Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[spoilers] Khan fight

• 06-09-2008 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭

KO'd 43 secs 1st round 43 secs.

Game over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 TheScript

fucck off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

Relax script.

The was very impressive from the Colombian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭yeah-buddy

nearly wet myself laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

I'm glad tbh. After the booing the crowd gave the challenger I was hoping he'd teach khan a lesson in front of his crowd. That was a serious knockout!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I bet they got their money's worth!

</sarcasm>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

lets just keep the result out of the thread title for those who might catch it later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,378 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

As i expected once he was put in with someone who had a whiff of power he'd be exposed. pity as he has the fastest hands in the business, but like i keep saying in boxing you need a good chin, kahn hasnt got one... so he'll never be a world champion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,440 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Lol, I watched it online, and when I seen this guy in the ring I just had a feeling it was gonna happen. Thats the end of Khan as a big deal now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,378 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

look at the state of Warren now being interviewed, he looks like he is about to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

what site can i watch it on?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

Get in there!! Had €20 double. Cook/Prescott. Khan is a joke of a fighter. Any boxer could beat him. No chin......No chance,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,002 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I do actually feel sorry for Khan, he's not that bad a lad but the signs were there.

Down 3 times in his last 9 fights all against domestic level fighters at best(although one was a bit dodgy) and down heavily in his last amateur fight, the signs were there.

His chin is worse than Dunne's and he will struggle to get to European level.
    For those who mightn't have understood why I picked Thaxton to beat Khan and was 100% confident of Romanov of beating Khan, now you know.

Prescott isn't that great a fighter, he's a ESPN NABA/NABF/NABO/USBA level fighter and I don't think he'll move up to World level.

However best of luck to the chap, he got his chance and took it brilliantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

So delighted I didn't PPV it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

lester76 wrote: »
    what site can i watch it on?????

its over

was only 20euro to see it, ye cheap sh1tes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

53 secs of highlights, sure they will be up tomorrow

yeah-buddy wrote: »

My stream did me grand, I can always watch Amir Khan getting knocked out in high definition later on in the week if I want.

Annoyed about Arthur losing thouhg, he just seemed so unmotivated :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

irish-stew wrote: »
    its over

nice 1 stew:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

20 euro for 51 seconds!! u got ripped off!

didnt pay for it, but i saw it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

didnt pay for it, but i saw it;)

and you were calling who cheap~sh*ts???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Whoa, some knock out - Khan exposed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

watching that prescott was definatly a step up though, still slightly shocked, although watching it (didn't pay for it my self), kahn looked a little nervous going in, reakon thats the new trainer gone, a title fight, a long long way off now, and as for the new sky deal, i wonder whats the future for that

kahn has been given, in my opnion, has been given too many easy fights in the past, and has been fully exposed tonight, listening to 5 live at the mo, and the opinion is, that kahn as not been managed properly, and warren has lost some of the management control to kahns team, corner men, etc, but on the other hand, maybe this lose can be a lesson, on what he has to work on, and also a wake up call, for him and his team,

this is not meant to slate him, as i feel for the guy, been cheering him on since that olympic medal, but sometimes you have to lose, before you can go foward, you need that expeerince, and hopefully tonight can be a valuable learning curve and worked on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

rings of bernard dunne ,..... Kiko Martinez !
    i feel sorry for Khan a little , but im delighted for f Warren !!!
    he's just signed up 5? year deal to pay Khan , and a new multi-fight PPV deal with SKY .
    Thats a serious investment..... And Audrey is never going to make him money on that performance along with the booing crowd.
    Fraudley would be more at home fighting away !!

Good stuff prescott , but still untested. he was ranked 147th in the world before the fight , now what ,Iwonder !

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    Good stuff prescott , but still untested. he was ranked 147th in the world before the fight , now what ,Iwonder !

