Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin V Tyrone

• 11-08-2008 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭

Im very excited, I think this has the makings of a good ol' ding dong of a match. Obviously I see Dublin winning it. I think they will have too much speed and stamina in the last 10-15 mins and will stretch out. But you never know with Tyrone..they are a tough team and one of their best qualities is they never give up.

The big question for me is who to play at full back ? Also I think its time Collie Moran became an impact sub, hes got great experiance and a cool head but I dont think he is quite up to the pace of the game anymore.
    Vaughan, murray and O'Brien are all doing well in training I here ( not the most reliable source mind you) so perhaps a surprise on the first team ? I dont think Mossy has been amazing so far... but good enough to keep his place I guess.

I think the Dublin Full back situation will be solved by man to man marking, which ever Tyrone Forward is free scoring or winning ball will get the attention of what ever dublin back is playing the best... We dont have a natural Full back so it has to be matched up that way.

Whelan, and the wing forwards will have to do some serious back tracking and I hope Brogans hammy is up to the task?

Thank goodness Mulligan has not been up to scratch so far this season... but then wouldn't this be a wonderful time for him to "come back" as it were ?

I think the dublin team should be

Cluxton
    D Henry
    not sure ( Kevin Nolan, Ross McConnell, Shocko, Brennan ?)
    P Griffen
    B Cahill
    B cullen
    P Casey
    C Whelan
    S Ryan
    B Brogan
    J Sherlock
    D Connolly
    A Brogan
    C Keany
    T Quinn

Business end of the Championship now
    COME MON' THE DUBS :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Got my ticket. I reckon Wexford will be cheering Dublin on so they can get a 2nd shot at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭silliegillie

Id Love to have a second shot at Dublin, But the demons will be easier to handle If we Play Tyrone. Going on the way Dublin annihilated us in the leinster final I believe they have the makings of an exceptional team. Put it this way Dublin throunced wexford in the Midfield area. Wexfords last 2 games wexford won the midfield play better than the opponenets. So If Dublin can keep up that performance then they will even put it up to Kerry. If tyrone win then Dublin will have to ask alot of questions about themselves. Wexford regroup and got it together after the leinster final. It would be a shame if the team that Butchered us where to throw it away against Tyrone. It will have been 5 weeks since Dublin last played. So far this year it hasnt hampered many teams I hope it doesn hamper Dublin. A replay of the Leinster final if they get through. Interesting. I be Shouting for the leinster team anyway Lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Mulligan has only been a bit-part player so far but it was exactly the same in 2005 when he was completely off form until that goal, after which he went on to play a pivotal role in Tyrone's All-Ireland win. Can he do it again?

All in all though this Tyrone team is nowhere near as good as the 2005 version. Stephen O'Neill has been a big loss, Mulligan is only a shadow of the player he used to be and Brian McGuigan is also struggling to find his old form, taken off the last day.

Tyrone will make it difficult like they always do but it's very hard to see anything other than a Dublin win. I think the only way Dublin can lose this is if they self-destruct like they did against Mayo 2 years ago. Tyrone have gone back alot since '05, Dublin have improved. Two teams going in opposite directions, there can only be one winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Two teams going in opposite directions, there can only be one winner.
    I think that's the standout thing for me - as formidable as Tyrone have been in previous years, I'm just not sure they've got the beating of Dublin this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭kelzer

Really looking forward to this match as a Tyrone fan. The pressure is all on the Dublin side I feel as every analyst has predicted a Dublin win, and the county fans expect them to deliver the big one this year. Tyrone will relish going into the match as underdogs and know exactly the challenge they face. While we certainly have lost some majors players since '05 you can be assured Tyrone will play right to the final whistle. The tactical changes by both managers will be pivotal. Tyrone's forwards need to be much more accurate than previous matches and I expect a much closer match than people think.

