Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Week off - what to do!?

• 18-08-2008 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭

I just got a random week off from work in mid september, didnt ask for it but Ive got it. now I want to make the most of it, what would you do if you were young free and single?? I have a few quid to so I could travel if I wanted, never gone anywhere on my own though...and all the lads cant get any time off.

Obviously your ma will be done first, but any ideas, what would you do if you had a radom week off??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Come do my job for a week plz, I'll give ya 1100 for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Mrbrianmolko

For a week, 110quid? Eh ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That's some really bad haggling right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

what would you do if you had a radom week off??

I couldn't tell you. I don't know what a radom week is!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Have a week long toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

Get a plane out of this soggy country to anywhere at all!

Put a pin in a map and off you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Go on the piss/pull...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Get in loads of food and booze, don't leave the house for a week and overdose on daytime TV - the following week you'll be delighted to be back in work.

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

My monthly week off has just begun. Not exactly random but no less unwelcome.

Gonna read, drink, eat, ryode and sleep....Thats livin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

ehhhh yeah...110..that's what I said!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hookers.

ClioV6 wrote: »
    ehhhh yeah...110..that's what I said!:D

Ha :D i really have to take my time when typing.

I went up to my room, spun the globe and it landed on Russia (St petersburg). Eh don't think so at the mo! So spun it again and got Afganistan...im not much good at that game.

i think i'll just feck of to Spain or Portugal or soemthing, but going on my own :confused: Id just get bored and go out on the piss all day and night on my own, talk ****e to randomers and become "that freak" thats always wanting to talk to you when your on holiday. I dont want to become "the freak".

I also thought about getting the ferry to France and driving to somewhere over there, but i drive an Alfa and although its never broke down, id just be ****ing myself that id end up stranded in the middle of Lille or something.

Cant go over to a premiership match as theres none on the week im off.

I thought about working in a different job for the laugh - ie temping for a week somewhere random like in a factory - I dont know why i though this but it crossed my mind.

i also though about doing some volunteering or something, I dont know like cleaning oil off stones on a beach after an oil spill, but there would have to be an oil spill first .

If all else fails im going to get the new GTA, lock myself in my room with loads of ****e food and cheap Lidl beer and aim to complete it. Pity the new football manager game isnt out, that would of used up my week rather quickly and would be the most enjoyable week of them all.

Any other ideas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Go to the gym, perv on the all the wimminz then spend the rest of the day in the hot tub touching yourself beneath the bubbles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Have a week long toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I hate these threads. It's almost as bad as I've got 10 grand in the bank, what will I do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I recommend a load of booze and pizza and GTA as well. May as well be a bum. How about....taking a train completely at random to go anywhere that looks miserable, and then go there and find a pub and make at least one new friend. do this to every small village you come across on your travels. then come back to dublin and send them all abusive texts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I hate these threads. It's almost as bad as I've got 10 grand in the bank, what will I do with it.
    Ha, remember the thread where someone lived in a drug dealers old house and found thousands in the cupboard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Travel abroad for the 5 days or something. Amsterdam, London or Bucharest or somewhere. Flights shouldn't be too expensive, and if you go alone it will be a different experience to what you might be used to and you will probably savour the whole experience a lot more than if you were travelling with a bunch of mates. You'll probably meet people over there anyway and have a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Well I am a student so I know all about this.I recommend buy the seris "Entourage" watch that, once thats finished lodge a good bit of money into online poker try make some cash while stuffing face with Dominos Meatball Mayem Pizza.

Repeat untill you go bust are till you make your first million!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

masterbate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Buy a cooler, fill it with beer, sit out in the garden on a comfy chair with the feet up, enjoy the beers and read a few good books. Nice and relaxing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

A different hooker everyday of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Stay on boards all week long and start as many threads as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Week long session of video gaming :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    Week long session of video gaming :D

mmmmmmmm....anti....social.....behav...DAMMIT, THAT LITTLE n00b SHOT ME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Go to slovenia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Go camping somewhere in Ireland you haven't been, on yer own, why not?

The Mourne Mountains in Down?
    Donegal?
    Monaghan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭beerbaron

JangoFett wrote: »
    Go camping somewhere in Ireland you haven't been, on yer own, why not?

The Mourne Mountains in Down?
    Donegal?
    Monaghan?

Bring wet gear and a flask o tae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Just act like a student for the week. Get up late. Watch ****e telly (or rewatch The Wire if you want something good), catch up on the stack of games you haven't had a chance to get through, rope your mates into a couple of midweek sessions, rinse, repeat. Going on holidays alone is a pointless waste of time tbh. You'll continually be the 3rd/5th/7th etc wheel as previously mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

beerbaron wrote: »
    Bring wet gear and a flask o tae

Yeah, exactly, we live in a beautiful country, why not get aquainted with it?

Wicklow mountains could be considered either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

Take the Alfa to the nuerburgring :)

http://www.nuerburgring.de/home.324.0.html

im sure she will be fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

JoeySully wrote: »
    Take the Alfa to the nuerburgring :)

http://www.nuerburgring.de/home.324.0.html

im sure she will be fine :)

Just on a side note, i was thinking of going out there in my 1.4 astra would it get wrecked? like with the speed and stuff im sure the car would be under serious strain that its not meant for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Go begging in Romania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Go begging in Romania.

