Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The sound of war (well skirmishing)

• 15-08-2008 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭

Hey all I'm thinking of putting together some airsoft videos and was just wondering what kind of music that y'all would like to hear in them. Or maybe you'd prefer to say what kind of music you listen to before a game, or to get ya in the mood for one, personally what does it for me is Slither by Velvet revolver.

Music in airsoft videos? 20 votes

Yay
    0% 0 votes
    Nay
    100% 20 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Platoon & Full Metal Jacket sound tracks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Keggers wrote: »
    what kind of music you listen to before a game, or to get ya in the mood for one

Avril Lavigne - Girlfriend

Not even joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Pantera, Metallica and the Prodigy at deafening decibels.

OR

Dropkick Murphys and other celtic bollocks at even higher decibels.

... this is the only thing that can numb me to the complaints of "Marshal, I gt shot but I don't want ot be out wah wah wah" /sucks thumb & demands nappy change

Oh and before anyone else says it ... "the screams of my victims"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

NakedDex wrote: »
    Avril Lavigne - Girlfriend

Not even joking.
    I can just see it now...

Dex dancing in the middle of a skirmish...

"Hey, hey, you, you, I don't like your girlfriend...."
    Die Mofo's!!!!!!

*sounds of (aeg) gun fire*

kdouglas wrote: »
    I can just see it now...

Die Mofo's!!!!!!

What a great decoy manoever. Cammo top & tight shorts.
    What to do, laugh or shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Killinator

Black Hawk Down soundtrck does it for me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

black 47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I can just see it now...

Die Mofo's!!!!!!

You can laugh, that has actually happened on several occasions. Freaked the hell out of a bunch of newbies one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Metallica and the Prodigy

Yes. Very good hive.

Kasabien, "shoot the runner" ect.

Breaking benjamin.

Lots of stuff, see my vids on youtube for more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Keggers

Kasabien, "shoot the runner" ect.
    I was listening to and considering that exact song when I read that :D:D:D:D

You know what they say about great minds

Keggers wrote: »
    I was listening to and considering that exact song when I read that :D:D:D:D

You know what they say about great minds

This is REALLY old: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4WuKfZUAr8&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

That was an awesome day :D

I know how that guy feels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

I can just see it now...

Die Mofo's!!!!!!

Oh I've seen it with my own eyes - it's strangly intimidating :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

War - "Why Cant We Be Friends?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

Killinator wrote: »
    Black Hawk Down soundtrck does it for me:D

+1 from me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Metallica One? Sounds good with the gun fire and what not at the start... Or if you want something a bit more lively At the gates- Suicide Nation is always good (love the start lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

cowboys from hell; pantara for the buzz but i always thought New Beginnings from xentrix was very apt with regard to the airsofting community

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Lads, yiz all have shocking taste.

"Mae Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau" before watching Wales beating England. Again.
    "Ka Mate" before watching the All Blacks beating the crap out of, well, almost anyone.

Oops, sorry wrong sport. I use music mostly to relax or dance, don't have too many battle songs. "Dearg Doom" is great when you need to get the heartrate up. "Nessun Dorma" is an old reliable. "Men of Harlech", watch the film Zulu and you'll see what I mean

"The Ballad of Chasey Lain" is always fun. ;)

Oh, yeah, and the Buffy theme. LOUD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Silly me. I forgot "Pretty Vacant". Best 3-minute single ever.

Jaysus I never realised so many people were feckin metal heads:eek:, no I don't mind metal but with the additions of words like Death or Dark and ya have crimes against music. What about bands like Foo Fighters, Velvet Revolver, AC/DC, Linkin Park or Kasabian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

nikelback - follow you home
    nikelback - animals
    nikelback - if everyone cared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

daz801 wrote: »
    nikelback - follow you home
    nikelback - animals
    nikelback - if everyone cared

animals is about sex with a minor in a US small town

OzCam wrote: »

Oh, yeah, and the Buffy theme. LOUD.

