Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do when you see non community airsofters

• 27-08-2008 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry if i was dragging the other thread off topic but this is one of the most problemmy problems that i can think of with airsoft

if you come accross a group of youths skirmishing with goggles and appropriate saftey gear in the middle of a field in the middle of no-where what is the best thing to do?

or differently a grup of kids with no goggles in a housing estate

or any oither typoe of free-form, skirmishing

what should be done

and before its said i think that calling the garda is not a good idea as it would bring unwanted attention on us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

well im going to say call the garda, the garda are fine with controlled clubs and sites, its the random use and non regulated skirmish they have problems with, i would rather call the garda myself and inform them correctly about what is happening that leave it to some mother walking her dog who has no idea

if we want to be trusted by authority's we have to police yourselves first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Well, I dont mind private land, but if you can see them(as the title says) call the gards. Only ever play on sites or on private land where you are 100% isolated from the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

snip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The problem with saying anything to these youths is that they'll likely turn around and shoot you. :D

OK, that's a bit of an unfair generalisation, but it is a likely possibility.

The problem with ringing the guards is that technically, these youths are not breaking any laws unless they cause fear in a 3rd party.

I'd personally make a decision on a case by case basis. If it's a group of 'hoodie' type teens who look like they are out to cause trouble, then I'd call the gardai. If it's just a few teens who appear to be innocently mucking about, then I'd probably have a friendly word with them explaining the consequences should anyone complain to the gardai.

Oh, and if it was a member of this forum that I seen, I'd probably slap them because they should know better :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Mods: this thread's just calling out for a poll. ;)

If it's 2 or 3 young kids who look like they might listen, give having a quiet word a try. For about 30 seconds. Otherwise, I say call the Guards. Might be a good idea to emphasise that the kids are only using airsoft replicas at the start of that call, so the ERU have an idea what to expect when they arrive.

They're pretty busy these days but I'm sure they'd rather someone rang them early and calmly than someone else rang them a few minutes later in a panic about "kids with guns".

Hey, anyone know what our obligations are, if any, as a witness or reporter in these circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Young people with airsoft guns skirmishing everywhich where is one thing, but what would you do if you came accross a bunch of geriatric's skirmishing!!!???

Theyd pull off yer ear and hit you with cane if you said boo to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

as he song goes "There may be trouble aheaaaddd," Tigger, I'm curious why you need to know...Just a question, nothing else.:D

as he song goes "There may be trouble aheaaaddd," Tigger, I'm curious why you need to know...

it was an interesting topic that came up during another thread, but was slightly offtopic over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

I'd leave them alone and mind my own business. It wouldn't be anyone's place to tell them to stop. It's not illegal. Nobdoy here has any authority over anyone else with Airsoft.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

if it was me, I'd mind my own business,

if they dont shoot me then i dont care what risks they take. were not the "airsoft police" and unless someone has mistaken the guns for a real one then technically the youths havent broken any laws.,
    I dont condone it though, its not a wise think to do at all, but we have no business to intervene, you could end up getting your head kicked in for your troubles.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

if its on land that you dont know who the registered owner is or who has permission to do what on then i think you should mind your own business instead of goin round ratting on people that you dont have the first clue about.
    if they are wearing safety gear then be happy that they are displaying some sense and responsibility.
    to report people like that is exactly what i would expect from one of Joes avid listeners.

however if it is some scalder pullin drive bys or shooting people on the street and you are unable or dont want to deal with them yourself then feel free to go ahead and rat inform on them, that is at least some way condonable as they are a threat to the sport and public safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

id stay clear of them if i didnt know them but if it was some of my mates or somone i know id talk to them about goin to one of the sights to play properly and tell them if any little kid or bystander got hit in the eye it could have serious reprocusions for the sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭elsi

I think rattin om em as ye say is a bit extremo! If there not causing problems then why wreck there buzz? Airsoft is about fun and love!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Airsofting.....apart from the 1j limit and not causing a threat to the Public
    there are no airsoft Laws to break.