Probably to many if and buts for us to win though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

This will be a tough test for the Dubs. They will be under alot more pressure from Tyrone (as opposed to Wexford), a bit like Kilkenny crowding Cork out of it yesterday. I can see Tyrone running the Dubs close, a bit like the Kerry/Monaghan game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Tyrone will push us, but I can't see them beating us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

There wont be any major surprises to the team

Im predicting:

Cluxton
    Shocko
    Griffen
    Henry
    Cahill
    Cullen
    Moran
    Ryan
    Whelan
    Berno
    Jayo
    Connolly
    Alan
    Keaney
    Quinn

Dubs to win by 4
    Berno to score first goal

BLUE ARMY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

would not having Collie in the team not be a surprise ? Perhaps not... but haas has been ever present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Got my ticket. I reckon Wexford will be cheering Dublin on so they can get a 2nd shot at us.

They must want a 30 point defeat I suppose:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

YAY. Collected my tickets yesterday :D 335 in row HH, at least I'll be out of the rain! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Mad Dog

I hope to see a good performance from us this weekend with the step up in opponent and expect the Dubs to win by about 5 points.

And please god the rain stays away as I am in the Nally ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

I hope Tyrone annihalate Dublin this weekend. Dublin are the dirtiest team in the championship and always resort to dirty tactics when any team gets on top of them.

I hope this happens with Tyrone because they will flatten the Dubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

lol nice post :D

looking forward to saturday. could be sternest test to date. hopefully will be a good game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

mbren wrote: »
    I hope Tyrone annihalate Dublin this weekend. Dublin are the dirtiest team in the championship and always resort to dirty tactics when any team gets on top of them.

What manner of BS is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Can posters please stay on topic. mbren can you back up our statements, are they your opinion or are you trolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

Apologies, didn't mean to come across as trolling. Was merely expressing an opinion.

If you want back up, just look at dublin's disciplinary record. That to me, says enough...again, only an opinion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Dublin are one of the cleaner teams in the championship and are far cleaner than any Tyrone team. Alot of the press and media like to tarnish Dublin yet all Dublin do is play 100% to the wire and push the bar as far as possible.

It will not be a good game however and Tyrone will have all men behind the ball and it will be a scrappy game, Dublin will have to release the ball fast and will have to let in high aerial balls to the verge of the square. Short passing will cost Dublin, the ball must be released fast and have every player in front of his man.

Tyrone will hit hard and will play negative, Tyrone are a far dirtier team than anything Dublin have dished up in recent years, oh and don't get me started about the fans, just look at the way they terrorised Westmeath.

I think Dublin will win this and then march onto meet Kerry in the All-Ireland, the football pureist in me wants Dublin to win, however I won't be happy until I see Kerry defeat Tyrone in an All-Ireland final by at least 10 points.

Tyrone are categorically the dirtiest team to take to the field of play in the last decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    I reckon Wexford will be cheering Dublin on so they can get a 2nd shot at us.

Ah, Wexford is my second county these days as i spend alot of time there so if it isnt us, id love it to be them to get there. Even if my Dubs jersey does get some sour looks at times there :D I think we definately have the beating of Tyrone this year. In the last 3 years we have come on leaps and bounds but i feel Tyrone havent. Their 2005 team was spectacular but has dropped since then where we are stronger, fitter, and more organised. If we lose this one i will be surprised. Wexford, looking for revenge and getting stronger, that worries me a bit however i was screaming at the TV for em against Armagh. Did not want to have to beat Tyrone, Armagh and then Kerry most probably if we are to go all the way. While Wexford are a different team mentally and looking alot better since the Leinster Final, it wont be the same physical game. This year i am far more confident that we can do it than the last few but there are still some big challenges ahead so feet on the ground for now. I thought Kerry were looking weaker than usual by a long way but the match against Galway showed some great football and as usual they are getting stronger by the match so with Galvin thrown back in, they will take some beating in the final if they overcome Cork. Back on topic again anyway, Dublin by a few points. I would think by 4 or 5 but Tyrone will be at full focus for this one so 2 or 3 to the Dubs.

......Longest post i think i ever typed on boards!!!

Apologies, didn't mean to come across as trolling. Was merely expressing an opinion.

If you want back up, just look at dublin's disciplinary record. That to me, says enough...again, only an opinion!

Go on, show us the record?!? Since Cluxton was sent off, how many red cards have we had in championship games? You probably dont know of course so no point asking! If you didnt mean to troll, you really are.....reads the charter.....nevermind :D Are you the only Meath fan left on here? ;)

What Pillar has drilled into this team is "dont be intimidated". Sometimes it can go too far, Meath in the league showed it altho that was half a dozen of one etc.. But if someone can show Dublin resorting to filth everytime a team gets on top, ill gladly take all this back! Mbren, anymore nuggets of wisdom??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Did Dubs to win by 6 in f'cast at work.

As a Westmeath man (having lost to both teams) think dubs are far better team, the only thing that can beat dubs is them losing focus and getting caught up in off ball rubbish, which the likes of Dooher and McMenamin will probably try to provoke..

Be interesting to see where Kavanagh plays for Tyrone, been playing great stuff at FF but think it would be a bit of a waste to leave him there for full game, this might allow dubs to get upper hand in mf, when they do, they generally do well at converting this primary possession into scores.

Imo if dubs play with usual intensity and focus, they should win easy, if they get caught up in a scrappy, petty game, it'll be close..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I can see Dublin either walking this one, 7/8 points at least or it being tight and Tyrone have a chance then.

All depends on breaking ball and how Dooher and Brian McGuigan play. Also a big test for the younger, less experienced forwards.

Yes Tyrone can be dirty, no major fan of them, but in flashes some of the foot passing is a joy to watch. Don't let petty hatred blind you to real skill! They were excellent for the first 25 minutes against the masters of puke football this year, Westmeath!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Seanies32 wrote: »
    I can see Dublin either walking this one, 7/8 points at least or it being tight and Tyrone have a chance then.

All depends on breaking ball and how Dooher and Brian McGuigan play. Also a big test for the younger, less experienced forwards.

Yes Tyrone can be dirty, no major fan of them, but in flashes some of the foot passing is a joy to watch. Don't let petty hatred blind you to real skill! They were excellent for the first 25 minutes against the masters of puke football this year, Westmeath!

You know I really do hate this "puke football" statement.Can we not call it what it is ie blanket defense/swarm football.We had a Cavan man train us these tactics and we used them.They got us results even though I'm sure it was not attractive to watch from the sidelines.

I'm no great fan of that style of play btw.I'm actually expecting Tyrone to try and play open football.The swarm tactics don't seem to be so evident this year although they may adopt them for the Dubs clash.I just think Dublin will win too much breaking ball in the middle of the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

blackbelt wrote: »
    You know I really do hate this "puke football" statement.Can we not call it what it is ie blanket defense/swarm football.We had a Cavan man train us these tactics and we used them.They got us results even though I'm sure it was not attractive to watch from the sidelines.

I'm no great fan of that style of play btw.I'm actually expecting Tyrone to try and play open football.The swarm tactics don't seem to be so evident this year although they may adopt them for the Dubs clash.I just think Dublin will win too much breaking ball in the middle of the pitch

True, even Spillane said in 05 that Tyrone out played Kerry!

It suits limited teams like Fermanagh and Westmeath.

However, one of the big reasons Tyrone have 2 AI's and Armagh don't, is they are selective when playing it. Indeed even Kerry, shock horror, can play it at times, but there is no point in suppressing natural talent all the time.

Tyrone play a more short style game, players in support, handpassing and some beautiful accurate 20/30 yard foot passes, which is needed against a swarm defence.

My worry for Tyrone would be the breaking ball, thus sending Cavanagh to midfield. Dooher and B. McGuigan need 05 performances.

