Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí in Finglas

• 01-09-2008 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

Anyone else notice the amount of extra Gardaí around since the shooting in the Jolly Toper last weekend?

I popped home from work today at lunchtime and was stuck at a checkpoint for a couple of minutes. There were a few uniformed Gardaí, but also a few with BIG guns.

I was also stopped the other night in my car by a Garda car that was driving the opposite way. They put on their bule lights and reversed up the road after me just as I passed. I stoped and when they got to me they just looked and said "wrong person" and drove off!

Now, the thing I can't understand is that they're obviously after someone in particular, having armed Gardaí at a checkpoint.... but they were also pulling people for tax/insurance etc. - And when they'd pull one car in about another 5 would get through unchecked.

Anybody know what's going on??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Apparently they are looking for a guy selling cakes stolen from a bakery in Finglas. They don't have much to go on except that his first name is Stephen...

Honestly, I don't think many of the lads here would be willing to give you the details of ongoing operations. I could be wrong but that sort of thing generally gets gardaí into a 'career-limiting' state :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Scootay

The only thing I have noticed is they like to have the helicopter hanging around at the weekend to keep residents awake which is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Apparently they are looking for a guy selling cakes stolen from a bakery in Finglas. They don't have much to go on except that his first name is Stephen...

Honestly, I don't think many of the lads here would be willing to give you the details of ongoing operations. I could be wrong but that sort of thing generally gets gardaí into a 'career-limiting' state :)

Funny...

Anyway, back to being nosey... just thought someone may be able to shed some light on whatever is going on at the moment. Also, I was almost late back to work, and I don't want to have the hassle of being stopped every time I'm mistaken for someone else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Funny...

Anyway, back to being nosey... just thought someone may be able to shed some light on whatever is going on at the moment. Also, I was almost late back to work, and I don't want to have the hassle of being stopped every time I'm mistaken for someone else!
    Scootay wrote: »
    The only thing I have noticed is they like to have the helicopter hanging around at the weekend to keep residents awake which is nice.

Don't wish to sound smart, but would you rather they didnt do their job?

No, I like that they are doing their job. I like that they are out and about, and that there is clearly a more visable presence in the area, there should be such a presence more often. Obvoiusly I don't mean the checkpoints with armed Gardaí; that's not needed every day. Just seeing them patrolling on the streets is enough.

I have a full licence, car is taxed/NCT'd/insured etc. I have nothing to hide. I don't mind being pulled over, if I have done something wrong, or even at a checkpoint... What I don't like is driving down the street minding my own business, and being forced to stop simply because: (a) I may look like someone they are after or (b) my car is similar to one they are on the look out for (which I doubt).

Now I realise they are doing their job, but they could have at least apologised for the inconvienence / fright / panic caused...

And if you don't want to sound smart, don't say things like that. :D

Well in fairness last time i checked criminals didn't go around in black and white striped tops, with a mask and a bag labeled swag, nor do their cars say criminal driver on them.

Therefor it is necessary for the guards to stop people who match the description or stop vehicles which match the description in order to ascertain whether it is the person or vehicle in which they are looking for. The same way they must look at your vehicle to ensure the tax insurance and nct are valid

Does the postman say sorry for delivering your letters? Nope so if he doesn't apologise for doing his job why should the guards apologise for doing theirs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

After the shooting of Paul 'Farmer' Martin last week Gardai fear there will be further bloodshed,according to Paul Williams in the Sunday World.Associates of Martin have supposedly vowed to get revenge after his funeral on Wednesday,as they know those behind the gun attack.As a result,elements of the Organised Crime and Emergency Response Unit's have been deployed again in Finglas.

It is common practice for AGS to use 'saturation policing'(I believe this is what former Commisioner Conroy called it!?).Basically;Garda heli;strategically placed checkpoints w/ armed Gardai;continuos presence of marked/unmarked patrol units.It has been used down here with great success in Limerick,and also closer to you in Sherriff St.

Regarding the heli,I find it easier to get to sleep with the knowledge of knowing there is an eye in the sky watching the bad guys and gals,. . . providing it isn't directly over my house!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

The ammount of unmarked garda cars in finglas is unreal! I see at least 4 or 5 everytime I drive through on the way to RDF. I once seen a convoy of 4 mondeos all heading up Tolka Valley road, must have been going somewhere important!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

They may be looking out for someone who mathces your description, or drives the same car as you but upon fruther inspection you are not the man??

just a thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

No, I like that they are doing their job. I like that they are out and about, and that there is clearly a more visable presence in the area, there should be such a presence more often. Obvoiusly I don't mean the checkpoints with armed Gardaí; that's not needed every day. Just seeing them patrolling on the streets is enough.

