Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going out to pub/cinema etc on your own

• 20-08-2008 1:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

So do you?
    I’d often do it. It’s not that I can’t get people to go with me.
    It’s just that I like to go at unusual times. I’ve enjoy watching films in a skanger free zone and tbh that means Sunday morning or not at all.
    So I’d often stroll into the cinema and choose what I want to see and a time that I want to go at and choose the seat that I want. Nothing wrong with this imo.

Told a few people in work and you wouldn’t believe their reaction.
    “What, only losers go on their own.” Or “I wouldn’t be able to face going on my own”

Now, I wouldn’t ever go for a quiet drink on my own in my bar and some people can do this no problem.
    Seems to be a stigma on this in Ireland, you go to the pub/cinema, etc on my own and there’s something wrong with you.

What say you boardsies? Or you self-confident or do you follow the herd?

Do you do activities on your own? 41 votes

Mr/Ms self confidence!!, I could backpack around the world on my own even
    0% 0 votes
    Miss out of activities as not brave enough to do stuff on my own. Afraid of what people think
    78% 32 votes
    Only losers would go out on their own
    21% 9 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No, I have friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Don't do it by choice but when I get locked out (happens more often than you'd think, keys are not my strong point) or I'm waiting for a lift, I'll be in the pub with a paper and a pint like an auld lad, no bother :) I get funny looks though :( and I don't believe I've ever gone to the cinema alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I go to the cinema and that myself. Nothing wrong with that and if anyone thinks there is then they have serious insecurity issues. I don't go out drinking myself though. I drink as a social activity, and if I feel like drinking on my own I'd go to the offlicence and get locked in the comfort of my home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

Not a hope in hell, i wouldn't feel comfortable going to those places on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Often go to the cinema on my own when ever I want to see a film that all my mates have already seen. I'll occasionally go down to the pub on my own for a quite pint. I don't mind having a quiet drink alone. It's relaxing. Very often I drink alone at home too if there's nothing going on else where.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I often do it. I especially love a quiet pint and a bash at the crossword. It is peaceful. I went on a few trips abroad on my own too. It makes more sense if you have a definite agenda of things to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I wouldn't have a problem with it really

I was on my own for a while whilst travelling, so a few times asked for a table for 1. Was a bit self conscious at the start, but I just read a book and was grand really.

I'd be fine in a bar on my own during the day or something, but I'd feel a bit different going to a bar or club on a Friday night on my own.

I've never gone to the cinema on my own but again would have no problem with it.

I'm not Mr Self Confidence, but those things I'd have no trouble with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There's something wrong with grown adults who are scared to go to the cinema or the pub by themselves.

Seriously.

If you want to see a film and nobody is around to go at the time you're going then head off yourself - it's not like you're going to be chatting all the way through it (and if you are you're feckin' dickheads)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I often go to the cinema on my own. I remember sitting on my own beside 3 teenagers talking about "they'd never go to the cinema on their own, it's sad etc.", nonsense. Basically I think people should be banned from going to the cinema in pairs or groups, just end up talking and distracting people like me :)

I've been in the pub on my own too but only because I've missed a bus and need to kill an hour or two. I actually find it horrendus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Ah years of hoping between hotels for work means going for a pint/meal on my own is not a problem, not that I like eating out alone but hey when your hungry. Would not go to the cinema on my own though, need someone to share my popcorn with :).

Ass Face wrote: »
    Very often I drink alone at home too

Me too. I find it helps me with the tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭dreamr

i've gone to the cinmema on my own a few times. its grand like. alot of foreign people do as well. (i've noticed)

as for drinking on your own, I don't really do that. and if i did i was always already locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I go to the Cinema alone sometimes if its a film I really wanna watch with no distractions... never go to the pub alone though, i'd find it very boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

i wouldnt go to the pictures or the pub on my own, but i wouldnt think anyone is odd if they did, they might wanna go and enjoy the film/drink in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Yeah I'll do it every now and again. If I finish up a job on a friday on my own I'll just stroll into whatever pubs near by, have a couple of pints, read the paper, usually get talking away to whoever else happens to be sitting in there. At least you get to have a chat to new people (you hear some fukking incredibly funny stories form those bar oul fellas) instead of going to the pub with mates and then just spending the whole night with them. I never really understood why people feel so awkward doing it. I know a few people that won't even sit and wait in a pub on thier own even if they know they will only be waiting half an hour for everyone else to turn up. I can understand girls not wanting to do it cause they'd be hit on left right and centre but never understood it with fellas.