The Angel(Show on sky one ages ago) Theme would be good for this kinda thing, it'd only work with certain clips but it could be used:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Megadeth - "Holy Wars.........The Punishment Due" or The Cure "Lovecats":D

But most definitely............. Rage Against the Machine "Killling In The Name Of"

The Angel(Show on sky one ages ago) Theme would be good for this kinda thing, it'd only work with certain clips but it could be used:

That would work nicely with some cqb video, would take a good bit of work to get the timing down to co-ordinate the action with the timing of the music though.

Pretty much anything by Muse would be my pick, also as above Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave, Queens of the Stone Age, Prodigy, Placebo.

Or just for laughs, Enya:

Or even, Prodigy and Enya at the same time;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

i personally think music in airsoft videos is generally horendous, why im not much of a fan watching them, and it seems most irish airsoft videos put in some form of music, mostly dire.

http://www.youtube.com/user/scoutthedoggie

If you look at this guy youll find there is no music just ingame sounds, and they are top videos.

from my point of view, as a viewer, i wouldnt watch an airsoft video with music

i want to hear the chat, the banter and the aegs firing....and unless its Adam and the ants or prince, i probably wont like the music :P

A little background music with the original sound from the video is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,086 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

i personally think music in airsoft videos is generally horendous, why im not much of a fan watching them, and it seems most irish airsoft videos put in some form of music, mostly dire.

http://www.youtube.com/user/scoutthedoggie

If you look at this guy youll find there is no music just ingame sounds, and they are top videos.

from my point of view, as a viewer, i wouldnt watch an airsoft video with music

i want to hear the chat, the banter and the aegs firing....and unless its Adam and the ants or prince, i probably wont like the music :P

I have to agree that I much prefer airsoft videos without music. I've seen a few that would have been fantastic if the AEG sounds were left in. There are some great things happening sound wise in games. People editing video would want to be careful not to drown them out completely.

I usually try to balance it so that in large shootouts the guns are quite audible, though you may not hear them all the time.

Personally I like the music, the whine of those aeg motors gets tiringing I think.

But, if the community would like to see them without bg music I'm willing to mix it up. Oisin/Kd/ect can you please add a poll for with or without music?

Also, I should have mentioned Muse and Queens Myself...:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

yeah i agree, the music usually takes over the video and it would be a lot better if the music was really low in the background leaving all the original sound still clear.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,086 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Poll added.

People will argue forever about types of music, but I doubt anyone will dislike the sound of a skirmish.

Maybe upload both? One in it's original format and then one you've mess about with?

I might try just using music at climax points, rather than all the time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Hammer Smashed Face.

Perfect.

It annoys me when the music is constantlyfadinginandout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

Just have someone shout. "RUN! GET TO THE CHOPPA!" in the background now and again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

that happens all the time., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Ah just get someone to knock up some generic tune on audacity or something and leave it in the background fairly low at the same level all the time, no need for wild panning left and right or mental bitcusher effects...Clean and simple as we all have different musical tastes (Enya took the biscuit :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

If you are going to have music, I'd like to hear the BF Vietnam soundtrack or Hadouken!(not of everyone's taste)

Oooh I never thought of BF, any vietnam theme games coming up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

ye in fingal airsoft on saturday nite i think it was posponed again due to the crap weather

hmmm*strokes imaginary beard pensively*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

George Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

The music on this video(it starts at 4:05 mins and ends at 5:08 mins ):http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWZzKxU-dIs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Airsofty

Song.. Name of the game! - Great for any fast paced video, or Muse, Hysteria!

30% Nay...Hmm, I'll probably add music to the young guns footage, but if I can get the guncam working fully I'll do my next piece with that using no music at all(cept maybe the credits).

Thanks for voting lads.

Theme tune from "The Great Escape" or "The longest Day".

30% Nay...Hmm, I'll probably add music to the young guns footage, but if I can get the guncam working fully I'll do my next piece with that using no music at all(cept maybe the credits).

Thanks for voting lads.

Yeah thanks for the feedback, this kind of info really helps people like me and Lethal improve our videos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Michael-O'Neill

play music until everyone starts shooting then stop when the game is over maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Michael-O'Neill

Thanks for voting lads.

how do you get a gun cam? would tony in eirsoft sell them?