Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr. Cragg, I salute you!

• 20-08-2008 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭

Was driving home from work, when I heard the entire Alistair Cragg interview on RTE radio. All I can say is that, straight off the track, the guy has clearly given absolutely every single ounce of himself to the sport. He's clearly hurting, especially after he thought he was out of it all - but it totally changed my opinion of the guy altogether.

For me, his comments, raw and candid, totally expressed his belief/frustration/determination to get on. I've never heard someone as disappointed after a sporting event. I was actually sitting in the traffic feeling really, really bad for the guy - clearly he's a good lad. Like he pointed out - he's dedicated to his coach, to living on his own in a town with no one around him of his age, to trying to succeed - when there's 13 or 14 Kenyans running either side. He was basically saying that the field has really improved and that's its incredibly tough - and that wasn't always the case before. Clearly he was aiming at some panel judges..!

Like you guys have said, he's a sensitive chap - but I hope this can somehow work to his advantage - and maybe people, like me, will start getting behind him.

Anyway, I know you guys discussed the interview in the other thread, but so impressed with the interview was I, I thought I'd start a new one - for others that missed it. As Racing Flat (was it?) wondered - now that he's been given a 'second chance' - maybe he'll get on better! Either way, he's in the final. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

I didn't hear the interview, any transcript of it? I like the guy, out at the national seniors I ran disastrously in the 800, knocked out in the heats 8 seconds off my best. I was sitting dejectedly near him and he came over and spoke to me about my race and my season. Nice lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Was hoping to hear it on the news tonigh tbut didnt :( . Was it RTE radio ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭superjosh9

From the Athletics Ireland Website. This is only some of the interview - but it doesn't express the feeling and sentiment in his voice - or indeed the shakiness the uncertainty - if anyone can find a link to the interview please post it - I can't find it!:

It must be like the answer to a prayer for Cragg who following his 6th place finish in the first qualifying heat, was sure that his Olympic experience was over.

317357.jpg

Arriving in the Mixed Zone after his event, Cragg was at first too upset to speak with Greg Allen from RTE Radio 1 Sport. He seemed overwhelmed, upset and at odds with himself, but after a few minutes he managed to recover his composure and talk to Greg and other Irish Media.

317358.jpg

Cragg was happy with the way he had run for most of his race, but was self critical about how he finished. “I should have gone for it from 300 meters out,” he said. “I feel that I ran a perfect race until then.”

317361.jpg

There was an edge to his voice as Cragg then spoke about his frustration with the attitude he believes the Irish public and the media may have to some of the Irish performances here in Beijing.

317350.jpg

“I feel that people are quick to point out my faults, rather than offer to help out,” he said. “I feel that we may be stuck in the 1970s- things have changed and there is no future in comparing what we are doing now to how athletes like John Treacy and others performed back then. We need to be supported and appreciated for what we are trying to achieve right now.”
    Cragg was quick to praise the Athletics Ireland High Performance team preparation for Beijing. “Athletics Ireland is trying hard and the training camp in Japan was really excellent,” he said.
    Cragg’s finishing time of 13:38.57 was enough to earn him his place in the final. This will have been a big, big bonus for the Clonliffe runner, who, before he knew of his good fortune, described tonight as, : “the worst night of my life.” Cragg should have realised that he was at the Olympics where some dreams can come true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

For whatever reason, I find that kind of interview very motivating.

I still remember James Nolan lashing out at Jerry Kiernan 4 years ago.

All any athlete can do is their best on the day - sometimes it isn't good enough, but an honest perfomance should be applauded.

Fair Play Alastair!

+ 1. There's something likeable about the guy, and he is obviously a trier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

OK You Can hear it
    Go to
    http://www.rte.ie/radio/index.html
    Click on rte radio 1 [pop up player]
    Select Drivetime sport - it's about 15 mins in.

It's worth it!

If he has anything left at all for the next day, it will be a miracle.
    Physically - he left it on the track.
    Emotionally - he gave it to Greg Allen.

Still though - imagine what it felt like watching the rounds, and seeing that they were slower!
    Imagine seeing Mottram and Farah out!

That's got to give you some boost!

aburke wrote: »
    For whatever reason, I find that kind of interview very motivating...

Totally agree - I was sitting there almost spellbound - listening to this guy pouring out his heart - with absolutely no diplomacy or whatever - it was totally frank, off the cuff, unrehearsed - and amazing. And that desperation in his voice - it was vicious!

Everyone listen to it!!!!

Well, I'm a fan now.

aburke wrote: »
    Still though - imagine what it felt like watching the rounds, and seeing that they were slower!
    Imagine seeing Mottram and Farah out!

That's got to give you some boost!

Big time! It must have been so much of a relief

317350.jpg

when you see people like Mottram not making it too - there must be some validation for him!!! I can only imagine the relief would have been like opening up your leaving cert results and realising you got your place in college - or in this case - the final!