I see Kids in my neighbourhood all the time with cheap
    airsoft springers walking around the place doing no harm to anyone. I know as I keep a close eye on them
    to make sure they dont fire anything in the direction of my
    pet cats that wander the place. So far the Kids only have
    a bit of fun shooting in the air and into the grass.

I dont see the ERU coming out in force
    becuause any neighbour is scared ****less by a kid brandishing something that looks like a big scary gun!!!
    In this Day and age I think the average joe knows by now that kids play with toy guns even if they do look real.

A big grown up thugish brute of a man that looks dodgy as
    hell well.....they may have a different outlook but a small
    child or kid I reckon is a fair assumption that it will be toys
    they will be playing with...unless your a totally paranoid nut job.

The whole Law end of things sometimes I find here on the
    boards that people make assumptions.

You dont HAVE to skirmish on a propper airsoft site.
    Its not law.

There are no Laws saying you cant do airsofting skirmishing
    on Public Land.................even though it may be a bad idea and you may get done for trespassing.

Common Land...what about common land. Many real steel shooters go shooting Clays etc on Common Land where a bog or patch of land is not owned by anyone. So I fail
    to see where skirmishing on Common Land that is not owned by anyone does anybody any harm.

There is no law saying you need to be out of sight of any
    member of the public while skirmishing anyplace or on
    privite land.....although it may be a good idea to do so.

Also there are no Laws to state that you need to inform the gardai if you are
    to partisapate in an airsoft event on privite land....although it may be common sense to do so!!

with all that said ....you could get arrested if a member of the public feels threatened or there is a percieved threat to public safety.

I know there is something in Law about training
    which could possibly impact airsoft if taken way too literely.
    but I dont think it would apply to playing "a game" rather than partisapateing in militery training.

I find that there is a good bit of scaremoungering where
    people are inclined to tell others what to do and what not to do regarding airsoft and putting the fear of the ERU on them.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭skapegoat

I would seize their guns and add them to my collecton!:D
    But thats just me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,062 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

bullets wrote: »
    I find that there is a good bit of scaremoungering where
    people are inclined to tell others what to do and what not to do regarding airsoft and putting the fear of the ERU on them.

~B

Tell me you're not serious.

If someone skirmishes on public land they are putting themselves at risk of being shot. It doesn't have to be written into law. It's common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

well said bullets, i dont think iv read as much sense written in one post as long as iv been on these boards.

you couldnt ask for a more excelent, concise, level headed post.

the likelihood of the ERU ever being called to the scene of an airsoft "incident" in public is about as likely as Katy French winning next years failté towers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Unsubscribing From Thread: Maximum Stupidity Level Exceeded. :mad:

nice post bullets and well written,

problem is for me i did not think we where talking about little kids running around with springers (even thought this can cause problems) im talking about the unofficial uninsured skirmishes on public land.
    You dont HAVE to skirmish on a propper airsoft site.
    Its not law.

so why do we push for insured sites? why should cork airsoft bother to struggle thought with insurance trying to do the correct thing? if someone was to come on hear and say they where starting a site no insurance just turn up and play what would you say?

i don;t care that there ' no law against it' that is a crap excuse, it puts airsoft in a bad light and causes problems, problems which are already pissing garda and doj off, this are the issues they have a problem with not regulated games, and they will not just introduce control to stop this underground games, they will introduce law that effects everyone, its all well and good say well there no law against it, well it will end up effecting us all.

Its called self regulation, if we want to be taken seriously and keep are sport we have to do something yourselves at issues that authority see as problems, we have to be proactive, we want to give a good image and bring more publicity in one hand and then in another when there is clearly an issue that threatens us you turn round and say things like 'it not against the law' so its fine.

That phrase along with 'it will be grand' drive me up the wall, when something says to me 'its not against the law' it translates to me as 'you can do nothing to stop me haha'

sorry morning rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

o1s1n wrote: »
    Tell me you're not serious.

If someone skirmishes on public land they are putting themselves at risk of being shot. It doesn't have to be written into law. It's common sense.

I'm not dis-agreeing with that there is a risk and it would be common sense not to do this.
    but I think the likelyhood is that the ERU are not just going to arrive onto a scene and shoot someone dead unless they are pretty sure that there is a genuine threat.

