Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert Night... Should I go out?

• 13-08-2008 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭

Not 100% if this belongs here or in After hours, but seeing as morals are ultimately personalised, gonna bang it in here.

Right, I'm 23, and I know for a fact that town is gonna be filled with the young 'ens tonight. I'm recently single, don't really have too much trouble getting girls anyway. It's just that I'm not sure if it's wrong to be heading into town tonight in the knowledge that there are young naive albeit also hot and nubile.

Is it wrong? Come September when college gets rolling they'll be all out anyway, but at the same time, it seems a little bit sleazy. I'm reminded of the line, "I keep getting older, but they stay the same age" from Dazed and Confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So long as your intention isn't to go out and find some girl who's so off her face that she doesn't know what's what, then I don't see the problem. There'll be more young single women in town tonight than you'd find on a lot of other nights.

Just be careful - there'll be a lot of 15 and 16 year olds out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Well its up to yourself really but I don't find it admirable that you're going out on the prowl hoping to target the naiive. And probably drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

They shouldn't get themselves in such a drunken state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Do you think you can sacrifice one wednesday night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭eveie

the fact that your even asking the question suggests that you know its wrong.
    most of the lc girls are going to be locked and out for a laugh.
    isnt there just as many "hot" 20 somethings out on a fri or sat why do you have to go out tonight? actually ive just answered my oen question a women your own age probably wouldnt go for you but a niave teenager would lap it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Plek Trum

I think the fact that you posted at all answers your question really.
    You know in advance that you might meet someone who is drunk and out celebrating.. and you want approval from posters that its okay to pick them up? Ask yourself Why the urgency tonight over any other night??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Stay in tonight and let some drunk LC lad score instead.
    Is option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

I could stay in of course, sure, there's plenty of people around on a Friday night, but town will be full to the brim with delightful débutantes having a good time.

Primarily though I wanted to spark off discussion on the topic to get a more rounded view of how people felt about it. I'm not sure, one hand, I know that I have friends who'd disapprove, on the other I have friends who've already planned the night.

And as for drunk girls, well, that's a bit grim, last thing anyone wants is lap full of puke on the taxi home, never mind the guilty conscience in the morning.

If you're that hot OP you don't need the naiive. You can easily get the self assured sober ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

""I keep getting older, but they stay the same age" from Dazed and Confused"

I love that movie, anyway ya tramp <wags finger> -its shooting fish in a barrell and you know it, retire this year and concentrate on meeting girls your own age....

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Altheus wrote: »
    Not 100% if this belongs here or in After hours, but seeing as morals are ultimately personalised, gonna bang it in here.

Right, I'm 23, and I know for a fact that town is gonna be filled with the young 'ens tonight. I'm recently single, don't really have too much trouble getting girls anyway. It's just that I'm not sure if it's wrong to be heading into town tonight in the knowledge that there are young naive albeit also hot and nubile.

Is it wrong? Come September when college gets rolling they'll be all out anyway, but at the same time, it seems a little bit sleazy. I'm reminded of the line, "I keep getting older, but they stay the same age" from Dazed and Confused.

Matt McConaughey FTW. Just remember if theyre in a pub, than in the eyes of Statutory Rape they're 18 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

grow up !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Claire121

Ehh, I find your mentality quite twisted to be honest. You want to go out on the town knowing it's going to be filled with naive, drunken underage girls. You're 23. Find someone your own age you don't need to take advantage of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

why are you even asking,have you got some kind of schoolgirl fetish,that you cant control?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Well put it this way, i'm 21 and i'm staying in tonight cause I don't want to be in pulling girls who are 17-18, let them enjoy their night and get someone your own age mate..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

SheroN wrote: »
    They shouldn't get themselves in such a drunken state.

It's their fault so, is it? And those revealing clothes they wear, I suppose they're just asking for it are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Well put it this way, i'm 21 and i'm staying in tonight cause I don't want to be in pulling girls who are 17-18, let them enjoy their night and get someone your own age mate..

You could argue that him going out is like a service to any lady who he does pick up. She'll be saved from other 'more randy' less conscientious rapscallions!

If the OP can tell me now that he will be an honourable and courteous companion to some lady who finds him attractive and that he will treat her with respect - I for one will wish him the very best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

chump wrote: »
    You could argue that him going out is like a service to any lady who he does pick up. She'll be saved from other 'more randy' less conscientious rapscallions!

