Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wavefrontier T90 Installer

• 24-08-2008 4:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Wavefrontier T90 & Technomate 5400ci.
    Have given installation my best shot but to no avail. I can get reception on 1 maybe 2 satellites but no more and I'm not going to waste any more time on it. Its currently on the back of the house but it may as well be in its box!!! I have a limited amount of space

I ready to bite the bullet and let a professional installer at it. Can anyone recommend/pimp themselves to do the job remembering its not a standard dish.

The job is in Newbridge and I want the dish setup for 4 satellites
    1W, 13E, 16E & 19E.

David

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭davidm20

Cheers was going to give something like that a bash tomorrow. But can anyone recommend somebody.

Have already checked with the guys from satellite.ie & have also mailed eirss.ie since they sell them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

let us know how you go.
    have a similar requirement.
    is it possible to put 5 birds on a wave frontier with one disecq ?

looking for 1 13 16 19 28

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Eurorunner

Pal wrote: »
    let us know how you go.
    have a similar requirement.
    is it possible to put 5 birds on a wave frontier with one disecq ?

looking for 1 13 16 19 28
    Yes - using an eight-way disecq switch. Can be got on the cheap on fleabay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

I have set up a T55 with out much hassle.
    Here is a Link to a calculator to help set up that dish.

Set up the dish like this:
    WaveFrontier tilt angle (Skew): 102.47°
    Make skew adjustment by tilting the antenna 12.47° to East which is exactly 102.47° on the scale!!!
    (seen from behind the antenna)
    dot.gif
    WaveFrontier elevation angle: 26.41° (central satellite) dot.gif
    WaveFrontier azimuth range: 29.5° (28.5° E -> 1.0° W)

Point the dish at the centre of the range about 13 E

Then just slide an LNB over and back on the rail until you get a lock.
    Use markings on rail as a guide to add additional LNB's using first one as reference.
    Bare in mind LNB's are the opposite way around from traditional Dishes.
    i.e. satellite's to the east are on the right side as you look at the dish from the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

satworld.ie do Wavefrontier installations. I've got it done on my house.

Thanks,

Got someone to do it. Will get back when job is done and let you know how I get on with them.

Dave

Job done, very happy.

A crowd called eirss, I got them of the
    bricks and mortor sat installers sticky.

Would have no problem recommending
    them.

Dave

davidm20 wrote: »
    Job done, very happy.

A crowd called eirss, I got them of the
    bricks and mortor sat installers sticky.

Would have no problem recommending
    them.

Dave
    How much did the install cost?

€90 per hour installation which i was happy with. Bolts, Parts and cabeling extra. They had to take it down and remount it after my attempt.

Don't tell anybody but I had put the dish together and put the front deflector on upside down which caused them a lot of hassle until they noticed it. Someone that this could happen but I couldn't see any difference...

Also where I wanted it mounted made it more awkward as they had to offset all the lnbs from the centre.

davidm20 wrote:
    €90 per hour installation which i was happy with. Bolts, Parts and cabeling extra. They had to take it down and remount it after my attempt.
    So what was the grand total?
    davidm20 wrote:
    Don't tell anybody but I had put the dish together and put the front deflector on upside down which caused them a lot of hassle until they noticed it. Someone that this could happen but I couldn't see any difference...
    Happens to a lot of people when installing apparently ..at least thats what I came across when reading up on it before my own install...

Trying not to think about that but heres the breakdown..

213.46 for dish to HM-SAT
    148.73 for Technomate 5400Ci to ALSAT
    427.00 for installation to EIRSS

I'm not summing it!!

I did think it would be pricey alright. They're certainly not a straightforward install.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Trying not to think about that but heres the breakdown..

213.46 for dish to HM-SAT
    148.73 for Technomate 5400Ci to ALSAT

I'm not summing it!!

dish is 199 from satworld
    the technomate is cheaper in zintek
    427 installation... what a joke.