Well it's hard to judge how accurate computerised rankings are, especially when fighters with bare records like Prescott are concerned. The IBO have the best computerised system(far better than boxrecs) but only display rankings for the top 100 fighters.

However Prescott did have a #14 ranking with the WBA and a #22 rank with the WBC.

Khan had some very inflated rankings, #5 with the WBC, #9 with the IBF and #2 with the WBO.

Prescott will now find himself within all 4 sanctioning bodies top 15 and if managed right could get himself a title shot. However I'd give him no chance against Manny Pacquiao, Nate Campbell/Joan Guzman, although WBA regular champion Yusuke Kobori might be an easy option. Kobori does have a mandatory due to fight Paulus Moses though and after that will probably have to defend against Juan Diaz or Yuri Romanov. That's if he wins aswell and I reckon Moses may get the better of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

its on youtube right now, but it'll be gone in no time

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

BOOM!
    315k6ec.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

Haha quality. No more stupid Kahn throwing flag over himself add on 24/7 on sky sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

fooken beauty,and 2 serious knock outs there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

whats with all the hating towards Khan himself?
    He always comes across as a decent younglad but his opponents were sh##e and its the usual Warren trick.

Can he come back from this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

raven136 wrote: »
    whats with all the hating towards Khan himself?
    He always comes across as a decent younglad but his opponents were sh##e and its the usual Warren trick.

I think most of the hate is towards the hype than khan himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Hopefully that will also be the knock-out blow for PPV. 43 seconds. :eek:
    At least if you pay for a football match you know you will get 90 mins of TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Big Ears wrote: »
    I do actually feel sorry for Khan, he's not that bad a lad but the signs were there.

Down 3 times in his last 9 fights all against domestic level fighters at best(although one was a bit dodgy) and down heavily in his last amateur fight, the signs were there.

His chin is worse than Dunne's and he will struggle to get to European level.
    For those who mightn't have understood why I picked Thaxton to beat Khan and was 100% confident of Romanov of beating Khan, now you know.

Prescott isn't that great a fighter, he's a ESPN NABA/NABF/NABO/USBA level fighter and I don't think he'll move up to World level.

However best of luck to the chap, he got his chance and took it brilliantly.

His chin is not good, but no chin is worse than Dunne's. C'mon, Prescott leveled him with dynamite last night. Bernard was out of it against Kiko, who IMO didn't really nail Dunne heavy until the very end. Voronin had Dunne on queer street from a few minor slaps.
    Khan has been floored, but got up and did the job. Last night, he was leveled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

He was leveled in fairness. A couple of heavy shots. However, Khan is so open to it. He's too easy to hit.

Batesy wrote: »
    He was leveled in fairness. A couple of heavy shots. However, Khan is so open to it. He's too easy to hit.

His defense is shaky; but when you are as aggressive and offensive as Khan is, it's only natural that you will leave openings. That's what boxing is all about. The shots were dynamite and coming from a big man with power. It looked in there like MAN V BOY!

walshb wrote: »
    His chin is not good, but no chin is worse than Dunne's. C'mon, Prescott leveled him with dynamite last night. Bernard was out of it against Kiko, who IMO didn't really nail Dunne heavy until the very end. Voronin had Dunne on queer street from a few minor slaps.
    Khan has been floored, but got up and did the job. Last night, he was leveled!

I think it is worse, Dunne was never badly hurt and floored by a fighter of Willie Limond's level, he ate shots from Pickering no problem.

Dunne was hit with a very good right hand after the first knock down, that's the one which had him gone.
    Kiko landed two jabs to no real effect, then a right uppercut which caught Dunne bang on the chin(although it wasn't the hardest punc you'll see), he wasn't that bad at this stage.
    Then Kiko lands a very hard straight right hand, that put Dunne pretty much out and his feet, an average overhand right decks him for the second time.
    Third knockdown Martinez lands a succession of good hard hooks until Dunne goes down and it's waved off.

