Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

damn thief

• 19-08-2008 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭

Lo
    came home today to find that someone broke into my garage, only things missing are my mac10 and my beloved deagle:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

sad news was anything else taken?, i hope it has been reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

jeez tough break skatedude, did you report it to the Guards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

bastids., let the cops know about it since they might find it raiding some scumbags gaf.,

i went into a place in town today for about 2mins only to find some little pox robbed me mountain bike., lol got it back though.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

**** man thats awful my place got robbed saturday its a pain in the bolox if I find out who did it im gonna beat the living ****e outta him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Dude, me to today, some F@%er got into my kitchen, the guard cat scared him away tho!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Lads,

Small serious note , you might want to keep your aegs under lock and key ,you never know where they'll turn up.

You'd better tell the cops what was taken , but i wouldnt expect a warm reaction to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Got to agree. Better to let the cops know so that they are aware that some scummer has his hands on something he shouldnt.

It's not something I like to think is happening out there but it's better if we are up front with the guards about these things rather than keeping quiet.

Paul has a point about keeping them under lock and key but there is no reason to go mad. Just dont leave them in an unlocked garage, on display on the windowsil or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

horgan_p wrote: »
    Lads,

Small serious note , you might want to keep your aegs under lock and key ,you never know where they'll turn up.

You'd better tell the cops what was taken , but i wouldnt expect a warm reaction to be honest.

Mine are nice and secure in steal press, not an issue :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Hidden away cept when under service or plinking out of sight. Seems to be a load of roberrys lately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

ye i keep mine in a bag under my bed. (mind you now after saying that tomorrow when i come home itl probably gone. taken by one of you lot!!!!! ive got my eyes on yous :-) lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Under lock and key guys, its the only way, surely we all have a cupboard, wardrobe,storage box that can be locked. Even a toolbox in some cases would work a treat.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

...under the pillow....

Sorry to hear that Skatedude.
    Did you have any other aegs or gbbs there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

were they marked in any way so we can keep an eye ,if they turn up for sale /repair

the Bast*rds

senordingdong... now where have i heard that name before??? wasnt he on the simpsons one time

daz801 wrote: »
    senordingdong... now where have i heard that name before??? wasnt he on the simpsons one time

Indeed he is a character in The Simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

ive mine in the shed on a shelving unit i got for them.

just have nowhere to store them in the house..

Anyone did try though, id find em quick enough

Frankly I would think there are way more appealing things to steal in the event of someone breaking into my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

god help any one that breaks into my house.

there is an unholy amount of combat equipment in my house.

there are reserve uniforms and a helmet strewn across my kitchen

battle vests in the sittin room

too mutch to describe in my bedroom

4 real guns upstairs under lock and key;)

a trench and a tri colour in the garden

and then theres the airsoft gear!!!!!

mayby the guy who broke thaught they were real at leat you can laugh thinkin about when this dickhead shows it to some of his mates (keep in mind he probably thinks its real) thinking that hes all big and taugh and then when he shoots it and all that comes out is a bb hell be as embaressed as hell

c-90 wrote: »
    god help any one that breaks into my house.

there is an unholy amount of combat equipment in my house.

there are reserve uniforms and a helmet strewn across my kitchen

battle vests in the sittin room

too mutch to describe in my bedroom

4 real guns upstairs under lock and key;)

a trench and a tri colour in the garden

and then theres the airsoft gear!!!!!

ye i can imagine some bloke breaking into your house then seeing all this stuff, and then going "**** what have i got myself into"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

I had the cops down straight away, they seemed to know airsoft and asked for descriptions of the gbb's and dusted for prints(nothing useful i think).
    They think it was a couple of kids that have been seen in the area checking out other houses gardens and backwalls.

Hopefully we wont hear about someone been robbed with either of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Skatedude wrote: »
    I had the cops down straight away, they seemed to know airsoft and asked for descriptions of the gbb's and dusted for prints(nothing useful i think).
    They think it was a couple of kids that have been seen in the area checking out other houses gardens and backwalls.