I have a full licence, car is taxed/NCT'd/insured etc. I have nothing to hide. I don't mind being pulled over, if I have done something wrong, or even at a checkpoint... What I don't like is driving down the street minding my own business, and being forced to stop simply because: (a) I may look like someone they are after or (b) my car is similar to one they are on the look out for (which I doubt).

Now I realise they are doing their job, but they could have at least apologised for the inconvienence / fright / panic caused...

And if you don't want to sound smart, don't say things like that. :D

I would be risking a ban for responding with my true feelings so instead I will simple ask, do you think Garda powers should be limited beyond 'reasonable suspicion' and changed to '100% qualified fact'?

Karlitos i pretty much summed it up for you in civilised language in my above post :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

stevie i've noticed on this section of boards there is only a selected few who is guaranteed a civilised answer so dont be offended by the smart ass comments.the check points were probaly anvil check points.

darren254 wrote: »
    stevie i've noticed on this section of boards there is only a selected few who is guaranteed a civilised answer so dont be offended by the smart ass comments.the check points were probaly anvil check points.

Make a stupid comment......

darren254 wrote: »

To be fair,stevie appeared rather ignorant by basically saying he was annoyed by the Gardai doing their jobs.He speaks of the possibility that he or his car matched the description of a suspect vehicle.What were these Gardai supposed to do,pull up beside him at the nearest set of traffic lights and peer into his car?Or maybe they should have let him off even though he could have been a known gunman on his way to carry out a hit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

a few weeks ago (i live in finglas)two guys were trying to break into my garden shed ,so i rang finglas garda station and they said they would send somebody up straight away

three hours later no sign of the guards so i rang them back and told them that not to worry about the intruders i had earlier in the evening as i shot them and put down the phone

two minutes later there was four squad cars,two unmarked cars,three garda vans and the garda helicopter hovvering over my house

a very irate garda said "i thought you said you shot someone??"

i said "i thought you were going to send someone up straight away"!!!!

Anyone else get that pong of male bovine excrement?

Guards never ever turn down and intruders on call, catching someone in the act, happy days

pebbles21 wrote: »
    a few weeks ago (i live in finglas)two guys were trying to break into my garden shed ,so i rang finglas garda station and they said they would send somebody up straight away

three hours later no sign of the guards so i rang them back and told them that not to worry about the intruders i had earlier in the evening as i shot them and put down the phone

two minutes later there was four squad cars,two unmarked cars,three garda vans and the garda helicopter hovvering over my house

You couldnt even come up with an original story? Just replaced 'Chicago' , 'New York' with 'Finglas'? 'Police officer' with 'Garda' and worst of all, try to make out its your own original funny story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

pebbles21 wrote: »

Was that story not in "Overheard In Dublin?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

You couldnt even come up with an original story? Just replaced 'Chicago' , 'New York' with 'Finglas'? 'Police officer' with 'Garda' and worst of all, try to make out its your own original funny story?

arnt we a very intelligent individual all the same ! :rolleyes:

No do not taunt him!

*takes cover from karlitos wrath*

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    No do not taunt him!

*takes cover from karlitos wrath*

+ ****in 1!

eroo wrote: »
    To be fair,stevie appeared rather ignorant by basically saying he was annoyed by the Gardai doing their jobs.He speaks of the possibility that he or his car matched the description of a suspect vehicle.What were these Gardai supposed to do,pull up beside him at the nearest set of traffic lights and peer into his car?Or maybe they should have let him off even though he could have been a known gunman on his way to carry out a hit?

So now I'm not allowed to be annoyed by Gardaí doing their jobs? I realise they are just doing their jobs but I still have the right to be annoyed when it causes me any inconvienence... don't I???

Who here gets annoyed by temporary traffic lights, road works etc... those guys are only diong their jobs but we still get annoyed by it when we're delayed.

As for me being ignorant... how so? As I just said I am perfectly entitled to be annoyed about it. I do realise that their is a job that needs to be done, but that doesn't mean I want it interfearing with my life.

I think some people on here half-read certain posts, pick them apart, and use whatever they need to attack other posters. When I started this thread, I was looking for info on what's going on in my area... not an argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

They are just doing their jobs, yeah anyone can get annoyed at traffic lights, road works etc...

And i suppose the job the Gardai in Finglas are doing is for your safety and welfare. They aren't stopping searching and collating people for something to do. They are trying to catch drug dealers, stop hitmen and make your community safer.