Well I hope he keeps some of that anger he has and runs as well in the final, Hope the conditions arent too bad, would nice to see him doing well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Pure class,

I've always like Cragg but he has gone up again . The guy showed his love for the sport and how much he has put into it. Its been his life to make this final and to miss it would have shattered him.

I hope he knows the support that he really has over here, there isnt a fax number by any chance to wish people well, i know there have been stuff like this in the past,

shels4ever wrote: »
    Pure class,

I hope he knows the support that he really has over here, there isnt a fax number by any chance to wish people well, i know there have been stuff like this in the past,

Good idea, show him the love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

slightly off topic but does anyone know why he chose to run for Ireland considering he was born in South Africa?

This is a pro Cragg thread.

And I'm part of that club.

Just curious.

There are some other threads addressing this. The main update one and the Beijing 08 disaster one. Let's keep this one positive.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

quarryman wrote: »
    And I'm part of that club.

Just curious.

One of the main reasons is his coach/mentor is a Mayo man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Excellent interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Whether he gets a medal or not, this guy is a legend!!!!!!! LEGEND!!!!!!!

If anyone wants to send a message to him before the final. Thers is no FAX number for the camp which seems strange. But there has been a forum opened for this.

http://www.olympicsport.ie/forum/Default.aspx?g=posts&m=15&#15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Is he not of Irish stock?

The decent people of Ireland know about his lonliness and what he sacrifices to represent us out there.

Full credit to him.

He couldn't mention names of course but for my money, Keirnan and Coughlan are far too smug for far too long. They did well in their era but the challenge now is definitely greater.

Cragg is one of our finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

And Kiernan didn't do that well either (Cragg has bettered his achievements)

I doubt it was Keirnan he was talking about he rates Cragg very high and has a lot of time for him, as a club mate . But Eamon defo he's had a good at a few over the year that IO can remember and more so the 1500m and 5000m guys.. But if you look at the national records for both and he cant be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

topper75 wrote: »
    Is he not of Irish stock?

No, he isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Damn NBC for preventing interviews like this from becoming available online outside the broadcast country.

You cannot listen to this clip outside of Ireland - perhaps it might be available after next week. Are there any non-RTÉ links for this interview?

Some more transcript - taken from RTE.ie:

"Ireland's Alistair Cragg has hit out at the older generation of Irish distance athletes, claiming that some of the former middle and long distance runners put down the current crop of Irish athletes to maintain their own legend with the Irish public.
    In a very emotional interview, conducted immediately after Cragg's 5000m heat in Beijing, where the Irish athlete thought he was out of the Games, Cragg spoke candidly about former greats and about the demons he carries around with him at all major championships.
    Cragg said: 'Prominent names in this sport are sitting in Ireland and are talking about how we are not great like they used to be. But they forget that in the seventies they never had thirteen Kenyans under thirteen minutes.

'There is so much negativity from the top down about how people look at our sport in Ireland. It's sad because if you put myself or Mark Carroll in against any of the old guys, we could have given them a go to the line.
    'I ran 3.36 in cross country season, I know I could run 3.34 if I was next to Eamonn (Coughlan) and those boys.
    He added: 'And it's about time they acknowledged us instead of putting us down to make themselves look like legends. I think our sport needs a bit of support from the guys who used to run it. Maybe we need a fresh crew of people who want to help the sport.'
    Cragg also spoke about the disappointment with the race he had just run and how he felt he was carrying demons on his back coming down the home straight when he knew he would not finish in the automatic qualifying positions.

'I was in peak (condition), I performed at the beginning of August. I know that I have the ability to medal out there, when things are on fire, I could do it. I have got no control when I'm on fire and at times like the Olympic Games is when you reach your best.
    'But if you're struggling on the edge of being great and you're having a bad day, then the faults are going to be magnified.
    'I should have taken the lead with 300 metres to go, I felt like I was still jogging at that stage. And when I feel I need to work, it all just falls apart. And then I had no chance at 150 (metres to go) and the more I dug in there was no impact.'
    He added: 'The plan was to be at the front with 200 to go and then let the adrenalin kick in. But instead of the adrenalin kicking in, I had all these demons jumping on my shoulders with 100 to go'
    The Irish 5000m indoor record holder also spoke about the loneliness of his sport and questioned his own participation in a sport that he has given so much to.
    Emotionally Cragg revealed: 'I live alone in a city where there are no people my own age. I've stuck with my coach for the last eight years and I come to somewhere like this and I'm just alone. And people are looking to f***ing tear you down when they can.
    'You get over injuries and you're digging deep to find something else. I mean, I don't know where I'm going to go from here.'"

Hope that was of use!

btw, regardless of where he is from, if I heard that kind of interview from *any* athlete - whether from UK or USA - I would be a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

superjosh9 wrote: »
    Some more transcript - taken from RTE.ie:

Hope that was of use!

btw, regardless of where he is from, if I heard that kind of interview from *any* athlete - whether from UK or USA - I would be a fan.

Thanks for that. It sounds like a great interview, I'm hoping to get to listen to it at some point. He spoke from the heart and was dead right, it's refreshing to hear this honesty rather than the usual mundane quotes you hear after a race/game whatever. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Dr Watson

thanks, great read.

