Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

please settle a party music arguement for me

• 16-08-2008 4:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭

rite fellas!! just back from a party where ive had a party with one of my so called best mates. i had youtube going towards the end of the nite and i had some terrible tunes going, for example five, will smith, and the king of all songs wes - alane when my "friend" tells me that im wecking everyones head and he turns on boring **** like arcade fire.

now dont get me wrong, i like a bit of that kind of stuff but i think its a bit boring at a party. so the party dies IMO and i say it to him, cue him going onto a big rant about how much of a c u next tuesday i am listening to this kinda music at partys. i could keep going on about what he said but that really doesnt matter as im very drunk.

my only questio is in regards to party music - do you prefer to listen to pop ANTHEMS no matter how **** and catchy they are, or are you one of these proper assholes who only likes music "from the heart" as my freak friend would say.

ps will smith - gettin jiggy wit it = best tune ever

party music?? the cheesier and ****ter the better!?! 26 votes

ive got my goldfish shoes and leisure suit on and listening to a catchy 80s jingle right now
    0% 0 votes
    im boring.
    100% 26 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Will Smith's music should never ever be played again.

He should probably give up the acting game too come to think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭WiDGe->

are you one of these guitar playing lads??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

That's rich comming from a backstreet boys fanatic Xavi.
    Glasse houses and all that.

I agree with the OP.
    Gettin jiggy wit it be the SH1tnizzle

...bring it

woooooooooo uh uh uh uh uh, ha-ha, ha-ha
    what what what WHAT WHAT?!

UH

On your mark ready set lets go
    Dance floor pro I know you know
    I go psycho when my new joint hit
    Just cant sit
    Gotta get jiggy wit it
    Ooh thats it
    Now honey honey come ride
    Dkny all up in my eye
    You gotta prada bag with alotta stuff in it
    Give it to your friend lets spin
    Everybody lookin at me
    Glancin the kid
    Wishin they was dancin a jig
    Here with this handsome kid
    Ciga-cigar right from cuba-cuba
    I just bite it
    Its for the look I dont light it
    Illway the an-may on the ance-day oor-flay
    Givin up jiggy make it feel like foreplay
    Yo, my car, yo its infinite-
    Ha ha
    Big willie styles all in it
    Gettin jiggy wit it
    \o\
    |0|
    /0/

Chorus:

Na na na na na na na nana
    Na na na na nana
    Gettin jiggy wit it
    Repeat 3x

What you wanna ball with the kid
    Watch your step you might fall
    Trying to do what I did
    Mama-unh mama-unh ima come closer
    In the middle of the club with the rub-a-dub, unh
    No love for the haters, the haters
    Mad cause I got floor seats at the lakers
    See me on the fifty yard line with the raiders
    Met ali he told me Im the greatest
    I got the fever for the flavor of a crowd pleaser
    Dj play another
    From the prince of this
    Your highness
    Only mad chicks ride in my whips
    South to the west to the east to the north
    Bought my hits and watch em go off a go off
    Ah yes yes yall and ya dont stop
    In the winter or the (summertime)
    I makes it hot
    Gettin jiggy wit em

Chorus
    \o\
    |0|
    /0/

Eight-fifty i.s. if you need a lift
    Whos the kid in the drop
    Who else will smith
    Livin that life some consider a myth
    Rock from south street to one two fifth
    Women used to tease me
    Give it to me now nice and easy
    Since I moved up like george and wheezy
    Cream to the maximum I be askin em
    Would you like to bounce with the brother thats platinum
    Never see will attackin em
    Rather play ball with shaq and um,
    Flatten em
    Psyche
    Kiddin
    You thought I took a spill
    But I didnt
    Trust the lady of my life she hittin
    Hit her with a drop top with the ribbon
    Crib for my mom on the outskirts of philly
    You trying to flex on me
    Dont be silly
    Getting jiggy wit it
    \o\
    |0|
    /0/

