Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford v Tyrone - Discussion and Predictions

• 18-08-2008 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

So who will win between Wexford and Tyrone. This will be the second championship meeting between the teams, with Tyrone winning the qualifier game in Wexford Park 1-9 0-10 in 2001. In the league semi final meeting between the two teams in 2005 Wexford won 1-8 to 1-7 in a wet Portlaoise.

Suprisingly I am going to go for a Wexford win and our first final appearance in a very long time :)

Who will win the all-ireland semi final between Wexford and Tyrone 54 votes

Wexford
    0% 0 votes
    Tyrone
    50% 27 votes
    Draw
    48% 26 votes
    It will be close, football will be the real winner
    1% 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Is Matty expected to be fully fit? I think Wexford will need him as he will draw away markers and limit their swarm to an extent. On the other hand, if Wexford go route one to him, it could have the opposite effect but i think Wexford have enough talent and options these days that they dont need to go that route. Another concern id have is Wexfords handpassing out of defense. It has gotten them into trouble a few times this year and against a team like Tyrone, who are very quick to close you down, they could be in severe trouble if they go that way too often. Quick high ball into their half forward line or into the corners seems to have worked best for them this year so if they play like that i think they can do it.

I think close affair and while id like to see Wexford getting to their first final in 90 years i believe, lets hope football wins also. Havent been too many matches to sing about this year so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    Is Matty expected to be fully fit? I think Wexford will need him as he will draw away markers and limit their swarm to an extent. On the other hand, if Wexford go route one to him, it could have the opposite effect but i think Wexford have enough talent and options these days that they dont need to go that route.

If the same team as the last day starts then the long ball is always an option. Wexford used that tactic for some of the second half against Armagh wth Forde and Colfer inside and Lyng further out. The low ball in is still an option with Lyng and Forde inside and Colfer further out field.
    Another concern id have is Wexfords handpassing out of defense. It has gotten them into trouble a few times this year and against a team like Tyrone, who are very quick to close you down, they could be in severe trouble if they go that way too often.

Again the tactics in the last few games has been to play Malone as a sweeper in front of the fullback line. This gives us an extra player to pass to out of trouble and also if he stand his ground with Murphy that gives us bodies in front of Tyrone runners. I would be more concerned with our wing backs pouring forward, although since the Dublin game there has been more discipline in protecting the fullback line and also covering the wing backs going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

im going with Wexford based oon the logic that I think Tyrone will win. i think Tyrone have a better squad and while their forwards are equally matched I think tyrones defence is superior.

Wexford for 3 points ( all M.forde points )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Again the tactics in the last few games has been to play Malone as a sweeper in front of the fullback line. This gives us an extra player to pass to out of trouble and also if he stand his ground with Murphy that gives us bodies in front of Tyrone runners.

McDonnell and Clarke had very little support to pass to as the runs weren't coming from the half forwards etc. quick enough. Often they had to shoot from difficult angles.

The sweeper isn't as effective against Tyrone. They do play long ball stuff but if it's 50/60% as much as Armagh I'd be surprised.

Think this one depends on if this Tyrone team is back or was that a last kick. If McGinley, Holmes etc. can win 50/50 ball and T.McGuigan and McCullough play as well again, Tyrone by 5.

I think they'll struggle till the last 10 minutes but I'm banking on the confidence from the Dublin one to count in the end.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    McDonnell and Clarke had very little support to pass to as the runs weren't coming from the half forwards etc. quick enough. Often they had to shoot from difficult angles.

The sweeper isn't as effective against Tyrone. They do play long ball stuff but if it's 50/60% as much as Armagh I'd be surprised.

Think this one depends on if this Tyrone team is back or was that a last kick. If McGinley, Holmes etc. can win 50/50 ball and T.McGuigan and McCullough play as well again, Tyrone by 5.

I think they'll struggle till the last 10 minutes but I'm banking on the confidence from the Dublin one to count in the end.

Sweeper may not be as effective, but we will wait and see what sort of tactics Wexford utilise. The shape of the team has changed slightly from the earlier rounds of the championship in response to some of the problems that were encountered. I think that Wexford will persist with the sweeper and may reign in the half backs at times. In the last couple of games the performance around the middle third and the backs has improved greatly.