I work strange hours alot of the time so occasionally I'll head down the cinema on my own if I'm off during the day and everyone else is in work. I actually prefer going on my own alot of time if its a film I really want to see, especially during the day, so much quieter, no female friends tapping you on the shoulder asking why that guy just got killed (how come its always the girls that can't follow the story?), no kids laughing and screaming through the film (at least none that a swift kick in the ribs doesn't quite down), you can sit where ever you want, if it turns out the films crap you can just stroll out without having to stick around waiting for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I've gone to the cinema on my own due to boredom, wasn't packed so didn't really care.

Have gone to the pub on my own to kill an hour our two whilst waiting on someone, but likewise with Nothingcompares it's pretty dull.

If I really wanted a drink I'd just buy a few bottles and drink at home. Cheaper, more relaxing, my choice of what to watch and plenty of food.

This mentality of 'drinking on your own is the first sign of alcoholism' is a load of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

micmclo wrote: »
    I’ve enjoy watching films in a skanger free zone and tbh that means Sunday morning or not at all.

LONER. me and my FRIENDS always have a good giggle at losers at the cinema on their own.

thats desperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I go to town on my own, the cinema on my own and the pub (the odd time) on my own. I like my own company! If anyone calls me a loser, I'll come around and beat ya.:p

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I go to town on my own, the cinema on my own and the pub (the odd time) on my own. I like my own company! If anyone calls me a loser, I'll come around and beat ya.:p

Loser.

Do I have to supply whips or do you bring your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I go to bed alone

/weeps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

I've been going abroad on my own since I was 18. Not sure if that makes me a loner but I sure do enjoy my own company.

I've been to restaurants on my own, and no, not only McDonalds:pac:
    I've been to several fancy ones in fact. I don't think I'm being seen as sad or embarrassing, I think there's always and air of independence and coolness about a woman dining on her own and feeling comfortable with it. I see it all the time! Same for cafes, happened once in a nightclub as well and I happened to meet one of my most precious female friends at that occasion.

I've recently popped my 'going-on-my-own-to-the-pics'-cherry. It wasn't too bad. I think I might do it again.

I think if someone is comfy in their own company there's nothing stopping them going out and enjoying and spoiling themselves with some me-time!

Oh and shopping, I so much more prefer shopping on my own than in girl-groups... now I'd say I be allergic to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I've never been to the cinema on my own, but have certainly had a drink in a bar on my own while waiting for someone, and I actually really enjoy going out for dinner with just a good book for company.

phasers wrote: »
    Loser.

Do I have to supply whips or do you bring your own?

*Leaves boxing gloves at home and prepares to go bare fisted with phasers*:mad::pac:

I've been going abroad on my own since I was 18. Not sure if that makes me a loner but I sure do enjoy my own company.

I've been to restaurants on my own, and no, not only McDonalds:pac:
    I've been to several fancy ones in fact. I don't think I'm being seen as sad or embarrassing, I think there's always and air of independence and coolness about a woman dining on her own and feeling comfortable with it. I see it all the time! Same for cafes, happened once in a nightclub as well and I happened to meet one of my most precious female friends at that occasion.

I've recently popped my 'going-on-my-own-to-the-pics'-cherry. It wasn't too bad. I think I might do it again.

I think if someone is comfy in their own company there's nothing stopping them going out and enjoying and spoiling themselves with some me-time!

Oh and shopping, I so much more prefer shopping on my own than in girl-groups... now I'd say I be allergic to that.

Are you saying it's different for males?:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

copeyhagen wrote: »
    LONER. me and my FRIENDS always have a good giggle at losers at the cinema on their own.

thats desperate.

Desperate? What has that to do with the cinema? Desperate for going to the cinema :confused:

Anyway, did you even read my post or just pick one line out of it?
    Giggling in the cinema, what are ya, a schoolgirl?

Desperate? What has that to do with the cinema? Desperate for going to the cinema :confused:

She does sound about 10:pac:.....

*Leaves boxing gloves at home and prepares to go bare fisted with phasers*:mad::pac:

This is getting sexier by the minute! I'm gonna go and put my mask on. Maybe afterwards we can go to the cinema together?

No dice, I prefer my own company.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

definitely wouldn't go to the pub on my own.

cinema i have no problems with someone going on their own but i wouldn't.

although in my current circumstances both may be necessary.

Are you saying it's different for males?:(

What?? No! I meant from my own point of view.
    Human beings in general, comfy to go out in their own company in general are cool, and I like when someone has that sort of comfort level with themselves.