If the OP can tell me now that he will be an honourable and courteous companion to some lady who finds him attractive and that he will treat her with respect - I for one will wish him the very best!

How? Oh, well for a start I'll treat her to a cocktail in the Capitol... then it's straight to the Shaw for some buckfast then onto the Pod. All the while outwitting and lambasting the feverish reprobates who'll undoubtedly be shouting their little slack-jawed mouths till the early morning, hooting and tooting at everything that moves as they run from bar to bar and club to club trying and skip past a disgruntled bouncer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DaveyGem

Just go out, like ye said in a month the majority of them will be going out on college nights etc, tbh i don see much of a difference. However be wary their will be alot of 16 year olds about aswell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

greatgoal wrote: »
    why are you even asking,have you got some kind of schoolgirl fetish,that you cant control?

They're not schoolgirls anymore :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

davyjose wrote: »
    It's their fault so, is it? And those revealing clothes they wear, I suppose they're just asking for it are they?

So long as it's legal. What's different than hooking up with a drunk 18 year old on a Friday or Saturday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Sounds f*ckin sad to go out to go after the leaving cert girls and sleazy too. Behave like a bloomin gentleman and stay in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭irishpacker

Tut tut good sir, going for some easy pickings are we? Personally I shall be avoiding town like brid flu ce soir. Besides, they're out to celebrate results with their mates, not really a "gettin some" kind of night. For many (like me) it was almost like a going away party. Havn't seen many school mates since that night infact!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Ah leave the lad alone, he's not twisted. In fact, 23 is a good age to be going out with/scoring with an 18 year old girl. Both will be at about the same maturity level when it comes to relationships. Probably a back-handed compliment there, OP, apologies.

OP, if ya fancy going out tonight, then go. You can go out and not score, or go out and score. Who cares? You seem level-headed enough not to target drunk girls.

Oh yeah, and calling 17/18 year old girls/women naive is the biggest joke ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Why anyone would want to go into town on LC night is beyond me.

JC night ftw!

I jest i jest.

op, not sure why you're asking this question, but maybe still with your local tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭baglady

ew. please stay in tonight.

I don't think so. I was pretty naive at that age, as in I didn't really expect 23 year old grown men trying to get me drunk and into bed. At that age I went out with my friends to have a laugh.

It's just the way the post is written, I find it REALLY creepy and inappropriate, the level of thought going into it. It's not like he went into town with mates and met a girl who happened to be 17, he's going out to target them, pretty much. My BF is 23 and he wouldn't go near a teenager not would most of my male friends. Can't he find someone his own age? There is a world of difference between a girl who has just finished the Leaving and someone who is old enough to have gone through college and done a Masters by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I'm 23, my gf is 19. We get on just fine. That said it was she who got me drunk and into bed.

OP I wouldnt see any problem if you bumped into a lc student of consenting age by chance tonight but its the fact that you seem to be thinking about actively going out looking for them is the issue here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just ensure the pub/nightclub has a strict over 18's policy...

the_syco wrote: »
    Just ensure the pub/nightclub has a strict over 18's policy...
    Legally speaking I don't think thats an issue.

However with reading the responses I do have to ask OP whats your intention? To get a lay off some LC girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Myxomatosis

Was looking at the news tonight and saw the report on the LC results. I'd bang a few of them no bother.

My motto is if they're old enough to look that good then they're old enough for me*

*that would be my motto if was actually any good at pickin up girls, which I'm not ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

seamus wrote: »

Just be careful - there'll be a lot of 15 and 16 year olds out too.

+1 Just came back from town. But that was sorted pretty quick. All the pubs were raided :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

How so? Just because a few of them appear worldly and jaded and knowing doesn't mean they all are. In fact the more grown-up they try to be, the more of a likelihood they are naive.

God I hate all this crap of "aw yeah, it's leaving cert night, I'm gonna be the big maaaan and talk about how I'll go on the prowl for 17 and 18-year-olds tonight". Sad.

So op did you sully some girls night? Or did you decide that actively seeking to pick up an "score" drunken 17-18 year olds is all a bit creepy. I have no problem with a guy in his early 20s being with a 17 or 18 year old girl but promoting the fact that you intend to pick up a drunken teenager when they are at their most venerable is quite sad and pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

Claire121 wrote: »
    My BF is 23 and he wouldn't go near a teenager not would most of my male friends.

Am I a d!ckhead because I burst out laughing when I read this? :p (sorry Claire!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

How is this a dilemma for you?
    I think you are looking for approval to go and score a young one?
    It sounds a bit predatory that you have thought it through. Jesus, what will you be like
    at 30 if 23 has you looking like a dirty ole man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

newestUser wrote: »
    Am I a d!ckhead because I burst out laughing when I read this? :p (sorry Claire!)
    ummm.....yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 pug_lover

So did you score??? :D

Just came across this thread and thinks its hillarious...he's fecken 23 not 53...barely out of school himself so don't think there is anything wrong with going on the pull on LC night

Well then he should just said 'I think I'll go on the pull tonight' instead of mentioning that he was thinking of it in terms of targetting naiive young girls.

My BF is 23 and he wouldn't go near a teenager not would most of my male friends.

LOL. This is so naive it's scary really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 pug_lover

Karen_* wrote: »
    Well then he should just said 'I think I'll go on the pull tonight' instead of mentioning that he was thinking of it in terms of targetting naiive young girls.

He is 23... he thinks he has seen it and done it all, but he is probably just as naive, can't beleive so many people are slating him for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

pug_lover wrote: »
    So did you score??? :D

Just came across this thread and thinks its hillarious...he's fecken 23 not 53...barely out of school himself so don't think there is anything wrong with going on the pull on LC night
    I agree with you pug_lover - 17/18 is legal - but it's his attitude that people object to. It's funny you should say he's 23, not 53, cuz he's kinda going on as if he IS a dirty middle-aged man.

LOL. This is so naive it's scary really.

Right yeah, believe what you want, since you know neither of us. It's sad that it's so hard to believe that a 23 year old man wouldn't be interested in going out and taking advantage of a 17 year old girl. All his GF's have been older, up to 25 or 26. His little sister is 17 and he finds her and her friends total headwreckers, and said to me loads of time when we were just friends that he didn't understand guys his age going for immature little girls instead of 20 somethings. My brother is 22 and thinks his friend is a weirdo for going out with teenagers. I hated it when I got hit on by 22+ year olds when I was 16 or 17, and asked why they couldn't find someone their own age. Some of my more naive friends were taken advantage of and basically used. 17 year olds might SEEM wordly and jaded, but like Dudess said, they're really not. Anybody with an ounce of maturity and decency could see that, and not use the excuse that 'they're all dressed up in miniskirts and heels so they're obviously gagging for it or 'they shouldn't drink so much.'

The point that's being missed here is that he wanted to go out to purposely score a young girl. The wording of the post is just creepy. It's not as if he met a girl in a pub, got along great with her and then found out she was 17. He's going out with the knowledge that there are going to be loads of drunken, naive girls who think they're all grown up and hoping he might get lucky. He's ASKING us if it's OK, so he obviously feels 'old' at 23. Sorry, but that's a scummy mentality. I know a lot of guys do it, but at least most of them realise it's scummy.

Right yeah, believe what you want, since you know neither of us. It's sad that it's so hard to believe that a 23 year old man wouldn't be interested in going out and taking advantage of a 17 year old girl.

While I agree that the OPs attitude is a little sleazy and low-rent, if both parties are of legal age and consenting, what's the problem? Why is someone a sleaze because they want a casual sexual encounter?

What exactly do people have a problem with? Is it the age of the girls? Someone wanting to have casual sex? Someone concocting a scheme to cynically maximise their chances of sex?

Most men find teenage girls around 17/18/19 highly sexually attractive. I do, and I don't consider it slightly sleazy. I wouldn't have a relationship with them (I'm 30, most of them, probably all of them, would be way too immature for me), but I'd happily do the bould thing with them on a one night stand. You've implied that most decent men would not be sexually attracted to girls that age. And, with all respect, I don't agree with that.

I think the 'would you be with a teenager' question from a girlfriend is like the 'do you think she's attractive' question from her. Lots of men would give very different answers to that question, if their mates were asking instead of their partners. Hence my spitting-out-of-cornflakes-in-fits-of-laughter when I read your earlier post. But yeah, what the OP is suggesting is not classy behaviour, I'm not denying that.

<edit>
    From browsing back through the thread, what people seem to find creepy is the level of premeditation that the OP is putting into this. But what about girls who say 'let's go to Annabels/Krystle/Club 92 and score rugby boys'? What about people who say 'it's a 6-nations weekend in Dublin, let's go out and score some Italian/English/Welsh people'? What about people who go to Copperface Jacks or Break for the Border, because they hear there's usually lots of inebriated people there who may be willing to have sex with them? I've heard lots of people (men and women) say all of the above when discussing where to go on a night out. If people are agreed that there's nothing inherently wrong with scoring someone of legal age, why is someone creepy because they want to go out to a particular place, or at a particular time, where they're likely to meet someone who'll be up for a 'casual encounter'?

Right yeah, believe what you want, since you know neither of us. It's sad that it's so hard to believe that a 23 year old man wouldn't be interested in going out and taking advantage of a 17 year old girl. All his GF's have been older, up to 25 or 26. His little sister is 17 and he finds her and her friends total headwreckers, and said to me loads of time when we were just friends that he didn't understand guys his age going for immature little girls instead of 20 somethings. My brother is 22 and thinks his friend is a weirdo for going out with teenagers. I hated it when I got hit on by 22+ year olds when I was 16 or 17, and asked why they couldn't find someone their own age. Some of my more naive friends were taken advantage of and basically used. 17 year olds might SEEM wordly and jaded, but like Dudess said, they're really not. Anybody with an ounce of maturity and decency could see that, and not use the excuse that 'they're all dressed up in miniskirts and heels so they're obviously gagging for it or 'they shouldn't drink so much.'

The point that's being missed here is that he wanted to go out to purposely score a young girl. The wording of the post is just creepy. It's not as if he met a girl in a pub, got along great with her and then found out she was 17. He's going out with the knowledge that there are going to be loads of drunken, naive girls who think they're all grown up and hoping he might get lucky. He's ASKING us if it's OK, so he obviously feels 'old' at 23. Sorry, but that's a scummy mentality. I know a lot of guys do it, but at least most of them realise it's scummy.
    daymn. tellem girlfriend :pac:

(trans: good post)

Yes, I do think it's taking advantage. I find it sleazy, and a bit sad for a 30 year old man to be having one night stands with secondary age girls. I actually don't think your attitude is typical, definitely not of the guys I know.

I think the 'would you be with a teenager' question from a girlfriend is like the 'do you think she's attractive' question from her. Lots of men would give very different answers to that question, if their mates were asking instead of their partners. Hence my spitting-out-of-cornflakes-in-fits-of-laughter when I read your earlier post.

I've been good friends with my BF for a while, he had another girlfriend at the time we had the conversation and we were hanging out with a group of lads. The general consensus was that seeking out drunken, naive teenagers wasn't really on. A couple said they'd do it, but they didn't really think it was right. It might be to do with the fact that most of us have 17, 18 year old sisters and hate seeing them go out wearing skimpy clothes and half drunk, knowing how naive they actually are and that the 'sexy, wordly, grown up' thing is mostly a front. It's not that long since I was a 17 year old girl myself - I saw many a friend messed up over a drunken one night stand with an older guy (and I mean 21, 22, not 30!) - most were hoping to get into a relationship and were devastated to be used and ditched the next day. Yes it's naive but teenage girls usually ARE naive! If you're happy to hook up with them it's your business, but please don't act as if I'm an idiot for thinking every guy doesn't do it.
    From browsing back through the thread, what people seem to find creepy is the level of premeditation that the OP is putting into this. But what about girls who say 'let's go to Annabels/Krystle/Club 92 and score rugby boys'? What about people who say 'it's a 6-nations weekend in Dublin, let's go out and score some Italian/English/Welsh people'? What about people who go to Copperface Jacks or Break for the Border, because they hear there's usually lots of inebriated people there who may be willing to have sex with them? I've heard lots of people (men and women) say all of the above when discussing where to go on a night out. If people are agreed that there's nothing inherently wrong with scoring someone of legal age, why is someone creepy because they want to go out to a particular place, or at a particular time, where they're likely to meet someone who'll be up for a 'casual encounter'?

Because he's specifically asking about teenage girls out celebrating the LC results! A 17 year old girl is still legally a minor, and teenagers generally go out to celebrate with their friends, not have a one night stand with a 30 year old. Can you not see the difference here? If you think every girl heading out for the LC results is hoping to get some d*ck, you're very wrong. There is a very predatory tone to the OP's post and I think that's what most of us are reacting to.