PS. That means they play to their strengths. No point in Tyrone knocking high ball into the full forward line. Even Cavanagh, good and all he is, was never a fantastic fielder of a ball!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

No doubt someone will still be looking for tickets as the bandwagon gets bigger.
    Ticket info: Dublin v Tyrone

There will be a limited number of tickets available for the Dublin v Tyrone All-Ireland SFC quarter-final from the Dublin County Board offices, Parnell Park on Thursday morning from 9.30am. Tickets distributed on first-come, first-served basis.

Dublin will announce their team after training on Wednesday night

Bear this in mind if getting anything in the lowers OO or so down.
    During Saturday another Atlantic depression will come close to Ireland. That will give more torrential rain, cloudbursts and downpours and lead on to more flooding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

tyrone to nick it if sean cavanagh and enda mcginley play well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Saying the same thing again does not make it any closer to accurate. If Nalced is correct and you are a Meath fan, well the hypocisy would almost be poetic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

have to laugh at dublin fans when anyone comments on their disipline record, their instant reaction always seems to be ....'' but meath are worse than us'' its so feckin childish its laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Back on topic please.

With regards to the game, I think that Dublin will have just enough to beat Tyrone. If Tyrone had O'Neill and a fully fit Mulligan then it would be a different IMO.

I am hoping for a draw, replay next weekend and then the Wexford game :)

have to laugh at dublin fans when anyone comments on their disipline record, their instant reaction always seems to be ....'' but meath are worse than us'' its so feckin childish its laughable
    Never said they were or not, just as the mod said, if you make a statement like that, back it up or shut up. He seems to have taken the latter tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

"If you make a statement like that, back it up or shut up"
    mumhaabu wrote: »
    Dublin are one of the cleaner teams in the championship and are far cleaner than any Tyrone team. Alot of the press and media like to tarnish Dublin yet all Dublin do is play 100% to the wire and push the bar as far as possible.

It will not be a good game however and Tyrone will have all men behind the ball and it will be a scrappy game, Dublin will have to release the ball fast and will have to let in high aerial balls to the verge of the square. Short passing will cost Dublin, the ball must be released fast and have every player in front of his man.

Tyrone will hit hard and will play negative, Tyrone are a far dirtier team than anything Dublin have dished up in recent years, oh and don't get me started about the fans, just look at the way they terrorised Westmeath.

I think Dublin will win this and then march onto meet Kerry in the All-Ireland, the football pureist in me wants Dublin to win, however I won't be happy until I see Kerry defeat Tyrone in an All-Ireland final by at least 10 points.

Tyrone are categorically the dirtiest team to take to the field of play in the last decade.

Ridiculous! How come no one asks mumhaabu "to back up" this DRIVEL?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

"If you make a statement like that, back it up or shut up"

Ridiculous! How come no one asks mumhaabu "to back up" this DRIVEL?

thats a fair point... Not sure if Tyrone are the dirtyist team Evar ! But dont worry about moderating ...there are loads of us here to do that.
    Now back to Dublin v Tyrone please ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

blackbelt wrote: »
    I just think Dublin will win too much breaking ball in the middle of the pitch

Winning scrappy ball around the middle is one of Tyrone's strengths! Dublin will win because they have a superior forward line.
    mumhaabu wrote: »
    Tyrone are categorically the dirtiest team to take to the field of play in the last decade

They're more cynical than outright dirty. Some of the stuff they get up to does leave a bad taste, with timewasting, feigning injury, off the ball stuff etc. Witness McMenamin's antics in the closing minutes of the Monaghan game, or Dooher going down like he was shot against Westmeath. Not saying they're the only team who ever does these things but Tyrone have made it something of a speciality at this stage.

The pity of it is that Tyrone can play some good football when they want to, but they've a habit of getting caught up in niggly stuff and the game on Saturday could be another heated encounter. I'd bet money that there won't be 30 players on the field at the final whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I hope Tyrone annihalate Dublin this weekend. Dublin are the dirtiest team in the championship...blah blah blah

Not worth responding to tbh.

