Advertisement
Private Profiles - an update on how they will be changing here
We've partnered up with Nixers.com to offer a space where you can talk directly to Peter from Nixers.com and get an exclusive Boards.ie discount code for a free job listing. If you are recruiting or know anyone else who is please check out the forum here.

What'll happen to poor Josephine's?

• 06-09-2008 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 Amtmann

For decades it's been the customery stopping point for many a traveller and bus between Cork and Dublin. From the big dusty pot holed parking area for coaches to the crowded rest-rooms and deli counters in her buildings, Josephine's of Urlingford was a symbol that you were half way to where you wanted to go.

When I was a student in Dublin in 2000, I regularly bussed it back to Tipp. In those pre-Kildare and Monasterevin Bypass days, the journey to Cork was horrendously unsatisfying -- and Josephine's, God bless her, didn't help, because I only wanted to go as far as Cashel, so the stop in Urlingord served to prolong my agony rather than soothe it. Cork-bound people, and smokers, breathed a sigh of relief, however!

So with the anticipated opening of the newest piece of the M8 and the consequential bypassing of Urlingford, what'll become of the famous pit stop?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭ D.L.R.

Its supply and demand isn't it. With a motorway all the way from Dublin to Cork, there is no more need for a half way house. A service area will suffice. My sympathies with Josephine's et al, but this kind of thing happens with progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 Amtmann

I've asked a mod to delete this thread, as I originally meant to post it in the Commuting and Transport forum.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 31,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭ dolanbaker

Sure the mod could just move it!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭ DublinWriter

Furet wrote: »