Apologies for the inconvience, but isn't it a minor inconvience in the grand scheme of crime prevention, or would you prefer the Gardai pull out of Finglas all together? The place would self destruct!

the locust wrote: »
    They are just doing their jobs, yeah anyone can get annoyed at traffic lights, road works etc...

And i suppose the job the Gardai in Finglas are doing is for your safety and welfare. They aren't stopping searching and collating people for something to do. They are trying to catch drug dealers, stop hitmen and make your community safer.

Apologies for the inconvience, but isn't it a minor inconvience in the grand scheme of crime prevention, or would you prefer the Gardai pull out of Finglas all together? The place would self destruct!

Locust, you do have a point. It is a minor inconvienence in the grand scheme of crime prevention; and if it wasn't for the criminals in the area the Gardaí wouldn't have to go to the lengths they are going to, to try and catch the criminals...

No I wouldn't rather they pull out of Finglas all together. I applaud the job they are trying to get done. As I said before I like seeing them on the streets, making their presence known.

All I was trying to do here was get some more info on what is going on in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Locust, you do have a point. It is a minor inconvienence in the grand scheme of crime prevention; and if it wasn't for the criminals in the area the Gardaí wouldn't have to go to the lengths they are going to, to try and catch the criminals...

No I wouldn't rather they pull out of Finglas all together. I applaud the job they are trying to get done. As I said before I like seeing them on the streets, making their presence known.

All I was trying to do here was get some more info on what is going on in the area.

Do you actually think your going to be told information about what is going on in Fingla on Boards?:rolleyes:

Ring up the garda press office or the local garda station, but if u come on here asking silly questions you'll get silly answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

yayamark wrote: »
    Do you actually think your going to be told information about what is going on in Fingla on Boards?:rolleyes:

Ring up the garda press office or the local garda station, but if u come on here asking silly questions you'll get silly answers.

Some of you are being pretty harsh on the guy. He only asked a question, and maybe he will get an answer, or maybe he won't. But no harm in treating the guy with some sort of respect. The sarcastic roll eyes is a bit much imo. He hasn't been anti-gardai in any way, he's just striking up a conversation. Maybe cut him some slack.

I think some people on here half-read certain posts, pick them apart, and use whatever they need to attack other posters. When I started this thread, I was looking for info on what's going on in my area... not an argument.

No one wants an argument and we're not attacking you.Just read this section of your earlier post again;
    [...] What I don't like is driving down the street minding my own business, and being forced to stop simply because: (a) I may look like someone they are after or (b) my car is similar to one they are on the look out for (which I doubt).
    Now,do you still think there action was unnecessary?What else could they do?Nothing,and that is the point we are trying to make.

Btw there was no need to say fyr.fytr's reply was ''smart'',that kind of post doesn't get you much help around here!

Besides,we all know he isn't smart!:D
    *sprints out the door*

No one wants an argument and we're not attacking you.Just read this section of your earlier post again;

Now,do you still think there action was unnecessary?What else could they do?Nothing,and that is the point we are trying to make.

Btw there was no need to say fyr.fytr's reply was ''smart'',that kind of post doesn't get you much help around here!

*sprints out the door*

Couldnt agree with you more

EDIT: Who called me smart?

*sprints out the door*

They could have been a little more courteous. (In fairness he did call me Sir). But once they realised I wasn't who they thought I was they just drove off. Left me sitting there bewildered for a minute thinking "what the f**k was that about"... Also left my O/H who was in the car a little scared.

Their actions weren't un-neccessary, but they manner in which they acted was.

They could have been a little more courteous. (In fairness he did call me Sir). But once they realised I wasn't who they thought I was they just drove off. Left me sitting there bewildered for a minute thinking "what the f**k was that about"... Also left my O/H who was in the car a little scared.

Their actions weren't un-neccessary, but they manner in which they acted was.

Well maybe a quick apology would have sufficed,but I'm sure they had more pressing issues to attend to.:)

Ok so they're looking for someone in a car ok.

Heres the thing every second spent with you, an innocent person, means the person they are looking for is getting further and further away.

If it entailed them reversing back up the road as you say, a dangerous enough manouver, it must have been serious.

Very similar thing happened me before where I was stopped by two armed members, only for them to say, nope wrong peorson, jump back in the car and belt off down the road, 2 miles down the road they were taking another guy out of a car similar to mine at gun point, crux of the matter is it was just before a large motorway junction, 20-30 seconds apologising to me would have ment the guy in the car could have gone any where from belfast to cork or galway using the motorway network he was stopped beside.

