Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry V Cork Replay - Discussion

• 25-08-2008 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

Ok i thought we should start from scratch and look forward to the next game. Another reason for starting a new thread is to restart the Poll also. So can we leave all the ill tempered stuff for the other threads and concentrate on the match. So who will win it this time round?

Can cork put in a better display and finally beat Kerry in Croker or will Kerry be more clinical (i said clinical lads :D) this time round?

How will Kerry manage without Dara O'Se?

How different will the cork team look starting this weekend form last weekend?

Also can this extra game be of benifit to Kerry or Cork for the final if it is to be another tough encounter?

So my own biased view is i feel kerry are in a much worse position going into this match than on sunday. When dara o se was sent off it got the team going but how will they manage with him out for the whole match. I Think it will be a real test of there hunger if they overcome cork. I think they will beat them this time round but i'm pretty nervous about it. And i'm in portugal for the week so i prob won't even see the match!!!

Who will win the replay? 56 votes

Kerry
    0% 0 votes
    Cork
    75% 42 votes
    Draw - Again!
    23% 13 votes
    too close to call - Again!
    1% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Cork, the fact that they have had no hard games and won Munster means they were not battle ready. Now they will be and can take Kerry. Cork by 3 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Kerry might put Donaghy in midfield for this one. I really can't believe Kerry didn't win last Sunday such was their superiority. A truly bizarre finish, where Kerry went for a nap in the last 5 minutes, and nearly payed a serious price for it.

I don't think Cork will play as badly next Sunday. Can they?

Kerry have too much class all over the field, i strongly suspect they'll finish the job properly this time around. Kerry by 4 or 5 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭demac

Ye won't see Kerry shooting 14 wides in 2 consecutive games.

Kerry to win by a decent score !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

Kerry don't normally miss a second chance. However, Cork may have a slight psychological edge considering the turnarounds they produced in both Munster and last Sunday. Also, Dara O'Sé's absence will be a factor. I think Cork will shade it by 1/2 pts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭brucer24!

have to say Kerry. dont think cork will catch them again this year. Pity Donnacha will be missing..he has been one of our best players this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

On the contrary, Donnacha has been largely rubbish this year, besides Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

I'm boycotting this. Do they think people in Cork are made of money...

Dragging us up to Dublin every week, <snip>.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

The kingdom will unleash such a tornado of truly epic proportions that it will leave both Tyrone and Wexford trying to hand the game to each other afterwards lol! Well maybe not but Kerry rarely loose a replay and Kerry will not kick 14 wides and the rollercoaster is just getting up to speed and we have now entered 3rd gear in what is Kerry's 6th match of the Championship and 5th hard battle.

As the halycon days of September approach the Kingdom machine will roar and Kerry will dominate and go on to the Final where the ultimate earth shattering football will be played with Daragh O'Se and Paul Galvin firing on all cylinders. It was if all of Ireland cried rivers of tears that Cork didn't beat Kerry but face the facts this Kerry is only 70mins away from becoming the Greatest Kerry team ever and thus the greatest in History.

Kerry to win in a freeflowing match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

I think Cork are going to do it by the skin of their teeth! It will be a draw at 70 mins then cork will fly out and get a point :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

mumhaabu wrote: »
    The kingdom will unleash such a tornado of truly epic proportions that it will leave both Tyrone and Wexford trying to hand the game to each other afterwards lol! Well maybe not but Kerry rarely loose a replay and Kerry will not kick 14 wides and the rollercoaster is just getting up to speed and we have now entered 3rd gear in what is Kerry's 6th match of the Championship and 5th hard battle.

As the halycon days of September approach the Kingdom machine will roar and Kerry will dominate and go on to the Final where the ultimate earth shattering football will be played with Daragh O'Se and Paul Galvin firing on all cylinders. It was if all of Ireland cried rivers of tears that Cork didn't beat Kerry but face the facts this Kerry is only 70mins away from becoming the Greatest Kerry team ever and thus the greatest in History.

Nice post ! but Better than the 5 All Ireland's Kerry team of the 70's ?
    I agree with you however I think the Kerry Machine is just about to kick into gear. Expect an decent win from them. Wex/Tyrone wont be scared..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

mumhaabu wrote: »

Greatest in history, hmmmm, I would say 6 consecutive Leinster title and 4 consecutive all-ireland titles is pretty great, but then again I am to young to have seen that great Wexford team play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

CyberDave wrote: »
    Kerry don't normally miss a second chance. However, Cork may have a slight psychological edge considering the turnarounds they produced in both Munster and last Sunday. Also, Dara O'Sé's absence will be a factor. I think Cork will shade it by 1/2 pts.
    Ó Sé missing is big... but I don't think Cork "produced" turnarounds, so much as were handed them on a plate by two massive Kerry non-performances (one for 35 minutes, one for 3.5 minutes).