Khan was hurt by a jab, then put on queer street from the first left hook landed, a very hard left hook, right hook combo put him, after he gets up(and it could of been stopped there), Prescott lands another left hook and that's good night.

There was two body shots in there from Prescott as well.

Okay Prescott did land some pretty good shots, but he didn't look that big a puncher against Abril and it seems Khan's chin made it look more spectacular than it really was.

Voronin did have Dunne on queer street but Voronin is a hard puncher, just very crude. Voronin gave Nicky Cook plenty of trouble aswell, Cook's a World title holder now.

Dunne won a European title and eventually lost it at that level.
    Khan won a Commonwealth title and eventually lost to a NABA/NABF/NABO/USBA level fighter. Dunne lost to his mandatory challenger, Khan withdraw from purse bids against his mandatory challenger(John Thaxton), but was allowed to keep the belt because Warren was his manager.

There is a reasonable chance Dunne could regain his European title, there is little chance of Khan winning the European title or even beating British champion John Murray. Khan has shown to be a level below Dunne, because his defense is actually even worse.

Prescott knew exactly what Khan was going to do because Khan still goes in and out in straight lines. He's been making that mistake for 4 years, couldn't someone get him to fix it ?

There's no road back here for Khan because he won't want to go from making millions to making 30 or 40 grand. His hype was far greater than that of Dunne's ever was. After a few fights he said he could beat Mayweather over 4 rounds, he said he was going to be a multiple weight World champion, he said he could beat Manny Pacquiao or David Diaz, he was looking for a fight with Ricky Hatton.

There was non stop talk that he was close to a World title fight since he beat Limond. A fight where he incidently should of been counted out. They then asked people to shell out €22 to see Khan take on a fighter a few notches below World level, that was a hype machine that seriously needed derailing.

I do actually feel sorry for Khan, but it was always going to happen sometime.

Btw Dunne was floored in America and got up to do the job and win, you criticised Dunne's heart even though he got up twice and tried to get up the third time before the ref called it off. Do you think Amir's heart deserves criticism ?

Amir was leveled by dynamite shots. The video proves this. The guy is a KO
    hitter and his record says this too. Dunne and Khan cannot compare, apart from their
    weak chins.

Ate shots from Pickering? That fight was a con, with Pickering in purely to survive. I saw no
    decent shots landed from Pickering!

Dunne from what I have seen was floored by slaps. Khan was floored by heavy shots and flush shots.

As for the hype. nothing compares to the hype surrounding Dunne. The only difference is that Khan is British and that's why more of a spotlight is on him, but the hype in the Peter's camp for Dunne was unmatched!

Amir's heart does not deserve criticism, he was cleanly leveled. Heart didn't come into it.....

Dunne IMO doesn't have the heart or stamina for a good tear up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

if i paid to see that fight i'd be looking for my money back

that was some punch that floored him first time out, referee should have stopped it then.

Roar wrote: »

if i paid to see that fight i'd be looking for my money back

that was some punch that floored him first time out, referee should have stopped it then.

But you have to admit that it was a devastating win. It wasn't like Khan got hit with a slap
    and went down and stayed down. He was destroyed, so for that reason I think it wasn't all that much of a robbery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

But you have to admit that it was a devastating win. It wasn't like Khan got hit with a slap
    and went down and stayed down. He was destroyed, so for that reason I think it wasn't all that much of a robbery!

ah yeah i'm not denying that. khan was decimated, simple as.

I don't think anybody said it was a robbery. I agree that he was hit by devastating punches. This argument over who has a weaker chin is a bit childish lads. There is no real way to prove that, all we know is they both have glass jaws.
    As for Prescott, who is to say he won't go to the top, its not clear yet from the little I've seen of him how good he is, but the first punch he hit Khan with looked wicked and its hard to fight someone who can hit like that.
    He has beaten two previously undefeated fighters in his last two fights but we still have not seen enough of him to decide how far he can go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Saw this fight at a mates last night, I dont watch much boxing, I try and watch the big ones when I can.

