Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feckers in UCD

• 04-09-2008 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭

aside from the fact that i feel terribly left out that all my mates have started in UCD already and ive another 3 weeks before Halls, what comebacks can i give when they slag me bout going to good oul trinners??
    hoping some seasoned veterans to help out here and give me some dirt on ucd

Um, they'll probably have essays and whathaveyou in the next three weeks. You won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭irishpacker

come back? you made it into Trinity, you are officially better than them! congratulations! and they bloody well know it too. once they discover ucd has no soul over the comming weeks, they'll come crawling to the pav begging for mercy.
    there is no need for a come back, just a cocky grin and a look to the heaven's! they'll suffer enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

You'd best get started on two or three essays though. To be on the safe side :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

Um... they go to UCD. Nothing you say will ever be as devastating as that.

[/obviousness]

Ah now, that type of talk hurts us trinity students more than it hurts them. It may lead people to suppose that we have a superior attitude or something..

What am I saying "may" :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 WOGGET

just seen this thread on the main page and had to sign up. all i can say is thank F*CK that i didnt go to either ucd or tcd, ye all think that your deadly when in fact both colleges are full of stuck up arseholes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

WOGGET wrote: »
    just seen this thread on the main page and had to sign up. all i can say is thank F*CK that i didnt go to either ucd or tcd, ye all think that your deadly when in fact both colleges are full of stuck up arseholes!

Well what college do you go to/are you going to?

TCD/UCD who cares its all the one to me..except Trinity is closer!

I assume you hadn't noticed, but the 'stuck up' comments on this thread are tongue-in-cheek. Playing up to a stereotype and that type of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Bajingo wrote: »
    Well what college do you go to/are you going to?

The University of Knowitallitis.

Wogget: read what Myth said again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

WOGGET wrote:
    just seen this thread on the main page and had to sign up.

Wait, what? You just so happened to visit boards.ie for the very first time this evening, and then rather than going to look at any forum in particular, you just visited one random link that can't have been on the main page for more than 20 minutes in total? And then you left without posting on any other forum? Even though this is supposedly a thread that you didn't even plan on finding, which means that otherwise you would have just been visiting boards.ie to, I dunno, take in the scenery or something? Yeah. Yeah, that's totally plausible, is what that is.

Christ on a stick. If people are going to make random asshat-ish comments I wish they'd at least have the good grace to make them from proper accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

Sing God Save the Queen whenever you see your friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 WOGGET

shay_562 wrote: »
    Wait, what? You just so happened to visit boards.ie for the very first time this evening, and then rather than going to look at any forum in particular, you just visited one random link that can't have been on the main page for more than 20 minutes in total? And then you left without posting on any other forum? Even though this is supposedly a thread that you didn't even plan on finding, which means that otherwise you would have just been visiting boards.ie to, I dunno, take in the scenery or something? Yeah. Yeah, that's totally plausible, is what that is.

Christ on a stick. If people are going to make random asshat-ish comments I wish they'd at least have the good grace to make them from proper accounts.

yes you idiot - it took that long to register :rolleyes:. long time lurker 1st time poster i really couldnt be arsed doing this kinda thing.

It's really pathetic then that that was your first post.

yes you idiot - it took that long to register :rolleyes:. long time lurker 1st time poster i really couldnt be arsed doing this kinda thing.

If you're a long time lurker you'll know that using personal abuse on boards is a bannable offence.

Oddly enough, I thought this thread could continue with a light-hearted manner. Sure we'll see if it improves.

/soliloquoy

Myth wrote:
    If you're a long time lurker you'll know that using personal abuse on boards is a bannable offence.

Ah, to be fair, if we were to ban every user who called me an idiot (or implied the same sentiment) the banlist might start growing pretty rapidly. Also, is it technically 'personal abuse' if it's kinda true? That said:
    raah! wrote:
    It's really pathetic then that that was your first post.

Word. I think I liked you better when I thought you were just too cowardly to attach your name to a stupid post. As things stand, you're brave enough to attach your name to a stupid post, yet in doing so are basically admitting that in a "long time" of lurking said stupid post is the only thing you've had the wherewithal to write. Slow clap, WOGGET. Slow clap for you.

