Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ricky Simms - Bring The Big Lad To Donegal

• 22-08-2008 2:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭

Don't know if people know but Ricky Simms from Donegal is the manager of Usain Bolt. Lets get a campaign together to see can Ricky get The Big Lad to Donegal for a race;) Is that new mondo track open up there yet, The Big Lad would be a great man to cut the tape and then set a track record of 9.76 in the 100m!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

I dont think the Donegal Athletics Club, or whoever is developing the track could afford the several hundred thousand required to attract Mr.Bolt. Plus Nike doesnt have a huge target market up that way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Yes but if you build it The Big Lad will come.

Yes, Nike is weak up there but I hear all those Gallaghers and McHughs are big fans of Puma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Tingle wrote: »
    The Big Lad would be a great man to cut the tape and then set a track record of 9.76 in the 100m!

Not if I have something to say about it.

If the big man comes to these shores TheRoadRunner will come out of his self imposed track retirement to become "TheTrackRunner".

I will then join a GAA club where the creme de la creme of Irish athletic talent now resides (apparently). I will learn how to train twice a week and "take a hit". I will take some inspirational tips from the blow in muppets on this board on how to be a celtic tiger winner a la Roy Keane.

Then on a wet and cold night in Donegal I will go toe to toe with Mr Thunder himself. With a legal Atlantic wind at my back I will run 9.65. I won't celebrate until I have crossed the line in case I incur the wrath of the all knowing blow ins on this board.

I will then rejoin my GAA mates and become "TheGAARunner". Where I will meet the lads every Tuesday and Thursday after training for a few pints and scoff at our retard athletes who fail to make it to an international final. I will look at a couple of my overweight team mates and with a tear in my eye recall the magical night in Donegal and tell them if it wasn't for the drink I could have be the G.O.A.T. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Great post!

Don't forget that after that superfast run you'd be suffering from lactic acid for several days.

I wish Athletics had the coaching expertise that GAA has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Cool posts very funny,

As a now retired footballer ( just about) . Since i jacked in the twice a week training and match on sat and returned to running , i've become so much fitter , faster, stronger.. not sure whats going on.. might be the 5-6 days a week i'm training now..

Oh jsut did 10 miles today so i guess i'll suffer form that lactic acid stuff now.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

In all seriousness though, whatever certain individuals want to say about our athletes,we have a proud tradition in the athlete agent game. Ricky Simms and Paul Doyle are two I can think of from the top of my head, who between them manage practically the entire Jamaican male and female Sprinters. Plus the husband of our former 400m record holder manages several of the medallists from the Olympics. Yes, I'm clutching at straws...

Rineanna wrote: »
    Ricky Simms and Paul Doyle

A Simms/Doyle co-production could give you this 100m lineup:

1 - Williamson (GBR)
    2 - Hession (IRL)
    3 - Brown (TRI)
    4 - Frater (JAM)
    5 - Bolt (JAM)
    6 - Powell (JAM)
    7 - Lewis-Francis (GBR)
    8 - Carter (JAM)

Doyle would give you a great Shot Putt with Nelson and Hoffa and Clay would do the multi's. Simms would wrap up everything from 1500 upwards and the womens would be as strong with Fraser, Simpson, Ohuruogo, Williams. Nice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

Not if I have something to say about it.

If the big man comes to these shores TheRoadRunner will come out of his self imposed track retirement to become "TheTrackRunner".

I will then join a GAA club where the creme de la creme of Irish athletic talent now resides (apparently). I will learn how to train twice a week and "take a hit". I will take some inspirational tips from the blow in muppets on this board on how to be a celtic tiger winner a la Roy Keane.

Then on a wet and cold night in Donegal I will go toe to toe with Mr Thunder himself. With a legal Atlantic wind at my back I will run 9.65. I won't celebrate until I have crossed the line in case I incur the wrath of the all knowing blow ins on this board.