The tactics in the forwards may vary through out the game depending on how successful different approaches are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I think it will be a Tyrone win. They'll find it hard to reach the highs of Saturday, but they should have enough in the tank to see them through. It'll be interesting watching Tir Eoghain and Cruiserweight in Madigan's after that match. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Really hope Wexford do well, but they might bottle it again. I pray Tyrone dont Leinster final us but my guess is it is 50/50.

On a lesser note met Matty Forde in the Wexford town saturday night. Me and the lads were the worst for drink. And of course did the obligatory "come on lads" etc etc. Convo went something like so.

My mate: Are you drinking?

MF: No, no.

My mate: Good!, and if your ridin tonight three women maximum please take it easy on the leg!!!!

(this isn't too bad, he met Paul Casey in CFJs one night wasn't nice)

Must add their league game a few years ago in the re-opening of Wexford park was one of the greatest games I ever witnessed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Wexford will play open football and throw everything but the kitchen sink. I think Tyrone have found their shooting boots and will be more economical with their chances. A narrow Tyrone win IMO.

Flukey wrote: »
    I think it will be a Tyrone win. They'll find it hard to reach the highs of Saturday, but they should have enough in the tank to see them through. It'll be interesting watching Tir Eoghain and Cruiserweight in Madigan's after that match. :)
    I may have to bail in for that :D ....hopefully more sober than last Sat. Drowned the sorrows a bit too much and cannot remember a bloody thing!

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Really hope Wexford do well, but they might bottle it again. I pray Tyrone dont Leinster final us but my guess is it is 50/50.

On a lesser note met Matty Forde in the Wexford town saturday night. Me and the lads were the worst for drink. And of course did the obligatory "come on lads" etc etc. Convo went something like so.

My mate: Are you drinking?

MF: No, no.

My mate: Good!, and if your ridin tonight three women maximum please take it easy on the leg!!!!

(this isn't too bad, he met Paul Casey in CFJs one night wasn't nice)

Must add their league game a few years ago in the re-opening of Wexford park was one of the greatest games I ever witnessed
    I dont think they will Leinster Final it. I think Wexford have learned from that and lets be honest, they put in a good first half but a few Dub players hit a new gear like Ryan and Brogan and before we knew it the game was over. Wexford well in it until then tho. I think Wexford seem to have what it takes against Northern teams going by Down and Armagh, as in the physical side anyway. Tyrone are alot faster than Armagh or Down tho so will be a different game to those. If they can get the tactics right as they did against Armagh i think it is totally within their reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

ive been impressed by the way wexford have been able to adjust their tactics sucessfully mid-season to great success!!

it will be interesting to see if they have a gameplan to shut down tyrone!
    IMO you have to play a direct fast ball in from your half-back line! If wexford do what dublin did (which is 3 or 4 players carrying the ball to much) then it will give tyrone's half-forward line a chance to get back into defence!
    Funnilly enough the direct ball worked well for wexford in the 2nd half against armagh!!

perhaps a mixture of the keep-ball game they employed in the 1st half against armagh and a more direct game in the 2nd half could be an idea-doing this would help keep wexford in the game until the second which (obviously) is vital! we could then surprise tyrone with the more direct style in the second half and hopefully come away with a victory!

wexford to capitalise on a purple patch early in the 2nd half and come away with a victory ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I really do hope Wexford do win as well, for the sake of change in the final. I wonder what are the odds on a Cork/Wexford final? Slim I'd say. I think Tyrone will have built up confidence in their inhiliation of Dublin last Sunday and should have too much for Wexford. McMenamin and Forde should be a great match up. Forde has the ability to perform when the chips are down as he proved against Armagh. I would love to know what methods Jason Ryan is working on to try and disable Tyrones swarm/blanket Defence. The amount of space Tyrone created in the forward line on Sunday was baffling at times.