Hopefully we wont hear about someone been robbed with either of them

Don't want to be bad, but if they got your gear they'll probably try again at a later date for more. They know you have the items. Best recommendation is go buy a steel cabinet or Gun safe & alarm same. It's cheaper in the long term. I know hindsight is wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Me?
    I have a gun room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

perhaps there is a message here for us all..maybe we should consider recommending gun safes going forward

i would say for a lot of people this would be impractical but it is as you say one of the safest options, for me i would always recommend for people to have aegs and gbb under look and key in a cabinet, i have a simple chain runing thought all trigger guards, know this is not going to stop someone that really really wants to take them (but if there that determined not much will) but i would stock opportunist thief looking to get in and out fast,

Puding wrote: »
    i would say for a lot of people this would be impractical but it is as you say one of the safest options, for me i would always recommend for people to have aegs and gbb under look and key in a cabinet, i have a simple chain runing thought all trigger guards, know this is not going to stop someone that really really wants to take them (but if there that determined not much will) but i would stock opportunist thief looking to get in and out fast,

thats a nice simple effective idea puding. i think the issue with the safe is the size as most airsofters would tend to have quite a few pieces. i think the idea of the chain is good compromise.

does anyone know anything about the safes or any other ideas we could use. the reason im asking this is i think it might be a good idea for the community to not only do but be seen to be doing something to secure aegs.

by the way skate et al , sorry to hear about the loss. it is a scary first page on the numbers of break ins / thefts etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Considering the amount of equipment that most people seem to have nowadays you'd be looking in the region of €600 for a proper gun safe that could take it all. A good strong cabinet with a lock is probably the best bet and if possible lock the door to the room they are kept in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

Getting a gun safe is silly.Anyone who has been robbed but nothing major has been stolen is just bad luck.These people are opportunists.I was alone in the house a few weeks ago and when I came into the kitchen I saw a man trying to open my door at the back and when he saw me he just ran off.None of them are bothered to to plan out a robbery besides the people who rob cars.I'm sorry to hear that happened Skatedude and you should go to the guards and report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭davidd24

either a joke or the someone is very silly, just reported it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

What tossers

I use a wardrobe from argos with reinforced doors and a top lock perfect height to stand em up and get the rest of the gear in considiring theres over 2000 euro worth of aegs in it I have also invested in a shed alarm for it, god help anyone I ever catch tryin to rob them,

maybe its time for a national serial number system where we can keep a record and if one is stolen you could report it and we would know to keep our eyes open and let the gaurds know if they are up for sale ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Not even gonna think about going down that road, having a registered database of serial numbers is only one step away from requiring a licence. Besides, the best thing you can do is put some form of unique mark on all your gear so that you know it's yours. You could engrave your name or initials on it somewhere inconspicuous or get one of those UV pens that only shows up under UV light.

Lads, use your attic space. Most burglars don't bother looking up there. Too inacessible.

For those looking for security cabinets, checking out the ciggerette cabinets, 7 lever, muli-lock ones, much cheaper & bigger than a standard gunsafe & yet used the world over for same.
    You can pick them up for as little at 700€. Big enough to store 3 adults in. Perfect for the shed or attic. Some even come flat packed.

Not even gonna think about going down that road, having a registered database of serial numbers is only one step away from requiring a licence

i myself have no problems with registration and licencing if needed but thats another topic, but serial numbers would never work with airsoft, far to eay to change any part of an aeg that the serial number on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Big enough to store 3 adults in.

sorry off topic but how do you know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

whydave wrote: »
    Who's he been storing in his gun-safe :)

I worked in a petrol station when I was younger, the lockup cabinet we had for storing cigarettes could probably take 3 adults standing side by side in fairness (if you took the shelves out)

It would have been easier to cut through the side of them than the break the locks or hinges.

I think having a gun safe or any major lockable unit is a bit overboard for what are, essentially, toys. I used to store mine in the bottom of my wardrobe (and the wardrobe in the spare room, ran out of space), but now have a couple of drawer cabinets up in the attic that I built for storing them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭johnboyire

just buy them both back off the adverts section :D

whydave wrote: »

Tested it with some friends. To test the weight it can handle. The arse of the safe is usually the weakest point.
    Normally if you overload a security cabinet & drop it on the front corner, the arse splits open.
    I'm a stickler for security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

On foot of a thread by a user called Glanza boy (with 2 posts to his name) selling a DEagle and a Mac10, some people are probably wondering what exactly happened between a moderator seen to be involved in off-thread dealing and the thread being locked by another moderator with a terse message concering the items.