I can't believe they charge per hour lol.
    should of went to a proper store like zintek, satworld, or freesat.

Technmate 5400 ci is 245.00 in Zintek according to their website. I paid 148

Yes, dish in Satworld is 199.00, but doesn't include the 4 lnbs, cable & bracket which i also got. I did contact Satworld before I bought it.

Installation price well I thought it was resonable enough for 2 guys for 4 hrs. The problems they had were probably of my making. Would have prefered to pay less for it but the hourly rate was agreed beforehand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Considering if you were in Africa you can get away with charging upwards of 500 US dollars per hour to install a simple enough 1.2M VSAT - 90 Euro an hour to have a WaveFrontier installed (in my opinion, much more complicated) the way you want it exactly, isn't all that bad really.

To me though the fun is in the installation and I'd hate to hand over that part to someone else :)

I was actually a bit pissed at how easy it was to install my motorised system at home, I got it rather than a wavefrontier as I thought it'd be a lot more involved to install. Took 30 minutes to do and all I used was an old mariners compass :/

Are you picking up the Thor's at 0.8/1W ? If you are, how's your reception quality ?

Nehaxak wrote: »
    Are you picking up the Thor's at 0.8/1W ? If you are, how's your reception quality ?

Yeah, reception on 'Thor' has been grand when I've been watching it, but I was away all weekend so have only had 3 nights fiddling around with it and the weather hasn't been so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭techi

emaherx wrote: »

Make skew adjustment by tilting the antenna 12.47° to East which is exactly 102.47° on the scale!!!
    dot.gif

Use markings on rail as a guide to add additional LNB's using first one as reference.
    i.e. satellite's to the east are on the right side as you look at the dish from the back.

I assume your setup only applies to your location and does not apply countrywide?.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gtg60

techi wrote: »
    I assume your setup only applies to your location and does not apply countrywide?.

Cheers

Yes, that's why you're supposed to use the Calculator link he listed, to find your own settings.

gtg60 wrote: »
    Yes, that's why you're supposed to use the Calculator link he listed, to find your own settings.

I thought that however my location not listed in calc. :(

techi wrote: »
    I thought that however my location not listed in calc. :(

Just find your location on Goolemaps (or similar) and get the Long/ Lat, it's FAR more accurate doing that anyway!

That was a great help, I have looked at that before and for some reason dismissed as I could not understand. Today I must be awake it was so simple and the google maps where a huge help.

Cheers for you Help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 246 ✭✭pelisor2000

o man 427 installation............i will like to get costumers like you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

I agree. I would have thought that in today's market a fixed price would have been a more realistic offer, to me that is an UNREAL price.

However, you seem happy with it and that's all that matters I suppose.

azzeretti wrote: »
    I agree. I would have thought that in today's market a fixed price would have been a more realistic offer, to me that is an UNREAL price.

However, you seem happy with it and that's all that matters I suppose.

Well done lads! Try to read a bit more carefully! For a start that post is from August 2008 when people still had money!!

Also if you read the thread completely you'll see that this was far from a straight T90 install, this was for 2 professional installers to come out, take down the OP's incorrectly mounted T90, then spot that he had put the reflector on upside down then remount and set it all up. It's a good wedge of money all right but I wouldn't call it extortionate. I have a T90 and know exactly how complicated they are to set up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Well done lads! Try to read a bit more carefully! For a start that post is from August 2008 when people still had money!!

Also if you read the thread completely you'll see that this was far from a straight T90 install, this was for 2 professional installers to come out, take down the OP's incorrectly mounted T90, then spot that he had put the reflector on upside down then remount and set it all up. It's a good wedge of money all right but I wouldn't call it extortionate. I have a T90 and know exactly how complicated they are to set up too.

I did read the whole thread but didn't once take note of the original post date, I rarely do tbh. Regardless, even if it took 500 umpa-lumpa's imported directly from lumpa land on a 24k gold plane (including all the extension ladders they'd need), that price is way too much. Most people I know in the trade tend to quote a price and personally I would stay well away from anyone quoting a "per hour" price*, recessionary times or not.