I will then rejoin my GAA mates and become "TheGAARunner". Where I will meet the lads every Tuesday and Thursday after training for a few pints and scoff at our retard athletes who fail to make it to an international final. I will look at a couple of my overweight team mates and with a tear in my eye recall the magical night in Donegal and tell them if it wasn't for the drink I could have be the G.O.A.T. :cool:
    You won't run very fast carrying that persecution complex around with you

Mikel wrote: »
    You won't run very fast carrying that persecution complex around with you

I disagree. You will actually find that some of the worlds best athletes suffer from serious mental health problems or in lay mans terms are mad.

I have the mental health stuff sorted all I have to do is do the training and work on my "winning attitude" that is apparently missing from every Irish athlete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

When I was in college I used to some stretching and exercises in the gym after my run most days. From what I could tell there were a lot of GAA players who were working out in the gym pretty much every day.

Don't know why people here think they are slackers. It's not like going for an easy run is difficult anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭superjosh9

I hate GAA. There, I said it. But. I would hold GAA players in a far higher regard than I would Soccer players for instance.

Also, having played Rugby/Soccer/Basketball/GAA all at high-school level and with varying degrees of success, or lack thereof, I find that when I do a race - say 5/10 miles long - and I'm pushing for a new p.b. - it is 10 times harder than any of those sports - simply because you can't stop it's absolutely relentless, and in order to improve your time, you keep having to run faster for longer and more often! Running is vicious! No team-mates to rely on!

Also, I for one would be willing to chip in €12.14 of my OWN money to bring Mr. Bolt to these shores. So, can anyone match THAT?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

superjosh9 wrote: »
    I hate GAA. There, I said it. But. I would hold GAA players in a far higher regard than I would Soccer players for instance.

Also, having played Rugby/Soccer/Basketball/GAA all at high-school level and with varying degrees of success, or lack thereof, I find that when I do a race - say 5/10 miles long - and I'm pushing for a new p.b. - it is 10 times harder than any of those sports - simply because you can't stop it's absolutely relentless, and in order to improve your time, you keep having to run faster for longer and more often! Running is vicious! No team-mates to rely on!

Also, I for one would be willing to chip in €12.14 of my OWN money to bring Mr. Bolt to these shores. So, can anyone match THAT?!

Seriously i think you are onto something there no matter how far fetched it seems.Nearly everybody in Ireland whether they are involved in athletics or not now know who Usain Bolt is.He has really single handedly rejuvenated interest in the sport even if it may only be temporary.Why shouldnt we take advantage of it,pay him the big bucks to come and race the Hesh.Id bet that wherever it was held it would be the first time in decades that we could attract 20 to 30 thousand spectators.That would be a huge achievement and would probably give athletics a huge leap forward within Ireland.I will call ur 12.14 and raise you 32.87![Thats just a bit more than the cost of a ticket for the Kerry Cork game the weekend.:D

.I will call ur 12.14 and raise you 32.87![Thats just a bit more than the cost of a ticket for the Kerry Cork game the weekend.:D

How about €19.30 for a ticket, one cent for every hundreth of a second it would take The Big Lad to do the 200. Is there a bog in Athenry? We could bill it as The Big Lad vs The Bog Lad. Also, I hear he likes Guinness and a drop of red bull (anyone ever try it?), we could get him lamped the night before and I'd like to see him be the Lightning Bolt then:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭superjosh9

OK - let's get this moving!

Can I also propose that the race be done over '200m'. I use the quotes there because, we will actually have the track slightly extended to say 215m - maybe 220m. We will tell Mr.Hession about this beforehand -we will not however tell Mr.Bolt of this. You see, at about 180m, when Bolt is a good 1/2m ahead of Hession, his subconcious will tell him that there is only 20m to go and therefore he will throw out his hands and start 'jogging' - not realising that there is in fact 40m to go! At the same time, Hession will turn on the afterburners and blast the last 40m and blow Bolto out of the water!

The race will be a few seconds slower - but we can put this down to 'terribly bad conditions' and the 'Donegal air' - neither of which Bolt is used to - but we will talk this up in the media beforehand so that people are aware that an upset might be on the cards! After Bolt is beaten, it would be written that, in tough conditions, Paul Hession is the fastest man over 200m.

