Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the best pub in Galway City?

• 29-08-2008 11:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

Whats the best pub in Galway City please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sidetraxx
    Kings head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

That's a bit of a wide open question.. .depends what Youre looking for in a pub, atmosphere,good selection of beer/cocktails,women/men, bands, ince ince tunes.. give us some specifics..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

The dew drop/ Myles Lee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Tough question. Id go with Roisin Dubh. Blue note is muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 ilovelove

O'Connors is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭randombar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Mixers.

Close the thread please mods, the question has been answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Trends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭toxick

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    Trends

is that the one out in salthill next to the bank.. if it is i agree best pub

Freenys and the Front Door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭balu

It depends on you what "the best pub in galway" is.

Meeting people from around the world + alternative rock music: Roisin Dubh
    Hippies and Irish: Arus Na Gael
    Mainstream: Kings Head
    Very pubbish atmosphere: O'Connors
    Chill Out Music: Blue Note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

You won't get an answer to that question OP, you should read the answers as if you asked, what are the galway boardsies personal favourite pubs?

For the record though, the objective and correct answer is Neachtains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭ambasite

Bunch of (gr)Apes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TristanPeter

Bar No. 8...but of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

I'm quite liking Foxes lately.

Maybe its the €5 cocktails and €6.50 Red Bull thats clouding my judgement though.

If you're a student, I'd say Hole In The Wall. I don't really like it that much, in fact its a bit shite as pubs go, but theres a good atmosphere with crowd in there and of course the real attraction; €2.50 pints of Tennants :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

mixers is a pure kip,
    pints are puke and it's full of knackers or rednecks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

All the pubs are the best!
    I haven't come a accross a pub in Galway that I don't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

Well if you ask me.........
    Mixers is a kip! Foxes is alright but the GUFC crowd arn't really my scene. The roisin is a little too pretentious for my liking. I loved the hole in the wall when I was in first year but no so much anymore, its a bit young in there for me at this stage. The kings head is nice but the bouncers are arse's and they dont take kindly to students who just want sit in there all day drinking pitchers of fosters. The bier house have a sign up behind the bar that says no singing!? My favorite pub in Galway is Bar 903. The music is always good you'll always end up chatting to a randomer! 903 FTW!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

Foxes is alright but the GUFC crowd arn't really my scene......!

The Galway United crowd abondoned ship and now hang out in Febber MaGees.

I go to a lot of Galway United games and enjoy them a lot but nothing could drag me to Fibbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Trends
    are you 50 years old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

The Róisín Dubh, hands down. I practically live in that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Trends?:confused: I would have said it's one of the worst, don't mind the oul fellas but its frequented by Salthills finest knob heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Blue Note, Bar903, Bier House, Maximos, Kings Head get my vote. I don't like the Roisin anymore, full of muppets half the time.

Mixers has to be the worst pub I'd say. The music is at club level making it impossible to hear anyone. Thats probably a good thing because its full of knackers and the pints are vomit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

dew drop, pints are yum

this is lies... just back from dew drop, warm slightly stale pints are not yum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

O conneels in eyre square - doown from a close 2nd fibber Mcgees lol -
    perfect mix of old / young new/ old regulars and tourists plus nb has smoking garden - just perrrfect on a sunday! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

this is lies... just back from dew drop, warm slightly stale pints are not yum.

What were you drinking??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    O conneels in eyre square - doown from a close 2nd fibber Mcgees lol -
    perfect mix of old / young new/ old regulars and tourists plus nb has smoking garden - just perrrfect on a sunday! :)

O'Connells gets my vote too

Skeff: Like it but its always packed
    Kings head: Like it, but as mentioned above in another post, some of the bouncers can be arseholes.
    Roisin: Lovely pub, but something about the place I don't like :confused:
    903: Used to love the place but the drink is terrible
    Sallys: used to be a regular but the place is just so depressing, fair amount of scummy regulars
    Mixers: lol, 'nuff said

What were you drinking??

Smithwicks... I've had worse, but I couldn't call it 'yum'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

If I just feel like a pint: Roisin. Beer garden and the bar are great for meeting people.

When I feel like randomly chatting to some hippie, I go to Arus Na Gael.
    Sitting in the alcove on the right outside the pub itself is a fantastic place for meeting unhinged people. Just don't touch the ginger door. Notorious place for pissing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

The Crane is my favourite. Great music and pints and good place to meet unusual people. I also like Neachtains. It's been a while since I lived in Galway :( so I hope they're still good as they used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

Can anyone tell me what the bierhaus is like??
    Like what it has on tap?
    I'll be around tomorrow and was never in it, might drop in for one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

My favourite haunts include... Neachtains, Roisins, Blue Note, Bierhaus, Crane, Bar 8, Cottage and PJ's.. O and the Stage Door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭axiom32

slayerking wrote: »
    Like what it has on tap?

got a good selection on tap but the bottle selection is worth exploring to
    just get a menu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

slayerking wrote: »
    Like what it has on tap?

Pretty much the same as this -> http://thebierhauscork.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

So many to choose from! Neachtains, Blue Note, Bierhaus, The Cottage, the Roisin would be my favourites. Depends on what you're looking for really.

My favourite haunts include... Neachtains, Roisins, Blue Note, Bierhaus, Crane, Bar 8, Cottage and PJ's.. O and the Stage Door.

Jaysus, I probably know you well :pac: Great minds think alike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

cornbb wrote: »
    Jaysus, I probably know you well :pac: Great minds think alike!
    Makes 3 of us! Although I will slightly amend the list as a few places I haven't been in for a while.

Neachtains, Roisins, Blue Note, Massimo's, Front Door, Crane, Bar 8, Cottage and PJ's..
    Sheridans, when I am with the posh mates : p

Quays outside if I am kidnapped while walking for chips!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Smithwicks... I've had worse, but I couldn't call it 'yum'

I've drank the Smithwicks in there and its not great at all. Anyone know of any pub that serves nice, fresh, lovely smithwicks?

/hijacks thread......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭ChiefBrody

I like the Hole in the Wall.

ChiefBrody wrote: »
    I like the Hole in the Wall.

Don't worry, you'll grow out of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

massimo's when on this side of the river, if i'm on other side of the river it would be the front door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Thanks All

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

any late bars?

Assimo Massimo, Roisin Dubh, King's Head, Living Room off the top of my head.

JP Liz wrote: »
    any late bars?
    Many's a late bar! Bar 903 and the Roisin are late all week. Lots of places are late on the weekend. King's head, the queys....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

DRakE wrote: »
    are you 50 years old?

Nope, Do you not enjoy the sticky carpets, the yella wall paper, the same heads drinking in their since '78 and the magic pint of guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭biscuits1981

Nope, Do you not enjoy the sticky carpets, the yella wall paper, the same heads drinking in their since '78 and the magic pint of guinness
    plus the food out there is lovely the best value around town,plus was with herself and she couldnt keep her eyes of the barman/waiter i think his name is MARTIN she says all the women will b out there next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭galvianlord

Murphy's for the quiet few before a mad night, although they do need to get a few odour eaters in there....so many old men, so many pints of stout...it probably contributes to global warming in its own little way, bless!