If Diarmuid Murphy had worn an extra couple of pairs of socks, then Kerry would be in the All-Ireland now... as they should be - despite playing poorly, they were the better of two poor sides. I think it's interesting that Kerry's best performance came against a Galway side playing well and their two poorest matches have come against what I consider a poor enough Cork side - but in spite of this, I don't think they'll slip up again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Patto

Cork are a far superior team to Galway and would have beaten Galway off the field too.

Kerry played as well or as poorly as they were allowed to on Sunday. They rarely had scoring chances with time and spare within the scring zone against Cork. They had them all day long against Galway. Hence the so called "best performance" against Galway and the so called "poor" one against Cork.

I thought the first hald of the game on Sunday was pretty good, tough, high intensity football. Kerry started well, winning every breaking ball in mid field, Cork's defence was just about holding up. Then Nic Murph came on and Cork took a foothold in mid field, Kerry were now defending well with Cussen being well contained.

It wasn't until D. O'Se was sent off that the game decended into anarchy. I don't think you can read into anything that happened after that. It was all in the hand of the Gods. It will have no bearing on the result the next day.

If Cork win more ball mid field, and they may with Darragh missing, and if they get their forwards operating they will beat Kerry. Thats two big ifs of course, Kerry will still be favourites given Sunday's form and given that Cork still haven't played to their potential against Kerry in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭nellie07

donncha has been great free taker and great all round consistant player, pity that Aidan O'Mahony had to act the child by 'falling' down, what a baby, and his profession a Garda, how would he react if something like that happended while he was on the beat,... tut tut

think he wants to take Galvins place for being a little upstart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Unfortuately I can't see anyway for Cork to pull this one off. Once I got over the relief and happiness of getting a draw when it should have been a disaster, I was able to remember how bad Cork performed throughout the game. Unlike the Munster final which Cork won and deserved, last Sunday Kerry threw it away albeit with a few lucky dodgy decisions for Cork.

I'd say Donnaghy will stay up front where he is best. The Cork midfield were not doing well last Sunday. I think we lost most of our own kick outs so I doubt Pat O'Shea will be too worried there.

I hope its not a drubbing - and Cork will score a goal or two to keep the game interesting at least as they have done throughout the Summer.

From the last day I thought Cussen performed better with low ball in front of him which allowed more pace up front. In these cases our other forwards need to be there to allow Cussen to off load.

Off the topic - what is it about Croke Park that make the fans of Cork and Kerry hate each other so much. Down in Killarney its all on the piss and singing down the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭nellie07

Hi colm, I dont know we were in the lower cussack stand on sunday and kerry fans were very irrate, we were standing up as every row in front of us was to see what was happening with a particular incident, and the crowd behind us were going ballistic we couldnt have been standing for more than 20 seconds.

they were making smart remarks like 'ah sure its a great 'practice' run for them for the final and then within 2 mins cork had drawn the game.

People should calm down and games and enjoy them cork played really bad on sunday there is no denying that, and should they have won they wouldnt deserve it, they need to cop on get their act together and pray for a miracle mid field, they werent even marking their kerry men when they had the ball, unreal.

ah well I wish both the best for next sunday and may the best team on the day win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,162 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm still thinking that this is over and Kerry are in the All-Ireland final but then I remember Corks ridiculous finish.
    Still Kerry dominated this game and I cannot see them letting the same thing happen. Its the real final imo. I think these are the two best teams in the country.
    Kerry to win and go on to a four in a row next year unless Cork improve again next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

kerry won an all ireland before without darragh o se when he was injured. kieran donaghy stepped into his shoes on sunday and made up for his loss. kerry will not make the same mistakes this sunday, they will not have as many wides. cork have been on a lucky streak for a while, but this will not last.

kerry by 8 or 9 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

nellie07 wrote: »
    Hi colm, I dont know we were in the lower cussack stand on sunday and kerry fans were very irrate, we were standing up as every row in front of us was to see what was happening with a particular incident, and the crowd behind us were going ballistic we couldnt have been standing for more than 20 seconds.

they were making smart remarks like 'ah sure its a great 'practice' run for them for the final and then within 2 mins cork had drawn the game.