A Bunch of lads running around with the sound of electric motors and white pellets
    flying everyplace wearing facemasks or goggle,
    To a highly trained unit member I believe that risk is very low.
    unless someone is really really dumb and intentionally and maliciously tries to use
    an airsoft device to deliberately try and convince someone its a real gun.

On the flip side A Bunch of lads wearing balaclavas running into a bank or shop holding the place up and making threats.......Risk High!

Someone new arrives here on the boards and they ask some questions they
    dont know the terms or the ins and outs of airsoft and
    the replies tend to be.....Dont play in public or the ERU could shoot you,
    Do you own the Land, Do you have permissions, Dont do this or Dont to that your breaking
    the law if you to X Y OR Z. Your not allowed to this your not allowed to that Call it a weapon and we will ban you from the board etc etc. Its almost like an interrogation
    to a poor noob!

I know people that play the sport are very protective about it and its
    image and dont want people doing stupid things with airsoft gear
    but is there no more friendly "welcome, read this sticky that has good info and common sense!" rather than the watch your self or the ERU will come and get ya........

~B

A Bunch of lads running around with the sound of electric motors and white pellets
    flying everyplace wearing facemasks or goggle,
    To a highly trained unit member I believe that risk is very low.
    unless someone is really really dumb and intentionally and maliciously tries to use
    an airsoft device to deliberately try and convince someone its a real gun.

ok so what about this someone sees someone creeping around in somewhere with sunglasses on and a gun, ring the police, police go out to have a look and come round the corner guy in glasses raises his 'gun' at the officer....

what happen is a small ground of people are playing airsoft someone spots one of them wearing shooting glasses for eye protection , could just be sunglasses how does anyone make a judgment call on if its a game based on that, police go to investigate stumble across someone playing that player thinks there in the game raises a gbb........know the police have are standing there with a split second choose to make, it could be dark, people could be on edge, 101 different factors play a part

know this has happened else where already, fortunately we have not had any accidents in Ireland but for me its not a matter of if but when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Lads, I really think some of you are missing a fundamental point or four.

1) There are no laws specifically written for Airsoft. We exist between the lines of two pieces of legislation which entitles us to have our kit - but also leaves it an unrestricted passtime (which has its good points and bad points).

2) The laws governing airsoft - specifically those regarding the definition of a firearm and the brandishing of offensive objects in public - we're not designed specifically for airsoft but will be applied if and when the Gardai or the DoJ see fit.

3) Persons skirmishing on public land, in view of the public are creating a disturbance - whether they pose a real and present danger is irrelevant where the public is concerned for their safety. Anyone doing this, whether on coillte land, public bog land, scrubland etc is causing a public disturbance and quite possible an assault offense by brandishing what appear to be NATO weaponry. The act of skirmishing could be prosecuted as "causing or inciting an affray" (which means picking a fight for those of you who have never been in trouble), such convictions set precedent which can be very bad news (or possibly good news depending on the charge - but mostly bad news).

4) Anyone, with an ounce of intelligence can see why having uncontrolled, unsupervised skirmishes on public property is a problem. The rational reponse to take, especially as an airsofter, is to contact the authorities and inform them of what you have seen (making sure that they know who is delivering the information and that you are an airsofter yourself). In this manner we are seen to police our own, reduce at least one incidence of an unsupervised public skirmish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭MacAonghusa

Puding wrote: »
    ok so what about this someone sees someone creeping around in somewhere with sunglasses on and a gun, ring the police, police go out to have a look and come round the corner guy in glasses raises his 'gun' at the officer....

In fairness through anyone who points a gun at a Garda is an idiot and it's a very different situation to what the lads have described earlier.

Bullets is right, there is a LOT of scaremongering going on esp. by certain ppl who think they have authority over everyone else.
    This sport belongs as much to the "unofficial site skirmishers" as it does to anyone else.
    The thing is if you're a young lad just mucking around with the sport you don't see the harm in what you're doing. In addition you may not even know you need insurance (whatever about being able to get/afford it). What these ppl need is education/help. Ratting them out to the guards, chastising them on forums or even banning them from forums (for things they might say) is idiotic and does no one any good. IMO.