Also, I was just curious as to why he switched singlets, not insinuating anything. Like everyone else its great to see him with the Irish colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Dr Watson wrote: »

Thanks very much for this link. I was looking for this info on Alistair to show to someone else.

Personally, I'm glad he's with us, rather than languishing in mediocrity in South Africa.

Best of Irish for the final, Alistair!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭ZiggyStardust

quarryman wrote: »
    thanks, great read.

Also, I was just curious as to why he switched singlets, not insinuating anything. Like everyone else its great to see him with the Irish colours.

Cragg's family were more or less forced to leave south africa and moved to the UK where they still live. He then went to the states to college.
    He had represented South Africa a number of times coached by his dad, but more often than not he was over looked by politics.
    He moved from SMU to Arkansas under the eye of Mayo man John McDonnell who had a hand to play in him declaring for Ireland.

Glad he's with us too and hope he can do us and himself proud.

Good luck.

great article - I think I like him even more now! Looks like he's been through the mill a few times!! Great stuff though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Cragg pulls out with 5 laps left.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Superdub2

mike65 wrote: »
    Cragg pulls out with 5 laps left.

Mike.

are we still saluting him now?? Fuc*in rubbish!

Yes i'm not so fickle to stop supporting someone after a bad run, still dont know what happened,

Superdub2 wrote: »

Yes, 6.5 laps in 7 minures isn't too shabby.

Do you still support Dublin footballers after last week?

That was some performance by Bekele! What a runner!

well sadly Cragg's given his detractors all the ammunition in the world, now - that is assuming he pulled out because he was being dropped. Anyone hear any words from him?

tis a shame - he was smiling on the start line! A pb could have seen him inside the top 10 maybe.

Yes, 6.5 laps in 7 minures isn't too shabby.

Do you still support Dublin footballers after last week?

to be honest after the dubs performance against tyrone i wish i was from a different county and put their performance in the same catagory as craggs.

6.5 laps in 7 minutes wasnt shabby??????????? (1) He was miles behind everybody else and (2) its a 5000m race not a 6.5 lap race you dope!

to be honest after the dubs performance against tyrone i wish i was from a different county and put their performance in the same catagory as craggs.

6.5 laps in 7 minutes wasnt shabby??????????? (1) He was miles behind everybody else and (2) its a 5000m race not a 6.5 lap race you dope!

I'm glad I don't have to count on you for support then. Bet you support Man U now, and Chelsea 2 years ago...

My point about 6.5laps in 7 mins is that, that's very hard running - to just be able to do that is amazing and so I salute him. He was still with them at that stage, was just starting to get dropped and stepped off the track. We don't know why yet. But no one will be more disappointed than him not to finish. Do you realise that he had qualifying standards for 1500, 5000 and 10000? He is an incredible athlete. Didn't work out for him today, or on some other days. But it did work when he won the European indoors and when he beat Bekele. He's a great athlete and a great fellow. I salute him. Even when he doesn't do well.

Note, these are not "laws", and they're not set in stone. Comments are welcome.

- Do not insult other posters. Argument/discussion is fine. Name calling is not.
    - Informal banter is fine, but using the forum for nasty personal attacks will earn you a ban. This includes any unsubstantiated allegations of drug abuse.

If you feel that a post is unacceptable, then registered users can click on the "Report this post" link on any given post to bring it to the attention of an admin.

If you feel that you have been unfairly moderated, then you can make your case on the Admin/support forum

Welcome to boards.ie!

Time to calm down and go for a little break I'd say.

Tingle, were you always a moderator?! I never noticed!!

No newly promoted. Pheredykes is old and he can't handle it with all the traffic here at the moment so giving him a hand:D

Tingle wrote: »
    No newly promoted. Pheredykes is old and he can't handle it with all the traffic here at the moment so giving him a hand:D

cool! do you get paid!?! :pac:

Yes, a grant from the ISC through taxpayers money even though as a moderator I am a disgrace to my country, only here for the craic and have no ambition to be the best moderator on Athletics.:D

Think I'll drop out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

His hamsting gave in. He had it strapped going in to the race. Can't call being injured rubbish.

Clum wrote: »
    His hamsting gave in. He had it strapped going in to the race. Can't call being injured rubbish.

personally i dont believe he was injured and think he just said that to avoid admitting the truth. And i didnt notice any strapping on his hamstring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭ZiggyStardust

Just saw his interview there and he looked distraught. I for one feel sorry for him. He said he was even in two minds being out there.

Hope he gets back out on the track quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

He doesn't seem to be in the right mental state and seems to be lashing out at all around him, including himself. Kiernan thinks he trains too hard, maybe he's overtrained.

personally i dont believe he was injured and think he just said that to avoid admitting the truth. And i didnt notice any strapping on his hamstring!

have a look at the race again, you will see it was strapped up, you can really only notice it when he pulled out, right leg, but typical people won't believe him, I think they would rather he jsut gave up