Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you find Carlow....boring?

• 18-08-2008 7:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭

First off, I'm not trolling so please don't take offence Carlow natives! I'm just curious on other students' views of living there. I've had mates who went to Carlow IT but dropped out due to pure boredom in the town (also their course wasn't great but that was just the straw that broke the camel's back). I mean, college is supposed to be a time in your life when you have the complete freedom to get drunk, go crazy and just have a good time. Why would you choose to spend it in a one-horse town like Carlow?

Apprently there is no "buzz" in the town and the social scene is practically non-existent besides the one or two niteclubs infested with farmers. My brief visits to Carlow would confirm these claims. Being a small town isn't an excuse - similarly sized Sligo IT and Dundalk IT seem to be great craic with fantastic amenities (several shopping centres, games arcades, decent clubs and student accomodation complexes for the partaays! Dundalk even has an ice dome)

I presume the fact that most Carlow natives piss off to Dublin or Waterford for college is evidence enough that they too are fed-up of the place. So am I talking shít or what? Opinions welcome.

Do you find Carlow boring for college life? 11 votes

Yes, its boring as hell...
    0%
    College life is average but it will do
    54%
    joenailfacephenomenonOverhealheyjudeiamhuntedsondal 6 votes
    I love Carlow, its party central!
    45%
    IvanMyxomatosisIronWolfRealistSpySanNJay 5 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

Well im goin there this year and from ppl i know that have been there ive been told that carlow is amazing craic! so Im expecting it to be good! I spose its different for everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

Carlow is,in my opinion anyway a great town.Maybe my decision is influenced by my close proximity to the town but tbh I think it is a damn fine town.But I can understand how you could get bored in a town of 20000 people when you could be in Dublin. . . . .Apart from getting drunk,what else is there to college life?Just out of a matter of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Carlow is a great town to go to college in for most people but i'd imagine it doesn't appeal to people who might prefer the likes of dublin. personally, i'd take carlow over dublin any day, i prefer being able to walk anywhere i want, i like the fact that i can get to know people over the course of the year as opposed to never getting used to faces in dublin. Also, anyone that says the night life is brutal, doesn't know where to go, there's always something on, if you can't find it, thats your problem.

Carlow is a great town, and i'd never call it boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭fitzcarraldo

Going into second year now and being from Dublin i'm really sick of Carlow at this stage. Don't get me wrong the town is nice, but there is no real culture in Carlow, just pubs and fastfood places and nights out tend to blend into the same night with the same chart music every week.

Going to make inroads this year to try and get something going, the music and gig soc were very poor last year. If I end up in the foundry on a thursday night again i'll go mad

This may all be down to the fact i'm not single and out on the pull every night, i'll let you decide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

GA361 wrote: »
    Apart from getting drunk,what else is there to college life? Just out of a matter of interest.

If I get pissed off with college, me and my mates take a walk anywhere - down Grafton St to check out the street performers; along the boardwalk; in one of the parks. There is a variety of restaurants to eat out in offering cuisine from around the world (as opposed to McDonalds in Carlow?) For the culture vultures among us Trinity is surrounded by museums - the national art gallery and science museum are literally outside the campus gates. Sometimes we go and squander a few quid in Cineworld games arcade or see a film. Everything is in walking distance - bliss!

As regards getting drunk there is a huge choice of clubs offering dance, hip hop, rock and even the chart shíte that gets shoved down your throat in Carlow if you like. Not to mention the many gigs that take place in several venues across the city. If you more in the mood for a quiet session with friends take the DART out to Killiney and drink on the beach.

Your imagination is the limit when it comes for things to do in Dublin tbh. (same for most other ITs and Unis around the country from what I hear - just negative vibes coming from Carlow..)

If I end up in the foundry on a thursday night again i'll go mad

I went here when my mates invited me down. There was a live band playing a load of Irish tunes in one of the adjoining pubs - the craic was good, I had a few pints down me and everyone was singing along to the tunes. Then they started playing a bunch of IRA rebel songs and - most surprisingly - the crowd were lapping it up and cheering. It was shockng - I couldn't imagine this happening anywhere else in the country and it only made me feel the odd one out among a bunch of rednecks.

