Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever let "the one" slip through your fingers?

• 17-08-2008 2:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Was just thinking about this. Few years ago, I met this lovely guy in a bar. He wasn't a local but from about an hour away. We got on grand etc. It was only later when I thought back that I realised that he liked me etc. but I was too stupid to notice the signs. Maybe I'm reading too much into this etc. and perhaps he didn't really like me and it mightn't have worked out. You get the gist. But I do occasionally wonder what could have been.

Edit: I didn't explain this too well unfortunately. I'm not one of those people who thinks there's only one person out there for you. There are any number of "ones" out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I did indeed..back in the day..ahh

I'm destined to a life of loneliness now :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rhapsody!

Don't think I've met the one yet lol
    Maybe I have and he's too stupid to realise I like him??
    Anything is possible!

I've been let slip by the one. Bastard. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

He wasn't the one but I was mad about a guy in school. We became really good friends in 5th and 6th year and I didn't want to ruin things. He was so different from all the other assholes I was into at the time. Looking back it would have done me so much good and changed a lot in my life to have gone out with a really genuine, intelligent, nice guy at that stage of my life. There was definitely a spark there but neither of us did anything about it. I haven't ran into him in years but I still dream about him 5 or 6 times a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

All the freakin' time.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

happens waaay too much to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

OH dear becoming the we hate men club thread.

To give it balance. My 1st love fu*ked me up for a long time. I am male and unlike pop opinion can love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭síofra

Firetrap wrote: »
    Was just thinking about this. Few years ago, I met this lovely guy in a bar. He wasn't a local but from about an hour away. We got on grand etc. It was only later when I thought back that I realised that he liked me etc. but I was too stupid to notice the signs. Maybe I'm reading too much into this etc. and perhaps he didn't really like me and it mightn't have worked out. You get the gist. But I do occasionally wonder what could have been.
    If he was the one, he would be with you now. Don't dwell too much on the past because you're looking at it from a different perspective than you were then. There was a reason that things happened the way they did. Learn from the experience and next time you meet someone in a bar you might be a bit more sensitive to the possibilities!! All the best :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

Magpie! wrote: »
    He wasn't the one but I was mad about a guy in school. We became really good friends in 5th and 6th year and I didn't want to ruin things. He was so different from all the other assholes I was into at the time. Looking back it would have done me so much good and changed a lot in my life to have gone out with a really genuine, intelligent, nice guy at that stage of my life. There was definitely a spark there but neither of us did anything about it. I haven't ran into him in years but I still dream about him 5 or 6 times a year.

its OK im still here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

yeah one night when out i seen this absolutley gorgeous girl!!

i observed her for a while, seen her smile, her interaction with her friends, the cute way she played with her hair!

then just as i was about to make my move......one of her neighbours spotted me hiding in the bushes at the back of her house and the guards were called :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭síofra

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I've been let slip by the one. Bastard. :mad:
    he wasn't the one for you so.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I think people need to get this 'one person for everybody' claptrap out of their heads.

There's probably dozens in your locality.

Millions worldwide.

Why dwell on one when you could have them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Well I broke up with the only girl I've ever loved. But I'm 22 so I'm gonna go with 'No'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Twice:(

Both times too fu*king stupid to recognise that she was the one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

taidghbaby wrote: »

i observed her for a while, seen her smile, her interaction with her friends, the cute way she played with her hair!

then just as i was about to make my move......one of her neighbours spotted me hiding in the bushes at the back of her house and the guards were called :(

jigs**?????? that you????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rhapsody!

taidghbaby wrote: »

you "seen" her did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

rhapsody! wrote: »
    you "seen" her did you?

That is to say I saw her.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Naw at the time I may have thought so, but nope. They were right at the time. That's about it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

"What's for you wont pass you"...............
    and other such phrases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Taking a romantic walk along the cliffs of Howth with my one through love, she slipped on loose gravel, and try as I might she slipped through my fingers and fell to her death.

Yup, she was the one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

I am the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Twice....in primary school admittedly:pac:

Made a fool of myself telling one of them years later how I felt....she pitied me for ages after that, I could see it in her face. Didn't help she was great friends with a few guys in my secondary school and that her brother was in my year...the ripping I got.....hugely embarassing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Yep.
    Could go into a long story but on the off chance that she's on boards I won't.

But I will admit that I do still wonder about what might have been. She won't even talk to me anymore though (it's been about a year and a half at this stage).

It's strange regretting this situation because I knwo that it would never have worked. Her friends hated me and I never knew what to say to them anyway.

To make matters worse I didn't just let her slip away once. It happened about four times. Each one was accompanied with a "will they/won't they?" vibe until finally I lost her to some jackass after stumbling into an arguement between her and one of her friends (that I had known for ages) and accidentally made it seem as though I was more loyal to the friend.

I still text to wish her good luck in exams, happy Christmas, happy birthday etc. but she never replies.
    Perhaps it's time I stopped as I'm reasonably sure she really hates me and could neer forgive me (even though I'm not entirely sure I did anything wrong).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Three times.
    Had a dream about one of them last night. Although I'm sort of glad she didn't end up being the one.
    I met her a year or so ago after she had been in Australia for several years and just thought to myself what the fúck was I thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

The Master wrote: »
    and other such phrases

I really hope that's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

I don't believe in "the one" ....plenty o' fish and all that...