People should calm down and games and enjoy them cork played really bad on sunday there is no denying that, and should they have won they wouldnt deserve it, they need to cop on get their act together and pray for a miracle mid field, they werent even marking their kerry men when they had the ball, unreal.

ah well I wish both the best for next sunday and may the best team on the day win!

Actually nellie, i was one of those people in the cusack stand giving out about people standing up. I was only about 10 rows back so when anyone stood up i couldn't see a thing. Missed the entire incident withthe cork player being sent off because of people standing up and they wouldn't show it on the screen. Near the end of the match it was getting a bit ridiculus.

Also i think the fact it was kerry people was irelevant, i didn't pay 45 euro to look at the back of someones head.

alot can happen in 20 seconds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mousey007

kerry by 5 points

nellie07 wrote: »
    donncha has been great free taker and great all round consistant player, pity that Aidan O'Mahony had to act the child by 'falling' down, what a baby, and his profession a Garda, how would he react if something like that happended while he was on the beat,... tut tut

think he wants to take Galvins place for being a little upstart

His profession has nothing to do with GAA, please don't bring it up again. If you do you will be banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Patto wrote: »
    Cork are a far superior team to Galway and would have beaten Galway off the field too.

Far superior? Hardly. If Cork and Galway played I imagine there wouldn't be much in it.

Kerry were miles the better team last Sunday and basically threw it away in a couple of minutes of madness. If they bring their shooting boots to the replay they will win by 4 or 5 points, as they're a better team than Cork plain and simple.

Though Kerry are looking more vulnerable than in previous years and there's still obvious problems in their full back line. Marc O'Se has gone from being footballer of the year 12 months ago to looking very shaky this year. But if Kerry play to anything near their best there can only be one winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Well Cork can't possibly play any worse this sunday than they did last sunday so an improvement is inevitable.

As for Kerry never missing a second chance / losing a replay, au contraire mes amis, take a look back at the replays in the championship in this decade. Kerry have played 4 won 2 and lost 2, I'd call that a pretty indifferent. Cork on the other hand have played 3 and won 3. This 100% return is made better still when you consider that 2 of them just happen to be the 2 replays that Kerry have lost. All this of course means absolutely nothing.

My prediction, if Cork can keep cool heads, they can take this poor Kerry team.

alias no.9 wrote: »
    My prediction, if Cork can keep cool heads, they can take this poor Kerry team.

I presume you're just jesting about Kerry being a poor team.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I presume you're just jesting about Kerry being a poor team.

No. Take a look at the amount of wides they got last week, 18 was it? A good few of the Kerry scores in the second half last Sunday came from stupid frees given away by Cork, if Cork are were bit more disciplined they wouldn't be giving away these frees. Add to this Kerrys failure to close out the game, usually the last 10 minutes is where Kerry show their class against poorer teams and god knows Cork were poor last sunday. This Kerry team have lost something from last season.

This Kerry team have lost something from last season.

I agree with you there, but I still think it's stretching it quite a bit to call them a poor team. Poor teams don't get to 4 All-Ireland finals in a row and win 3 of them.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I agree with you there, but I still think it's stretching it quite a bit to call them a poor team. Poor teams don't get to 4 All-Ireland finals in a row and win 3 of them.

They were poor last week. You're only as good as your last game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

They were poor last week. You're only as good as your last game.

They were poor for the last 8 minutes last week, dont get carried away.

Waylander wrote: »
    They were poor for the last 8 minutes last week, dont get carried away.

If they'd been doing that kind of shooting in a toilet, there'd be piss all over the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

True, but against Galway their shooting was immaculate. I think you are taking a bit too much for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Its rare when a team that played so poorly gets a second chance. I hope the cork players
    realise this and grab it with both hands.
    Cork have the advantage and if they can't take kerry now, this team doesn't deserve an all ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Cork have never beaten Kerry in Croke Park. The open space suits Kerry's style of play and attacking down the wings from the half back line.

Midfield will be crucial again but even a Man down Kerry looked the better team in midfield.

Kerry will win it handy.

'Team' announced.
    Kevin McMahon has been drafted into the Cork half forward line for Sunday's All-Ireland semi-final replay against Kerry in place of Donncha O'Connor. O'Connor is facing a one-match ban having been sent off during last Sunday's drawn match.

Cork manager Conor Counihan had been expected to delay naming his side pending the outcome of tonight's meeting of the Central Hearings Committee (CHC) where O'Connor's case was to be heard.

However, it would appear O'Connor has paid the price for his red card with McMahon included in an otherwise unchanged starting line-up announced this evening. Kerry are due to name their side later in the week.

