Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you know what to do if someone had a fit?

• 04-09-2008 8:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭

If someone had an epileptic seizure in the middle of the street, would you know what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Poke them with a stick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭smallBiscuit

walk around them while looking strangely at them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭smallBiscuit

why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i thought you weren't supposed to touch them until it stopped? (unless they were gonna smash themselves off of something)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Make sure their airways are clear, but I'm not going to kiss them!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

indough wrote: »
    i thought you weren't supposed to touch them until it stopped? (unless they were gonna smash themselves off of something)

You're thinking of rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Take lots of photos of them with the flash constantly going off???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Warhammer

make sure you him/her lying on thier side with a towel underneath their head(to reduce harm to thier head)
    Call an ambulance and stay with the person until it arrives.
    I have done it loads of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

antodeco wrote: »
    You're thinking of rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

join in?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭A racy brainrot

why?

Because I had one unexpectedly in the middle of the street and I was lucky that I met someone that knew what to do

SO, do you guys know what to do? ?

Or would you just call an ambulance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Your ma

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    join in?

LOL :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Loosen any constricting clothing around their neck, stay beside them and make sure they don't injure themselves by smacking off the pavement, make sure someone has called an ambulance and DO NOT let any idiot try and put something in their mouth like a spoon to stop them swallowing their tongue. It'll just result in them breaking their teeth instead. Oh, and ask nocal to stop taking bloody pictures..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

SO, do you guys know what to do? ?

Or would you just call an ambulance?
    I would do what Warhammer and caederyn posted above, but i would also clear the area around the patient so they dont hurt themselves.

And yes definately call an ambulance no matter how strong/weak the siezure is.

Thankfully i've never had to use my First Aid training yet:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Caderyn wrote: »
    Loosen any constricting clothing around their neck, stay beside them and make sure they don't injure themselves by smacking off the pavement, make sure someone has called an ambulance and DO NOT let any idiot try and put something in their mouth like a spoon to stop them swallowing their tongue. It'll just result in them breaking their teeth instead. Oh, and ask nocal to stop taking bloody pictures..?

Jeez....it is ok for others to rape them and join in and I am not allowed take a few hundred flash pictures or so. Hmmmmph!:mad:

I would do what Warhammer and caederyn posted above, but i would also clear the area around the patient so they dont hurt themselves.

And yes definately call an ambulance no matter how strong/weak the siezure is.

Thankfully i've never had to use my First Aid training yet:)

It always pays when you have first aid training:)

I've had people ask if they can take pictures the next time that I have one.

You're not alone nocal

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

nocal wrote: »
    Jeez....it is ok for others to rape them and join in and I am not allowed take a few hundred flash pictures or so. Hmmmmph!:mad:

Photos = evidence.

nocal wrote: »
    :p:p:p

antodeco wrote: »
    Photos = evidence.

True. Most people don't know they've had one unless they have some bruise or sore tongue or something.
    Well me anyway

Also if the person has a seizure and is unconscious on a busy street, keep an eye on their possessions- handbag etc because there's always some scumbag out there that would pretend to act concerned while trying to pinch a vulnerable person's stuff. :mad:

why would thy need evidence the poor fella or gal on the floor is not going to sue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Id probably just join in and have a fit too. sure if ya cant beat em then join em.

Nice to know that people have some bit of an idea of what to do :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 iTroll

i'D YouTube it. Modern way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Nice to know that people have some bit of an idea of what to do :)

1. Faint
    2. Wake up and try not to be a liability
    3. Ring emergency services
    4. Hold hand of fittee
    5. Faint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭CursedSkeptic

Of course, you kick their skull to pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

happened to a guy in a place i used to work. He was sitting in the back room saying he had a headache then suddenly he fell forward and had a fit. He was conscious during it and he kept saying he'd be ok in a minute but after about two minutes we called an ambulance for him, despite his objections. He was brought to hospital in convulsions but he was grand shortly after. Damn faker :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

flatmate had a fit in the bath once so to take advantage of the situation i threw in my dirty washing some daz and hey presto my whites were whiter than white :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭derossi

i would take his wallet out, remove his I.D. from the wallet check name and return I.D. to his pocket. then walk off claiming he is the town drunk....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

The correct thing to do is to throw a nice cool bucket of holy water on them.

That'll snap them right out of their fit, and they'll wake feeling refreshed and invigorated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I was in supermacs when the cashier got a fit..
    Thankfully it happened after she served me, so no harm done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

TIME the seizure! put something under their head, and remove anyting dangerous from around them!

prob best to call an ambulance anyway in case they go into a second seizure and something might need to be administered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

If someone had an epileptic seizure in the middle of the street, would you know what to do?

Well, i'm going to need an old priest, a young priest and a bucket of holy water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I was in a busy burger king a while ago when some bloke had a big fit in the middle of the floor.

So, the usual fookin enormous crowd gathers round the poor bloke to watch him fitting.

I just sat back and was finishing my bacon double cheeseburger, coz someone had put a soft towel under his head, and realistically that's all that's needed.

I carried on chatting to my friend when I saw some mad bastard legging it past my table with a HUGE spoon in his hand shouting "MOVE MOVE MOVE I HAVE A SPOON".