TBH I don't understand ppl who can't do it unless they have some sort of a phobia. I mean of course, friends, but I do enjoy the me-time I do... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i have been to the cinema once on my own to see supersize me and regularly go for a pint on my sweeny too

No dice, I prefer my own company.:pac:
    We could go separately together? One seat apart, and afterwards we can go to a restaurant and ignore each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Naos wrote: »
    This mentality of 'drinking on your own is the first sign of alcoholism' is a load of crap.
    Ah denial,another sign of alcoholism.

We could go separately together? One seat apart, and afterwards we can go to a restaurant and ignore each other

Can I join? what a fabulously interesting social spectacle that would be, lol

I have boxing training tonight, otherwise I'd totally be there.:rolleyes::p
    Originally posted by Curlypinkie
    What?? No! I meant from my own point of view.
    Human beings in general, comfy to go out in their own company in general are cool, and I like when someone has that sort of comfort level with themselves.

TBH I don't understand ppl who can't do it unless they have some sort of a phobia. I mean of course, friends, but I do enjoy the me-time I do... smile.gif

As with me. I had plenty of me-time for the past 3 weeks as my mates all went Inter-railing.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

thats desperate.

Wow, what a MATURE statement! You and your friends are INCREDIBLY SAD if that's the case!

Seriously, how old are you? this is after hours, shouldn't you be in bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I've gone to the cinema on my own

I go out on my own often enough - I prefer going to a quiet bar with a book but i've often gone out-out on m own as well

I've gone to restaurants on my own - I don't really like this though as I tend to find they rush the lone diner out to try free up space.

So yeah ... go me or something.

EDIT - Oh yeah, no problems drinking on my own at home either

yeh im a schoolgirl, good one. of course i read your post and im sorry, but imo anyone that goes to the cinema on their own is a loser. and the pub is even worse.

normally the only people that go the pub on their own are down and outs that sit at the bar for the whole day reading a news paper.

going the pub on your own is pathetic imo.

thats desperate.

Yeah you look like you and your mates love a good giggle alright.

Nice threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

was this raised before?

anyways, I've done all 3 by myself at one point or another. The one that felt the weirdest was the pub. But I have no problem with going alone to the places mentioned, and if I see someone by themselves at any of these places I don't consider it strange.

Sometime circumstances happen that put people in these situations, whether by chance or choice.

I do prefer being in company in these places but if not so what. D'ya bring a support group to the bathroom with you? (well ladies, ignore that one ;) )
    Sometimes you just have to fly solo, I'd consider it a problem if you find that you can't.

Wow, what a MATURE statement! You and your friends are INCREDIBLY SAD if that's the case!

Seriously, how old are you? this is after hours, shouldn't you be in bed?

my god the humour is flying today....

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yeah you look like you and your mates love a good giggle alright.

Nice threads.

haha thats a class foto!

Is it cause you're scared of the older boys pointing and laughing at you?

Or is it just cause you're never alone cause you always have gorgeous stunners like this one on your arm:

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=252504836&PhotoAlbumId=7821310674&PhotoId=7889743448

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Rarely go to the cinema with people let alone on my own, but I think the occaisional brew with a newspaper and some headphones in a nice quiet place can be very relaxing. Somewhat godlike if the light shines through the window at the right moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

thats desperate.

Theres nothing wrong with having a quiet pint on your own watching a match on sky or the like or heading to see something in the cinema. Each to their own.

Copey, you probably bring your mates with you when your going to the jacks and have a good little giggle at yourselves. :P

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Is it cause you're scared of the older boys pointing and laughing at you?

thats just sad. it was bad enough you bothered going to the bebo page and robbing a pic but come on, seriously.

its an opinion.

you go the pub on your own?

yeh im a schoolgirl, good one. of course i read your post and im sorry, but imo anyone that goes to the cinema on their own is a loser. and the pub is even worse..

Anyone who sits in the cinema and has nothing better to do than giggle at people on their own is imo a waste of space.
    normally the only people that go the pub on their own are down and outs that sit at the bar for the whole day reading a news paper.

You sound like you have great insight into the mind of the pub goer, please, tell me more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

hunter164 wrote: »
    Ah denial,another sign of alcoholism.

Oh dear... pointing out traits of alcoholism is the worst indicator of alcoholism... now wheres me hip flask?:D

Anyone who sits in the cinema and has nothing better to do than giggle at people on their own is imo a waste of space.

You sound like you have great insight into the mind of the pub goer, please, tell me more?

get a grip, obviously we dont sit theyre giggling, were not 12 year olds that sit through a film on their phone or anything.

calling someone a waste of space for having an opinion is pathetic.