Topic? (Since I totally forgot that last post) I recommend a scattershot array of famine- and potato-based jokes, maybe with a little light Pope-bashing. I'd also attack the Ag Sci building, it's their Achilles heel. I've yet to meet a UCDer who doesn't cringe at the very mention of that monstrosity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

It's obvious he's in UCD and too ashamed to admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

So girls, I hear famine-chic is the Autumn/Winter buzzword in the Arts block. We're taking things back and getting down and nostalgic, with sackcloth and old tweed being the textures of the moment. We're talking lots of earth tones; barren brown, blight grey and grassmouth green are the ones to be SEEN in. Gaunt is good. Don't be frugal, get out there and stimulate the failing economy with your burial money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

i like that alot. will they all defo get it?haha loving it already and i havnt started yet!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

what ever happened to cracking wise about their fat momma's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭peachystarr

Trinity's got the history and status.....but thats just it, generally students go there so there parents can tell their friends how great their son/daughter is for getting into trinity.

Everyone says how gray lookin UCD is but in reality who goes around looking at the buildings while trinity is visually beautiful, inside aint the same story, its out dated and old fashioned and the new buildings in UCD are light years ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Jegger

UCD stands for Upper Class Dunces, tell them that and then watch them struggle to make a joke about what TCD stands for!
    I`m joking by the way, so please no angry replies from UCD students claiming that thet are neither Upper Class nor a Dunce.
    -
    Also "WOGGET" you claim to be a "long time lurker"(*cough* weirdo *cough*) and 1st reply is to a TCD tread about insulting UCD. Are you saying in all your time lurkering you never once found a tread worth replying to until and "accidentally" came across this one! yeah I believe that! :rolleyes:

Trinity's got the history and status.....but thats just it, generally students go there so there parents can tell their friends how great their son/daughter is for getting into trinity.

Oh, totes! I mean, sure, it had a course more suited to what I was looking for, it's got a brilliant society/club scene, it's significantly easier for me to commute to and it has probably the best international reputation of any Irish college - but the real reason I went there was so that Doddy could brag about me at the golf club.

Also? Your poor grammar and rambly, run-on sentences somewhat undermine your "UCD is a good college to go to!" platform; when posting in defence of your university, it might help if you didn't sound quite so slack-jawed and borderline-literate. In deference to Agent Smith, I'd also like to throw in that your momma is fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭UU

Oh for heaven's sake! The rivalry! I'm like who gives a damn! Both Trinity and UCD are great colleges in their own unique ways and I know as I have attended BOTH! I was in Trinity for a year but disliked my subject choice so re-applied to the CAO, didn't get Trinity because the points are ridiculously high for the same degree one would get elsewhere - I think Trinity's points will always be high due to the fact that there aren't as many places there as UCD and it has a very high demand especially Arts!

So I go in last Wednesday for Orientation in UCD and the head of the SU he says "First rule - You must hate Trinity College". Apparently, there's some age-old tradition of rivalry which I refuse to follow because one, I was in Trinity for a year and have friends there; two, I don't follow stupid traditions and three, rivalry is just pathetic! I like UCD and I like Trinity. Although I do think the arts building in UCD is a lot nicer and brighter, I always felt somewhat claustrophobic in the one in Trinity although I must admit I do miss terribly all the pretty cobblestones although they do tend to hurt your feet after a while especially wearing converses!

;) Keep the peace people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭the flananator

To be honest, I've been finding this a problem a lot lately. My former friends in UCD didn't treat me very well at all last year, so I did the only thing I could; I got a few buddies together, hopped in my car and went egging around the UCD campus. Got my former friend good, and plenty of randomers along the way also (casulties of war).

However, things seem sure to escalate this year with the death of Trinity's longtime mascot, Matt the Jap. With Matt gone, UCD are lording it over us with their mascot, the UCD Bum.

I see only one way to rectify this problem. A few of us drive to UCD, kidnap the UCD Bum, roll-him up in a carpet, and throw him off the Ha' Penny bridge.

Whos with me?

