrong way up a one-way road because he missed his turn. Genius!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

What comedian was it that sat by the edge of a road in a Mondeo pointing a hairdrier at cars on a motorway? :confused: