Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's heading to Longford?

• 13-08-2008 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭

...and what time are you hoping to achieve?
    With ten days to go, any last tips for a first-timer?

I drove the circuit on my bike two weeks ago, when I was in the area, and plotted an elevation profile, and some mile markers for guidance (where to meet family members for drinks, etc.). You can see it here:
    http://irelandbygps.com/treks/longford08/

Might be of use/interest to anyone who's also participating in the full (sorry, I didn't get around to mapping the half-marathon). I do remember a couple of nasty looking steep (but short) hills, between Newtown Forbes and the 24 mile marker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Hey Krusty Im doing it aswell, If I go under 4 I'll be happy but Im thinking of pushing it a little harder and seeing how I do, I reckon I could have a sub 3:40 in me, This was suppose to be part of my Dublin build up so I was planning on taken Longford handy but with 10 days to go, the excitement and suspense is taking over, what time are you planning?
    One more question I didnt map the course I planned on just following the crowd, but what if I end up following the half marathoners, how are the full and half marathoners seperated as I have visions of following the wrong crowd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Woddle wrote: »
    but what if I end up following the half marathoners, how are the full and half marathoners seperated as I have visions of following the wrong crowd?

Yes yesterday that thought came to mind also though I am doing the half marathon. I am bit confused over the half marathon course though.
    The web site isn't great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Think it's staggered starts (30 minutes between half and full), so this may avoid some of the confusion.

That would make sense alright but I got a letter from Longford about start times, only the marathon walkers and wheelchair racers start earlier, everyone else a 11 o clock, but there must be a simple answer, and marshalls to guide us, because if there isnt I wouldnt have a clue who to be following as I dont know the area, how did they do it in Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭ZiggyStardust

I don't think the start is staggered. Doing the half myself and think the half and full are going off at the same time. Was thatway in previous years anyway.
    I know the route has changed this year for the half, but it will be well marked out on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Hi Woddle, I plan on beating the 4 hour mark, and everything else is a bonus after that.. My training runs have been at around the 5:15/km pace, with my 'marathon pace' runs being around the 4:45-4:55/km pace (up to 10 miles).

So I'll set out at this pace (around 4:50/km or whatever feels most comfortable), but as it's my first, I dunno what's going to happen after the 20 mile marker, in terms of slowing down.

I'm looking forward to a long distance run, without having done significant mileage in the days leading up to the long run..

I'd imagine the route/split will be clearly marked.. I read some previous reviews of the marathon, and the feedback was that the signage (and mile markers) were very good.. The one exception was one poor guy who took a wrong turn at mile 23, when the marshall had briefly wandered off. :eek:

Oh and all runners start together at 11am (wheelchair racers and walkers start earlier).. I think with the new route for the half, we're only together for the first four miles.

In this modern day and age of GPS watches, you'd imagine they could spin together a better set of maps.. Maybe next year I'll offer my services for the cost of a registration fee!

*Edit*: When you hit Flancare Park (Longford Town Football Club), marathon runners keep straight. Half-Marathon runners, turn right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

I'll set out at this pace (around 4:50/km or whatever feels most comfortable), but as it's my first, I dunno what's going to happen after the 20 mile marker, in terms of slowing down.

Runners will try to run to first half slighly slower than the second half. That's the right way...i am doing it the wrong way
    4:50 per km is aiming for a 3h24, 5:15 per km is 3h41 (assuming constant speed which never is).
    A mararathon really starts after 20miles, as this is where most will hit the wall.
    Take it easy at the start, banking seconds does not work.
    As this is your first marathon, i would suggest you don't focus to much on the CLOCK, and enjoy the race.
    Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

911sc wrote: »
    As this is your first marathon, i would suggest you don't focus to much on the cock, and enjoy the race.
    Good luck

eh hmmmmm. Freudian slip ?

I'm heading down to do the half. Hoping to run in around 75 minutes. I'm hoping the course is still nice and flat as it was in previous years.

Really looking forward to it now. Training has gone really well to date and touch wood long may it continue !

Seem to have a slight pull in my vastus lateralis, so am not going to do today's scheduled three miles.. It's not painful, it just let's me know that its there when I'm walking. A gentle reminder.. How important is the mileage during the last week of taper anyway?

