Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying needles? Not what you'd think...

• 01-09-2008 4:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭

I was just wondering if its possible to buy some needles as used by doctors on syringes?
    Sterilised etc...
    And alcohol based swabs to clean a wound.
    Its not at all for what you'd think. Im not on steroids or any kind of drug, and they're not for anyone else lol

Can i buy them from a pharmacy or are they gonna ring the guards on me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

A mate of mine went into a pharmacy to get syringes to draina cauliflower ear and they almost called the cops. So, no, you can't! Your GP might take pity on you if you have a legit reason but other then that you might have to get them from a medical supply place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Roper wrote: »
    A mate of mine went into a pharmacy to get syringes to draina cauliflower ear and they almost called the cops. So, no, you can't! Your GP might take pity on you if you have a legit reason but other then that you might have to get them from a medical supply place.

It depends on what you look like and how many you want as I have got one in the past. One being singular. OP if you need them for a legit reason as Roper said you can ask you GP. AFAIK there sale in controlled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Or go to Greece, they sell them openly in Pharmacies there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

A dentist hooked me up with a fair stock of lidocaine, adreneline, mepivacane and something else (think it's lido+adren, not sure). If you have a doctor or dentist who knows you well, then explain and see. You don't stand a chance if they think it's for 'roids though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

slemons wrote: »
    I was just wondering if its possible to buy some needles as used by doctors on syringes?
    Sterilised etc...
    Its not at all for what you'd think. Im not on steroids or any kind of drug, and they're not for anyone else lol

ye can order them on-line easily, or you could try the needle exchange!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Wood

Yep, try the merchants quay project, but if you're doin it for the laugh then don't bother, there's a few heads around that actually need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

slemons wrote: »
    Sterilised etc...

As above speak to the pharmacist. There is no reason why they could call the cops. I can't understand why you need needles to clean out a wound, syringe yes to irrigate the wound. Ask for a large size 10 or 20 ml no addict is going to be using that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Odysseus wrote: »
    I can't understand why you need needles to clean out a wound, syringe yes to irrigate the wound.

have you ever seen cauliflower ears being drained! :eek: he means needles as in syringe

dave80 wrote: »
    have you ever seen cauliflower ears being drained! :eek: he means needles as in syringe

Yes. When the op said wound I thought he meant an open wound/abrasion in terms of cleaning. He wasn't exactly clear on the exact reason. In that case its a case of some may and some won't.

You don't need a script for them but most places dislike giving them out. I'm lucky just take whatever I need from work.

OP where are you based?

A needle exchange giving out needles like that is just not going to happen, not for those reasons, and if it did the staff should be reported its not within the scope of the service. It could happen but most outreach workers I know would be very careful around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I buy piercing stuff from these guys www.medisave.co.uk should have all you need.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I think i have some BD Plastipacks still in the wrappers.I'll have a look.
    I have one 5ml with needle.PM me your addy and i'll send it to ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

thanks guys.
    I got some diabetic needles off ebay.

Its actually for a process called 'self-needling'. I have a scar that never really healed right and is all bumpy . Using it as a pin cushion is supposed to help it heal...