Cork (SF v Kerry): A Quirke; D Duggan, D Kavanagh, A Lynch; J Meskella, G Spillane, K O'Connor; A O'Connor, G Canty; S O'Brien, P O'Neill, K McMahon; D Goulding, M Cussen, J Hayes.

Link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 colinmatts

Kerry should have had that game wrapped up on Sunday. They got complacent, gave away a sloppy goal and a sily penalty and it would be their own fault if Cork beat them in the replay. Honestly though, I don't think Cork have the quality to get on top of Kerry. Kerry were better in every area of the pitch last Sunday. The 14 wides they kicked on a windless day were unforgivable though.

Looks like O'Connor is available for Sunday, if he plays I hope he won't be as sill again

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=100286
    Donncha O’Connor’s four-week suspension has been overturned by the Central Hearings Committee (CHC), which means he will be free to play in this Sunday’s All-Ireland SFC semi-final replay against Kerry.

The Rebels attacker had been handed the month’s ban by the Central Competitions Control Committee on Monday, after receiving a straight red card by referee Joe McQuillan in the second-half of the Munster Champions’ draw with the Kingdom for lightly-slapping Aidan O’Mahony across the face which saw the Kerry defender fall to the ground dramatically.

However, after O’Connor’s appeal to the CHC last night (Wednesday) the Committee have decided to rescind the red card, allowing O’Connor to play against the All-Ireland Champions this Sunday and in the All-Ireland final should the Rebels get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Connacht

As almost always happens when a severe underdog (yes, despite the Munster title) manages to get a draw against the overwhelming favourite, the replay will be a huge disappointment as a contest.
    Kerry by a minimum of 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

hi all just reading on the aertel gaa page that the cork player that was sent off for slapping A o mahony got off scot free last night and the kerry player was sent off for the same offence a few mins b4 hand . and he doesnt get his ban quashed. like you cant have double standardss unless all the cccc are from cork. Which explains a lot ,
    which makes me wonder how much of the cccc take the auld brown envelopes under the counter . as for the replay it be kerry and the final be a kerry tyrone affair with the kingdom to win and then dublin to win next year i hope . well i can still dream about next year. we long overdue a good auld welcome for the sam and a few days celebrating .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

colinmatts wrote: »
    Kerry should have had that game wrapped up on Sunday. They got complacent, gave away a sloppy goal and a sily penalty and it would be their own fault if Cork beat them in the replay. Honestly though, I don't think Cork have the quality to get on top of Kerry. Kerry were better in every area of the pitch last Sunday. The 14 wides they kicked on a windless day were unforgivable though.

u are right there the wides cost us dear in the end. but how can the cork plaer get away with his red card and the kerry player still has to be band for as month. if ever there was a case for tv replays in the gaa for the ref it is now, like both players did get straight red for the same offence more or less. fair enough the kerry defender should not have play acted but it much of a muchness between both sending offs and i was at the game along with my extended family form the kingdom. as for the wides dont get me started i couldnt repeat what my uncle said and he a selector for east kerry and firies lol ah sure he mad for the games justt as i am for the bubs and the kingdom aswell. lets hope we have the right outcome come the final for the both minor and senior kingdom teams my cousin on the panel for the minors
    ciao

Kerry by six. Once again. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Form says Kerry but...........
    Cork to win & to prove that a (rebel) cat can actually have 10 lives !!!!! meow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I don't think Kerry will let Cork off the hook for a third time this year.If they do,it will be a miracle for Cork.I heard from a very reliable source that Gooch "wasn't at the races" the last day.;)

Apart from the Galway game,he hasn't shone yet this year and this is a major concern for Kerry.However,Cork know themselves that they were lucky the last day by accounts.I'm just wondering what Cork team will turn up tomorrow.

Kerry to be more economical up front and put Cork away the third time of asking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭longfordjames

IMO Kerry are shooting themselves in the foot by not playing Mike Frank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I think this is going to be good.

Anyone else spot Colm O'Rourke staring at the camera-mans female pick from the crowd just a little bit too long?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

And Cork get a goal after Kerry go 8 points ahead.
    Anyone getting that deja vu feeling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

DeepBlue wrote: »
    And Cork get a goal after Kerry go 8 points ahead.
    Anyone getting that deja vu feeling?

Yup, I can hardly bring myself to watch the 2nd half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

opus wrote: »
    Yup, I can hardly bring myself to watch the 2nd half!
    One point game now...

2-12 to 2-11

Kerry are in bother, we'll see what they're made of now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Great game atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭barnicles

They're drawing go cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭barnicles

Kerry up 1.1