Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs during college

• 27-08-2008 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭

Hey, I really want a job this year during college cos I know i'm gonna be seriously broke if i dont have one. I'm doing engineering so it's basically a 9 to 5 full time course. What jobs are there out there for people in my position? I cant exactly get a job in a shop if i can only work weekends from the beginning. Any have any sugestions for fun, part-time, college jobs and the best ways to get em? thanks in advance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I did engineering, there's almost no way you can hold down a part time job in engineering without it impacting your grades and social life. There's a few first year engineers posting here and maybe they'll be able to give you a more current prospective but hours are extreme. Someday you will be there from 9 to 6pm and you'll need to go and study after you finish lectures to stay on top of course and project work. Don't worry too much about money as everyone is skint in engineering. I survived on 50 euro a week including socialising.

All that said, those that had part time jobs, either worked in the SU shop or did bar work at the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Actually, on a similar note, I've been asked to come back during college time to work a few hours a week in the place I've been working over the summer. This depends on what timetable I have however.

Could someone clarify when they're generally released. I could really do with knowing by the mid/end of September at the latest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Peleus wrote: »
    Hey, I really want a job this year during college cos I know i'm gonna be seriously broke if i dont have one. I'm doing engineering so it's basically a 9 to 5 full time course. What jobs are there out there for people in my position? I cant exactly get a job in a shop if i can only work weekends from the beginning. Any have any sugestions for fun, part-time, college jobs and the best ways to get em? thanks in advance!
    You could try the library. Its a handy way of making a few bucks without having to do anything approaching hard work. There is an application form online, but you need to have access to the intranet. I'm sure you could find some way around that, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

There is an application form online, but you need to have access to the intranet. I'm sure you could find some way around that, though.

My brother is in trinity at the moment. could i apply through him? or could i wait to register with trinity before applying or is it too late then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 lil fire engine

what about signing up with a promotions agency.... flexible and u decide yourself what hours plus very good money for little hours of work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

I could get you a job, depending on pics and measurements :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭karlr42

Best advice is don't work if you can possibly avoid it. I've been working in a shop during college evenings(6-10) and weekends(we're talking 10-16 hours over the 2 days), and it'll badly effect either your studies, your social life, or both. I just gave up on a social life [completely :(
    But yeah, if you're up to it, get a job, I do recommend a shop, evenings and weekends as I did(though I'm doing CS, less hours), since it's the only way to make a decent amount to live on(~200 a week) and it can be rewarding if you have the right attitude. But steel yourself for a tough, difficult year. Working while in college is horrible, all it does is build character(or so I try to tell myself ;)) and make meager money.

Sorry for the downer post, just I don't think there's such a thing as fun, part-time, college jobs, just part-time college jobs.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Deadevil129

I just finished first year science and I worked on weekends right through the year. I think science has less hours than engineering but I'm not going to lie to you, it was bloody difficult. My social life didn't suffer, I went out anyway regardless if I had work or college at nine in the morning, but it destroys you. You're going seven days a week without a break and unless you're going home to sleep at nine every night you end up exhausted. I'm still working now, but I'm dropping the job as soon as I can which will probably be around Christmas sometime. If you can live without the job, do, and try to temp at Christmas and get a full time job over the summer to keep yourself going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭macgowan

You could try the library. Its a handy way of making a few bucks without having to do anything approaching hard work. There is an application form online, but you need to have access to the intranet. I'm sure you could find some way around that, though.

I can't find an application form... even when I log in with someone's account... Is there actually a vacancy advertised and can an incoming first year apply?? If so, do you have a link or anything?

http://www.tcd.ie/vacancies/#library
    Would appear there are no vacancies.

Yeah that's what I thought... Does anyone know if there's much chance of a spot opening up?

And what about the SU shop...? Anyone know anything about jobs there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Sir Ophiuchus

No, no, you've got it wrong. Go to www.tcd.ie/library, and read the sidebar on the right. There's a link for "Student Shelving Positions".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I do CSLL and had a job last year, the money is nice to have, but I sacrificed a lot of social time, ie I have still to go to a Pav Friday. I've blown most of it this summer, but that's another story...

No, no, you've got it wrong. Go to www.tcd.ie/library, and read the sidebar on the right. There's a link for "Student Shelving Positions".

Oh thanks I didn't see that! Could someone with a TCD account copy/paste what it says here exactly...?

http://www.tcd.ie/Library/Internal/shelverapplications

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

My brother is in trinity at the moment. could i apply through him? or could i wait to register with trinity before applying or is it too late then?
    I'd get my brother to log me on to the internal web page t'were it me.

