Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dead Ed pose running.

• 29-08-2008 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭

Was reading the thread about the threadmill and came across your post.
    Anyway how many people in sport use this technique ?
    What technique would say Paula Radcliff ,Sonia O Sullivan ,eamon coughlan or Haile Selassie use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Sorry, I honestly have no idea. I think I read somewhere that the US triathlon team use/used it but don't quote me on that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

As always google is your friend op

http://www.posetech.com/

http://www.sportsinjurybulletin.com/archive/pose-running-technique.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EPxga-gMoY

That should keep you going until one of the people who run and know what they are talking about come online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

Hmmm, have you had your running technique looked at? Alternatively, google "pose running" or lookey here (pdf link). I'd say it's a lot easier to modify your technique and stop pounding on your heels than spunking a grand on a 'mill and wasting a room in your house!

I assumed you were very knowledgeable about running the way you took charge and gave him advice on his running technique.
    brianthebard
    If you look at my sig you will see I'm able to use google.I asked him because I thought he knew what he was talking about.I prefer to talk to people, not look up google. And my name is conceited,not op.:D
    Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

conceited wrote: »
    I assumed you were very knowledgeable about running the way you took charge and gave him advice on his running technique.
    The reason I suggested that he look at the pose technique was that I tried elements of it and it helped a lot with joint pain and suggested that he try the same. There was no intention of coming across as knowledgeable on the matter, only citing personal experience. At the same time, it stands to reason that if something as natural as running hurts, you may be doing it wrong and might want to look at technique as it seems to be overlooked a lot, that's all.

Running is the most natural thing you can do, your body does it automatically.You obviously have to run "unnaturally" because your running on concrete.He was running the way his body was supposed to run.Wouldn't you agree? How do you know he was landing on his heels? Was that your natural way of running?

Personal experience is a great thing.But you came off sounding like an authority on the subject and crammed it into two sentences,thats all.That book is very interesting and I'm glad you posted it.Cheers.
    It would be great to find out how those runners I mentioned ran.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

Running is the most natural thing you can do, your body does it automatically.You obviously have to run "unnaturally" because your running on concrete.He was running the way his body was supposed to run.Wouldn't you agree?
    So there's no technique to running then? Your body just does it naturally?
    You LEARN how to run, and you can LEARN how to run in an injurious way.
    Pose running is different to orthodox technique and according to some may help with injuries.
    Professional runners run in the orthodox way generally, but running injuries are common especially shin splints and other chronic injuries.

Oh and the guy was just suggesting someone look into it on the basis of his own experience, that's hardly claiming to be an authority is it?

Take off you running shoes and go for a little run, you will see it is natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Haile Selassie
    Who?;) Gebrselassie maybe? The other guy was god incarnate :-)

Conceited, I don't quite understand what you are trying to say. Are you asking the question "Is running natural?" Or are you coming at it from one direction or the other?

Personally (and I am a runner), I think running is very natural for humans. What is less natural is to spend miles and miles (interesting the runners you mentioned are all distance runners) running on hard, even surfaces and this is where the potential problems arise. The nature of modern running necessitates proper support and cushioning in the footwear we choose. For some people, the correct footwear is not enough to prevent injuries and so the development of corrective methods of running such as pose or chi etc. These help people fully understand their personal biomechanics and how to improve them.