That's a hell of a time, TheRoadRunner.. You're training for Dublin, right? What time are you going for in October?

The MSN Weather report for Longford has gone from a 95% chance of precipitation to a 70% chance.. Wunderground seems a little more optimistic (for nearby Mullingar) with an optimistic 'scattered clouds, and highs of 18'C).

That's a hell of a time, TheRoadRunner.. You're training for Dublin, right? What time are you going for in October?

I'm training and hoping to go under 2.40. Should have done it or got close to it last year but everything went against me in the lead up week. I have been very lucky this year regarding injuries and sickness and long may it continue.

911sc wrote: »
    Runners will try to run to first half slighly slower than the second half. That's the right way...i am doing it the wrong way
    4:50 per km is aiming for a 3h24, 5:15 per km is 3h41 (assuming constant speed which never is).
    A mararathon really starts after 20miles, as this is where most will hit the wall.
    Take it easy at the start, banking seconds does not work.
    As this is your first marathon, i would suggest you don't focus to much on the CLOCK, and enjoy the race.
    Good luck
    Hmm.. Banking seconds was all part of my strategy.. :(
    3:30-4 hours is the target. I was hoping to run at a sub 3:30 pace for 20 miles, and then if i felt ok, stick with the pace. I'm happy that I can do the pace for the 20 miles, as my training runs have been close to this speed (I've done 5 x 20 miles at around 5:15/km). But I was secretly hoping to bank some time..

So not a good strategy?

not necessarily. I always bank some time. Not intentionally mind you. I have never run a negative split for the second half of a marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

But I was secretly hoping to bank some time..
    So not a good strategy?

Everybody is different, so you may be ok with that...
    In simple terms, you have a certain amount of "fuel" in your body at the start. The objective should be to run at a certain pace start to finish so that you run out of fuel as you pass the finishing line and hit the wall there.
    If you burn it too quickly, e.g. start too fast, you may not make it easily to the end.

Note: i am not an expert... i have only "done" 3 marathons but never "run" one. my marathon pace is 6min10sec per km / 10min per miles 4h20s finish. (TheRoadRunner is a 3m45s per km man!).

spot on 911sc. Everybody is different. There is no harm banking some time in the first half as long as you don't go crazy. No use banking ten minutes then walking three miles at a later stage obviously.

I think this is a trial and error thing and you will only find out what is right for you with experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Jnealon

I'm heading down on Sunday to do the half and hoping to do it in 90 mins.
    I have the chi-running workshop on Saturday so I might try put some chi in my step on Sunday.
    The new course should be a bit more interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭brutes

Is anyone targetting sub 2.50/sub 3 in Longford, only about 5 last year did it, Im aiming at that end, and its a long lonely run as it is....

brutes wrote: »
    Is anyone targetting sub 2.50/sub 3 in Longford, only about 5 last year did it, Im aiming at that end, and its a long lonely run as it is....
    Maybe in 2010. :o Looking at the results over the previous years, you're certainly looking at the top five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Heading down at the weekend to run in Longford but without anything like ideal preparations. Nonetheless it'll be a good day out :). If I sub 3.25 I'll be happy. If I sub 3.20 I'll be happier but will go without expectations. I've done 2 good marathons (for me) this year, in Cork and Conn, so this one is the filler between those and Dublin. Best of luck to all those heading down for the full or half.

Does anyone know what the story with parking is? Is this going to be an issue at all? Where's best (coming from Dublin)?

Peckham wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the story with parking is? Is this going to be an issue at all? Where's best (coming from Dublin)?

Last year there was sufficient parking in St Mels College. I assume it will be the same this year, though I think no's are up on a year ago

There is ample parking in St Mels college. This is where you register. Short jog to the start then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Best of luck to all of ye taking part this weekend, especially the first timers. Look forward to hearing how it went. Hopefully ye'll get good marathon weather for it.

Yes, good luck to everyone participating. Hope to bump into some of you down there. Just heading out for my last two mile run... :)

I would like to echo what the guys have already said, so best of luck and enjoy, hopefully the wind and rain will be not present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

I must say, I found the course fairly testing! Fair few little hills. Nice atmosphere beforehand, no hassle registering etc. and good atmosphere at town centre finish.

