Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aren't the Yanks just mad as a brush?

• 25-08-2008 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭

Was lukin at Obama's Deomcratic Convention there on rte.ie for a laugh. Thay are dancing and everything in the audience. I'd doubt you'd see such hideous behaviour at the Fianna Fail Ard Dheis!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

In before overheal complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

R0ot wrote: »

Dammit! Aw the yanks, always being oppressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

neaideabh wrote: »
    Was lukin at Obama's Deomcratic Convention there on rte.ie for a laugh. Thay are dancing and everything in the audience. I'd doubt you'd see such hideous behaviour at the Fianna Fail Ard Dheis!:D

But the Americans always dance when gunslingers are shooting at their feet. It's a kind of folk tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

yeah the way elections are run over in the US is insane. They treat it like a hollywood movie or some****.

Like those horrible TV adverts where they dish the dirt on the other the party and stuff.

The simpsons was great at taking the piss outa american tv http://votesideshowbob.ytmnd.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

/Pre-empts Overheal:

"The yanks" - why is that catch-all term used so often for over 300 million people...?

I agree, many aspects of American culture are bizarre, but I don't think that means every single American person is a bit of a nut job. Just sayin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

lots of fat stupid people here too... bit too much of generalisation that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Why does that qualify them as mad? They dig their politics and hope that their man gets in to replace the damage that the republicans have caused over the last 8 years. Maybe if we got up and had a wee jig we wouldn't have a political system where the TD's renovate their offices to the tune of €100, 000 while telling us all to shop around for our groceries 'cause times are tight.

Why is that mad?

/ goes off to look for dancing shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

They are giving it loads right now on bbc news

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Crash their party and get free chicken and beer!

But American beer sucks!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

Great food and great TV.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

True, but what do you expect in the home of the brave naive and the land of the free (beer)?

lolz. Well a decent brewski wouldn't go amiss. whats wrong with a beer that tastes of beer???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

I'd doubt you'd see such hideous behaviour at the Fianna Fail Ard Dheis!:D

its ard fheis!:p

lolz. Well a decent brewski wouldn't go amiss. whats wrong with a beer that tastes of beer???
    What really baffles me is that so many Irish drink that watered down swill called Bud, when St James Gate makes a brew that you can sip with a yummmy taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

As in many walks of life, the most stupid are the loudest. I am listening to the Democratic Convention on the radio. I have a very dim view of the general perception of Americans. They are annoying. However, those Americans I have met in person seem to be decent folk who are just like any of us, trying to do well in work, earn a bit of cash and provide for their family etc. There is a range of people in all countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

They call 'jam', jelly and eat it with peanut butter on sandwiches. Mad schtuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

The spell colour with out the U. Insane, the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Ruu wrote: »
    They call 'jam', jelly and eat it with peanut butter on sandwiches. Mad schtuff.

Well you must like it, you live there :)

Mad yokes the lot of them. Is aoibheann liom Éire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

A yank here! Thought I'd clear some stuff up.

1. This is the biggie, and it's been bothering me for weeks now. Yanks is not a derogatory term. You will not offend any American by calling him or her a Yank, unless you preface it with something horrible. You might piss off a Southerner, but that doesn't take much.

You, my drunken ginger friend, have obviously never had Yuengling, and my heart weeps for you.

Ruu wrote: »

Now that's just plain not true. They are two different things. Jam has chunks and jelly is smooth. Although some Yanks bumble that up, most of us know the difference.

PS-Don't knock peanut butter.

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    The spell colour with out the U. Insane, the lot of them.

We also spell "without" without a space. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

PillyPen wrote: »
    A yank here! Thought I'd clear some stuff up.

1. This is the biggie, and it's been bothering me for weeks now. Yanks is not a derogatory term. You will not offend any American by calling him or her a Yank, unless you preface it with something horrible. You might piss off a Southerner, but that doesn't take much.

You, my drunken ginger friend, have obviously never had Yuengling, and my heart weeps for you.

Now that's just plain not true. They are two different things. Jam has chunks and jelly is smooth. Although some Yanks bumble that up, most of us know the difference.

