Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice little quick, cheap car

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Looks great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Looks like a trade value. Someone will be very happy with that!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

cracking little car there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'd love one, but for what it is, it's overpriced IMO. Who's gonna want a 10 year old 2l supermini, which is what it would be by the time I'd be done with it.

Great car, and it will sell, but seriously, you'd want your head examined to pay that much for it. (And yes I do know it was probably £22k or whatever)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

ninty9er wrote: »
    I'd love one, but for what it is, it's overpriced IMO. Who's gonna want a 10 year old 2l supermini, which is what it would be by the time I'd be done with it.

Well a 10 year old 1 litre supermini is really only worth €1000 anyway so what difference does it make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Wouldn't touch it. Looks like a nice car, but it's 8 years old and is 2 litres! Furthermore it's an obsolete model.

Also "The price quoted is the figure I have been offered as a trade in on my new car" makes me wonder. Why wouldn't the seller save themselves the hassle of a private sale and simply trade it in for that price? Answer: because they've been offered less in trade. Mileage seems incredibly low too

CtrlSource wrote: »
    Wouldn't touch it. Looks like a nice car, but it's 8 years old and is 2 litres! Furthermore it's an obsolete model.

How many 8 year old car of any make or model is still current? (moreso one that came out 10 years ago)

and is 2 litres!

Thats the point.

Very few. But it's relevant when it comes to value. The other cons i mentioned are probably more important to a potential buyer though

Very few. But it's relevant when it comes to value

How much will an 01 Golf GTI set you back? (th clio is much quicker btw)

Very few. But it's relevant when it comes to value. The other cons i mentioned are probably more important to a potential buyer though

Your other con was that its a 2 litre. Whats the point of a hot hatch that isnt hot?

i prefaced all this by saying i wouldn't touch it, for various reasons but not just the price. Nothing wrong with hot hatches, but i would imagine the market for an old 2 litre Clio is limited.

Sounds to me like you should buy it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Also "The price quoted is the figure I have been offered as a trade in on my new car" makes me wonder. Why wouldn't the seller save themselves the hassle of a private sale and simply trade it in for that price?
    Because they'll get a cash discount on their new car if they don't have a trade-in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 a2dg

"How much will an 01 Golf GTI set you back? (th clio is much quicker btw)"

Sold my gti turbo 00 last nov for 9250, clio might be quicker standard but the possibilites of the golf are much greater than the 2ltr staight clio.... not to mention the the appearence, for all the non petrol head out there ur in a 17year old girls car:D

No one is gonna buy this thinking about resale value. Drive it good and hard for three years and the Clio will owe you nothing :)

a2dg wrote: »

Sold my gti turbo 00 last nov for 9250, clio might be quicker standard but the possibilites of the golf are much greater than the 2ltr staight clio.... not to mention the the appearence, for all the non petrol head out there ur in a 17year old girls car:D
    You're right, chipping a Mk4 Golf is easy. Makes about as much sense as fitting nitrous to a golf buggy, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

That reminds me, I spotted a Clio V6 Renault Sport, the mid engined one, in Limerick last week, stunning car. It's on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Who's gonna want a 10 year old 2l supermini, which is what it would be by the time I'd be done with it.

Well it is only €5,000. Its rarity value alone will mean you will always find someone willing to part with €1k for it so long as it is clean. That is 4 thousand Euro it will depreciate. It is a 2001 and will be 10 years old in 2011. Assuming it is now 2009, you would only keep the car 2 years. It will loose 2k p.a.

Not many cars depreciate by less than 2k p.a.

maidhc wrote: »
    Well it is only €5,000. Its rarity value alone will mean you will always find someone willing to part with €1k for it so long as it is clean. That is 4 thousand Euro it will depreciate. It is a 2001 and will be 10 years old in 2011. Assuming it is now 2009, you would only keep the car 2 years. It will loose 2k p.a.

But trying to find someone who wants it at €1k, even if it is worth that is still going to be an issue.

