Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's this for a transformation??

• 12-08-2008 10:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭

attachment.php?attachmentid=1465081&d=1217989579

Marc Bartley - Powerlifter

Tore his knee apart this time last year under an 1,100lb (I think) squat, as a result he couldn't do any serious heavy training for some time so he decided to work on getting in shape.

Impressive, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Looks like a different person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

Feck me thats impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Whoa he done great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

He's just sucking in his gut and using fancy lighting ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

linky to origional article mr hanley please sir..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Similar to the many sizes of Chuck Vogelpohl

Little Chuck
    Chuck-Vogelpohl.jpg

Big Chuck (on the left)
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=223079.0;attach=265016;image

But always.....mad Chuck
    chuck-face.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

crazy amount of lose skin in the lower abs, should have never let himself get that fat in the first place

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Hanley wrote: »
    attachment.php?attachmentid=1465081&d=1217989579

Marc Bartley - Powerlifter

Tore his knee apart this time last year under an 1,100lb (I think) squat, as a result he couldn't do any serious heavy training for some time so he decided to work on getting in shape.

Impressive, eh?

See him on the left,injuries aside would he be stronger than him on the right?
    I look like the left(ish).

dave80 wrote: »
    crazy amount of lose skin in the lower abs, should have never let himself get that fat in the first place

Yeah lazy bastard :confused:

He's a powerlifter, he's not going to squat close to 1200lbs with his current low bodyfat. The weight loss was side project while he rehab'd from this:

Degsy wrote:
    See him on the left,injuries aside would he be stronger than him on the right?

Yep

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Amazing change. Then again he's incredibly focused and dedicated so not so much of a surprise with a will like that. Still, bloody hell.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

kevpants wrote: »
    he's not going to squat close to 1200lbs with his current low bodyfat.

Yep

Tell ye wat he was closer too than a 1200lbs squat A HEART ATTACK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Big change and he has obviously lost a lot of bodyfat there. Now it may be stating the obvious I don't think the "big belly" that he has in the pic on the left bears a close relationship to the big belly of a sedentary obese individual even if it looks somewhat similar. He's a high level powerlifter - heavy squatting and the resultant ab bracing seems to produce a distended belly and large abdominal mass in powerlifters, the transverse abdominals struggle to hold this in and a big mass of muscle, food filled intestines, organs and fat protrudes. Sometimes you see what looks like a pregnant belly with a six pack on top of it. Some say that using a PL belt makes this more noticable as the lifter pushes his abs out hard against the belt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Can anyone explain to me why he's stronger when he's fatter though?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Awesome! - pity about the loose skin of course, should never have gotten that fat (not that I can say anything! :p).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

He weighs more!

celestial wrote: »
    He weighs more!

That doesn't mean he has more muscle.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Its not the fat that makes him stronger. The muscles under the fat are bigger /stronger than the ones when he hasnt high fat levels. He just doesnt watch his Body fat when powerlifting and doesnt restrict calories etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Its not the fat that makes him stronger. The muscles under the fat are bigger /stronger than the ones when he hasnt high fat levels. He just doesnt watch his Body fat when powerlifting and doesnt restrict calories etc.
    can you explain why the muscles ar bigger and or stronger under a high level of fat?

Because when he is training to get stronger he will be taking in massive amounts of calories. The result is extra mass, strength and fat.

If you are dieting to control your body fat you are going to restrict youyr strength gains. These guys care for nowt but the big numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

It's not that the muscles are stronger per se, but because on the left he is on a calorie plus diet he "should" be stronger. By the looks of it, a caorlie plus plus plus is what he was on!

Fair play to him though, that's some fat loss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

It's the extra fat, water, glycogen AND muscle that makes him stronger at that weight.

It's all about improving leverages. The area around his joints are bigger, which means a better platform to push off. Same goes for the bigger belly, a bigger waist is a stronger waist.

It's the extra fat, water, glycogen AND muscle that makes him stronger at that weight.

It's all about improving leverages. The area around his joints are bigger, which means a better platform to push off. Same goes for the bigger belly, a bigger waist is a stronger waist.