YES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 griffspeed

Tingle wrote: »
    Don't know if people know but Ricky Simms from Donegal is the manager of Usain Bolt. Lets get a campaign together to see can Ricky get The Big Lad to Donegal for a race;) Is that new mondo track open up there yet, The Big Lad would be a great man to cut the tape and then set a track record of 9.76 in the 100m!
    Riocht International Track Meeting summer 2009. Bolt headline athlete. Proposed race- world record attempt over 300 meters , Bolt V Warriner V Hession.
    Also feature race for Fans or Anti Fans of Gaa. Top 4 Kerry Sprinters will race any 4 kerry Senior GAA players over 100 meters , winner gets a grand. I reckon that will put the media in their place about what is the greatest sport with the greatest "athletes". Kerry Championships this year electronic timed 100 meters top 2 ran sub 10.90, at best I reckon the quickest of the Gaa guys would not manage sub 12, if we fail to get Bolt can we draw a paying crowd to see our Athletics and Gaa showdown?

griffspeed wrote: »
    I reckon that will put the media in their place about what is the greatest sport with the greatest "athletes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

If you've got something to add to the discussion then add it. Nobody understands your rolleyes. Spell it out.

And stop trolling.

Pherekydes wrote: »

And stop trolling.

what is trolling ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ss43

griffspeed wrote: »
    Riocht International Track Meeting summer 2009. Bolt headline athlete. Proposed race- world record attempt over 300 meters , Bolt V Warriner V Hession.
    Also feature race for Fans or Anti Fans of Gaa. Top 4 Kerry Sprinters will race any 4 kerry Senior GAA players over 100 meters , winner gets a grand. I reckon that will put the media in their place about what is the greatest sport with the greatest "athletes". Kerry Championships this year electronic timed 100 meters top 2 ran sub 10.90, at best I reckon the quickest of the Gaa guys would not manage sub 12, if we fail to get Bolt can we draw a paying crowd to see our Athletics and Gaa showdown?

If the sprinters beat the footballers in football it might show they were bettter athletes. I reckon there's plenty of GAA players that could go sub 12. How many sprinters could put a 45 over or run at close to top pace while soloing the ball?

What's the problem with GAA players? The ones who train twice a week and then go to the pub aren't the ones people look up to. Successful inter-county players train hard. As was said earlier, going for an easy run isn't very difficult. I don't think you have to look very far to find poor standard athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

No such thing as a poor runner, just faster and slower ones... nearly all footballers would beat me in a run at the moment, and i'm training 5 days a week..

How many footballers can stick a 45 over now.. i don't think there are too many..

ss43 wrote: »
    If the sprinters beat the footballers in football it might show they were bettter athletes. I reckon there's plenty of GAA players that could go sub 12. How many sprinters could put a 45 over or run at close to top pace while soloing the ball?

What's the problem with GAA players? The ones who train twice a week and then go to the pub aren't the ones people look up to. Successful inter-county players train hard. As was said earlier, going for an easy run isn't very difficult. I don't think you have to look very far to find poor standard athletes.
    No problems with the players, in fact I have played Gaa to Senior Club and inter county level as well as ran track to international level. My problem is with the lack of respect the average Irish sports fan shows towards lesser sports like track and field, due mainly to the average Joes lack of knowledge . During the Olympics Kerry Radio facilitated a call in show where the people calling in put down the efforts of our track athletes, talking about the cost to the tax payer facilitating the athletes "holiday" in Bejing. A bit rich I thought in a county where the no1 sports team will play in a stadium many times this summer payed for with some tax payers money. How many of these people I though to myself as I listened to the show actually had an understanding of what Paul Hession had achieved. What a better way to buy some more people into Track and Field than by giving them something to compare to.
    In relation to your comment about sprinters kicking over 45s etc. I'll give you the point that some skills in Gaa are unique, but I have been in both sports and I dont have any footballing ability, but I could win a lot of possession in football all down to my sprinting skills, there was alway someone to give the ball to who could kick it over the bar.
    In kerry right now we have a sprinter with a 100 m pB of sub 10.4 and he has never got any recognition from the local media, its all a bit annoying when they publish articles referring to some GAA players as the "finest Athletes in the county" this was in one of our local newspapers last year mid summer.
    Since running at speed is central to GAA I think it would be a fair test for Joe Public to witness this race.We would be willing to provide coaching to the the GAA players on the track, on starts, technique, whatever they want, hell we would even supply spikes, lycra gear.
    I still dont think its that easy to run sub 12 secs for 100m electronically timed. If you looked at another thread on the board I have started there is a comment with a link to a scientific study of GAA players, part of which tested electronic sprint times over 100 & 200 & 400 meters. They are not impressive.
    Anyway if the race happens, cash will be up for grabs , for charity or the players fund, whatever they want, come along and cheer them on. Can we count on you to be in the crowd?