In fairness through anyone who points a gun at a Garda is an idiot and it's a very different situation to what the lads have described earlier.

they may not know there garda they may be an idiot but its airsoft as a whole that would be damaged

its a different situation but that is the situations that is the problem

sorry 'harm less lads having fun' is no excuses at all ,

of course airsoft belongs to all, cork is run as a club a syndicate almost know, clubs get insurance for a reason , if we indorse underground skirmishes then what’s the point

airsoft is between laws at the moment and it would only take a small amount to move it back to where we do not want it, stop this harmless fun stuff and its not being a killjoy its being smart its seeing the bigger picture, doing what is right for the sport will not be popular choose and this is one of the un popular things, but im not worried about putting peoples backs out,

if we what ti be taken seriously we have to stop this kind of activity or be seen to be trying to stop it, we are not football where you can play anywhere and no one will worry, we are a minority we are unpopular and we are unimportant, we are more valuable for people too discredit for their own benefit, we have to wake up and smell the roses, there is no harmless fun in the public woods with airsoft
    Ratting them out to the guards,

its not ratting , i see it as being rather selfish thought, selish as is in i want to be able to carry on playing airsoft
    chastising them on forums or even banning them from forums (for things they might say) is idiotic and does no one any good. IMO.

no you need to talk to them and introduce them to the sites and the community

if we indorse underground skirmishes then what’s the point

No one is endorsing it; just debating how to respond to such skirmishes. Some ppl do not have the means to join a club or set up a club and get insurance. How do you plan to stop them from playing airsoft? By calling the guards every time? And that helps the sport how?
    airsoft is between laws at the moment and it would only take a small amount to move it back to where we do not want it, stop this harmless fun stuff and its not being a killjoy its being smart ... ...
    if we what ti be taken seriously we have to stop this kind of activity or be seen to be trying to stop it

Yes but how do you stop it; by calling the guards? There seems to be a misconception that the airsoft community will look good in the eyes of the guards if we call everytime we see someone playing it unofficially. I totally disagree with this. At the end of the day all the report may say is "airsofters causing a public disturbance" or "airsofters endangering the public" and in the end i think it will do more harm than good to the sport.
    I honestly don't think the guards will give a sh1t that it was an airsofter who called them and would be surprised if it was even mentioned in any incident report and I see no benefits for the community in ratting fellow airsofters out. In fact I think it's a low act.

Yes but how do you stop it; by calling the guards? There seems to be a misconception that the airsoft community will look good in the eyes of the guards if we call everytimne we see someone playing it unofficially. I totally disagree with this. At the end of the day all the report may say is "airsofters causing a public disturbance" or "airsofters endangering the public" and in the end i think it will do more harm than good to the sport.

The doj garda customs already have an issue with this type of airsoft, its this type that they view as causeing them problems, if we do not publicly condeme this kind of activity we might as well be condoning it in most people eyes, i've already gone out and addressed some issues of underground airsoft in the kerry area, i dont; care about being seen as a bad guy or kill joy or rat, i want to do what i can for airsoft as a complete unit, know that may piss people off or make you unpopular but somtimes the right choose for the future is not the populer one.

We as a sport 'HAVE TO' go with the sites have to tell people to go play there instead of in a field.

The doj garda customs already have an issue with this type of airsoft, its this type that they view as causeing them problems, if we do not publicly condeme this kind of activity we might as well be condoning it in most people eyes

Yes but some guards even think airsoft guns in general are illegal; they're not all up to date with DOJ thinking. I'd be worried about what the guards would report if called to an "incident" and how it will negatively affect the sport overall.
    Condemning them is one thing; getting them into trouble is another.
    i want to do what i can for airsoft as a complete unit, know that may piss people off or make you unpopular but somtimes the right choose for the future is not the populer one.

I commend you for it. The issue is how is it best to respond to these situations. I just think informing the guards will do more harm than good to the sport and I also want to do what's best for the sport.
    We as a sport 'HAVE TO' go with the sites have to tell people to go play there instead of in a field.