CyberDave wrote: »
    I really do hope Wexford do win as well, for the sake of change in the final. I wonder what are the odds on a Cork/Wexford final? Slim I'd say. I think Tyrone will have built up confidence in their inhiliation of Dublin last Sunday and should have too much for Wexford. McMenamin and Forde should be a great match up. Forde has the ability to perform when the chips are down as he proved against Armagh. I would love to know what methods Jason Ryan is working on to try and disable Tyrones swarm/blanket Defence. The amount of space Tyrone created in the forward line on Sunday was baffling at times.
    Saturday ;)

Saturday ;)

Good job you posted that up. Otherwise I'd be watching highlights on the news Saturday evening and saying f**k, I thought that was on tomorrow.

CyberDave wrote: »
    Good job you posted that up. Otherwise I'd be watching highlights on the news Saturday evening and saying f**k, I thought that was on tomorrow.
    Naw i mean the Tyrone Dublin match was Saturday. I think the Wexford Tyrone game is the Sunday afaik.

saw this today said i'd add it.

PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?MemberId=3280799892&PhotoNbr=1&PhotoAlbumId=8613998831

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Would be lovely to see Wexford get to the final but I fear they'd take a hammering from Kerry a la Mayo 04/06.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Knightfall

I think that Jason Ryan will have a totally new tactical plan in place for the Tyrone game. He, like the team, learned alot from the Dublin game, and no-one can say that they both aren't improving as the year goes on. I can see it being a very defensive game with a minimum of chances. Its clear that Tyrone had alot of space up front on Saturday, only by the time Dublin got around to trying to deal with it they had to chase the game and it was too late to do anything about it. I reckon Wexford will funnel back to defend in numbers and try do Tyrone on the break with a combination of long balls and quick running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I have to predict Tyrone to win.Since their loss to Down,they have regrouped and dug out some results against Westmeath and Mayo.Wexford played a Down team that never really got going and beat Armagh in a 10 minute period in the second half when Armagh could have been cruising at half time.Their wides tally killed them.

Tyrone are a huge step up from Armagh I think.Their midfield and forwards are good at picking off points and scoring goals and I don't think Wexfords forwards will have the answer to deal with Tyrones superior blanket defense and cynical play.McGinley at midfield will cause headaches for Wexfords midfield and Ryan McMenamin and Davy Harte are serious defenders that Banville and Forde may not get the best of.

So after reading this,Cruiserweight will rub his hands in delight and Wexford will actually win on Sunday.:D

blackbelt wrote: »
    I have to predict Tyrone to win.Since their loss to Down,they have regrouped and dug out some results against Westmeath and Mayo.Wexford played a Down team that never really got going and beat Armagh in a 10 minute period in the second half when Armagh could have been cruising at half time.Their wides tally killed them.

Tyrone are a huge step up from Armagh I think.Their midfield and forwards are good at picking off points and scoring goals and I don't think Wexfords forwards will have the answer to deal with Tyrones superior blanket defense and cynical play.McGinley at midfield will cause headaches for Wexfords midfield and Ryan McMenamin and Davy Harte are serious defenders that Banville and Forde may not get the best of.

So after reading this,Cruiserweight will rub his hands in delight and Wexford will actually win on Sunday.:D

Sunday week ;) Based on your previous success at making predictions I am delighted :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Tyrone by 5-7 points.

Their experience at this level will surpass anything Wexford can throw at them on the day.

Forde declares himself fully fit

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=99905
    Wexford ace Mattie Forde has guaranteed Wexford fans that he will have overcame the hamstring injury that has troubled him somewhat over the last month to be 100 per cent fit to face Tyrone.

The Kilanerin attacker, who has the chance to become the Championship’s top-scorer for the year against the Red Hands in under two weeks time, had been suffering from a hamstring injury which he carried into both wins over Down and Armagh.

While looking absorbed with the injury in the first half of the quarter-final against Armagh, he netted the decisive goal in the second-half to send the Model men into the last four of the All-Ireland SFC.

Forde admitted: "Everything is moving in the right direction. I have received intensive treatment on the injury and it’s coming along nicely. There’s no doubt that I will be 100 per cent for the semi-final.

