Rte 7.30 Customs

• 09-09-2008 05:31PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

Cant wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Ah yes. Should be good. The old ways...traditional values...doffing our cap to the landed gentry etc. There's a lot to be said for old customs alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

When is it on? What day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Sunday
    19:30
    RTE1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Is this at Irish airports and what not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Irish airports and ports, my old man will be making an appearence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

You'll have to give us a few peaks at what might be featurin then Fytr.Fytr

TBH I dont know, nor does he, rté followed him for the whole of his shift for about 2 weeks straight, a hell of alot of that footage will be sitting on the editing room floor.

If you ever watch nothing to declare/border security about aussie custys itll more then likely be along the same lines.

I guarntee the customs vessel RCC Suirbheir will make and apearence or 10 along with the x-ray scanner

Yeah the australian one is quite good.

and there'll be loads o' doggies aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Anymore news on this proposed new Garda documentary?

Asked the same question 4 days ago in the Garda Documentary thread, still awaiting a reply.

The dogs are excellent worked with the for a week couple of years back, was great.

Yea theyll show off the drugs, cash and tobacco dogs

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    The dogs are excellent worked with the for a week couple of years back, was great.
    Fyr.fytr.,
    Is there anyone you haven't worked with?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

deadwood wrote: »
    Fyr.fytr.,
    Is there anyone you haven't worked with?:D

Indeed, I was left wondering if Fyr had actually worked as a passive drugs dog for a week.... :rolleyes:

And I think its safe to say that Fyr's posts suggest he wears a t-shirt that proudly professes:

"BEEN THERE, DONE THAT TWICE".
    - Walter.

metman wrote: »
    Indeed, I was left wondering if Fyr had actually worked as a passive drugs dog for a week.... :rolleyes:

And I think its safe to say that Fyr's posts suggest he wears a t-shirt that proudly professes:

"BEEN THERE, DONE THAT TWICE".
    - Walter.
    Ouch!

Or the fact i did do a weeks work expereince in TY with customs, for the record also did it with Garda tech bureau and dfb training centre, funnily enough was given a customs dog unit polo shirt and a dfb t-shirt after those two placements.

And for ye of little faith i think ive certs and reports to prove it too

oh metman arnt you the one who stood up for the young and egar on another topic? Well another young and egar one here

How long did you spend in transition year?:D
    Nothing wrong with being eagre, but fire fighter, ambo, nursing, reserve and/or garda. All fine professions. You seem to have a few jobs too! How do you squeeze it all in?
    Ah, youth is wasted on the young.

Eagre thats the one, how i got the B3 in english ill never know.

1 year in transition year, alothough would have prefered more.

Nursing degree is to bide my time and to get more skills and experience which will be relevent to my ambualnce work and to the ambulance side of DFB. As for the guards well its a close second, but will always be second.

Reserve garda is looking unlikely, considering retracting my application as between college and work, im not 100% sure ill be able to commit the time, and my studies and job (just the 1 paid job) arn't going to suffer as a result they're too important.

Squeezing ambo work, part time job and education is already tough, without commiting inital training time and duty time to the GR aswell. Best to cut my losses me thinks

So to summerise, Nusing degree
    > work as a nurse while waiting for dfb
    > Career with dfb as a firefighter/paramedic and still have the option to work as an agency nurse on days off

Or the fact i did do a weeks work expereince in TY with customs, for the record also did it with Garda tech bureau and dfb training centre, funnily enough was given a customs dog unit polo shirt and a dfb t-shirt after those two placements.

And for ye of little faith i think ive certs and reports to prove it too

oh metman arnt you the one who stood up for the young and egar on another topic? Well another young and egar one here

As deadwood said, there's nothing wrong with being eager. However, as I have previously said to you on here if you want to be taken seriously, don't walter.