That makes sense I suppose.

So would I be right in saying that the power/weight ratio is more important to an Olympic lifter than a power lifter or in power lifting competitions does the lifters weight get factored in as well?

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

That makes sense I suppose.

So would I be right in saying that the power/weight ratio is more important to an Olympic lifter than a power lifter or in power lifting competitions does the lifters weight get factored in as well?
    Well Olympic lifting is "power" lifting, ie. it requires more power in the scientific sense of the word than power lifting does as you have to move the weights faster and over longer distances. So yes, obviously having more power at a lower weight is advantageous.

If you want to feel weak watch reruns of the women's weightlifting...

Powerlifting is done by weight category as well. so power:weight ratio is equally important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

It's the extra fat, water, glycogen AND muscle that makes him stronger at that weight. It's all about improving leverages. The area around his joints are bigger, which means a better platform to push off. Same goes for the bigger belly, a bigger waist is a stronger waist.
    thank you,that explanation made much more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

briiliant transformation.

check out the this link or some good insparation
    http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=728136

Since there's specific bodyweight classes it's not all THAT important. The lighter guys can obviously lift more multiples of their own bodyweight than the heavyweights and the supers. Same as in olympic lifting.

In both sports there's also a coefficient score that's worked out whereby your bodyweight is designated as a certain non-whole number <1, and this is multipled by the weight you lift to give a points total, and decide the champion of champions.

The number's aren't a linear progression because strength isn't linear as you move up in bodyweight. So a 75kg squatting 3x bodyweight scores less than a 125kg guy squatting 3x bodyweight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Its to do with leverages I think.

I did that to my knee. Its the most painful thing in the WHOLE WIDE WORLD.

Pretty sure he "let himself" get that fat so he could lift weights that are out of the reach of most mere mortals. Getting that size when you train as hard as a top powerlifter doesn't just "happen". It needs to be forced. You'd be shocked to hear the type and quantity of food these guys are pounding down so they can keep their weight up.
    Tell ye wat he was closer too than a 1200lbs squat A HEART ATTACK

Lol... He squatted 1125lb. So he must have only been 74lb or less away from a heart attack...??

I reckon gaining 75lb on his squat's probably easier than 74 or less lb on his bodyweight!

So he probably was closer to the 1200lb squat than a heart attack :D

Btw, you'd be surprised how closely some of those guys monitor their health. They might not always pay attention to what the doc says, but you can be sure they're not standing at death's door.

Since there's specific bodyweight classes it's not all THAT important. The lighter guys can obviously lift more multiples of their own bodyweight than the heavyweights and the supers. Same as in olympic lifting.

In both sports there's also a coefficient score that's worked out whereby your bodyweight is designated as a certain non-whole number <1, and this is multipled by the weight you lift to give a points total, and decide the champion of champions.

The number's aren't a linear progression because strength isn't linear as you move up in bodyweight. So a 75kg squatting 3x bodyweight scores less than a 125kg guy squatting 3x bodyweight.

Thats the answer I was looking for alright.

I was also wondering, if 2 lifters compete in the same weight class and lift the same weight is the winner decided by who's lighter?

they/them/theirs

Pretty sure he "let himself" get that fat so he could lift weights that are out of the reach of most mere mortals. Getting that size when you train as hard as a top powerlifter doesn't just "happen". It needs to be forced. You'd be shocked to hear the type and quantity of food these guys are pounding down so they can keep their weight up.

Lol... He squatted 1125lb. So he must have only been 74lb or less away from a heart attack...??

I reckon gaining 75lb on his squat's probably easier than 74 or less lb on his bodyweight!

So he probably was closer to the 1200lb squat than a heart attack :D

Btw, you'd be surprised how closely some of those guys monitor their health. They might not always pay attention to what the doc says, but you can be sure they're not standing at death's door.