I worked in a different library for three years, made absolutely fantastic money while "working" very few hours, and I had access to boards.ie

God, that was the life...

Set up an SSH tunnel to the CS proxy via a Linux box in LG12 and browse the internal pages to your hearts content.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Boston wrote: »
    Set up an SSH tunnel to the CS proxy via a Linux box in LG12 and browse the internal pages to your hearts content.
    Haha.. Maybe im wrong but I SSHing and stuff is a bit beyond him.

Using proxy4.tcd.ie:8004 is easier.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

I'd have to echo what boston said. Engineering has long hours. The last thing you wanna do work after getting home at 7.15 having just done 2 hours of c++.

If at all costs you can avoid getting a job, do. Perhaps fix computers or something in spare time, but jobs with fixed hours are big no no. You will find yourself skipping lab reports etc if you do - that or doing them in the 10:00 lecture for the 11:00 deadline. Either way grades are gonna slide.

I also survived on about €50 a week, mind you my alcohol expenditure is nothing :pac:

If you come home, do your bit of work (not break your bollix, but just keep things ticking over) you will find your summer exams a doddle.

I actually just got a call for a job interview there. It's for a sales assistant job in House of Ireland, the crystal, glass, antiques and expensive things store. (I just know i'm gonna break something really expensive). Do yous think that will do for a job? They said evenings and weekends part time from October onwards would be fine for them. It's only accross the road from trinity.

And yes I really need a job during college. For 6th year i worked for the summer to save money up for the year then quit at the start of the year.the money that i saved was gone in one month and i was completely broke for the year. My parents gave me money but definately not enough. I don't want a repeat of that. And as for it being busy, in fifth year i went to school, worked and did rowing. i had to get up at 7:32 monday to friday and 7:00 saturday and sunday. I was working tues an thurs and training Mon, Wed, Sat, Sun. The only free time i had during the week was friday evenings. It sucked but i did it and my grades only slipped a small bit.:) and i had a load of money! :D

So would a job in House of Ireland do for work???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

I actually just got a call for a job interview there. It's for a sales assistant job in House of Ireland, the crystal, glass, antiques and expensive things store. (I just know i'm gonna break something really expensive).
    Don't show up to work hungover. That might cause some damage.
    i had to get up at 7:32 monday to friday
    That's scarily specific.
    Go for it. You can always quit if it's crap.

1) The biggest lie teachers tell students is that the leaving cert is the hardest exams you'll ever sit. In many ways first years in engineering in trinity was harder, I even failed two exams. It doesn't get easier as your progress through the years either, and well final year will make the leaving cert look like a picnic. I'd suggest looking at ways to reduce your spending habits. No offense but I think you're abit deluded about whats going to be involved, there is no comparison to 'school'. But whatever you'll find your own way as we all do.

2) To answer your question, yes, a job like that sounds fine, a friend of mine worked a similar job. I'd say take the job if your really need it, but be prepared to quit at Christmas if you're doing badly in the maths exams or the continuous assessments. The nice thing about first year engineering is that if you do badly in those exams or the continuous assessment they don't have to be taken into account, end of year exams can be worth 100% or less whichever gives you the highest result.

i had to get up at 7:32 monday to friday
    That's scarily specific.

Ha! supposed to be 7:30.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I worked weekends when I was in first year (I'm in Science btw, which is similar enough hours to Engineering in first year) Obviously there are pros and cons to working during college - on the plus side, I had more money and I really enjoyed my job and got on great with my colleagues. On the minus side, I was absolutely knackered and failed Chemistry (thank god for compensation) cos I didn't really have time to study. I also had a fairly long commute, between the city centre and Bray, seven days a week and not much free time. I didn't mix as much in first year as I should have, and often felt quite isolated, and I never got lie ins EVER. Although, during my second term I managed to switch around my labs so that I had Fridays off, it was amazing although it meant I had nine hours straight on Thursdays (I'd eat my lunch in my Biology lecture) I ditched Chemistry after first year so I didn't really care that I'd failed it, however I felt I'd missed a lot of concepts etc in Biology that I never quite caught up on again in second year.
    I worked all through the summer, and then ditched the job at the beginning of second year. I enjoyed second year a lot better than first year - I went out more and got to know people on my course better, I was able to go on weekend trips away that I wouldn't have been able to go on if I was working, things like that. Admittedly, I still had money saved up from my working in first year, so I wasn't skint. However, I enjoyed myself a lot more.
    I went back to my old job in third year, but I was very firm that I would do no more than eight hours a week during term time, and whenever they wanted during the holidays. This meant I had some money, but I also had free time. I had the advantage of having worked there for ages and being good at my job though, and that's what put me in a position to negotiate. If I'd just started in a new job, I doubt they would have let me work so little and take entire weekends off for trampoline competitions.
    I'm heading into fourth year now, and I'm not going to work during term time. I have to hand in my dissertation before Christmas, so I may work over the holidays once that is out of the way, but otherwise I don't think I will. The way I'm looking at it is that I can always get a loan, but I only get one shot at fourth year. I don't want to screw it up just so that I can have more drinking money.