PS-Don't knock peanut butter.

We also spell "without" without a space. :P

Well put,
    Now if only your country could learn to produce proper bacon, bread, cheese, milk and just about any basic staple of food(fast food doesn't count, you guys got that right).

The Election is a madness over here right now, the "Daily Show" and the seemingly popular "Colbert Report" are running constantly, bursting at the seems with what would be witty political commentary were it not for its persistent repetition.

Personally I dislike both candidates, I find each to be populist and insincere.

Hellm0 wrote: »
    Well put,
    Now if only your country could learn to produce proper bacon, bread, cheese, milk and just about any basic staple of food(fast food doesn't count, you guys got that right).

Oh yeah? Well at least we have corn! :(

Yep, the elections are sickening. The DNC has been a horrible embarrassment. They lost me when they opened with all sorts of different prayer just to pander to the religious right. I have lost all faith in American politics.
    Hellm0 wrote: »
    Personally I dislike both candidates, I find each to be populist and insincere.

I agree. I met Obama and he was a terrible wanker. McCain is McCain so he's no better.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

You might piss off a Southerner, but that doesn't take much.

About the only thing I can think of. I've had a couple of people from South of the Mason/Dixon line question me when I use the generic 'Yank'.

It ain't all that, if you ask me. Whatever America's virtues (V8s and .45s), bear ain't one of them. I still go for Carlsberg or Harp. After spending the last six months in the State of Maker's Mark, it doesn't have a patch on a decent Bushmill's 10-year malt.
    3. Now that's just plain not true. They are two different things. Jam has chunks and jelly is smooth. Although some Yanks bumble that up, most of us know the difference.

Spoken like a true ignorant American!

Here's a clue. If you ask for 'Jelly' in the rest of the world, you're going to get a somewhat clear wobbly thing, usually in green, yellow or red, with as near to no relationship to a fruit as makes any difference. If you ask for "Jell-O" over on the other side of the water, you will get confused looks.

It's like "entrée." How the hell the Americans decided that that meant "main mourse" is utterly beyond me. I mean, it even sounds like the English equivalent, "entry." How can one balls that up? Then again, they also pronounce "coupé" wrong, and I seem to be fighting a losing battle in the US Army as to the correct pronounciation of "cache". One would have thought that being in proximity to Quebec, and having a francophone population in Louisiana that they might at least get the French words right, but no...

NTM

It ain't all that, if you ask me. Whatever America's virtues (V8s and .45s), bear ain't one of them. I still go for Carlsberg or Harp. After spending the last six months in the State of Maker's Mark, it doesn't have a patch on a decent Bushmill's 10-year malt.

Ok, you know what? I don't think anyone that thinks one of America's greatest virtues is a disgusting vegetable juice drink should have any input into the beer discussion. :pac: And seriously, everyone knows the Irish are a bunch of raging lushes. I don't know why you all pretend to have discriminating palates when the entire world knows you'd drink motor oil if it had an alcohol content.
    Spoken like a true ignorant American!

Here's a clue. If you ask for 'Jelly' in the rest of the world, you're going to get a somewhat clear wobbly thing, usually in green, yellow or red, with as near to no relationship to a fruit as makes any difference. If you ask for "Jell-O" over on the other side of the water, you will get confused looks.

The Man has spoken. If he says "Jell-O", then Jell-O it is. Unless you're some sort of commie pinko bastard. Which you're not, because we glorious Americans put a stop to that bullshit back in the day.
    It's like "entrée." How the hell the Americans decided that that meant "main mourse" is utterly beyond me. I mean, it even sounds like the English equivalent, "entry." How can one balls that up? Then again, they also pronounce "coupé" wrong, and I seem to be fighting a losing battle in the US Army as to the correct pronounciation of "cache". One would have thought that being in proximity to Quebec, and having a francophone population in Louisiana that they might at least get the French words right, but no...

NTM

Like the Irish have never bastardized anything. You eejits think pants means underwear. I think I've proven my point.

Boooo-yaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh Noessssss..... another silly american coming to ireland...... :P

All I hear is jealousy!