So, this guy rocks in and shoves a massive steel spoon right the fitting guy's gob. Fair play to him for risking his fingers, I guess.

So, I got up and walked over and just pulled it out of the guys mouth before he smashed his teeth on it. Unfortunately, this meant I was now "involved". So, I said to the assembled crowd "Look, guys, it can be embarrassing to have a fit. This guy doesn't need half of Tallaght staring at him when he wakes up confused, after having pissed himself, so can we all just leave him alone? Just go back to your lunch".

Not one single person even budged an inch. About 40 of them. just staring at the guy, who had now pretty much stopped seizing. I just looked at the restaurant manager and threw my eyes to the air.

So, the manager then got the rage. He was some mad Mexican bloke. He basically fooks everyone out of the place. It was a friday lunchtime and it was heaving. But he just starts losing the rag "EVERYONE OUT OUT OUT and starts pushing people who won't go. He just went on a rampage, people who were sitting on the other side of the takeaway, he just hussled them out of their seats.

Within about 2 minutes he'd completely emptied the place and shut the glass doors over.Total legend. Of course, all the punters still stood there with their faces pushed up against the glass!!!

But fair play to him. Mad baxtard that he was, the guy was so grateful to him afterwards, coz he woke up in (relative) privacy. The patient just kept thanking him over and over again for allowing him some dignity. That was his main concern.

Basically, the point of that rant was to point out that the best single thing you can do for a seizing person who's in a safe place is to get rid of as many onlookers as you can. It's just embarrassing for the patient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

The fécking Mexicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

1. Pretend to help and get everyone out of the way.
    2. Look in his wallet for any reference to who it is
    3. ???????
    4. Profit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

Poke them with a stick?

if someone HAD A fit, then no.

if someone WAS fit.....then poke them with my stick.... (actually, on second thought, this applies to option 1 aswell....:pac: FTW!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

snyper wrote: »
    I was in supermacs when the cashier got a fit..
    Thankfully it happened after she served me, so no harm done.

How did the place not get robbed??!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Taser them and hope it balances out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    How did the place not get robbed??!

she was one of 6 cashiers...

There was a travellers wedding in moate and travellers love supermacs more than black folk love fried chicken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

snyper wrote: »
    she was one of 6 cashiers...

There was a travellers wedding in moate and travellers love supermacs more than black folk love fried chicken
    wow. those are serious words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I was in a busy burger king a while ago when some bloke had a big fit in the middle of the floor.

So, the usual fookin enormous crowd gathers round the poor bloke to watch him fitting.

I just sat back and was finishing my bacon double cheeseburger, coz someone had put a soft towel under his head, and realistically that's all that's needed.

I carried on chatting to my friend when I saw some mad bastard legging it past my table with a HUGE spoon in his hand shouting "MOVE MOVE MOVE I HAVE A SPOON".

So, this guy rocks in and shoves a massive steel spoon right the fitting guy's gob. Fair play to him for risking his fingers, I guess.

So, I got up and walked over and just pulled it out of the guys mouth before he smashed his teeth on it. Unfortunately, this meant I was now "involved". So, I said to the assembled crowd "Look, guys, it can be embarrassing to have a fit. This guy doesn't need half of Tallaght staring at him when he wakes up confused, after having pissed himself, so can we all just leave him alone? Just go back to your lunch".

Not one single person even budged an inch. About 40 of them. just staring at the guy, who had now pretty much stopped seizing. I just looked at the restaurant manager and threw my eyes to the air.

So, the manager then got the rage. He was some mad Mexican bloke. He basically fooks everyone out of the place. It was a friday lunchtime and it was heaving. But he just starts losing the rag "EVERYONE OUT OUT OUT and starts pushing people who won't go. He just went on a rampage, people who were sitting on the other side of the takeaway, he just hussled them out of their seats.

Within about 2 minutes he'd completely emptied the place and shut the glass doors over.Total legend. Of course, all the punters still stood there with their faces pushed up against the glass!!!

But fair play to him. Mad baxtard that he was, the guy was so grateful to him afterwards, coz he woke up in (relative) privacy. The patient just kept thanking him over and over again for allowing him some dignity. That was his main concern.

Basically, the point of that rant was to point out that the best single thing you can do for a seizing person who's in a safe place is to get rid of as many onlookers as you can. It's just embarrassing for the patient.

best way to clear a crowd is to start asking people

A: to help
    B: for an item of clothing to put over person.

People suddenly lose all interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Jealous Me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'd pee on him. Oh wait thats jellyfish stings..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Wow , Snyper didn't mention the "R" word yet !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Mate had a seizure in The Bulldog in Amsterdam, don't blame him, that place is built to give epilepsy I reckon. I just took him outside and found a place to sit him. He was still able to stand so I guess it wasn't a full blown fit. Would've thought one of the bouncers would help me out though =/ He ended up having another one in the tram to the train stn too and some nice woman helped me get him off and lay him down.

Prob would've tried to chat her up too if it wasn't for Shakey McCockblock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Kold wrote: »
    some nice woman helped me get him off

yiz durty bastards :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

tallaght01 wrote: »
    yiz durty bastards :P

Relaxes the muscles...