Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Online "friends"

• 05-09-2008 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭

Just one i thought id put out there and see...

Do many people have these? People on your msn/gtalk you never met only through online? I dont mean through a dating website or anything like that. Just through bizzare or out of the ordinary circumstances. Like people the otherside of the world. Ive been recently talkin to a girl in the states that i met online (was going to buy a electric piano off her til i realized she was in the states not Ireland, her irishy name put me off!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

yeah some guy from Australia added me on msn ages ago, turned out he made a mistake typing out his friends email address and got chatting to me thinking i was his friend, very weird, i have talked to him once or twice since then, very weird though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I used to run a few cs-clans back in the day, still have about 300 contacts in my msn that I've never met in person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

A few people yeah, mostly know them from working together on a website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

yip people met through various car sites that i have never actually met in person... actually ive some very good mates ive only ever met a couple of times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

I've been talking to a guy from the UK for over a year, he games online with my bro. We got talking after the brother left himself signed in on msn one night and I didn't notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

ah so Im not alone! Thought myself it was weird at first, then i thought someone was winding me up cas she had alot in common with me... irish decent, hobbies and even an slight illness(really got freaked after that one, she said it first so it wasnt a case of just going "me too"). Consider her a good mate at this stage, still a little odd though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

dinxminx is my friend :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Know some boards.ies that I've never met face-to-face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

Like previous posters I have a few. Don't see anything strange in it at all as I have met them through message boards/websites that we have a shared interest in.

I remember having pen-pals when I was younger and I don't see much of a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Used to have quite a few that I met in various chatrooms when I was bored at work but I've lost contact with most of them. Still keep good contact with one or two and most days with a young wan I met on boards over a year ago now.

Internet friends is a strange setup though. I find it takes longer to figure out whether they're someone you want to be friends with or not. The lack of body language and seeing how they interact with others makes it harder to know what type of person they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I became close friends with a girl from Australia. We met through an online gymnastics community in 2004 and initially hated each other. But then we started to like each other and became really close - would chat almost every day. This went on for years. In 2008, I went to Australia and met her face to face for the first time. I actually stayed with her and her family through my trip. Very nice people. We still chat. We're chatting right now actually.
    I also have a few other friends from the same online community, and I've met two of them. But they both live in the same country. There are a few more I'd like to meet.

The majority of peopl ei talk to online or msn etc. I've never met. Whether they're from belfast, the US or Australia.

Oddly enough, all the people i do know in person, i rarely talk to online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

I've had one for about three years. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

People talk to people they know in real life on MSN? Hmm, I must be using this Internet thing wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

People talk to people they know in real life on MSN? Hmm, I must be using this Internet thing wrong.

Yeah, it's great when you need someone in another room to bring you food. :D

lol, Ive people from my last 2 jobs and my current job on msn...then my mates from college, one or two from home and finally the "online" friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭tinz18

Yip i've a friend from Donegal that i met on tagged. Once i copped that he wasn't a freak/weirdo i added him on msn...plus i've a few spanish msn pals that i've never met!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

I had an online "friend" from Scotland when I was around 16. I was convinced that I was in love with him :o. Never met though.

boogle wrote: »
    I was convinced that I was in love with him

Jaysus! what kinda msn convos were you having!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I don't have any friends *cries to himself*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yeah i've quite a few on msn from Boards and other sites that i've never met. My little internet buddies rule ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I have a few from an old MSN chatroom who I've been chatting to since 2001.

I've one in particular who I speak to a few times a week, mostly on the telephone and we've never met, but we consider each other as very close friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

I have two internet buddies i talk to the whole, one from the states the other from japan. Met them through Bebo, when one added me cause they liked my then name on it! the other i met through him.

Then theres all ye of course .... just kidding

Sigh *oh to have real friends :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

I have a few friends through facebook and some from my space that I chat to,wouldnt actually meet them though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I hate everyone on the internet with such ferocity that it does not allow me to make friends with them.

Trilla wrote: »
    Jaysus! what kinda msn convos were you having!

That's the thing, nothing sexual about the conversations at all.

boogle wrote: »
    That's the thing, nothing sexual about the conversations at all.

just the way he typed then eh :D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

i joined an online dating site a few years ago and its where i met my BF, i met loads of guys online and have two people i am still in contact with one which i've never met. these two are lovely guys but i couldn't have gone out with / kissed them at all.... they are cool though

just the way he typed then eh :D!

Boom boom! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i have about 50 people in my msn, 20 of which i would know well in real life, the rest would be from various forums, online games or through my hobbies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I wouldn't be mad into making online friends (I'm lazy) but i've a few on myspace/bebo. not so much msn.
    I always imagine it would be awkward and a let down for me to meet someone in real life and for them to meet me :p

I like my real friends :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Yep, a girl from America who randomly added me on myspace because she thought I had interesting picture. Been talking to her for about two years.

A girl from England who I got to know through another forum. Been talking to her for over three years. Finally met her this year when we went to see Radiohead in Manchester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

A couple from a forum I used to visit a lot when I was younger. 6 people in particular that I'm still very close to and talk to them all the time.

Met three of them in London a couple of years ago, brilliant day :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There's one girl I'd consider a friend just from chatting with on Boards, PMs and whatever. Chances are we'll never meet face to face, but the semi-anonymous conversations are always cool :)

I also went out with someone for over a year having been introduced to her on-line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Kiera wrote: »
    Yeah i've quite a few on msn from Boards and other sites that i've never met. My little internet buddies rule ;)
    +1 :D

Most people i've added to msn/bebo etc i've already met in RL there are only a few i havent yet...

Had a good few from years ago through various online games but wouldnt have anything in common with em these days so just took em off the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Have a few online mates on MSN, prob around five I talk to normally. Never met any of them

Dont feel as odd now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Couple of boardsies ...

Very weird people, not sure 'twould be safe to meet them in RL!! :pac:

/ducks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

im normal anyway...........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

minxie1 wrote: »
    im normal anyway...........:rolleyes:

Don't you roll your eyes at me, woman!!

I know what you're implying!! :mad:

Don't you roll your eyes at me, woman!!

I know what you're implying!! :mad:
    go on with ya......:eek:
    ill find friends yet ha ha ha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

There are one or two people I've gotten to know online yes, but haven't met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

the voices in my head tell me not to talk to strangers while im online... they're not here at the moment but they could be ba.........

I have no friends because I am a cunt

even when online?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

ive a load of norwegians on my msn due to an online game i used to play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Jazzy wrote: »
    ive a load of norwegians on my msn due to an online game i used to play
    ditto here actually, although substitute norwegians for swedish. and not just by online games, people i worked for too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I never had any online friends until I became a 9 year-old girl called Gary-ella.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I never had any online friends until I became a 9 year-old girl called Gary-ella.

You mean you're not really Gary-ella? :( And I was so looking forward to meeting you in the park for sweeties! :P