"We are now in the last four and looking forward to it. We will once again be the underdogs but we’ve already beaten two Ulster sides, Down, and reigning provincial champions, Armagh. It will be a huge day and one that I will not miss."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

I didnt think Wexford had a chance against Armagh, and they certainly shocked me that day. I think Wexford are a much better team than many people give them credit (me included). I think they will fancy their chances against Tyrone, they certainly won't have the same mental block that i think affected them in the Leinster final. I'm still going for a Tyrone win (just), because after their fantastic performance against the Dubs they do look a very serious team, and have a real chance of going all the way imo. I think it will be a close game, looking forward especially to seeing if Wexford can reproduce their "Armagh" performance. A very interesting tie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

It could be as tight as the POLL on this thread !!!

Surprised to see the poll this tight. Usually the favourites rack up a good amount of votes more. I agree however, i think and hope it will be very close. Hasnt been enough nail-biters this year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Wexford 0-17 Tyrone 1-11

Tyrone have declared a clean bill of health

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0823/tyrone.html?gaa
    Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has reported a fully fit squad ahead of next weekend's All-Ireland SFC semi-final against Wexford.

Owen Mulligan, who has not started a championship game this season, has regained full fitness, but Harte has hinted that he may not yet be ready for a starting place at Croke Park.

'He missed out on crucial times. He's probably fit enough now, but it's a question of being match-fit.

'You can't get match-fit unless you get games at this level, and it's not easy to get games at this level if the people that are in there are performing well,' said Harte.

'So it's a bit of a Catch-22 situation. He's been very unfortunate, because he was flying the time he got the injury against Laois. He missed a lot of training at that time, the injury held him back for a long time.

'Now he's back champing at the bit, and it's a great thing to have, a player of his quality and calibre itching to get on that field.'

And defender PJ Quinn, who missed the qualifier against Mayo and the All-Ireland quarter-final win over Dublin, has fully recovered from a back injury.

'PJ Quinn is over his injury too and he'll be snapping at the heels of somebody as well,' said Harte.

Game is part of a triple header now. We will get to see the finalists all on the same day :)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Tyrone will have far far too much for Wexford. I would reckon that Tyrone will win by at least 5 points. Armagh, although they are the Ulster champions are a very poor team this year and Wexford capitalised on this. Tyrone definately won't be as handy.

Good article in todays indo about Redmond Barry. He is definitely one of the most important players for the Wexford team, he's not just good at football either.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa-championships/gaelic-football/ready-to-step-out-of-the-shadows-1463103.html
    Matty Forde views him as a 'right-footed Ciaran McDonald'. Paul Bealin draws from a different vintage for a parallel to Martin McHugh. Pat Roe sees him as the secret behind Wexford's success this summer.

The plaudits for Redmond Barry come from heavy hitters who have shaped and influenced his career along the way.

Right now there isn't a centre-forward in the championship who has been more effective, with the possible exception of Padraic Joyce in Connacht.

When the All Star football selection committee sits in conclave later this year Barry's name will figure as prominently in debate as any of his colleagues.

Forde, David Murphy and Eric Bradley will all have strong claims but Barry has been the sticking plaster for everything.

"Honestly I don't think I've come across a better man to put a ball on your chest than Redmond Barry," says Forde. "He hits the target every time."

For Bealin the comparison with Donegal's McHugh, architect of Dublin's downfall in the 1992 All-Ireland final, is not exaggerated.

Intelligent

"He was probably one of the most intelligent players I have ever managed," says the Wexford manager of 2006 and 2007.

"He is the ultimate playmaker. He carries the ball and can bring play quickly from defence to attack. He can also kick scores and win frees. He is genuinely a McHugh in the making."

Those sentiments are shared by Roe, his Wexford manager in 2004 and 2005, when they reached a league final and successive Leinster semi-finals.

"Without doubt Redmond Barry is the most under-rated footballer in the country," says Roe.

"I'd be keeping a close eye, naturally, on what Wexford are up to and I'd be in touch with a lot of them down there and the same feedback keeps coming. Redmond Barry is the man. Obviously Matty (Forde) is the marquee player, the instantly recognisable one, but Redmond has intelligence that is just instinctive. You can't coach it."

His sporting talent is multidimensional. Nine days ago Wexford Park hosted two championship hurling matches featuring Barry's club, St Anne's of Rathangan, and Oulart the Ballagh, St Martin's and Shelmaliers. By common consensus Barry was the best hurler on view.