Sorry Mr/Ms.Perfect grammer. I never said I was a UCD student. Obviously when in an exam situation I use much more appropriate english.My exam results over the previous three years have been excellent. My "poor grammer" on an internet posting at 1.30am is not something I have a problem with. Thank You for bringing it to my attention.

Are you feeling angry?

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭UU

To be honest, I've been finding this a problem a lot lately. My former friends in UCD didn't treat me very well at all last year, so I did the only thing I could; I got a few buddies together, hopped in my car and went egging around the UCD campus. Got my former friend good, and plenty of randomers along the way also (casulties of war).

However, things seem sure to escalate this year with the death of Trinity's longtime mascot, Matt the Jap. With Matt gone, UCD are lording it over us with their mascot, the UCD Bum.

I see only one way to rectify this problem. A few of us drive to UCD, kidnap the UCD Bum, roll-him up in a carpet, and throw him off the Ha' Penny bridge.

Whos with me?
    Ah well most of the people I've talked to UCD so far have been nice to me so I can't really complain. Although I must say a lot of the guys really do look the same it's freaky! What's their obsession with American designer brands? It's scary...

Oh I do miss Matt the Jap! I remember he was always up in the LGBT/SWSS room and I saw him there. I haven't seen the UCD mascot yet though but he doesn't sound as interesting! :( If I don't like him then I'll gladly help you throw him into the Liffey! ;)

Random violence, you say? I'll go fetch my taser and a rug.
    Are you feeling angry?

Oh, always - I'm a seething ball of rage on the inside, natch. But when people pop into the TCD forum to randomly declare that ("generally") everyone who went to Trinity only went there so their parents could brag about them getting in, it allows me to externalise the anger.

And I apologise for suggesting that you're undermining UCD's reputation when apparently you're undermining the reputation of a different institution entirely. I assumed that only someone blinded by college loyalty would defend UCD from an aesthetic perspective, and I'll try not to jump to conclusions so quickly in the future. I think we've all learned a little lesson here tonight.

Haha that post made me laugh. Thank you for providing some entertainment on what was turning out to be a rather boring night.

I do apologise for the use of the term "generally" when clearly there are exceptions. I will be more specific in the future. In my personal experience former "friends" attending TCD changed drastically in a short time there. Armed with a superiority complex and a condescending tone once they had the TCD student card. Hence my current view of TCD students. Alas I realise I should not put everyone in the same box.

Good Luck with your course!;)

Watch that anger , its a rather unattractive trait. :rolleyes:

shay_562 wrote: »
    Ah, to be fair, if we were to ban every user who called me an idiot (or implied the same sentiment) the banlist might start growing pretty rapidly.

That's why I didn't ban herim. Was me being a smart alec back at their hissy fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I don't know whats wrong with me lately, here's a perfect opportunity to troll and abuse but I just can't bring myself to do it. I think shay stole all my rage.

You forgot to speculate that we're all either raging queens or closet homos. Or both, in the case of Shay :pac:

I walked through UCD on my way to my new gaf on Wednesday. I lolled so heartily at the OMGz and the Abercrombiez and the BOPs and those scarves and all that [nocensor]shite[/nocensor] that I called my friend to discuss it and giggle/despair. And I spent four years in Trinity and hardly noticed the infamous "fashion scene".

Oh and as for the son/daughter comment, I used to tell people at home that I went to UCD. So did a significant number of my friends. It just ain't worth the snobbery and prejudices directed towards Trinity students, of which your post is a rather good example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

UU wrote: »
    So I go in last Wednesday for Orientation in UCD and the head of the SU he says "First rule - You must hate Trinity College".

Aodhán actually said that? Jaysus, what an insane thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Boston wrote: »
    I don't know whats wrong with me lately, here's a perfect opportunity to troll and abuse but I just can't bring myself to do it. I think shay stole all my rage.

I'm sure it'll pass Boston. And if it doesn't we will always have the memories, or well the archives.