Totally agree. Can't we tell unofficial skirmishers that rather than calling the guards on them? Provide them a place to play rather than stopping them playing?

In addition, for someone calling the guards it's just a phone call.
    For the airsofter in question it could have very serious ramifications. Many of these airsofters may simply not realise the risks of what they are doing; they may genuinely believe they are doing nothing wrong.
    Which is fairer and better for the sport; educate them or get them into potentially very serious trouble?

Yes but some guards even think airsoft guns in general are illegal; they're not all up to date with DOJ thinking. I'd be worried about what the guards would report if called to an "incident" and how it will negatively affect the sport overall.
    Condemning them is one thing; getting them into trouble is another.

Thats why i would want to call them myself and give them a heads up give them correct information, instead of incorrect infomation from someone else.
    I commend you for it. The issue is how is it best to respond to these situations. I just think informing the guards will do more harm than good to the sport and I also want to do what's best for the sport.

the sport is already being harmed by activitys off the skirmish field, we have to be seen to be trying to combat this activitys , we have to be seen to be controling your own as it where , to show that we can regulat yourselves effectivly, if we can not then someone else will and it will not be on your terms, it is already happening know we can not hang around to see what happens
    For the airsofter in question it could have very serious ramifications. Many of these airsofters may simply not realise the risks of what they are doing; they may genuinely believe they are doing nothing wrong.
    Which is fairer and better for the sport; educate them or get them into potentially very serious trouble?

that why you try and actively find this groups, there not hard to find a lot of them really, its a small community be proactive go and talk to the people first , email people if you find info about this type of play on the internet, be proactive , calling the garda is the last thing to do, but like i said i would rather do it myself talk to garda and educate them as well.

educate educate educate we have been doing it already, you are more likely to come across this groups thought youtube and forums and bebo all that stuff than you ever are to come across them in teh field in some woods somewhere by chance, so contact them as i have said,

but if i where to come across people playing by chance in public i would report it, before other who do not know what is going on do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

As has been said already airsoft in this country only exists because there was an amendment to the firearms legislation. This wasn't specifically put in place because of airsoft and it can be changed easily to exclude it again. Actions like people skirmishing in a ad hoc manner will only help provide ammunition for such changes.

How to deal with people like this skirmishing. If you know them have a quiet word. If its in a location that will cause upset or shock to members of the general public and if you feel intimidated approaching them then I would ring the Gardai.

At the end of the day if you ignore it then you are condoning it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Actions speak louder than words!

Showing the authorities that “we”, the general community, that is serious about Airsoft and its future, are concerned about the same issues that they as an executive body have to deal with and action will go a long way for us.

I believe that the key for Airsoft is for the community at large to demonstrate their maturity as a body, and responsibility as individuals. Only by our actions will we plant a seed in the mind of higher powers as to a course to take with respect to legislative changes in the future if they happen.

This must be done by the actions of individuals so that in time when a member of the Guarda or DoJ ect hears of something they believe to be unsafe / unacceptable happing with an Airsoft device, their first thought is “could not be a member of the Airsoft community”.

If the worst happens at least we can have an awareness of a serious and responsible body so the authorities engaged with us in a serious manor, to resolve the problem, not just impose a ban. This will only be achieved by our action as a group.

Side note: Have not mentioned sterling the work in this area by the IAA which is crucial, I am addressing the responsibilities of the individual.

Steve

Thats why i would want to call them myself and give them a heads up give them correct information, instead of incorrect infomation from someone else.

I just disagree that it's the correct approach. Perhaps in some situations it might be but I'd still go with the approach of trying to inform the players in question rather than informing the guards.
    the sport is already being harmed by activitys off the skirmish field, we have to be seen to be trying to combat this activitys , we have to be seen to be controling your own as it where , to show that we can regulat yourselves effectivly, if we can not then someone else will and it will not be on your terms, it is already happening know we can not hang around to see what happens

The thing is they're not 'our own'. Which is why we need to bring them info the fold, so to speak, so they can learn to play the right way.

ok, quit editing so I can respond :D
    that why you try and actively find this groups, there not hard to find a lot of them really

There was someone on here from Donegal. Where does he need to travel to play, Galway? Longford? NI? Easier said than done for some people!
    There are no clubs near me either, which is why we're setting up our own. But i'm older and wiser than many :)
    educate educate educate we have been doing it already, you are more likely to come across this groups thought youtube and forums and bebo all that stuff than you ever are to come across them in teh field in some woods somewhere by chance, so contact them as i have said,

My own perception from being in this forum is that there is more focus on punishing than on education.