Chorus

\o\
    |0|
    /0/

\o\
    |0|
    /0/

\o\
    |0|
    /0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

WiDGe-> wrote: »
    rite fellas!! just back from a party where ive had a party with one of my so called best mates. i had youtube going towards the end of the nite and i had some terrible tunes going, for example blazin squad, five, will smith, and the king of all songs wes - alane when my "friend" tells me that im wecking everyones head and he turns on boring **** like arcade fire.

now dont get me wrong, i like a bit of that kind of stuff but i think its a bit boring at a party. so the party dies IMO and i say it to him, cue him going onto a big rant about how much of a c u next tuesday i am listening to this kinda music at partys. i could keep going on about what he said but that really doesnt matter as im very drunk.

my only questio is in regards to party music - do you prefer to listen to pop ANTHEMS no matter how **** and catchy they are, or are you one of these proper assholes who only likes music "from the heart as my gfreak friend would say.

fail

And let's not forget this classic!

Fair enough Rig, I'll give you the Fresh Prince tune but his other stuff is horrendous. 'Wild Wild West' being the main offender.

eh no.

miami and will2k are my particular favorites

Ah summertime is a classic summertime song

And what about Miami?

You're clearly doing him a great disservice Xavi

fail

id say ur great craic, ur probably one of these morons who plays "falling slowly" on the guitar in the middle of a party

He has long hair too wiDGe->, git him!

Come on now, I'm all for cheesy party songs but 'Miami' is a shocker.

OP, you need to embrace the 80s instead

will smith is probably the most entertaining person on this planet

Here's some backpassage boys instead to placate you Xavi

WiDGe-> wrote:
    will smith is probably the most entertaining person on this planet

Now I think you're doing yourself a disservice WiDGE->

oh i love 80s tunes aswell but i think that 90s music is well under-rated. did anyone say they want some ricky!?

No.
    That is just wrong.
    Seek help.

^^^ Hmmm I think you need to realise the difference between cheese and pure crap tbh

boooooooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

fail
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    No.
    That is just wrong.
    Seek help.
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    ^^^ Hmmm I think you need to realise the difference between cheese and pure crap tbh

ger yer dancin shoes on:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

And we have a winner..

Widgie, no offence but your taste is bloody awful. If you're going to listen to the cream of the 80's/90's at least make it the good, less cringeworthy stuff.

Will Smith is a cool dude though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Dave147 wrote: »
    And we have a winner.

Widgie, no offence but your taste is bloody awful. If you're going to listen to the cream of the 80's/90's at least make it the good, less cringeworthy stuff.

Will Smith is a cool dude though :P

Hey quick lesson when putting in youtube link you only put the code after the equals

eg.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOGflCsfefo

Thanks for that, your reward is another CLASSIC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

The visual is fcuked up, but its the best version I could find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Phil Collins
    Huey Lewis and the News
    MJ

Its all good when you're pissed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

The party ONLY gets started when I crack this bad boi out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Cheese is great to have for a party. Back when I was a yung'n, just like you are now WiDGe->... ahh I remember well.. I had a grand selection of cheesy tracks to pump out at the party.

You should add these to your cheese collection, they go down a treat:
    Balini - Samba De Janeiro
    Jimmy Ray - Are you Jimmy Ray?
    Sagget - Funk That
    Sin With Sebastian -Shut up and Sleep with me
    The Kelly Family - An Angel

I'd soon get told to turn that **** off and it'd go back to the same music you hear at every one of these parties by the same people. Guaranteed to hear the same music at each party :(

I hate when people get back and stick on hip-hop and start throwing their poses.

**** off! Dancing is meant to be about having fun, not furthering your arsehole agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

OP, me and you would get along. I would enjoy every second of torturing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

**** yeah! Getting JIGGY! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Will Smith don't gotta cuss in his raps to sell records, well I do, so f*ck him and f*ck you too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

'Wild Wild West' being the main offender.

A song written as a movie theme tune is bad you say? Well I never.