Pherekydes wrote: »
    If you've got something to add to the discussion then add it. Nobody understands your rolleyes. Spell it out.
    And stop trolling.
    I'm not trolling.

If it needs spelling out, it is the implication that those with the quickest times over the 100m are the greatest athletes. What nonsense, why not 400m, or the long jump?

I think it's more reflective of the chip some people have on their shoulder.
    Another thread on the same subject mentions the belief that all the athletics talent is tied up in the Gaa. Nobody believes that, but any sane person would realise that they are the biggest fish in the pond.

Saying that some of them could have chosen another path is not the same as taking them now and transplanting them into athletics, in an event for which their competitors train and they don't.
    The only purpose of which is to show how much quicker sprinters are.
    Yeah? And? So? What?

If you wanted to see who the best 'athletes' were you would devise a series of events and pit different disciplines against each other (Superstars anyone?)
    But that's not the point is it? It's the belief in Kerry that Gaa players are the greatest athletes.
    What do you expect in Kerry? Football is the only show on town
    It's like complaining that they think in Kilkenny that Henry Shefflin is the greatest living Irishman.

What do you care?
    If it's the sport you love you train it or watch it, why do you need the validation of anyone else?
    Because athletics isn't as popular as it was? Yeah well, neither is cycling, but bandwagon jumpers need a bandwagon.
    Because the media talk crap about it? Quelle surprise, journalists are ignorant. Go over to the mma forum and ask rhem what the media says about their sport. You get off lightly.

The fact is while there is a lot to admire in the achievements of Hessian and co, there's probably a lot of other athletes who train just as hard or overcome bigger obstacles in other sports that you know nothing about.
    A lot of people don't get the recognition they deserve, thems the breaks.
    It stands to reason that a sport with tens of thousands of participants and spectators every week gets blanket coverage, while the handful of T&Fers hardly get a mention.
    You guys though seem to have a major inferiority complex though.
    I mean I've asked the simplest questions here and the reaction it gets is incredible.
    You make blanket assertions about your favoured athletes and any request for evidence the back them up is met with defensiveness and bitchiness.
    And you're obsessed with the Gaa.

The media and barstool pundits are a fact of life. Get over it.

I mean I've asked the simplest questions here and the reaction it gets is incredible.
    You make blanket assertions about your favoured athletes and any request for evidence the back them up is met with defensiveness and bitchiness.

I don't think the majority of us are always defensive or have a chip on a shoulder but in the face of false or sweeping accusations (which I'm not saying you made) we can back them up with stats as T&F is black and white unlike say a debate over on Rugby regarding who is better Trimble or Horgan. So when the media are lashing out of course the small athletic community will circle the wagons and go on the defensive. Many here will know these athletes and be mates with them, Aburke is a clubman of Hesh for example and I have a few friends that were out there too. A good friend of mine got hate mail to a home address and verbally abused in a bar in Dublin due to "wasting" tax payers money at a previous Olympics. Its a sensitive issue and real for most athletes who compete at an Olympics as T&F is the main event and when they fail or underperform its gloriously there for all to see. When you are passionate about something you will defend it to the hilt and thats all T&F fans are doing. Same as any passionate sports fans I'd say. Its like being a fan of a lower league football team:) Internally we'll argue like hell, externally we'll defend it like hell.