Sorry but ignorance is really not a valid defence. You are out on public land with something that looks exactly like an assault weapon, what did you expect to happen?

Thats like getting caught drink driving and claiming you didn't know it was illegal.

fayer wrote: »
    Showing the authorities that “we”, the general community, that is serious about Airsoft and its future, are concerned about the same issues that they as an executive body have to deal with and action will go a long way for us.

It's how to do that that's the issue. What I am worried about is the reaction of the Gardaí. We're a long way off the Gardaí thinking “could not be a member of the Airsoft community”.

I'm not proposing ignoring/endorsing/condoning unofficial play. I'm proposing taking what I believe is a level headed approach by educating where possible. Calling the Gardaí should definitely be the last resort, IMO, and if I had to call them i'd prefer to include that i've already spoken to the players in question for example.

So there is not a site near you? well do something about it then, a lot of the sites in Ireland have only come about because players have gone out and done something about it, i sat in Kerry for over a year with no site to play at i know the feeling, but the doj are not going to care.

My own perception from being in this forum is that there is more focus on punishing than on education.

well that’s your view there is a lot of education by a few people in terms of how to do site and the 1j limit about airsoft in general, so someone is not being educated well by other? well do it yourself, don’t just say well the forums don’t educate well if you don’t think there educating people then be proactive and do something about it

gandalf wrote: »
    Sorry but ignorance is really not a valid defence. You are out on public land with something that looks exactly like an assault weapon, what did you expect to happen?

Thats like getting caught drink driving and claiming you didn't know it was illegal.

That's a useless cliché and nothing like drink driving. They are toy guns after all and some people may simply not realise the risks. Again education should be the priority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

to drive you need a lisence to get a lisence you have to show a knowledge of the rules of the road

this is why i'm pro-liseccing of players to collect and skirmish because then it'll be clear

at the moment if shop sell someone a toy tells them its a toy and they go and play with that toy in an inappropriate manner then how are they ment to know

there is a lot less "common sense" around then one would think

well its simple really 'airsoft community' is on sites that they know about insured and run correclty, that is where it is controlled, that is what garda want to see, do not think the doj or garda stupid the people what will choose the fate of airsoft know full well the issues they know where the problems lie and they will not hesitate to stop that, if in stopping that they also stop airsoft as hole it is no water off there back.

airsoft in Ireland was not bad legal, it got in thought the back door, when the law was changed it was changed to make things sold in toy shops legal, not for airsoft, not for a bunch or blooks to take up a strange hobby, to them we are an annoying by product, we have to clean up we have to be seen to be whiter than white

So there is not a site near you? well do something about it then

Closest site is an hour and a half away, too far to travel if you only want to play for 1 hour after work. Which is why we ARE organising our own site; but we're all in our 30's with a better knowledge of relevant rules/regulations that your average 15-16 year old.
    well that’s your view ...

yeah, I did say it was just my own perception.
    well do it yourself, don’t just say well the forums don’t educate well if you don’t think there educating people then be proactive and do something about it

That's exactly what i've proposing over these posts!

be proactive and do something about it

he is

did you read his posts? he is setting up a solution for sligo

lads we are all on the same side here; can we please all agree thgat in a perfect world there would be a site in every county but this is not the perfect world

an' in the remote counties that have no sites there lare big open tracts of land that look like somewhere that one could play
    and there is no warning given by any supplier(i'll stand coprrect on this but i've never seen one) that these open tracts of land shouldn't be played on

"how come i can hunt on public land but i cant play with my one joule toy gun?"

Tigger wrote: »
    this is why i'm pro-liseccing of players to collect and skirmish because then it'll be clear

I see nothing wrong with player licensing/registration. Might be a good way forward.