Again I've only been to Carlow a few times when my mates asked me to visit so I'm not gonna claim every night this goes on. Anyway won't be happening again now that they transferred colleges....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

phenomenon wrote: »
    Being a small town isn't an excuse - similarly sized Sligo IT and Dundalk IT seem to be great craic with fantastic amenities (several shopping centres, games arcades, decent clubs and student accomodation complexes for the partaays! Dundalk even has an ice dome)
    You say that Carlow being a small town is no excuse, and then you compare it to the biggest city, and capital of the country? That makes no sense whatsoever. You will not find more that much stuff to do in any small town, be it Sligo, Dundalk or Carlow. Obviously. They arent tourist destinations. And you have several shopping areas, plenty of clubs and pubs, and half the town in student accomodation, with a cinema and loads of different restaurants to eat in.

I was in Carlow for 5 1/2 years (Christ :eek:), and its a great town. It is a small town though, so you are never going to get the wealth or variety of things to do as you will in the city centre. What you have is a smaller community of mainly students, who are in the same situation as you. I had some of the best times ever in Carlow.
    Then they started playing a bunch of IRA rebel songs and - most surprisingly - the crowd were lapping it up and cheering.
    Thats something that i never saw, and i was in the Foundry a lot. The Tower is generally good for live music. Wasnt a big fan of the Foundry's music though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭deaglan169

i have to say i think carlow is great i lived there for a year 3 years ago when i was in college and loved it made the best friends and had the best craic i droped out but im back this sept to re-do my course and cant wait i made friends with the locals who are still there and in college so its great,coming from monaghan carlow is great its a small community and as mentioned earlier its mostly students in same situation, and i do remember in leverttes (however you spell it) a band called isce beatha playing rebel songs was shocked at this having come from border but was a great nites fun:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭iamhunted

carlow has no live nightlife - no live music, nowhere to catch a good band ... just places like scraggs where its the same bland music all the time. at one stage you could catch bands like fight like apes, ham sandwich, hybrasil etc in the underground but not anymore.

boorrring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Least we have the best rag week in the country and i don't even go to the college there.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i went for 5 years there and it rocks! Best place to go out in the country, in terms of student-ness. Weekends arent great, since the locals come out!! ;)

but still, im from dublin, and if i could go back in time to the leaving cert, i'd still stick carlow on me CAO. in fact, its all i'd apply for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭fitzcarraldo

iamhunted wrote: »
    carlow has no live nightlife - no live music, nowhere to catch a good band ... just places like scraggs where its the same bland music all the time. at one stage you could catch bands like fight like apes, ham sandwich, hybrasil etc in the underground but not anymore.

boorrring.

I know what you mean, The music soc needs a kick up the arse! the rag week is great craic though, getting very messy when you are trying to eat a dodgy breakfast on the friday morning after a punishing week.

We'll what its like after another year but give me a night Dublin anyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

If I get pissed off with college, me and my mates take a walk anywhere - down Grafton St to check out the street performers; along the boardwalk; in one of the parks. There is a variety of restaurants to eat out in offering cuisine from around the world (as opposed to McDonalds in Carlow?) For the culture vultures among us Trinity is surrounded by museums - the national art gallery and science museum are literally outside the campus gates. Sometimes we go and squander a few quid in Cineworld games arcade or see a film. Everything is in walking distance - bliss!

As regards getting drunk there is a huge choice of clubs offering dance, hip hop, rock and even the chart shíte that gets shoved down your throat in Carlow if you like. Not to mention the many gigs that take place in several venues across the city. If you more in the mood for a quiet session with friends take the DART out to Killiney and drink on the beach.

Your imagination is the limit when it comes for things to do in Dublin tbh. (same for most other ITs and Unis around the country from what I hear - just negative vibes coming from Carlow..)

Comparing carlow to dublin is a bit much. You think carlow only has mcdonalds and pubs that play chart music?

Nearly all the stuff you talked about above can be done in Carlow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭offaly4sam

I cant believe people are talking s***e about carlow. Im goin into 2nd year an my god,last year was some crack. I like the town,everything is in walking distance,you know nearly every 1 in the college and night life is great. And dont get me started on RAG week...what a week. One of the best in ireland. But social life aside,its a great down with loads of facilities

Some of you seem to be extremely defensive about the town. Each to his own, but Carlow is not my cup of tea.

I think its safe to conclude that if you come from a small town/rural area you will love Carlow, probably because you don't know any better. Those of us from bigger towns/cities would be bored there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭gosimeon

Some of you seem to be extremely defensive about the town. Each to his own, but Carlow is not my cup of tea.

I think its safe to conclude that if you come from a small town/rural area you will love Carlow, probably because you don't know any better. Those of us from bigger towns/cities would be bored there.