Policing our streets is a thankless job, give them a break, just becuase they didnt say sorry. Imagine if our streets wern't policed

OK so were putting this in the same context as temporary traffic lights. Thats fair enough, necessary action for people to do their jobs etc

Wheres your posts in the builders section everytime it happened? Do you ask them why they are pulling up the road or expect the builders to give you an individual apology?

OK so were putting this in the same context as temporary traffic lights. Thats fair enough, necessary action for people to do their jobs etc

Wheres your posts in the builders section everytime it happened? Do you ask them why they are pulling up the road or expect the builders to give you an individual apology?

When builders are digging up roads there is usually a sign: " 'X company' working on behalf of Dublin City Council/Eircom/NTL etc. Sorry for any inconvienence caused" So no need for a personal apology. EDIT: Plus, when that happens, it causes inconvienence to numerous people at once, nobody is being singled out.

I'm not saying I wanted them begging forgivness or anything, just a "Sorry 'bout that, mistook you for someone else" would have done.

Whenever I deal with anyone, either professionally or in my personal life, I am courteous, polite and friendly.

Why are so many people here ready to jump on anything a poster says for an argument. I was initially looking for info but instead have to defend the way I may have come across by wording certain things in certain ways...

Ok so they're looking for someone in a car ok.

Heres the thing every second spent with you, an innocent person, means the person they are looking for is getting further and further away.

If it entailed them reversing back up the road as you say, a dangerous enough manouver, it must have been serious.

Very similar thing happened me before where I was stopped by two armed members, only for them to say, nope wrong peorson, jump back in the car and belt off down the road, 2 miles down the road they were taking another guy out of a car similar to mine at gun point, crux of the matter is it was just before a large motorway junction, 20-30 seconds apologising to me would have ment the guy in the car could have gone any where from belfast to cork or galway using the motorway network he was stopped beside.

Policing our streets is a thankless job, give them a break, just becuase they didnt say sorry. Imagine if our streets wern't policed

Just to clarify, they weren't in a hurry. We were in a residential area. They, aswell as I were driving slowly. Lights only came on when I passed. They went back off again as quick when they were finished checking me. They were in no hurry anywhere. They may well have been on the lookout for someone... but it could as well have been someone they were looking out for over a long period of time in the area. Not neccessarily someone they had been chasing prior to my passing.

Ok

Ah hem *clears throath*

An Garda Siochana, working on behalf of the people of Ireland, upholding the laws of the state and protecting its citizens would like to apologise for any inconvenience cause to you during the course of our duties

Thank you for your co-operation

Why are so many people here ready to jump on anything a poster says for an argument. I was initially looking for info but instead have to defend the way I may have come across by wording certain things in certain ways...

Well when you post like I highlighted in an ealier post,you are asking for an argument imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

I'm not saying I wanted them begging forgivness or anything, just a "Sorry 'bout that, mistook you for someone else" would have done.

Whenever I deal with anyone, either professionally or in my personal life, I am courteous, polite and friendly.

I understand it may have been an inconvenience to you being stopped like that, and a swift apology or smile can make all the difference in situations like this. However the Gardaí who did stop you had nothing but good intentions. They were doing their job, and I am sure they didn't realise that they may have been slightly rude. Unfortunately, in our job, it happens sometimes, and very often unintentionally.

I also agree your treatment on here by other posters has been harsh. Many of the posters seem to like creating a "you vs us" mentality, which is not conducive to a good relationahip between the community and An Garda Síochana.

As for what is going on in Finglas, most will not know and others would not be at liberty to divulge such information.

I hope that helps :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Ok

Ah hem *clears throath*

An Garda Siochana, working on behalf of the people of Ireland, upholding the laws of the state and protecting its citizens would like to apologise for any inconvenience cause to you during the course of our duties

Thank you for your co-operation

As far as I am aware you are not currently a member of An Garda Síochána, so please do not attempt to make representations on behalf of the force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

There's nothing more annoying than getting caught in traffic or pulled by the guards when you've done nothing wrong.

I don't mind it though once they're doing their jobs and they don't keep me any longer than they have to.

Yes, there are Guards (like in every walk of life) who go about it all the wrong way but the vast majority I've dealt with have just done their thing and then left me alone.

Samson wrote: »
    As far as I am aware you are not currently a member of An Garda Síochána, so please do not attempt to make representations on behalf of the force.

Is the guy who prints the signs at road works part of the crew digging up the road??

It was a tongue in cheek response to the op saying atleast roadworks apologise via signs, the post was a piss take of such signs, no one was supposed to take it seriously

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Right so we are all agreed the Gardai in Finglas are out there patrolling the dangerous streets stopping cars and questioning people like they should be.

Excellent.