They are rarely classics. Will smith on the other hand is a legend. Oh and before I forget, thats a FACT.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

rite fellas!! just back from a party where ive had a party with one of my so called best mates. i had youtube going towards the end of the nite and i had some terrible tunes going, for example blazin squad, five, will smith, and the king of all songs wes - alane when my "friend" tells me that im wecking everyones head and he turns on boring **** like arcade fire.

my only questio is in regards to party music - do you prefer to listen to pop ANTHEMS no matter how **** and catchy they are, or are you one of these proper assholes who only likes music "from the heart" as my freak friend would say.

You do realise you can play good music at a party without it being boring?

And when someone starts looking up youtube at a party you know it's gone to ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I'm with you OP, 90s crap FTW!

I'm going to crack out my Will Smith CD and then maybe my Hansen tape.

Mmmm Bop also FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

I'd be on the OP's side for this one!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

The Frames = Party Killer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

cant go wrong with will smith

he is legend after all

Stekelly wrote: »
    A song written as a movie theme tune is bad you say? Well I never.

They are rarely classics. Will smith on the other hand is a legend. Oh and before I forget, thats a FACT.:cool:

It most certainly isn't a fact.

His music is shite and he hasn't done a half decent movie since Enemy of the State ten years ago. Legend for the Fresh Prince, tool for pretty much everything else.

Red Alert wrote: »
    The Frames = Party Killer

The only thing I hate more than The Frames, are fans of The Frames.

It most certainly isn't a fact.

Of course it is, I put it in caps and all. Thats the rules.

Stekelly wrote: »
    Of course it is, I put it in caps and all. Thats the rules.

Dammit I can't compete with logic like that. Kudos on your victory.

Let me try. Liverpool will win nothing this season. FACT.

Ooooh it does work!

Dammit I can't compete with logic like that. Kudos on your victory.

Let me try. Liverpool will win nothing this season. FACT.

Ooooh it does work!

Lets not go down that road. Theres only so far you can stretch that 6 points against Utd, it doesnt equate to winning anything more than 2 games. In fact, as it turns out you'd probably have been better off losing both games and staying out of Europe, it doesnt seem to agree with you. :D

I think a ceasefire is needed.

Will Smith is a legend btw.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

When your the guy in charge of the music at a party know your audience. If there a bunch of hipsters chances are they'll want some electro with a pinch of house/grime dnb dubstep. Metalers want to listen to metal / rock. If the crowd are wearing skinny fit jeans with waistcoats they'll want to listen to Arcade fire and whatever else indie people listen to.

I'd say you were wrecking everyones head and killing the party. Its never acceptable for a guy to play blazin squad or five! unless of course they are playing it to 8 year old kids, a scandalously hot girl requests it or your gay (camp gay at that).

When you sober up you may see the light

Edit:
    what you were playing isnt cheesey 80's tunes its sht 90's pop. That poll is rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

i'm all for cheesy music at parties, but not crapy pop music, give me 80's any day of the week, however, i firmly believe that at a party you should try to match the music to the tastes of the guests and the mood of the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My parties usually just turn into a "sit-down-drink-and-smoke-athon" so I play stuff people actually enjoy listening to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Let each person put on some music of their choosing for a short while. That way one person doesn't control the flow and alienate others. Sure you'll get someone who wants to put on Maniac 2000 or some other tripe but it wont be on the whole night.

This is all you need.. nice and loud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

yeah totally, going to miami surpasses anything by The Arcade Fire, cheesy but good pop like that made by smith/MC Hammer/Seal/Timberlake/early 90s dance and that chick who sings behind a psychedelic background in a music video for that song from 1990, is waaaay better than indie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

to be honest, judging from the op, him and his mates parties sound like the seventh layer of hell. but then again i do have impeccable taste in music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Daddio wrote: »
    And when someone starts looking up youtube at a party you know it's gone to ****.

You can add the Nintendo Wii to the list of things that make a party **** too.