Seriously though, there are ways to cut down on your expenditure. You will get tired of bought lunches very quickly - there's only so many pre-packaged chicken and stuffing sandwiches that you can eat - make your own lunch to bring in, you can put exactly what you want into your food and it is much nicer. Don't buy bottles of water all the time, get a bottle and refill it at water fountains. Drink cans at the pav, they're cheap. Go to society wine receptions. Have a couple of drinks with friends before you go out, saves buying them all in pubs. Don't buy condoms, ask the welfare officer for some free ones. A lot of people spend more money than they really need to when they're in college, it is easy to cut down without coming across as cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

I'll second the caution - big difference between your grades slipping a little at school level and them slipping in college. Obviously people do manage to balance work and study, just be prepared for college-level stuff to be more demanding and exhausting than what you did at LC level. :)

macgowan wrote: »
    Oh thanks I didn't see that! Could someone with a TCD account copy/paste what it says here exactly...?

http://www.tcd.ie/Library/Internal/shelverapplications
    It says:
    Student Shelvers in Trinity College Library

Each year the Library employs a number of ‘Student Shelvers’ who work 10-12 hours per week at the Libraries on Campus and in the Trinity Centre at St James’s Hospital.
    The primary role of student shelvers is to sort books and return them to the shelves each morning before the Library opens.
    A full job description and short-listing criteria is available.
    Please ensure you read this in detail before completing the application form.

The first round of interviews for the 2008/09 academic year will be held on Thursday 9th October 2008. All applications received by Tuesday 30th September will be short-listed and successful applicants will be notified of the time of their interview by e-mail The dates for further interviews will be confirmed after 09/10/08.

If you have any questions please call Sharon McIntyre on 896-1661 or e-mail mcintys@tcd.ie
    I'll host that application form somewhere and link it in a minute
    EDIT: Done

karlr42 wrote: »
    It says:

I'll host that application form somewhere and link it in a minute
    EDIT: Done

Thanks! "...each morning before the Library opens..." I take it that means it's a "bright and early" job??

Working schedule:

A minimum of 10 hours per week to a maximum of 12 hours per week. You are required to work Monday to Friday – 2 hours each morning with shift starting at 8:00 am (or earlier in the Berkeley / Lecky / Ussher), with an option to work one additional two hour shift at a time agreed with your supervisor
    ^

And the fact that it asks for available hours... Obviously I don't know this if only starting this year... Does that mean it's not open to JF?

macgowan wrote: »
    And the fact that it asks for available hours... Obviously I don't know this if only starting this year... Does that mean it's not open to JF?
    I wouldn't know, but that's the vibe I'm getting, sorry :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I work three night during the week through term and I have done since first year (I'm going in to final year Micro now so long hours) and I don't think it's been a problem at all. I play rugby, I've been involved in a few societies and my grades have always been decent enough. The only time I take off is the 6-8 weeks before exams and thats it.

That said I think it depends on te job itself. I suppose I'm really lucky: my jobs is literally opposite my house, I work 5 - 10 (at 13 euro/hr :D) so I can go out afterward, it's quiet so I actually bring in my books and study most nights and they happily give me any time I need of for rugby etc. So I think if I was doing any other job I'd be unlikely to work as much.

It's really up to you and what your priorities are I suppose but it can be done easily enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭lilmizzme

I actually just got a call for a job interview there. It's for a sales assistant job in House of Ireland, the crystal, glass, antiques and expensive things store. (I just know i'm gonna break something really expensive). Do yous think that will do for a job? They said evenings and weekends part time from October onwards would be fine for them. It's only accross the road from trinity.

I sent a CV there too....wheres my god damn interview?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Boston, you should be hired as the Eng. course recruiting officer. I can't wait for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

Heading into second year engineering myself.