Jesus, ninety9er, don't be such a tightwad! You could burn it after three years and it'd still have cost you less than a fiver a day. And there was me thinking you were a car enthusiast...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

future classic. There supposed to be seriously fun to drive.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Jesus, ninety9er, don't be such a tightwad! You could burn it after three years and it'd still have cost you less than a fiver a day. And there was me thinking you were a car enthusiast...

I don't have the type of money that allows me to go dumping 6k on a 2l French hot hatch. If it was 2k it would be a different matter.

I don't want you to buy it, I just want you to get excited about it. Sure I can't afford it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

brilliant value!

lucky person who gets that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

maidhc wrote: »

Yeh it's an enthuasiasts car....the type of person who is going to buy it knows what to expect. I hate Renaults but would consider buying it (in different circumstances) as it's meant to be a fast & fun hot hatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

I like them

there was a clio williams on adverts there for nice money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

A few well looked after 106 GTis around and IMO you wont find a better small fast hatch for the money that can do what one of theese can do.
    Unfortunatly mine's not for sale:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

These cars are about appreciation not depreciation.

But hey why stop at the Clio 172, go the whole way to a piece of motoring history for a few grand more:

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=Car&carID=839647&message=You%20searched%20for%3A%20Renault%20Alpine%2E%20Your%20search%20returned%20one%20vehicle%2C%20which%20is%20shown%20below%2E&CFID=5688228&CFTOKEN=33304173

bazz26 wrote: »
    These cars are about appreciation not depreciation.

But hey why stop at the Clio 172, go the whole way to a piece of motoring history for a few grand more:

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=Car&carID=839647&message=You%20searched%20for%3A%20Renault%20Alpine%2E%20Your%20search%20returned%20one%20vehicle%2C%20which%20is%20shown%20below%2E&CFID=5688228&CFTOKEN=33304173

I've had my eye on that one for ages. Just waiting for a few grand of disposable income to drop into my lap is all.

Stekelly wrote: »
    I've had my eye on that one for ages. Just waiting for a few grand of disposable income to drop into my lap is all.

Not too many of them about the place now either.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Not too many of them about the place now either.

There was a couple of nice ones at the Terenure show last year. I was just a lotto win away from leavign there with a transporter full of Capris and Alpines.:)

The Alpine is rare and sweet and more affordable than I thought, but it's a completely different proposition compared to the Clio. The Alpine is a classic supercar. The Clio is a modern hot hatch. The latter is faster, which says a lot about car evolution over the past few decades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

That Clio is nearly too good to be true, I smell a scam. They're £3500 and up in the UK at the moment. Having had a few passenger spins in other 172s, I can confirm that they are a ridiculously good car. They're quick, handle well, and would put most current hot hatches to shame. Anyone looking at a hot hatch bargain won't care if it's the pre-facelift model or not, the 172 is rated over later models like the 197 by many Renault heads. Seriously good value if it's the real deal though!

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Peugeot/205/GTI/1156210/

that's a cheap car that's always gonna have a value. It is however an auto, which doesn't really bother me at the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

Not that much of a fan of Clio's but for the money this 172 is a cracker.

Put it this way, its about a squillion* times better than a Honda Civic VTi which would be difficult to get for this money.

*scientific measure:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

i think a lot of people are just seeing a 2litre clio and thinking wtf

this is one of the best handling hot hatches in years, think pug 205gti with way more power, these will always sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Peugeot/205/GTI/1156210/

that's a cheap car that's always gonna have a value. It is however an auto, which doesn't really bother me at the price.
    An auto 205 GTI! Em give me the Clio any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Possibilities? You pay 9250 for a Golf and then some more to tune it, say a grand to get an easy few bhp more. Throw 5 grand at that Clio with a professional tuner to bring it to the same price and it'd mop the floor with a chipped GTi. Don't count tuning. Standard it's quicker, cheaper and much better handling. Can't knock it.