Eroo, whom I stood up for earlier contributes interesting and well thought out posts without trying to convince he's had first hand experience of everything he's discussing. On the other end of the spectrum, if I did not know your circs I might be mistaken in thinking you were an authority of topics (like life in the Guards, firearms, drugs, customs, dfb etc etc etc :rolleyes:) when clearly you are nothing of the sort. You are fully entitled to express any opinion on here, as is everyone else, but don't expect to be taken seriously when you're talking with authority about subjects you have only read about in 'Walter Weekly' or heard from "someone I know in ERU". Very immature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

TYhanks for the reminder about the programme OP. :)
    Or the fact i did do a weeks work expereince in TY with customs, for the record also did it with Garda tech bureau and dfb training centre

Fair play getting work experence in those places (you must know someone!!). I tried about 6 differnt Garda stations in Dublin and Meath back when I was in TY but to no avail!! Had to settle for a hardware shop :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Fair play getting work experence in those places (you must know someone!!). I tried about 6 differnt Garda stations in Dublin and Meath back when I was in TY but to no avail!! Had to settle for a hardware shop :rolleyes:

That must have been an anti-climax!haha

As deadwood said, there's nothing wrong with being eager. However, as I have previously said to you on here if you want to be taken seriously, don't walter.

Eroo, whom I stood up for earlier contributes interesting and well thought out posts without trying to convince he's had first hand experience of everything he's discussing. On the other end of the spectrum, if I did not know your circs I might be mistaken in thinking you were an authority of topics (like life in the Guards, firearms, drugs, customs, dfb etc etc etc :rolleyes:) when clearly you are nothing of the sort. You are fully entitled to express any opinion on here, as is everyone else, but don't expect to be taken seriously when you're talking with authority about subjects you have only read about in 'Walter Weekly' or heard from "someone I know in ERU". Very immature.
    Fair enough, you should have said before, rather then jumping down my throat. All over now advice taken on board

My father is in customs thats how i got that one, as for dfb and garda tech bureau i just rang up asked what the craic was and then made written applications as requested.

Couple of lads in school tried to get stations but to no avail, everyone who did it with the guards did it with a specialist dept. rather then a station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Couple of lads in school tried to get stations but to no avail, everyone who did it with the guards did it with a specialist dept. rather then a station

You can do work experience in stations and the college. We had 4th years with us in Templemore and I have seen a few in the station as well but both seem pretty boring as your not allowed patrol for obvious reasons.

yea say it was kinda boring just wondering around the station or the college all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

ever watching the australian one, they put people through the ringer (literally sometimes) and that get it wrong just as often.

You win some you loose some, gotta ask questions and check people to ascertain wether or not they are trying to illegaly import goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Metman

Your post basically sums up my thoughts on the forum over the last while. There seems to be a lot of uninformed posts coming from people who don't really know what they are talking about.

The forum is ideal for members of different emergency services to compare and contrast their working conditions and different experiences.

It is also a good source for people to ask questions with a view to joining the different services.

There are also plenty of people who just have general questions and have no interest in joining any of the services but are looking to clarify various things.

I have not posted much in a while as i sensed a general air of waltering around the forum and i sort of lost interest. I thought i was the only one who felt this.

Obviously, someone who is young and interested in joining any of the services should have plenty of enthusiasam but at times it seems to border on an irrational obsession with the emergency services.

Remember, generally when you join any of the services it doesn't turn out to be exactly the job you obsessed over as a teenager. You will have noticed all the good things about the job before you joined but will only discover the bad points after you start.

I'm not trying to dampen anyones enthusiasiam here but a dose of reality is somtimed needed

Paul, thanks for that.

No you're not the only one who's noticed it. I can give you a handful of names of people I've spoken to in PMs who've gotten annoyed over the current walter-fest that this forum is becoming. As you rightly say, youthful enthusiasm is one thing, but blatant fantasy is something else. I've reached saturation point with the waltering hence why my policy now is to tackle it head on. I like this forum, there's a good bunch of regular contributors on here and its nice to get an input from different law enforcement agencies, fire, ambo, civil defence, military and wannabe members for all of the above, concerned MOPs, as well as the occasional amusing troll.

On the other hand what I don't want to read when I log on here is some teenager telling me how it is in operational policing, and how in a firearms incident highly trained personnel should be doing their job. Now if joe public comes on here and tells me what he thinks about firearms people and how they could do it better, then fine. Fair comment. But don't tell me how it is, or how it should be, when you're not even eligible to friggin vote.

*the above is not directed at any individual on here in particular*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

+1 show me backing metman and paul up on that one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

donvito99 wrote: »
    Cant wait!

Hardly emergency services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭civdef

The issue of walterish behaviour is always one that is likely to come up on a forum like this, and it's tough to moderate. Where a poster makes false claims about being a member of any particular organisation, this is likely to result in a ban as a breach of forum charter. The best approach to people prating knowingly about stuff they don't know a thing about is for other posters to challenge this clearly in response - as long as it is done civilly, this is entirely within the spirit of the forum.