This is a good article and probably articulates the way a lot of T&F fans will feel.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0830/1220023440777.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm not trolling.
    If it needs spelling out, it is the implication that those with the quickest times over the 100m are the greatest athletes. What nonsense, why not 400m, or the long jump?
    Who said that the greatest athletes were 100m runners. I think you read the post incrorectly. He was saying track and field as a whole and if you read the post correctly its said in a friendly competitive way.
    I think it's more reflective of the chip some people have on their shoulder.
    Another thread on the same subject mentions the belief that all the athletics talent is tied up in the Gaa. Nobody believes that, but any sane person would realise that they are the biggest fish in the pond.
    I don't think that anybody here has a chip on their shoulder, but as said by a previous poster its only natural to circle the wagons when someone starts attacking our Olympic athletes.
    Saying that some of them could have chosen another path is not the same as taking them now and transplanting them into athletics, in an event for which their competitors train and they don't.
    There is a very minute possibility that someone could have made it from the Kerry team as a top class athlete but if the Kerry footballers are misguided enough in their own thinking to think that they can beat the best track athletes from their own county in a 100m sprint, well I am all for letting them make a fool of themselves.
    The only purpose of which is to show how much quicker sprinters are.
    Yeah? And? So? What?

If you wanted to see who the best 'athletes' were you would devise a series of events and pit different disciplines against each other (Superstars anyone?)
    This is an athletics forum. We are talking about athletics here not superstars where you play soccer, cycle etc.
    But that's not the point is it? It's the belief in Kerry that Gaa players are the greatest athletes.
    What do you expect in Kerry? Football is the only show on town
    It's like complaining that they think in Kilkenny that Henry Shefflin is the greatest living Irishman.
    Nobody is saying that they care about Kerry footballers being lauded in Kerry and Henry Shefflin being similarly treated in Kilkenny. And the point being made is the treatment the Kerry media gave our athletes, not the other way around where the athletes were complaining about the Kerry team.
    What do you care?
    If it's the sport you love you train it or watch it, why do you need the validation of anyone else?
    Because athletics isn't as popular as it was? Yeah well, neither is cycling, but bandwagon jumpers need a bandwagon.
    Because the media talk crap about it? Quelle surprise, journalists are ignorant. Go over to the mma forum and ask rhem what the media says about their sport. You get off lightly.

The fact is while there is a lot to admire in the achievements of Hessian and co, there's probably a lot of other athletes who train just as hard or overcome bigger obstacles in other sports that you know nothing about.
    A lot of people don't get the recognition they deserve, thems the breaks.
    It stands to reason that a sport with tens of thousands of participants and spectators every week gets blanket coverage, while the handful of T&Fers hardly get a mention.
    And you're obsessed with the Gaa.

The media and barstool pundits are a fact of life. Get over it.
    There are plenty of minority sports and plenty of participants who bust their butt to make it at their chosen sport. I don't see anybody making blanket assertions about anyone, except maybe me when somebody came out shouting that Usain Bolt must be on drugs or the whole Jamaican team were on drugs or other ridiculous rubbish like that when anybody who knows the real story would be able to tell people what I told them in the other thread.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Who said that the greatest athletes were 100m runners. I think you read the post incrorectly. He was saying track and field as a whole and if you read the post correctly its said in a friendly competitive way.
    griffspeed wrote:
    eagle eye wrote:
    Nobody is saying that they care about Kerry footballers being lauded in Kerry and Henry Shefflin being similarly treated in Kilkenny
    griffspeed wrote:
    In kerry right now we have a sprinter with a 100 m pB of sub 10.4 and he has never got any recognition from the local media, its all a bit annoying when they publish articles referring to some GAA players as the "finest Athletes in the county"
    Seriously,do you even read the posts or is everything knee jerk with you?

Tingle I read that article in the IT on Sat. He sounds frustrated alright but the source seems to be that the taxi drivers of this world are ignorant of athletics.
    I know the boxers are flavour of the month now, but i seem to remember them getting a lot of stick eight years ago which was why the HP unit was set up.
    O'Riordan can be interesting, but sometimes sounds too much like the fan with a typewriter kind of writer.
    I would contend that actually the athletes get off pretty lightly.

Consider the treatment the rugby and soccer players/ management have received the last couple of years........