• Subscribers Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭girl_friday

"What's for you wont pass you"...

Hopefully!! I've been dumped twice by the same guy... Wouldn't have gone back the second time only I really did (do?) believe he was the one... :( After recovering from my broken heart the second time I swore he wasn't getting another chance although we are still in contact. Have kind of knocked him back a few times since so hoping there is another 'one' out there!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭dmca77

I am a firm believer that you make your life the way you want it. I personally have always moved on and on to better things. I could just have been lucky.
    You never look back at the past and dwell on things, look to the future and make your life happier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Don't think I've met the 'one' - assuming I'd recognise him that is....

I've regretted some decisions on occasion, but I've known they were the right decisions at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

I believe so, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Life is too short for regrets...

Whats for you wont pass you as someone already sorta said...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

m83 wrote: »

O Rly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Yup!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

and other such phrases

I don't usually listen to advice from matchboxes and sugar packets. Mol an óige agus go néirigh an bóthar bla bla bla. If I didn't listen to those fortune cookies what makes me think I'm going to listen to a box of cara safety matches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Ah I used to think that about someone but I've met the one now so he obviously wasn't....and if he is your one then you'll meet again. If not, it wasn't him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,656 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Too young to have a "One that got away" story to tell, but it would make for grand romantic film, if the producers would stop focusing on pure violence (like "No Country for Old Men") and screen something that relies more on acting in real life situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 sputnik2_2000

In college a few years ago there was this guy in my lectures who I got on great with, we sat beside each other, we'd meet up on nights out & the odd night share a taxi home together, we always flirted and nearly kissed one night, at the time I was raging that nothing had happened and even till a year ago (until I met my current bf) I used to always think what if... but now I'm so glad that nothing ever did happen; we've lost touch and I hear the odd bit about him & he appears to be a complete tosser now (maybe he always was) and I'm just glad that I wasn't just another girl to him, if anything I now love the fact that nothing did happen and if I saw him on a night out I can honestly say I'd be thinking 'thank God I didn't!' Strange how things change...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I don't think I have, wasn't there a thread in AH recently about this?

Something similar: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=55768339#post55768339

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭McSandwich

Yes, but in hindsight I'm glad the way things worked out.

so tempted to say something involving slipping, fingers, and Yore Ma, but I won't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Clare Bear wrote: »
    ....and if he is your one then you'll meet again. If not, it wasn't him.

That's what happened for me with a previous long-term relationship. I met this guy maybe once a year. There was definitely some chemistry there but the communication skills to turn it into something more were seriously lacking. It was about 4 years before we finally got together.

I can honestly say I'd be thinking 'thank God I didn't!' Strange how things change...

I hate when that happens. I don't like to be reminded of how much I've changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Yep, only two months ago at the Co Co's reunion in Cork.... (bangs head against monitor repeatedly).... Why, oh Why..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭georgem25

Left one.. possibly 2 go..
    2 have definitely left me go....

what was meant for you wont pass you....

As per the wise old words of Gareth Brooks....
    Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
    Remember when you're talkin' to the man upstairs
    That just because he doesn't answer doesn't mean he don't care
    Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers
    etc etc ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭HoneyButterfly

Phlann wrote: »
    I think people need to get this 'one person for everybody' claptrap out of their heads.

There's probably dozens in your locality.

Millions worldwide.

Why dwell on one when you could have them all.

Well I dont' believe you can have them all, but I mean, lots of people are saying they've missed 'the one' loads of times....then I'm guessing they wern't the one, but just one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ats

yep we all have i think. the worst part for me was finding her again only she's married with kids .

god damn it should have followed up on that message i left all those years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

m83 wrote: »

I agree that it's possible to have good relationships with various different people but people who've had a few relationships can always tell you who the love of their life was even if they're happy now with someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Reality is never as good as the ideal. If you dont realise that you're sunk.

Get the finger out and enjoy what you have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭adsgirl

No never, am much to smart, I let them all go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Well the good news is there's no way of knowing if he's "the one" because all ye did was talk in the bar or whatever, unless you believe in love at first sight, which doesn't happen really

But on the subject at hand, last year I was dumped by this girl I had been with for a year and was left with a major fear of commitment, I was having panic attacks if I met a girl a second time, it was a really messy break up. And then I started seeing a friend of mine, but wouldn't commit cuz of the fear but she tolerated my crap and then she eventually got sick of me and left. She went to New Mexico, then Uganda and will be back soon, I'd like something to happen again, I'm ready for a commitment with her but I've blown it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Theres a few guys who thought I was 'the one' for them but they definatly werent for me. If they really are 'the one' then feelings must be reciprocated and mutual.

Theres definatly one ex I regret breaking up with and I think he was 'the one'. The feelings I had with him were something I had never experienced before and havent experienced since him. Unfortunatly that ship has sailed and Im destined to a life where all the people I date will always be second best.