Well, I'm glad you safely concluded that then, just like one could probably eat their own **** once in a while if they put their mind to it. Obviously, then, all of who enjoy our time in Carlow and what it has to offer, only do so because we are country folk who know no different.

Or, maybe, just perhaps, paying a fortune for accommodation to live in a city just isn't our thing? Maybe the night life in Carlow is actually to our liking, or perhaps we don't decide our college decisions on what the clubs are like? Of course, the fact Carlow is one of the bigger stag and hen night destinations in Ireland would seem to contradict your conclusion that Carlow has a boring nightlife and offers nothing but the company of farmers dancing to bad pop. Carlow has a lot of night clubs and vinues ranging from the small Venue which hosts bands and so forth, to the tower for bigger live bands, to the Foundry for your typical nite-club fare, not the mention all the other clubs that all provide something different. Try find nights out anywhere else like you would have in the Cellar. Sure, it's a kip, but it's a fun one, with cheap beer and occasional topless waitresses.

**** off back to the city and leave us small town folk to our small town. You don't seem to have a clue about what you are talking about. I'm not saying Carlow is the place to be, but if you want to have a good time, it has plenty to offer.

I couldn't care less, Carlow is a bit of a kip, i was just pointing out the stupid things you said in your post(or whoevers post i quoted)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭KateF

Going into second year now and being from Dublin i'm really sick of Carlow at this stage. Don't get me wrong the town is nice, but there is no real culture in Carlow, just pubs and fastfood places and nights out tend to blend into the same night with the same chart music every week.
    As apposed to Dublin?!?! A lot more Irish culture in Carlow than Dublin. And I go to college in Scotland! So I'm not biased. I would never go to college in Carlow, but thats because I'm from there and I wanted a change of scenery. I'm almost certain I'd never go to Dublin either. The only place in Ireland I'd consider going to college is Galway or Maynooth.
    I know loads of people who go to college in Carlow IT though and they say its great. Its a much smaller tight-knit community of students. The town is a nice size, not too big, but big enough that there's plenty of shops, pubs etc. What else do you want when you're a student?!

I think its safe to conclude that if you come from a small town/rural area you will love Carlow, probably because you don't know any better.

Please, do us a favour and climb down from your high horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭joenailface

I'm from a small rural town and i find carlow boring as hell, unless you're a typical student (alcoholic) then there's nothing to do in carlow, if anyone would care to elaborate on what there is to do that doesnt involve the old 'my town has culture, **** you **** off back to dublin, we dont like your type round here' then id be quite grateful. I haven't looked it up either but im fairly sure carlow isn't the only place in ireland that sells alcohol...so that doesn't really count as 'why carlow isnt boring'

Someone said rednecks...i think that's quite apt

In summery, if you like getting pissed, carlow is for you (along with every other town with a college in ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭ShayK1

I'm from a small rural town and i find carlow boring as hell, unless you're a typical student (alcoholic) then there's nothing to do in carlow, if anyone would care to elaborate on what there is to do that doesnt involve the old 'my town has culture, **** you **** off back to dublin, we dont like your type round here' then id be quite grateful. I haven't looked it up either but im fairly sure carlow isn't the only place in ireland that sells alcohol...so that doesn't really count as 'why carlow isnt boring'

Someone said rednecks...i think that's quite apt

In summery, if you like getting pissed, carlow is for you (along with every other town with a college in ireland)

I'm sorry for ignoring the rest of that post but I just want to clarify.... are you calling Carlow people rednecks?

gosimeon wrote: »
    **** off back to the city and leave us small town folk to our small town.

I sense a lot of aggression in your post. You are coming across as an ignorant country bumpkin scared to walk outside his garden gate into the big wide world. It seems you are trying to convince yourself that Carlow is great fun tbh. Keep teilling yourself this next time you are dancing to cotton eyed joe in the empty Foundry on a Thursday night, among the same old faces.
    I'm not saying Carlow is the place to be

Good, because that would be a lie.
    Sure, it's a kip, but with cheap beer and occasional topless waitresses.

So the local girls like to get their tits out eh? Maybe its time I paid Carlow a re-visit and review my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭joenailface

ShayK1 wrote: »
    I just want to clarify.... are you calling Carlow people rednecks?

wow...you're quick...must be that college education

I'm glad you cleared that up for me :)
    You've no idea how glad tbh

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

I tolerated your first post, as it is a personal opinion and somewhat valid enough, but I have zero tolerance for this type of snide comments directed at the users of these forums and the people who attend Carlow IT.