His now exclusive relationship with the Wexford football team is a reflection of the growing strength and esteem the county has in the bigger ball game.

Immense

Traditionally a player of Barry's immense talent would have been drawn to hurling. It would have been considered 'the right thing to do'.

But in 2005, after another season of delicate balancing, Barry opted for football.

Bealin sat down with him and implored on him to make a choice that leaned towards football. Bealin's reasoning was that if Sean Og O hAilpin couldn't do it (play both codes at the highest level), neither could Barry.

That spring he had played for the Wexford footballers in their league semi-final win over Tyrone in Portlaoise and later that evening he had dashed to Kilkenny for a league match in Nowlan Park that Wexford lost heavily.

Later that summer, Barry had come off the bench as a substitute for Adrian Fenlon in a Leinster final against Kilkenny that Wexford led at one stage by seven points, but lost by just two.

The defeat deflated him but that wasn't what deterred him from hurling on. His loyalty to the football squad, not the game, was just that bit stronger. They were the first who had come calling for his services and that meant something to him.

Talent for sport drips from his limbs. "He just seems to have a cognitive map of any skills set," observes Roe.

At the Cistercian College in Roscrea, where his family had a tradition of schooling, his sporting acumen became quickly apparent.

When he was 15, he pole vaulted his way to an All-Ireland schools junior title in June 1996 and nine months later represented Ireland at the three As championships in Birmingham when he climbed to a personal best of 3m 20cm.

In another country such talent might have been seized upon but with Ireland's predilection for team sport he gravitated naturally to the rugby and hurling fields around the school.

Current Tipperary senior hurlers John O'Brien and Hugh Moloney were team-mates when the All-Ireland schools senior B title was plundered by Roscrea in 2000 but even that success was eclipsed by Roscrea's push to a Leinster colleges senior rugby final against all the odds when they lost to Blackrock College in the final.

Greatest

To this day Barry considers it his greatest sporting achievement -- though success on Sunday might force reconsideration.

At the same time, he was part of the St Anne's double-winning teams that claimed the 2000 Wexford football and hurling titles when he was only 17.

Representation for Wexford at U-21 level in football and hurling followed and at UCD there was a successful Fitzgibbon Cup campaign in his first year, 2001.

But ironically his third-level football career was a lot shorter in his four years there as he struggled to break onto the team.

What strikes Roe about him now is the comfort and time he finds for himself on the ball.

"He carries it so well. I would have played him in the past as a half-back, so too would Paul Bealin. But his proper position is centre-forward. He's a real centre-forward, who sees the right option almost all of the time. There aren't many like him around."

Roe acknowledges that he was "quieter than normal" against Armagh but delivered stand-out performances against Down, Meath and Laois.

"He still scored two points the last day and had Aaron Kernan to contend with at different times. But he has a remarkable engine that allows him to stay in any game. He is one of the strongest characters within that squad, a real leader.

Football's gain in Wexford has been hurling's loss. They never thought they would see it that way again in the county but Red Barry's loyalty to football has been repaid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 alicesloft1

I think that Tyrone will have done their homework on Wexford with their extra man dropping back to snuff out the threat of Mattie Ford.I will stick my neck on the line and predict that Tyrone have the midfield to combat the twin towers of Kerry and pip them by 2points.What are the odds at the monent?.

I doubt the Tyrone management are stupid enough to believe that Mattie Forde is the only threat that Wexford have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I doubt the Tyrone management are stupid enough to believe that Mattie Forde is the only threat that Liverpool have

what am i missing here ?

Alany wrote: »
    what am i missing here ?

Ooops edited now :o I am watching the Liverpool game at the moment

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ooops edited now :o I am watching the Liverpool game at the moment

LOL. :)

FYI the Hill will be open on Sunday

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=100294
    Due to the demand on tickets for Sunday’s triple header of All-Ireland football semi-finals, the GAA have announced that Hill 16 will now be opened.

Originally there was no terracing available for the games but due to the rate at which tickets for the three stands have been selling the GAA have revised their decision to close the Hill.