Anyway I was incredibly suprised to see Khan destroyed like that, he was knocked out by a few good ones sure, but his challenger made it look so easy.He didnt really go for the kill with all his power, he layed on a few good one's with above moderate force ( looking from his level of power ) and he must have been as suprised as anyone to see Khan on the floor totally wiped out.I dont think Khan was actually hit that hard or ferouciously, it didnt look that way to me anyway.

Will he go like Naz now?

Its always nice to see cocky, no respect for the law young fellas get whats coming to them isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

I hope this is the wake up call that Khan needs. I am not surprised one bit by this at all. Is it just me or were a lot of people not aware that Breidis Prescott has a reputation as a knockout fighter? Watched his interview on the Sky Sports website during the week. He wasn't coming over just to be in this fight, he looked very confident and was keenly aware that Khan does indeed have a glass jaw, and two knock downs in the opening minute proved that.

Not putting Amir down because I met him a few times, worked with a film production company on his training schedules when in Bolton. I hope he can bounce back, but Prescott will not be looked at in the same light again. Very biased preview of the fight from Sky Sports, insulting to the fighter. It should be pointed out that Amir Khan's apponent has 18 out of 20 wins by KO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

The point is not the money, its not supporting them charging for low standard boxing matches, i'd have no problem paying for margarito v mayweather, or at least some form of champion, not british standard boxing..

im glad he got knocked out as this will hurt sky and warren, airholes they are!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Tony Broke wrote: »

Its always nice to see cocky, no respect for the law young fellas get whats coming to them isnt it?

What's with the Khan hate, he doesn't give the impression of the description you've give him there.

eagle eye wrote: »
    I don't think anybody said it was a robbery. I agree that he was hit by devastating punches. This argument over who has a weaker chin is a bit childish lads. There is no real way to prove that, all we know is they both have glass jaws.
    As for Prescott, who is to say he won't go to the top, its not clear yet from the little I've seen of him how good he is, but the first punch he hit Khan with looked wicked and its hard to fight someone who can hit like that.
    He has beaten two previously undefeated fighters in his last two fights but we still have not seen enough of him to decide how far he can go.

Agreed, the chin debate is futile!

By robbery, I wasn't intimating the result was a robbery. I was intimating the whole offer and fight package. It wasn't worth the money, but the KO loss was in no way a sham. It was the real deal!

Tony Broke wrote: »
    Saw this fight at a mates last night, I dont watch much boxing, I try and watch the big ones when I can.

Anyway I was incredibly suprised to see Khan destroyed like that, he was knocked out by a few good ones sure, but his challenger made it look so easy.He didnt really go for the kill with all his power, he layed on a few good one's with above moderate force ( looking from his level of power ) and he must have been as suprised as anyone to see Khan on the floor totally wiped out.I dont think Khan was actually hit that hard or ferouciously, it didnt look that way to me anyway.

Will he go like Naz now?

The shots were flush and hard, and IMO, looked so. He is a KO
    puncher and they are the ones who can deliver KO shots effortlessly, making it appear so easy!
    Add this to Khan's less than stellar chin, and it's lights out!

BTW, Khan's team must have put all their fate in a Khan victory based solely on Prescott's less than impressive last win against Abril. They got it so wrong and are part of the failure!

Agreed, the chin debate is futile!

By robbery, I wasn't intimating the result was a robbery. I was intimating the whole offer and fight package. It wasn't worth the money, but the KO loss was in no way a sham. It was the real deal!
    I'm with you there, it was ridiculous to put this on ppv. It just shows how greedy Sky and Warren are. I loved the expression on Warrens face last night after it. I was watching a stream by the way.
    On Khan, he will never make it with a jaw like that, we all know that. I was just thinking about the way it is being said that the new coach was responsible for deciding on this fight. I just wonder if Prescott beating that unbeaten Cuban had a bearing on his decision?