Granted he is one of the best 275lbers in the world, but is it worth the health risks to be able to say that? (and iam sure hes over 275lb off season) obviously its a personnal choice but for me its not the way id want to go! ye can monitor your health till the cows come home but if you dont do anything about it its a pointless exercise

Well obviously to him it is... He might say what's the point in being a 220lb guy with an ok physique who can't bench even bench 315lb...

And no, it's not a pointless exercise. If you monitor your health, and there's nothing wrong with it then there's no point in doing anything because you're already "healthy" (insofar as you're not at severe risk of serious health concerns). So why bother changing things?? If you were to try and change things when you are already relatively healthy then that would be pretty "pointless", no?

Well obviously to him it is...
    like i said its a personnal choice

[/quote]He might say what's the point in being a 220lb guy with an ok physique who can't bench even bench 315lb...[/quote]

personnal opion again

[/quote]And no, it's not a pointless exercise. If you monitor your health, and there's nothing wrong with it then there's no point in doing anything because you're already "healthy" [/quote]

Wat i meant was if there was something wrong and they just choice to ignor it, i know of 1 person that died because they chose to ignor side efects of being over weight and using aas!

like i said its a personnal choice
    He might say what's the point in being a 220lb guy with an ok physique who can't bench even bench 315lb...

personnal opion again

I know all that.... Why are you criticsing him for his personal choices so? There's no need. He's now leaner and carrying more muscle than pretty much everyone on this board. He's a hell of a lot stronger too.
    And no, it's not a pointless exercise. If you monitor your health, and there's nothing wrong with it then there's no point in doing anything because you're already "healthy"

Wat i meant was if there was something wrong and they just choice to ignor it, i know of 1 person that died because they chose to ignor side efects of being over weight and using aas!

Who's to say he did do that?

Steroid use isn't overly complicated, you'd have to try really hard for it to be fatal. Of course there's nasty sides like gyno etc, but I know A LOT of people using, and pretty much everyone of them is managing just fine. If you were hitting oral only cycles for 6 months then you should be expecting to melt your liver, but a lot of people don't seem to do the necessary research to uncover this.

Besides, the majority of pro-BB deaths from "steroids" has actually been from diuretics (momo benzina, andreas munzer, paul dillet's imfamous "freeze" on stage etc).

I know all that.... Why are you criticsing him for his personal choices so? There's no need. He's now leaner and carrying more muscle than pretty much everyone on this board. He's a hell of a lot stronger too.

Who's to say he did do that?

Steroid use isn't overly complicated, you'd have to try really hard for it to be fatal. Of course there's nasty sides like gyno etc, but I know A LOT of people using, and pretty much everyone of them is managing just fine. If you were hitting oral only cycles for 6 months then you should be expecting to melt your liver, but a lot of people don't seem to do the necessary research to uncover this.

Besides, the majority of pro-BB deaths from "steroids" has actually been from diuretics (momo benzina, andreas munzer, paul dillet's imfamous "freeze" on stage etc).

because some peoples personnal choices suck, like using heroine for the first time, stepping out between 2 parked cars and eating yourself up to 300lbs so you can squat 1200lbs :D

In your opinion.

I don't see the point in posting in a thread where a guy has made a HUGE change to his physique, and now looks fantastic, just so you can say "he should never have let himself get that fat anyway".

I just don't understand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

dave80,

I suggest you call it a day in this thread.

The ironing is just too delicious for me to have anymore thanks.

Dragan
    - Internet Bad Ass

In your opinion.

I don't see the point in posting in a thread where a guy has made a HUGE change to his physique, and now looks fantastic, just so you can say "he should never have let himself get that fat anyway".

I just don't understand it.

yes my opinion which iam entitled to like everybody else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

yes my opinion which iam entitled to like everybody else!

Which part of my post didn't you see?

Infracted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Blazher

Great work.

Its not as easy as "Why did he let himself get that fat" Thats not important the fact is he did something about it! And i can honestly say it has made me think long and hard about myself.

Great working!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Amazing transformation!! I wouldn't even have known it was him, the only real tell-tale sign is the little dimple on his chin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

I wonder now that he has that physique will he eat his way back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

WOW. It's amazing what you can achieve with lipotrim :P