Was hoping for 80, but only managed 83 :(. But I'm happy enough with the performance, despite the time.

Was expecting a much flatter course than that! The heavy rain shower at the start made life a little more difficult also.

Despite that, very much enjoyed the race. Went out looking to do it in 84, and achieved just that (although in the middle of the race was heading towards 83), so very pleased overall.

Fair play to your man in the registration area though - 240 miles in 48 hours on a treadmill! :eek:

Fair play guys thats good running.

Found it a nice course although a bit hillier than last year. The rain on the second mile was fairly heavy. Luckily only lasted 6-7 minutes.
    Did in 88mins myslef which I'm happy enough with.

48 hours running :eek::eek::eek: well done to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Jnealon

From talking to people afterwards most found it tougher than last year but they all said it was a better course. I enjoyed it but the drags took me by surprise and I suffered a bit at the turning point. I was on track for 89 but came in at 91

I must say, I found the course fairly testing! Fair few little hills. Nice atmosphere beforehand, no hassle registering etc. and good atmosphere at town centre finish.

Was hoping for 80, but only managed 83 :(. But I'm happy enough with the performance, despite the time.

Yes very testing. Especially the first 2.5 miles which I thought were slightly up hill overall, the wind and rain didn't help either. The remainder of the half course was tough enough also. My mile splits ended up all over the place. Some fast some slow. Very hard to get into a rhythm

Had hoped to go under 75 and was actually targeting around 73.5 mins but was just over 75. Definitely tougher than the old course. I'm battered and bruised. I realised today it was time to change my runners !

Hoping to better my PB to 1:25 (from 1:27) but came in 1:24:10 so quite satisfied

Nicer course than last year and I thought easier because of that.
    I love running the narrow roads with hedges etc, you can hear everything. Ya the hills were a bit of a surprise. Finished strong which I was most happy about.

Yes very testing. Especially the first 2.5 miles which I thought were slightly up hill overall, the wind and rain didn't help either. The remainder of the half course was tough enough also. My mile splits ended up all over the place. Some fast some slow. Very hard to get into a rhythm

Had hoped to go under 75 and was actually targeting around 73.5 mins but was just over 75. Definitely tougher than the old course. I'm battered and bruised. I realised today it was time to change my runners !

I found the first few miles okay and quite liked the rain. Splits were also all over the place. Wanted 6.07 pace, but with no 1 mile marker (at least I didn't see it) I thought I was going a bit slow, but wasn't too worried. But I got to the 2 mile in 12.13! I was quite happy with my judgement there. I would have sworn it was 6.50 pace. Next mile was 6.29, figured it was just a hilly mile, next was 6.04 so happy out. But then after that every mile was 6.15-6.30. Was feeling fine, felt like I wasn't pushin myself, but when it came to mile 9 ish when I wanted to push on, the legs wouldn't go even though the lungs were fine and no sign of a stitch or anything. So a strange one. Wrecked afterwards though. Legs in a really bad way. Feel I should have had at least 81, but it wasn't to be. Why? Possibly dropped off the miles a bit too much last fortnight, maybe the hills just took it out of me, as I said it felt quite easy, much easier than Ballycotton, yet the legs were gone. Next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Remarkable achievement by Tony Mangan to break his own world record. I daresay he didn't run the marathon after that - he was listed as a registered athlete.

Various people I spoke too also commented on hills. I must say it wasn't something I noticed but my garmin tells me that there were 276 meters of same.

Got around today in 3.22. I would have happily taken that beforehand. I lost a lot of time in the 2nd half of the race having gone out too fast. But it was only to be expected as I literally have done 10% of the dedicated training needed for this due to recent injury. Its a lonely old run, particularly on the back half of the route when fellow runners are few and far between. Great organisation through and brilliant support from the locals.

Got around today in 3.22. ....... as I literally have done 10% of the dedicated training needed for this due to recent injury.

That's a great run, then. Well done. As a matter of interest, what did your garmin measure for the length of the marathon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭brutes

Got to mile 20 in the full in 2 05 and knee went - felt like I was shot. A fairly horrible last 6 miles walk /hobble in...first DNF :( so I was ripping after huge amount of trainin. Generally tho race standard and organisation seems to have improved on prior year I did it in 2005, not sure were there showers? A good time of year for a race so hopefully it will keep attracting numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Some fantastic races and times in there, well done to you all.