To answer your questions simply, MonkSavage has been permanently banned for dual-account muppetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Lemming wrote: »
    On foot of a thread by a user called Glanza boy (with 2 posts to his name) selling a DEagle and a Mac10, some people are probably wondering what exactly happened between a moderator seen to be involved in off-thread dealing and the thread being locked by another moderator with a terse message concering the items.

To answer your questions simply, MonkSavage has been permanently banned for dual-account muppetry.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Ahh well, could have turned out great. Sorry to hear about this Skatedude, that deagle was definitely the best gbb I ever used.

jeeze didnt realise the safes were so expensive....christ the rs people must have to spend a small fortune for their sport...

anyways. there are some good easy ideas here that would be very effective...thanks for sharing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Lemming wrote: »

i knew something was going on when he said you bought it off him off thread

i considered reporting you to you but decided there was an explination

You could put a number under the barrell etc where it wouldnt be easily seen also who amongst us would buy an aeg that had a sabotaged serial number ??
    or maybe a list of stolen items serial numbers and pics if available ? have it as a stickie that you could look up, I know its not much but better than turning up at hrta to see someones got your aeg :mad:

soprry to here this dude
    m,abey some nice online retailer might offer you a very good price on something to cheer you up

you never know....

stranger things have happened....

not exactly impossaible.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

serial numbers, gunsafes, skangars thinking plastic guns are real ones, not to be facitious or anything but i think ye need to get a hold of yourselves lads.

if you can, keep them in a locked room with good door you should be ok or a decent cabinet.
    although i have seen stud walls put through with dumbells for the x-box and few things hat were inside the locked room.

vtecs suggestion re: the uv markers is a good one, however that stuff comes off very easily and a lot of boys have a uv light for checking such things alongside the quality of certain powders, bedroom raves ect.

i dunno if theyd bother check an airsoft gun but that markers just rub off with a bit of use, they are fine for tvs and the like.

sorry you lost you guns but there is an extremely small chance of seeing them again, the muck just dont wanna know.

You could put a number under the barrell etc where it wouldnt be easily seen also who amongst us would buy an aeg that had a sabotaged serial number ??
    or maybe a list of stolen items serial numbers and pics if available ? have it as a stickie that you could look up, I know its not much but better than turning up at hrta to see someones got your aeg

all well and good in theory but would never work, take your example say you do that to a m4 what is i want to change it from a m4a1 to a m4 cqb what happens to the serial number on the barrel? same with anywhere on the aeg you put it, also who runs it? any serial numbering would have to be done by retailers.

People just have to use a bit of common sense, a lot of burglary is simple opportunist crime, its also a reason not to have your aegs for example mounted on a wall in view.

Simple looked cabinet chain everything together jobs a good one :)
    the muck just dont wanna know.

not really needed remember this are public forums and airsoft future is not exactly secure at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

i normally keep the stuff on display in my room which is very secure, but i had left my bag in the shed with my gear for hrta which is just what i needed for the day out, they went through the bag and found the stuff, they however did not touch the 6 foot stack of dvds,swords, the rc chopper or plane or the tarantula.
    And i think the deagle for sale is hfc where mine was tm, but its been checked out

Skatedude wrote: »
    or the tarantula.

not really the object of choice the transhulla for yer common or garden tea-leaf

all well and good in theory but would never work, take your example say you do that to a m4 what is i want to change it from a m4a1 to a m4 cqb what happens to the serial number on the barrel? same with anywhere on the aeg you put it, also who runs it? any serial numbering would have to be done by retailers.

under the barrell was just an example the number could be something as simple as your phone number with one digit out etc
    and it could be run by the iaa or just a post on boards to say something like
    my d boys m4 got nicked serial num is 088134562a etc anyone comes across it could they pm me

not all hard to do