That's a useless cliché and nothing like drink driving. They are toy guns after all and some people may simply not realise the risks. Again education should be the priority.

Sorry it was the best I could come up with in the short time ;)

They are toys that look like the real thing again if they don't realise the risks then they probably won't listen to someone advising them not to skirmish on public land.

Yes education and maybe a leaflet or guideline document that can be supplied by the retailer when they sell an AEG or GBB. Now I am certain the IAA affiliated ones would do this but the unaffiliated ones or the guys selling springers at markets not.

I think an article should be prominently posted on the IAA and other Irish Airsoft sites with guidelines on skirmishing where it is clearly stated that skirmishing on none approved airsoft sites is a stupid thing and should not be done.

MacAonghusa bear in mind also that this thread is about a specific scenario where you see players skirmishing. Education etc is not an issue then. If I know the people I will approach, if I don't then I am not putting myself in a situation with strangers. They are the ones who are stupid enough to go out into public therefore they should face the consequences of their actions.

he is

did you read his posts? he is setting up a solution for sligo

i know i posted in there treads, im not debateing against and induvidial as far as im aware we are debating against the differant points of view.

i think the tread has got away from what we where first talkign about, and that was if you randomly come across a group of people playing airsoft what do you do, know in that case i still say you have to report,

know all the other stuff about education and bring them into the fold is great, im doing that with people myself, but that is not always an option, and the example was randonly coming across people

i'd like to expand on something i pointed out in my previous post

no irsih airsoft retailer has anything explaining that airsoft s=houd be site based only

the iaa don't even have it on there "what is airsoft" speil

so how is it made clear

it is claer to me that we are taking for granted that poeple know that its wrong without any law or advice being offered

this is what the iaa has to say

"Responsible behaviour is the most important factor in airsoft. As mentioned earlier, Airsoft device are scale replicas of real world firearms.

And when we say they are scale replica’s we mean that if you were to place an Airsoft replica beside its real steel counterpart and try to tell the difference, you couldn’t do it! On account of this fact it is imperative that these devices are handled responsibly and stored, transported and used in such a manner as not to cause alarm to anyone else who may see them. Any manner of use or storage which causes alarm to any member of the public, intentional or otherwise, can be classes as assault and prosecuted as such.

More importantly, An Garda Siochana will treat any replica firearm with the same prejudice as the real thing! This is a stance which the IAA fully supports.
    "

this while being obvious to me s saying only play at sites dosen't acually say it

it should be the first and formogst message sent out with every airsoft device should it not

and it should start every "what is airsoft ~" speil

They are toys that look like the real thing again if they don't realise the risks then they probably won't listen to someone advising them not to skirmish on public land.

i think it's worth a try though. Some people may simply not know anything about airsoft here. I've had guns (only springers) for years before I knew there was a single club in the country.
    Yes education and maybe a leaflet or guideline document that can be supplied by the retailer when they sell an AEG or GBB.

Good idea. Clubs could organise demo days etc; there are many ways the community could advertise the sport & educate the public.
    I think an article should be prominently posted on the IAA and other Irish Airsoft sites with guidelines on skirmishing where it is clearly stated that skirmishing on none approved airsoft sites is a stupid thing and should not be done.

Though, personally, negative wording like the above can sound like preaching a bit. The wording is as important as the message,.

Yep you're right Tigger I think at this stage it needs to specifically said on the IAA site and also on any other Irish Airsoft information sites out there.

Though, personally, negative wording like the above can sound like preaching a bit. The wording is as important as the message,.

I tend to be a blunt in my wording for a couple of reasons, I am in work so I am fitting in responses and I am not that verbose.The wording would be important but also to hammer home the point that skirmishing ad hoc is a very bad thing.

Btw I wasn't having a go at you just making the point that if such wording were used (I totally understand that it was just a post from work, i'm the same) it would receive a negative reaction. People are sensitive to being told what not to do so you have to say it in a very polite manner, IMO. I think the point comes across more effectively that way (hope someone from the IAA is reading ;) )

p.s. sorry Trigger for hijacking the thread and bringing it off track.