I started out working Saturdays and Sundays last October. Kept it up untill January, but I gave it up because I had no time for myself at all.

The hours are effectivly 9-5, give or take, but theres always something on after too, be it a society or sports club weekly meeting, an event on (debate, comedian etc) or just a trip to the pav.
    Trying to include a bit of study, and get the work done too was hard.
    We got virtually no assignents during term time last year which was great. All of the assignments were given over holidays (most people ended up not doing them until we got back and there was 2 days to the deadline tho!!)
    The work generally involved lab reports and some homework for maths.

Best decision I made was to quit the weekend job. I started giving grinds for the rest of the year. Its a very handy job.
    I had a Junior Cert pass maths student, a 5th year Physics student and a 5th Year applied maths student.
    That had me on €130 a week for 3 hours work.

Ginds pay well, are easy enough to do, and arent very time consuming. Very handy job option.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

mathew wrote: »
    I had a Junior Cert pass maths student, a 5th year Physics student and a 5th Year applied maths student.
    That had me on €130 a week for 3 hours work.

Ginds pay well, are easy enough to do, and arent very time consuming. Very handy job option.

Jesus Christ, how much do people charge for grinds these days? I never got anywhere near that.

I started giving maths helprooms and grading homeworks in third year, which was effectively my income. Not feasible in 1st year obviously, but was handy enough. Only got 50-75 a week for it, but it was only 2-3 hours work and mostly whenever I felt like it.

Baza210 wrote: »
    Boston, you should be hired as the Eng. course recruiting officer. I can't wait for it now.

I've effectively done that job on open days. I've absolutely no interest in bull****ting people about the course. Its a hard going course for nearly everyone who does it. I've come through it and I've also been involved in doing first year labs, so I'm in a pretty good position to judge it.

Is the mangonel being done again this year?

And is it actually worth it, despite all the griping?

Baza210 wrote: »
    And is it actually worth it, despite all the griping?
    What exactly?

Depends on what you mean by worth it. I don't think its worth it if you end up burnt out completely. I don't think its worth if if you write off everything in your life bar the course. No degree is worth that. I see lads in first year spending every extra hour they have in the lab or library and I feel bad for them because that's going to be how they do it for the next four years, if they make it that long. I did it myself, I worked through weekends and holidays and in the end with a first class degree in my hand, money in my pocket and great prospective, I don't think it was worth it.

But then again, not everyone is like that, I know others that had a lot of fun, but in what they thought it was worth and game out with a degree in the end and a lot of great experience. So I guess its up to you to find the right balance. It takes a while.

Assuming you didn't want the philosophical response.

If you make it through the 4 years you'll come out at the end with a pretty well regarded degree which will give you a lot of employment opportunities provided you do well. Its internationally respected and in Ireland its viewed with a certain amount of (undue) prestige. You're talking about a starting salary of around 31K or more. That said if you go down the Mech route, you'll most likely have to go abroad to fine a decent job, which is where the international reputation really pays off.

Are you a prospective first year yourself?

If by "prospective" you mean am I starting in a few weeks, then Yes.

@Jmcc - I meant is doing the course and getting the qualification worth it in the end.

What type of engineer are you looking to become or do you know yet?

Hypothetically, Automotive/Mechanical. I'm not particularily keen on staying in Ireland, so job prospects aren't that pressing of an issue.

Ah mechanical. Of the 4 departments they currently have the most money, and a few decent lecturers.

I heard something about not everyone getting the division of engineering that they choose for third year, is that correct?

Yep, they've introduced a quota system. No one has gone through the system yet, so I'm unsure of how it works, but you are no longer guaranteed to get the stream you want.

So one may have to work. Oh what a calamity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 florencexxx

On the same sort of topic, I was offered a full time job on Grafton St but as I didn't know my timetable yet I was told to ring back when I do, by which time I'm almost sure the job will have gone (this was about 2 days ago). I'll be starting European Studies in October and I know there's not that many hours to it, but does anyone here do it/know the sort of times you finish at? I've been trying to get a job for the entire summer and this would be perfect, so any help is appreciated. =]

You'll most likely be able to find last years time table online. But if its based on a group system that maybe of limited use to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Peslo

Jobs in the likes of Dunnes, Tesco, Superquinn are ok.
    I worked in Dunnes for 1 and a half years during 5th and 6th year. The workload is ok, and if you make friends there then you won't mind going into work at all! The nights out and the social aspect of jobs like that are very good.

Peslo QFT