You've been using these forums for over 2 years now, so I'm going to skip the warning and go straight to the 1 week ban.

Your comment(s) was/were totally uncalled for and I've already received reports about it in just a little over 30 minutes.

I am actually shocked you would consider this acceptable on a forum that you've rarely posted on and attacking a poster who merely asked you to clarify your statement.

Ivan wrote: »
    I tolerated your first post, as it is a personal opinion and somewhat valid enough, but I have zero tolerance for this type of snide comments directed at the users of these forums and the people who attend Carlow IT.

You've been using these forums for over 2 years now, so I'm going to skip the warning and go straight to the 1 week ban.

Your comment(s) was/were totally uncalled for and I've already received reports about it in just a little over 30 minutes.

I am actually shocked you would consider this acceptable on a forum that you've rarely posted on and attacking a poster who merely asked you to clarify your statement.

Jaysus, whats next? Giving out bans for just posting :pac:

With all due respect, the ban was a bit harsh Ivan. I mean this is boards.ie, not Prime Time. The slagging is part of what makes the argument more interesting and entertaining. Alot more abuse gets thrown around in AH and other forums. You shouldn't give in to the whingers who immediately PM you as soon as someone shatters their perception of Carlow as an impeccable town

you must have been on holidays for the past few years, boards is easily the strictest message board i've ever been on

You started a thread suggesting you thought Carlow was boring. Which is fair enough, thats your opinion. But you did little or nothing to keep the thread to the topic at hand and started verbally bashing people who attend Carlow IT and people from Carlow. How did you think this would end well?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I'm from a rural area and I find that remark extremely insulting. I didn't even bother to read the rest of the thread, you need to come down a notch or two first.

In fairness, I didnt have a problem with his insulting Carlow or the college... I could tell some stories too...

I banned him for an unprovoked personal insult against a valued member of these forums, for no (obvious) justifiable reason.

If joenailface or anyone else wants to PM me to explain his motivation for an unprovoked attack and why I should remove/decrease it, then I will consider, with terms and conditions attached, looking into it.

But I will say this, a member of these forums for 2 years should know better than wading onto an unknown forum and insulting someone for querying their post.

Oh, and for the record, this isnt AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Boards is becoming very very strict, too strict in some places but calling people from carlow rednecks. warrants it I believe. well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 sondal

I am from Carlow, and loved growing up there. The IT was only getting off the ground when I was a student, but it looks a fine place to study now. I agree that comparison with Dublin is futile, as Dublin has plenty of dire places too. In Carlow , the main problem IMO seems to be that the businesses in such as small place dont really cater for a growing student population. The Foundry is ok now and again, but gets stale if you go out in the same thursday to saturday suss. The level of aggro too at times takes the biscuit, and if you are the driver on a saturday night its embarrassing seeing all the blood and guts on the street. That said the money making half baked night clubs could do with sorting out the in bred bouncers that appear to be on sweetner to knock seven lumps of s**** of you then send you up to see some dope doctor in Caredoc. I started off this post trying to be objective, but have to admit I left Carlow this year for good. Rock on all you first year students and be cool

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Thats one of the most ignorant posts i've seen in a long time. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Nead21

I didnt know this was a Carlow bashing session!
    i'm from Carlow town, and i went to college in Dublin. TBH my friends who studied in Carlow IT seemed, in my opinion, to have a better social life with regards to meeting more people, and clubs, societies etc. I found in Dublin you only really met people from your course, and people always went to different pubs/clubs so you missed out on that walking into a pub and always meeting people you know kinda feeling!

If people dont like carlow then why not transfer to a different college? Half the experience of college is enjoying where you are.

Nead21 wrote: »

If people dont like carlow then why not transfer to a different college? Half the experience of college is enjoying where you are.

Well said Nead21

Kiith wrote: »
    Thats one of the most ignorant posts i've seen in a long time. Well done.

Just when you thought I was ready to let this topic go....

Kiith mate I don't think your qualified to even enter this discussion considering your idea of a night out is having the acne ridden virgins from your computer science class over to play Warhammer with you. Which species do you play as? I reckon an ork would suit you.

The only thing I'm ignorant of is the rules to nerdy sci-fi board games. I'm sure a quick scan over your past posts will enlighten me though.

Ok, thats it. Phenomenon, you'll be joining joenailface, for a weeks ban and this thread is officially done.