On a whole well organised, seemed to be an improvement on last year.
    Water stations were fine. Pity about those cups.
    I was not surprised at the absence of a 1 mile marker. Same as last year. Went thru 2 miles in 12:37 which was ahead of my planned 13:00 but felt grand.
    Enquired about showers in St Mels but none. I thought someone could have stuck on the water for a couple of hours.
    Not too many people getting masages in the college. Maybe €10 for 5 mins was a bit steep
    I seen there was an after race food voucher. I couldn't seem to find anywhere that would use it though.

But well done to all

Abhainn wrote: »
    Not too many people getting masages in the college. Maybe €10 for 5 mins was a bit steep
    I seen there was an after race food voucher. I couldn't seem to find anywhere that would use it though.

But well done to all

Yes very well organised. I think it's improving year on year so well done to the organising comitte.
    I think the €10 for the massage was for charity.

Regarding the food. Sorry you missed as it was really nice. It was however very badly signposted, in fact not sure if it was even signposted. I knew from last year where it was. Was in the back of the college. They had pasta, lasagna, Pizza and loads of salady type stuff. It was just perfect for post race.

There was a 1 mile marker. It was painted on the road in yellow paint. 2 Big 1's. It was easy to miss however.

Really enjoyed this day, probably won't do the Longford marathon again but will do the half, it is a lonely boring marathon, I thought it was well organised and hats off to all the helpers, 3:55 for myself so quite pleased,
    My garmin measured the course at 26.23.
    My small problem was with the medal, they didn't have the year on it, where as when I did it last, it had 'BMW Longford Marathon 2002' and it just looked better.

I'd be encouraged to go back for the half, but don't think I'd be that keen on doing the full....it looked like a lonely, draining run and those that I was passing who were doing the full did not look like they were enjoying themselves.

It's city marathons for me I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Roadrunner Thats was really good time , what were the winning times for the half( for mens and ladies) ? what was your placement ?

Also welldone to everyone that took part :)

Seres wrote: »
    Roadrunner Thats was really good time , what were the winning times for the half( for mens and ladies) ? what was your placement ?

Also welldone to everyone that took part :)

Thank you. I finished 7th. The winners of the mens was 70.10. I have no idea about the ladies.

I think the winner of the Ladies was Lucy Darcy (Sportsworld) maybe around 83.30 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Thank you. I finished 7th. The winners of the mens was 70.10. I have no idea about the ladies.

well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

I think the winner of the Ladies was Lucy Darcy (Sportsworld) maybe around 83.30 or so.

are you sure that was the time , it doesnt seem that fast (for the winning lady ) like 6.24 mile pace ?

I spent most of the race near a girl in (I think) Raheny colours, and there was a lot of emphasis from one or two of the guys around her about keeping up her pace - including a bit of a panic when the main guy pacing her had an incident around the 9 mile mark, and then subsequently getting other guys up to pace her. I guessed she was in contention and she stayed ahead of me - I finished in just over 1.24, so she must have come in around 1.23ish. Not sure if this was the eventual winner.

Seres wrote: »
    are you sure that was the time , it doesnt seem that fast (for the winning lady ) like 6.24 mile pace ?

Fairly sure her time was there or thereabouts. And I do think she was first lady - at least people in the crowd were shouting 'First Lady' but I've not seen official results yet.

Peckham wrote: »
    I spent most of the race near a girl in (I think) Raheny colours, and there was a lot of emphasis from one or two of the guys around her about keeping up her pace - including a bit of a panic when the main guy pacing her had an incident around the 9 mile mark, and then subsequently getting other guys up to pace her. I guessed she was in contention and she stayed ahead of me - I finished in just over 1.24, so she must have come in around 1.23ish. Not sure if this was the eventual winner.

I think there were 3 girls around the 1.23, but at the finish I could hear people shouting - 'Go on Lucy, first lady', but possibly one of the others caught her on the run in.

83 isn't an unusual winning time for a ladies half marathon in Ireland. With Pauline Curley (maybe around 78mins for a half) in Beijing/recovering, there wouldn't be too many more females better than 85mins who tend to enter these.