And I totally went to Trinity so that my parents could brag about me :p, and I like live accross the road from UCD. As in I could be in a lecture in the Arts Block in UCD about 8 minutes after getting out of bed if I were to leave the house in whatever I had slept in. I mean it would be sooo easy, and yet for some reason I decided that that gray, uninspiring, concret slab of a campus could be improved upon, and well I was right. It can be, only it wasn't a case of improving upon, it was simply that Trinity set the standard hundred of years before anyone else even bothered and now no college in the country really feels that ti can compete, and rather than try and fail, they simply don't try. Que the rolling in of cement mixers and trucks of concret blocks. I mean it's not fair to compair most of UCD to Trinity, I suppose they have a pond, though we have the old library. So at the end of this ramble dear freshers, you simply did better.

And whats with all the positive feeling stuff...are us old people really that bitter? I remember thinking Boston was cranky back in the day but I didn't think it was a progression thing, more a personality thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Once I realised that my parents were bragging about me going to Trinity, I promptly failed all my exams, repeated a year and then failed again. That'll teach 'em to be proud of me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

UU wrote: »
    I'm like who gives a damn!
    This like totally amuses me greatly.
    Antithetic wrote:
    I called my friend to discuss it and giggle/despair
    Lie. I received no such phone call. And its a fell established fact that I am your one and only friend.

So Trinity has noicer buildings. Who gives a flying? Come up with something new for chrissake. Pet is in the lead so far.

The Times university table then. Trinity is the only Irish University in the top 100.

And the fact that Trinners rhymes with Winners.:D

This like totally amuses me greatly.
    Lie. I received no such phone call. And its a fell established fact that I am your one and only friend.
    Lie. I have one other, who went to UCD and hated it. You haven't been introduced to her in case I have to marry her.

There appears to be way less mischief to be had in UCD :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

Once I realised that my parents were bragging about me going to Trinity, I promptly failed all my exams, repeated a year and then failed again. That'll teach 'em to be proud of me!!

Im still proud of the amount of time we managed to spend doing sweet flip-all.

I mean you were busy, but never with anything of use. Except I reckon keeping the local brewhouses solvent.

Antithetic wrote: »
    There appears to be way less mischief to be had in UCD :(.

Well you will prob be a TA next year, you have some fun with that. You can be the next Will Sparks / Ronan Lyons!

Antithetic wrote: »
    Lie. I have one other, who went to UCD and hated it. You haven't been introduced to her in case I have to marry her.

Nice to see the 5 year plan is underway.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

I nearly lolled my breakfast all over the keyboard.

You can be the next Will Sparks / Ronan Lyons!
    Don't be Daft.
    Nice to see the 5 year plan is underway.:rolleyes:

What 5 year plan? Me and this girl have agreed to wed at 30 if we're both single. That gives me 8.5 years to the day.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Pet wrote: »
    So girls, I hear famine-chic is the Autumn/Winter buzzword in the Arts block. We're taking things back and getting down and nostalgic, with sackcloth and old tweed being the textures of the moment. We're talking lots of earth tones; barren brown, blight grey and grassmouth green are the ones to be SEEN in. Gaunt is good. Don't be frugal, get out there and stimulate the failing economy with your burial money!

:D Brilliant!

Whos with me?

i like this plan. god how i love traditions and the like.

Pet wrote: »

Hah, excellent. Only saw that when Fishie quoted it. If my signature wasn't full I'd put that in.

any other age old traditions to expect in trinity for the oh so blind and innocent freshers(like myself)?
    any thing going on with ucd besides the colours matches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I tell everyone who asks that I go to trinity. In fact I say tinners. I'd just love for some Muppet to call me an upper middle class twat. Then bamn, I'd stab him in da eye with me syringe.

Anyway, yes Hills, its a personality thing :)

quirkster wrote: »
    any other age old traditions to expect in trinity for the oh so blind and innocent freshers(like myself)?
    any thing going on with ucd besides the colours matches?

Well since they're Catholic and since you're going to Trinity I can only assume you're a fine upstanding Protestant you should remember how those pesky Catholics can only be shot by the Provost (and possibly by devolution Members of the Board). Back in the day there were hangings before Commons each day plus the added of 'Hanging Monday' which occurred yearly on the day after Palm Sunday.

But there are plenty of old stories I'm sure you'll hear. Actually, I think this calls for a new thread.

haha cant wait to hear them!seriously i love all that kinda thing. looking forward to the stories in the new thread:D