The GAA has also confirmed that a limited number of stand tickets are available for the three matchs.

Tickets can be purchased from the participating counties, on www.gaa.ie, from the GAA ticket office on 01/8658657 or from Ticketmaster outlets nationwide, and subject to availability from outlets around the ground on Sunday.

The GAA Ticket Office on North Circular Road (opposite Gill’s Pub) will be open on Friday, August 29th from 10 am to 6 pm and on Saturday, August 30th from 10 am to 4 pm.

Admission Prices are as follows:

Stand Eu45

Stand Juvenile (Designated sections of Davin and Cusack Stands) Eu5 (Juveniles must be accompanied by an adult)

Senior Citizens/Students (with I.D.) (Davin and Cusack Stands only) Eu20 Must purchase full price ticket - refund available at Block D turnstiles to rear of Cusack Stand prior to entry)

Dineen Hill 16 Eu30

Wheelchair and Attendant Passes Eu45

Group Passes Eu3 per juvenile, 1 adult per 10 juveniles free of charge

The action gets underway with the ESB GAA Football All Ireland Minor Championship semi final between Tyrone and Meath at 12.15 pm followed by the GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship semi final replay between Cork and Kerry at 2.00 pm and finally the GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship semi final at 4.00 pm between Tyrone and Wexford.

The following outlets will be open from 10.30 am on the day of the games (subject to ticket availability): GAA Ticket Office, 526 North Circular Rd (opposite Gill’s Pub), ticket kiosk at Ballybough [under the railway bridge], ticket kiosk at Dorset St [outside Martin’s Auctioneers], ticket kiosk at Bishop’s Palace

Both teams have named the same line ups as the last day. A couple of positional switches for Wexford, Colfer moves to full forward with Banville on the wing and Red at centre forward.

Wexford (SFC v Tyrone): A Masterson; D Walsh, P Wallace, B Malone; A Morrissey, D Murphy, C Morris; E Bradley, B Doyle; PJ Banville, R Barry, C Byrne; C Lyng, P Colfer, M Forde

Tyrone (SFC v Wexford): J Devine; R McMenamin, Justin McMahon, C Gourley; D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan; C Holmes, E McGinley; B Dooher, B McGuigan, Joe McMahon; T McGuigan, S Cavanagh, C McCullagh

I saw this on another forum, there might be a jinx associated with hosting the Road to Croker

Week 1. Wexford beaten by Dublin
    Week 2. Clare beaten by Cork
    Week 3. Mayo beaten by Tyrone
    Week 4. Kildare beaten by Cork
    Week 5. Tipp beaten by Waterford
    Week 6. Kerry draw with Cork

Week 7 apparently it was hosted in Moy in Tyrone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Tyrone know well that they are no great shakes, but then again neither are Wexford. What I would say is that Wexford will be well up for this and won't be at all phased by Tyrone's big-time-charlie attitude. Wex are still playing for pride after the thumping that Dublin gave them.

Would still have to go with Tyrone, though whoever wins it will get an unmerciful hiding off Kerry in the final. I'd rather see Tyrone get that hiding, to put their feet back on the ground after they luckily caught Dublin on an off day.

Tyrone know well that they are no great shakes, but then again neither are Wexford. What I would say is that Wexford will be well up for this and won't be at all phased by Tyrone's big-time-charlie attitude. Wex are still playing for pride after the thumping that Dublin gave them.

Would still have to go with Tyrone, though whoever wins it will get an unmerciful hiding off Kerry in the final. I'd rather see Tyrone get that hiding, to put their feet back on the ground after they luckily caught Dublin on an off day.

A Dublin fan eh ;)

Just a couple of points. The hiding that Wexford got off of Dublin is in the past and forgotten about by this team it seems, nothing they can do about it now. They had one bad day out, the rest of the Wexford results this year show that to be the case. Wexford are playing for a place in the all ireland final not pride.

As for Tyrone not being very good. A team full of players that have one or two all-ireland medals each can't be that bad now can they. Tbh Dublin may not have been expecting Tyrone to be that good but I wouldn't say that they were lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

"luckily caught Dublin on an off day"

brilliant! sure if wexford get to the final, all we'll here as that Dublin are are better side and should be there!