*About 10 years ago I got a plumber in to do a job at £120 per day, which was expensive enough for then, about 4 hours into the job I noticed that a) the job looked finished and b) there was no sign of said plumber. I found the fecker asleep in the back of his van. Needless to say I have never dealt with "per hour/day" prices since. - BTW, I am not suggesting the guys that installed this were the same, this is just my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ISAA

You pay for what you get :D

You pay insurance,
    Proper equipment,
    Knowledge,
    and a back up service.

that price is about right for what was involved.

Regards,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rolion

I have a T90 myself installed i think in 2002-2003...it took me days to figure out how to install it myself... anyway,400 for install is way too much,sorry...for less than this money you buy a sat meter and DIY it :)

The 1"W is very hard to catch with T90,myself using a 1.2m for it.And even if you get few transponders,they might disappear when the 'lovely' weather kicks-in making the whole satellite reception a bad joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Row

Hi All,
    I've just got my hands on new T90 toroidal dish from Germany.
    Just assembling it at the moment and its huge..:eek:

I have two dishes already one for sky and the other has astra 19 & hotbird.
    I just want one dish so i went for the T90 toroidal dish...:)
    It seems totally different to set up than the standard dish..:confused:

Just a few questions...
    1)I'd like to have sky,astra 19 & hotbird and whatever else is available..??
    2)I'm wondering what direction should i point in...south..east..to get the most out of it...??
    3)Is there any good info available on setting up one of these beasts..??

Thanks in advance....Ron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭logger

Hi Ron

Earlier post gave link to site where you can put in the satellite range you are looking for and then it will tell you what satellites you can focus on.
    emaherx wrote: »

dot.gif

With a T90 you can comfortably get from say 39E to 12.5W

http://www.satlex.de/en/wavefrontier_calc-params.html?satlo_east=28.5&user_satlo_east=&user_satlo_east_dir=E&satlo_west=-12.5&user_satlo_west=&user_satlo_west_dir=E&location=53.33%2C-6.25&la=53.33&lo=-6.25&country_code=ie

ps: use the referenced web links to find and enter your dishes location for the correct tilt, skew and Azimuth angle for the dish.

Then this would be centred on an imaginary satellite, what I did during my setup was to then adjust these angles at either side so it was centred on Sirius 4 (4.8° E), then you put one of your LNB holders at 0 position on lnb bar and tune as per instructions. Once you have the centre satellite tuned in then you position say you astra LNB holder, and try and tune it in. This is when you need to start twisting the dish so it will follow the arc of the satellites. Then you add other lnb holders along the lnb arm and they should work.

For example you may want to centre the dish on 13E

http://www.satlex.de/en/wavefrontier_calc-params.html?satlo_east=42.0&user_satlo_east=42&user_satlo_east_dir=E&satlo_west=-15.0&user_satlo_west=16&user_satlo_west_dir=W&location=53.33%2C-6.25&la=53.33&lo=-6.25&country_code=ie

Use these angles as a guide only, depending on where you sourced your dish it may or may not be a genuine T90, so the may have to adjust the offset angles to suit.

There are some other good postings about the T90, and worth looking up for info. Best of luck with your setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Imstuck

Just bumping this back up, how much do you reckon it would cost nowadays? Rang one local installer and he'd never heard of it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Big Wex fan

On satworld for €150 for dish & 5 holders. wall mounts & lnb extra.
    It's a very interesting setup, definitely something to talk about with visitors.
    Having all the sats basically live would be cool.
    Is it difficult to setup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭radiowaves

Is it difficult to setup?

It really depends on your level of expertise.

Might be best to get an expert to do the initial set up and then you can add satellites to it yourself afterwards very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Imstuck

It proved to be quite demanding to set up, got central lnb sorted, more playtime this weekend hopefully!!