Very true, doesn't mean we shouldn't defend our sport when we are in the spotlight every 4 years though. I think we get good coverage most of the time except at Olympic time when expectations are unrealistic while we know our guys out there won't medal unless they well above their expectations and 3 or 4 favourites underperform.

As for the anti-GAA sentiment, I don't buy into that as they support athletic clubs around the country by letting them train on their grounds. I will raise stats to emphasize untruths and myths in GAA (like saying they are as "fit as professionals") but aside from taking the majority of athletes they are a friend of athletics. If we want to get shirty with another "sports" organisation it should be Horse Racing which I have been raising here for a few years. Depend who you talk to they get between 25-30% of the sports capital grant. Thats where we need to focus to get put that into sports. Eamonn Sweeney touched on this on sunday

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/go-on-martin-surprise-us-1466485.html

"Do you want the face of Irish sport to be Kenneth Egan, Paul Hession, Eoin Rheinisch or, and I hope he does the business for you next week, John Mullane? Or do you want it to be a man looking at the Galway races on a bookie shop telly? The ball, so to speak, is in your court"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

During the Olympics Kerry Radio facilitated a call in show where the people calling in put down the efforts of our track athletes, talking about the cost to the tax payer facilitating the athletes "holiday" in Bejing. A bit rich I thought in a county where the no1 sports team will play in a stadium many times this summer payed for with some tax payers money.

Mikel, could you read a whole post and not quote like the daily rags. This is part of the same post that you took one part of to nitpick yet again.

Also if you read the other post again, there is no mention that 100m is the be all and end all, what is said is that the Kerry sprinters are better than the Kerry County footballers over that distance and this will prove that Track and Field(athletics) is a better sport. Its also said in a competitive rather fun manner if you read between the lines.
    You take these things far too literally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭pjbrady1

I suggest Ogie Horgan from Kerry (former U21 player) could be competitive at a national level. While only training with GAA in Galway univeristy he once gained 20m in the final 75 in a 300m race. This would have been against Dessie Dolan, Darren Rooney, Ger Brady. Thing was Ogie was barely out of breath and had a naturally high knee lift. Also John Tiernan from Roscommon was excellent over 400m.
    The study showing Mayo footballers running 13 second 100m is from the 1989 team. A fact that is consistently left out when it is quoted on various message boards on this forum. I'll wager Aidan Kilcoyne of the current panel can run 11.4.
    I would suggest the GAA is mainly full of potentially good 400m runners. James Nallen could be pretty good given his stride and stamina.
    I believe fastest GAA player over 100m would have been Mike Ryan Roscommon who was one of the few players who could make up ground quickly on Michael Donnelan. Never seen other backs have much success reigning him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

So is Usain Bolt coming to Donegal or what?

This thread started out with great potential but now all we have is a sprint involving gaa players. I'm not paying 19 euro to see that...

Clum wrote: »
    So is Usain Bolt coming to Donegal or what?

This thread started out with great potential but now all we have is a sprint involving gaa players. I'm not paying 19 euro to see that...

Its on but its got messy. There is a compromise. The race will be against Davey Fitz and Damien Fitzhenry and they will first have to take a penalty, score and race back to the opposite goal. Bolt is already in training but is having problems on the lift of the ball with the hurley so it remains to be seen how competitive he will be.

pjbrady1 wrote: »
    I suggest Ogie Horgan from Kerry (former U21
    The study showing Mayo footballers running 13 second 100m is from the 1989 team. A fact that is consistently left out when it is quoted on various message boards on this forum. I'll wager Aidan Kilcoyne of the current panel can run 11.4.
    Thanks for pointing out my mistake about the year of the study. In 1989 I was 18 and running 10.86 for 100 meters, also playing gaelic at senior club level but felt totally unable to use my speed in the game. Now 38 and still running 11.5 for 100 and finished with GAA. The GAA guys might give me a race but the younger guys no chance.
    Is it fair to say that the consensus is that
    1. Some GAA guys could run sub 12, maybe 11.5, but anything quicker is a stretch.
    2. The paying public would have limited interest in a novelty race like this as part of a broader track and field meeting.