No bitterness there at all then. Those Tyrone lads don't even have any All-Ireland medals :D.

Tyrone best this year has been against Dublin and that looked pretty awesome. A lot(not all) of Tyrones success in that game was down to their closing down of Dublin and their swarm defence tactics or as some people like to call 'ugly football'. Kerrys best so far was against Galway, which was a display of pure football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

After being at 2 Wexford games this year, they are a hard team to predict.
    The 2 games i was at was the Meath game as it was held in my own town.
    1st half Meath made a show of Wex, then 2nd half Meath were robbed of a genuine goal by a bad ref decision. From then on Wex played amazing stuff to peg it back & go win it in the end.

Then i was at Leinster final to see them do ok in 1st half v Dubs & fall to bits in 2nd. The total opposite of what happened them v Meath that day in Carlow.

Seeing Tyrone so far they had been ok, just done enough. But last day v the Dubs they were brilliant, really outclassed them.
    Sets up a fascinating game on Sunday, as i said ive seen both sides of Wex, and Tyrone have been here before.
    I have a weird feeling if Matty Forde is 100% fit, & Wex play at their best....it still wont be enough sadly. I think Tyrone will have too much know-how for them & win by 4 or 5 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Have to say based on their experience of big games like this Tyrone will win. Think, like Dubs win over Wexford, their last win was a bit of a freakish one and they looked better than they actually are, everything clicked for them on the day and some dubs threw in towel very early on.

I seen the same Tyrone team struggle to put away a 13 man Westmeath team, and if Dessie had passed for that goal chance we could well have knocked them out, so they are definitely beatable.

I'd love to see Wexford turn them over but just can't see Wexford backs containing Tyrone, think there could be a couple of goals in the Tyrone ff line and 3/1 for Cavanagh to score in 70 looks very generous to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I really hope that the winner of the Tyrone-Wexford fixture beats Kerry in the final.However,if Cork meet Tyrone,I'd have to shout for Cork.

Any team that can beat Kerry twice in the championship will get my backing.However,I think if Kerry win,the best threat of them losing Sam this year will be Tyrone and not Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,170 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The only option that I would have selected is 'impossible to predict'. Did Wexford beat the Armagh team that looked so good up until that match, or was it a case of Armagh performing below par. The Wexford second half performance against Dublin was too bad to believe but they have certainly erased that at this stage.

Tyrone have improved all year, but you could argue that Wexford have also.

I can't call this, no real way to predict it. I just hope its not a one sided affair as a lot of people are predicting.

I'm shouting for Wexford of course, Tyrone have had lots of good days but its been a long time since Wexford were in an All-Ireland football.

Hopefully football will be the real winner on Sunday.

Heading to the airport now, not as nervous as I thought I would be, well we see at 4pm how I feel. No matter what happens we have had a great year so far and hopefully we will have another game to look forward to in 3 weeks :)

BTW for those that think this just came out of the blue

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/wexfords-rise-a-lesson-to-bigball-backwaters-1465962.html
    THE footballers of Wexford playing in the All-Ireland semi-final in late August -- what in God's name is the GAA coming to at all?

Sure Wexford were always a hurling county. Names like the Rackards, Art Foley, Nick O'Donnell, Morrisseys and Tim Flood, that conjured up the notion of giants of men in heart and physical presence who revolutionised hurling in the 1950s, and even mastered Christy Ring .

Wexford has always been a hurling county, hasn't it? Of course, every now and again we heard the name of a footballer from Wexford like the late Andy Merrigan, Seamus Fitzhenry, Mick Carthy or Tom Foley, but everybody knew that in the heel of the hunt Wexford was a hurling county.

Some historian would occasionally point out that Wexford footballers have an amazing record in that they played in six All-Ireland finals and won five, including being one of only two counties, along with Kerry, to win four All-Irelands in a row, back in 1915-18. But Wexford almost disappeared from football after that, only winning two Leinster titles, in 1925 and '45, since 1918.