I hear they are running dangerously low on beggers in Romainia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

For all the people saying that you shouldn't go abroad to Spain or somewhere on your own... I disagree.
    I got time off once and wanted to do something like the OP. All my mates were in work and couldn't get time off so I spent 5 days in Spain (Wed. - Sun.) I had a blast. You'd be amazed at the amount of people you'll find there that will talk with you, its great craic. You get to meet their friends and there's plenty of women there.
    I'd definitely do it again if I had the chance.

Or as someone else mentioned, go on a train trip across Ireland and stop off into pubs wheres there's a B&B handy. Get drunk, meet some new people, go to bed late, have breakfast and do it all again but in a different spot down the train track :P.

Might seem a bit lonely when thinking about it but as soon as you set off, the journey gets better and better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Dismantle your trouser press then attempt to put it back together again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Go out and get really drunk every night of the week.I'm not encouraging excess consumption of alcohol but when if I had a week off work,thats what I would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

write a novel

Some very good suggestions, im really liek the suggestion of driving the Alfa to nurenburg. i once brought my 2.2 Vtec Prelude out to Mondello, now that was fun.

Driving an Alfa GTV all the way to germany though, i honestly think id go insane. I really love driving, but thats just a bit much! Maybe Silverstone though....

I do lot of surfing and kite Boarding/surfing so travel to Waterford/Donegal/Mayo nearly every second weekend and usually camp for the night in these places, so thats nothing out of the ordinary for me. I currently have an injury and cant surf for a couple of months, otherwise I would of brought the board and the car over to Scotland...

I dont really want to spend the time locked in my room playing the computer, like i can do that anytime?????

Going away on a last minute deal is winning so far though, albeit on my own. Im thinking Spain, cos there I get sun, pool lots of drink and fairly easy to get weed should i want some. A few books, a few cans, good music, relaxing on the balcony with a joint, sounds pretty good :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Im thinking Spain, cos there I get sun, pool lots of drink and fairly easy to get weed should i want some. A few books, a few cans, good music, relaxing on the balcony with a joint, sounds pretty good :pac:

I hope you and your stupid thread fall off said balcony!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 hisroyalbadness

Dance around in your underwear to the tune of Who Likes Short Shorts :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Knit yourself a winter wardrobe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

Going away on a last minute deal is winning so far though, albeit on my own. Im thinking Spain, cos there I get sun, pool lots of drink and fairly easy to get weed should i want some. A few books, a few cans, good music, relaxing on the balcony with a joint, sounds pretty good :pac:

Can I come?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MCMLXXXIII

Spain ftw
    You can get a flight to Barcelona on Aer Lingus for like 150 including taxes and everything. Just go from Monday to Friday, and then you still have relaxing weekends so you can un/pack and catch up with your mates, etc.

Just lay out by the water, and go to the bar at night...you will meet cool people.
    When a group of my friends go anywhere besides the local, we ditch each other upon arrival anyways. We won't see each other until the end of the night...and that's if we aren't lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

What you could do is watch the clock ticking, and contemplate your wasting life... slowly slipping away, before inevitably becoming a rotting carcass planted in a cold cemetary gradually fading from the memories of all you knew.

Or you could go for a few pints.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Go to the gym, perv on the all the wimminz then spend the rest of the day in the hot tub touching yourself beneath the bubbles

I heard thats bad for your sperm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭hunter164

Make a list of things to do. I'll start it off for you.

1. **** over the sink.
    2.Spunk out your upstairs window onto the road.
    3.Get so drunk u have to get your stomach pumped.
    4.Get arressted for indecent exposure.
    5.Flash a group of Asian tourists.
    6.Batter one of those people that pretend to be statues or whatever on Grafton St.
    7.Rob a Gards hat.
    8.Run across that big centre thing in Stephens Green that you're not allowed on.
    9.Have sex in a packed pub in full view of everyone.
    10.Take a dump in a urinal.

That should start you off.Everyone ele feel free to add to them if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

hunter164 wrote: »
    Make a list of things to do. I'll start it off for you.

1. **** over the sink.
    2.Spunk out your upstairs window onto the road.
    3.Get so drunk u have to get your stomach pumped.
    4.Get arressted for indecent exposure.
    5.Flash a group of Asian tourists.
    6.Batter one of those people that pretend to be statues or whatever on Grafton St.
    7.Rob a Gards hat.
    8.Run across that big centre thing in Stephens Green that you're not allowed on.
    9.Have sex in a packed pub in full view of everyone.
    10.Take a dump in a urinal.

That should start you off.Everyone ele feel free to add to them if you want.

Ha what an eh unique week youd have!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

Post something relevant in every thread in every forum on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

KerranJast wrote: »
    Just act like a student for the week. Get up late. Watch ****e telly (or rewatch The Wire if you want something good), catch up on the stack of games you haven't had a chance to get through, rope your mates into a couple of midweek sessions, rinse, repeat.

Best TV show, EVER.