Biro wrote: »
    Possibilities? You pay 9250 for a Golf and then some more to tune it, say a grand to get an easy few bhp more. Throw 5 grand at that Clio with a professional tuner to bring it to the same price and it'd mop the floor with a chipped GTi. Don't count tuning. Standard it's quicker, cheaper and much better handling. Can't knock it.

Having driven a chipped 1.8T Golf there is no way it would hang on to the back of a Clio 172. It might hold it in a straight line (the golf was very quick in a straight line to be fair) but it will not hold a better handling, smaller, lighter car with a better power to weight ratio through the bends.

The Clio 172 was the class leader in its day, really until the Mk5 GTi arrived.

Cyrus wrote: »
    i think a lot of people are just seeing a 2litre clio and thinking wtf

Unfortunately this mentality has been drilled into alot of Irish motorists over the years due to numerous governments seeing the soft touch motorist as being an easy way of generating revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

why do people have a problem with the fact that it's 2ltrs? I have 3 cars at home with a total of 8ltrs between them... and I want more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Wouldn't touch it. Looks like a nice car, but it's 8 years old and is 2 litres!

such a sad attitude that will deny you many nice cars my friend.

quarryman wrote: »
    such a sad attitude that will deny you many nice cars my friend.

I'd be more of the "small car, big engine, whats not to like?" mindset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

This Irish mentality is very good!

keep it up until I've the money saved for this car please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I could get a roasting for being a dick here but.....

Seriously lads - do you guy's have any interest in cars at all ?
    This is the attitude of people with no clue about what they are on about.
    Your attitude is a perfect example of a major issue the motors forum is having imo.

Anyway -
    The 172 is a future classic and was an excellent addition to a long line of fast hatches from arguably the finest hot hatch maker of them all.
    If I had a garage and 5k lying about - I would love to mothball one of those or if I was looking for a track car - it would be hard to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭omega man

Another poor soul who thinks the GTI is the be all end all. That MKIV was pants, looks and engine. I would rather 1 'petrol head' admiring my car then 100 non 'petrol heads'. As for a '17 year old girls car', it would be pathetic enough to get smoked by a little clio but to be smoked by a 17 year old girl driving a clio :D. BTW the 172 & 182 were cracking little cars, great handling and just fun to drive. Will give a few red faces to many a 'bigger' car driver!

RobAMerc wrote: »
    I could get a roasting for being a dick here but.....

Seriously lads - do you guy's have any interest in cars at all ?
    This is the attitude of people with no clue about what they are on about.
    Your attitude is a perfect example of a major issue the motors forum is having imo.

Anyway -
    The 172 is a future classic and was an excellent addition to a long line of fast hatches from arguably the finest hot hatch maker of them all.
    If I had a garage and 5k lying about - I would love to mothball one of those or if I was looking for a track car - it would be hard to beat.

I'd buy a 13 year old 4.2l A8 if I could afford to run it....that Clio's just not for me, maybe it's that it's a Clio.

I could probably justify it if it was a Polo or 206

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Ooooh...I'm sitting on the fence on this one.
    I've never driven a 172 or been in one but the mags raved about them and some knowledgeable people on here seem to have a very positive first-hand experience.

It's not really my cup of tea - maybe deep down I'm prejudiced. But I tip my hat to anyone with the sheer-bloody-petrolheaditis to appreciate this car.

I really hope it goes to a genuine enthusiast that will appreciate it and not some Burberry-be-decked skanger who will weight it down with a go-faster bodykit, oversized wheels and a stereo system the size of a Volvo - which I think is a real danger at that price.

This logic baffles me:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I'd buy a 13 year old 4.2l A8 if I could afford to run it....that Clio's just not for me, maybe it's that it's a Clio.

Oh christ.
    Please tell me your being sarcastic ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

show me a 206 or Polo that would be as good as a Clio 172?? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭VH

siralfalot wrote: »
    show me a 206
    206 GTI 180 - close but prob not quite as good