Things rested so, as the seanachai would say, for the last half-century and then, almost by sleight of hand, we arrive at August 2008 and, hey presto, the Wexford footballers are playing in the All-Ireland semi-final. No Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Meath, Armagh or Down to be seen, and instead we now have the yellow-bellies aiming for their first final in exactly 90 years.

So where did it all go right for Wexford footballers, from being one of the perennial losers, generally operating in the lowest divisions of the league, to tomorrow's lofty heights? What has happened in Wexford has been the most revolutionary development in the game since Down arrived on the national scene in 1959 and Offaly footballers followed them in 1960.

In both of those counties there were strong traditions, with football being clearly the major game in the counties. This formed a sound basis for advancement but that was not the case in Wexford where hurling domination constantly from the 1950s kept pushing football away from mainstream GAA activity in terms of inter-county games. All the best dual players automatically concentrated on hurling, but in the past 20 years pressure gradually began to emerge from leading footballers to get a fair share of the action from the Wexford County Board.

But that battle was long and tedious and still is. For example, when the Wexford U-21 football team was preparing this year to play Kildare in the Leinster final, a game that was fixed for Wexford Park, the county board refused to allow the team train in the park the week before the final. Yet in the same week the Wexford minor hurling team was allowed that facility. So make no mistake, hurling is still the game as far as officialdom in Wexford is concerned, but maybe an All-Ireland final appearance might change that?

So it was invariably dedicated football people in a private capacity, rather than GAA officials, who lit the torch of modernism in Wexford football. People such as Seamus Keevans, who died this year, and who did more than any other to create the scenario which has led to Sunday's game.

Wexford players used to look very much like hurlers playing football. Their kicking was awkward, their ball-handling skills were tawdry and their tackling was indisciplined. All the time the enthusiasm was there but these flaws constantly undermined the better players on the teams.

But soon certain positive patterns evolved which started to change the face of Wexford football. Several well-known graduate teachers from the former Thomond College such as Liam Fardy and Eddie Mahon, contemporaries in that establishment of Brian Mullins, Brian Talty and Pat Spillane, were spreading a new approach to football. Shortly afterwards there was a resurgence in secondary schools such as Good Counsel, New Ross (All-Ireland 1999) and St Peter's, Wexford (Leinster 1992).

Wexford minor football teams, guided by knowledgeable football people, mainly teachers, began to make an impact, and outsiders were often asked in to coach young players.

In 1992 I remember spending a February Saturday in Blackwater coaching a Wexford minor panel. That was a very strong panel which beat Dublin in the championship and only lost to Meath by a goal. Meath, inspired by Trevor Giles, went on to beat Armagh in the All-Ireland final.

The evangelists in Wexford football for the past 20 years were never afraid to make use of outsiders in any capacity to change the style of football and put it in line with the leading counties. Many excellent coaches/ managers were happy to help out over the years because everybody knew that something was stirring in Wexford football.

Kerryman JJ Barrett played a key role in upgrading the Wexford football psyche during his period as manager, and when a new superstar arrived in the person of Matty Forde, Wexford football suddenly had a national identity for the first time in 50 years.

But real progress was painfully slow by comparison with the meteoric rise of Down and Offaly earlier. The national league was the main vehicle for progress and three years ago Wexford got to the league final only to lose to Armagh but having beaten Tyrone in the semi-final to cause the first of many recent sensational results.

The most important factor in Wexford's emergence was their ability to make progress steadily through the league and latterly the championship. Beating teams like Meath, Laois, Down and Armagh in one championship season was something that would be beyond at least 20 county teams at present.

So while Wexford has taken a rather circuitous route to this All-Ireland semi-final there is no doubting the authenticity of their current position.

And, of course, the final key in this phenomenal progress has been the arrival of their talisman Jason Ryan from Waterford, another county where football is the poor relation to hurling.

No doubt about it, we are living in changed football times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Tyrone up by 6points with 20mins gone and with the lack of intense championship match practice by Wexford i just don't see any other result than Tyrone to the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Well we got a game for the second half and when lyng hit the goal and it was only a 2-point game i have to admit i got a bit excited. The better team won on the day and i wish tyrone the best against kerry in what will surely be a great match. There's always next year and the year after that and so on, And im looking forward to them immensly :)