I can't even write it in jest. America sucks, everyone knows that. If an American denies it it's because they're suffering the effects of generations of trailer-park inbreeding. It makes me pretty sad that a nation with so much potential is so destructive and senseless.

All I hear is jealousy!

I can't even write it in jest. America sucks, everyone knows that. If an American denies it it's because they're suffering the effects of generations of trailer-park inbreeding. It makes me pretty sad that a nation with so much potential is so destructive and senseless.

Ooooh I wasn't expecting that...........

/walks off and hangs head in shame.

Ooooh I wasn't expecting that...........

/walks off and hangs head in shame.

It is a very hard country to defend.

Still, it could be worse. I could have been a Frog. You know, they'd be speaking Kraut if it weren't for us. Craven, gutless ghouls can't win a war to save their lives. :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Then again, they also pronounce "coupé" wrong, and I seem to be fighting a losing battle in the US Army as to the correct pronounciation of "cache".

Pointless factoid: coupé cars are called 'breaks' in French. Needless to say, the local pronunciation is unfathomably remote from the spelling.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Some of the best beer I've ever tasted is American. They ship the crap out to Ireland and keep the good stuff for themselves.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

It ain't all that, if you ask me. Whatever America's virtues (V8s and .45s), bear ain't one of them. I still go for Carlsberg or Harp. After spending the last six months in the State of Maker's Mark, it doesn't have a patch on a decent Bushmill's 10-year malt.NTM

How can someone in San Jose drink Harp? I mean, even the Irish don't drink that anymore, being mildly better than yellow-pack Quinsworth beer.

Los Gatos Brewing is a nice brew and I could drink Anchor Steam until it came out of my ears.

Have you ever had Brooklyn Lager? That's the shiznit. Yo.

All I hear is jealousy!

Your in for one big shock when you land here, if you think you have seen the effects of inbreding in the melting pot.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Your in for one big shock when you land here, if you think you have seen the effects of inbreding in the melting pot.

But stupidity is so much more bearable when it comes with a charming accent! I'm going to try to find some PA rednecks and post it under the accent thread. It's unbearable.

It is the ugly and mother lust you should be worried about.
    Are you single?

Oh there's plenty of ugly here. Mother lust isn't fun.

Absolutely single.

Oh there's plenty of ugly here. Mother lust isn't fun.

Absolutely single.

I'd pay good money to see your first impression of coppers niteclub. :D

That's the place.

I'm getting conflicting reports. Some websites are saying it's very nice and there are hot men everywhere and others are saying it's all for culchies.:confused:

It's full of men looking for women with no standards. You only go there when you are absolutely desperate. None of the lovely ladies on boards would even consider going there............................... with the possible exception of coolsmileygirl who would consider it something of a hunting ground. :)

Hot is a relative term.

It is relative to the amount of alcohol you have consumed times the duration of your dry spell. ;)

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Hot is a relative term.

It is relative to the amount of alcohol you have consumed times the duration of your dry spell. ;)

Lol! 18 months. I'd probably find Jabba the Hut attractive if he talked dirty to me. :rolleyes:

It's full of men looking for women with no standards. You only go there when you are absolutely desperate. None of the lovely ladies on boards would even consider going there............................... with the possible exception of coolsmileygirl who would consider it something of a hunting ground. :)

I'm going clubbing with coolsmileygirl! ;)

You are a brave brave soul or either you're living up to the stereotype of americans as being a little dim. Heh heh I just haven't figured out which it is.

Have you ever had Brooklyn Lager? That's the shiznit. Yo.

there won't be any of that "shiznit" business where you're going missy.

Edit: also, nothing wrong with culchies, we just need a bit of training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

R0ot wrote: »
    Thought he'd be still banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

2. You, my drunken ginger friend, have obviously never had Yuengling, and my heart weeps for you.

Mmmm, Yuengling! Can't wait til January to get my annual fix....

Any chance you'd bring a few bottles over when you're moving?? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭bean

Nope, it doesnt. Only the domestics p1ss that they send over here sucks. The countless microbrewerys, samual adams have dozens of varieties (all tasty) and others like blue moon on kentucky.

Beats our small offering to the world of beverages