Yes, I do think it's taking advantage. I find it sleazy, and a bit sad for a 30 year old man to be having one night stands with secondary age girls. I actually don't think your attitude is typical, definitely not of the guys I know.

Ouch! :p

For the record, I don't have one night stands with secondary age girls.

But I do think girls around 17/18/19 can be sexually attractive. And I don't think that's unusual for a 30 year old man.

I'll give you a recent example from my workplace to illustrate my point. We've just had a 20 year old student start work experience with us. She's very pretty. A couple of days ago, some of the male staff were talking about how attractive she was (and making jokes like 'hey if I were still single, hahaha'). I was the baby of the group, the other guys were around 40.

I wouldn't seek out one-night stands with girls that age. Are there circumstances under which I'd have a one night stand with a girl that age? Absolutely. And I don't think that's unusual or abnormal. And, again, with all respect, you're in denial if you think that most single men around my age or even older wouldn't think that.

Have you never looked at someone, and said, 'wow, I'd love to shag them' even though you know, for one reason or another, it wouldn't be a good idea in reality? They're your boss, they're much younger than you, you wouldn't want a relationship with them, they're strangers, they're going out with a friend, whatever?
    I've been good friends with my BF for a while, he had another girlfriend at the time we had the conversation and we were hanging out with a group of lads. The general consensus was that seeking out drunken, naive teenagers wasn't really on. A couple said they'd do it, but they didn't really think it was right. It might be to do with the fact that most of us have 17, 18 year old sisters and hate seeing them go out wearing skimpy clothes and half drunk, knowing how naive they actually are and that the 'sexy, wordly, grown up' thing is mostly a front. It's not that long since I was a 17 year old girl myself - I saw many a friend messed up over a drunken one night stand with an older guy (and I mean 21, 22, not 30!) - most were hoping to get into a relationship and were devastated to be used and ditched the next day. Yes it's naive but teenage girls usually ARE naive! If you're happy to hook up with them it's your business, but please don't act as if I'm an idiot for thinking every guy doesn't do it.

Apologies for offending you. I obviously can't offer the perspective of a teenage girl. But, I think you are being unrealistic in assuming that men don't find girls in their late teens sexually attractive, and am a little offended that you think I'm a deviant for admitting this. ;)

Thre's a world of difference between finding teenage girls attractive and actually scoring one or going out with an intent to score one.

But I do think they're sexually attractive. And I don't think that's unusual for a 30 year old man.

No I'm sure it's not unusual but thinking someone is attractive is one thing, acting on it is another.
    I wouldn't seek out one-night stands with girls that age. Are there circumstances under which I'd have a one night stand with a girl that age? Absolutely. And I don't think that's unusual or abnormal. And, again, with all respect, you're in denial if you think that most single men around my age or even older wouldn't think that.

The OP is seeking these girls out though, that's the point. Going into town knowing there are scores of drunken, hot teenagers in mini skirts. He DID intend to act on it. Not the same as a bunch of middle aged guys in an office making silly comments.
    Have you never looked at someone, and said, 'wow, I'd love to shag them' even though you know, for one reason or another, you wouldn't in reality? They're your boss, they're much younger than you, you wouldn't want a relationship with them, they're strangers, they're going out with a friend, whatever?

Yes, exactly. I wouldn't in reality. So why are you saying you think it's fine, and typical to sleep with teenagers? This seems like a contradiction? Rather than thinking 'she's hot but she's 17 so I'll leave her alone', you think it's fine to take her home and shag her? :confused: And think I'm stupid for thinking all guys don't do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

In my experience the vast majority of guys will sleep with a girl they find attractive if the opportunity presents itself. If this happens the first night they meet it's highly unlikely they would ask her age first.

In my experience the vast majority of guys in relationships will provide a completely different answer when in the company of women regarding what is and isn't attractive and acceptable behaviour when it comes to sex and picking up women.

I think some posters are being naive in the assumption that what the OP is suggesting doesn't go through the heads of most guys the world over, not the specific circumstances but certainly the "I'm going to X club because there are generally more women there, and I'm likely to pick one up"

The women in those clubs that fall for the lines from those kind of guys, are no less naive regardless of their age and experience.