On topic, I think Dublin have the measure of this Tyrone team now. Dooher, McGuigan and McMenamin breaking forward are threats. Defending from the front i.e. tracking the runs of those players will negate that threat big time.

Tyrone used the swarm defence very well in their last match but up the pitch, putting pressure on the opposition backs trying to get out of defence, Dublin will need to use less short passing out of defence to negate that - foot passing is the way to beat it.

I can see McMenamin being detailed to mark Brogan, which will keep him a lot quieter than normal. I'm just worried about Dooher - engine room of the team. If someone can man mark him Dublin will win by 5/6, barring giving up a couple of easy goals.

Just think the Dubs are too strong in the middle of the park and will win too much clean possession for Tyrone to be able to beat them. Come on the Dubs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Thanks to Bluetonic for the ticket info - my cousin is playing in Croker for the first time with the Kerry ladies footbal team beforehand and my aunt has been doing her nut trying to get her hands on tickets. The GAA in their wisdom only announced the fixture this week - great support for the Ladies game there :rolleyes:.

As a neutral I think this one is a very tough one to call. Tyrone haven't really played well for a full game so far this Championship but unlike a lot of other teams they won't be intimidated by playing the Dubs in Croker. On the other hand Dublin haven't really impressed me either and have not came up against any of the top quality teams so far this year. I suppose I would expect this one to go down to the wire with only a few points being in it at the end (what odds for a draw?) Gun to my head I'd probably say Dublin but I can see it being a hum-dinger and I have to say I wouldn't be surprised if there weren't 30 men on the pitch at the end.

As to the cynical versus dirty team debate - I doubt anything anyone says here is going to change anyone's opinion.
    In my opinion Kilkenny are the dirtiest most cynical football team in the country;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

As everyone from outside of Dublin will probably agree with me, I hope Tyrone do really well.

I dont know what it is but Dublin just seem so arrogant, I hate to see them winning anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

Tickets on Sale on Ticketmaster now for Dublin game and have been since lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

I'm looking forward to the game, hoping for a Dublin win. But can't take any game for granted at this stage of the year, as Armagh will testify to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

DUBLIN (SF v Tyrone) - S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, P Griffin; C Moran, B Cullen, B Cahill; C Whelan, S Ryan; D Connolly, J Sherlock, K Bonner; A Brogan, C Keaney, T Quinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

MMM...Kevin Bonner in the starting 15.I don't really like the look of that.If this guy could only bring his club form into intercounty level I'd put money on him to score a goal but unfortunately he doesn't and apart from one or two setup plays against Wexford,he failed to impress me.

Ross McConnell must be going good in training to get his place back.Maybe he could mark Cavanagh if Cavanagh is in the forward line.I'm surprised to see Casey is left out.Pillar seems to have taken off his soft approach to players he likes and is making the starting 15 based on form.I'm glad to see Casey out of the starting 15 as he is one player that always leaves me worried.His lacksadaisical challenge for the Mulligan goal in 05 cost us.

I'm expecting Vaughan,Bernard Brogan,McManoman and Nolan to be brought into action.I don't think Kevin Nolan got a fair crack of the whip and he was called ashore as he could have got sent off. the last day.

We look strong at the back but my main concern would be McConnell.He has a tendency to be marked absent on occasions and he better stick to his marker like glue or else Tyrone will probably get a goal.I have a feeling Cluxton will be called into action to save us on a few occasions too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Bernard Brogan is an excellent option to have coming off the bench. The type of impact sub that could tip the balance in favour of the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Buck_Naked wrote: »
    Bernard Brogan is an excellent option to have coming off the bench. The type of impact sub that could tip the balance in favour of the Dubs.

Just hope he doesnt overdo it and do himself in again like the last day

As blackbelt said bonner bein in there is worrying but we will just have to wait and see and i reckon nolan would have gotten himself sent off on his first run out he was goin in too hard tryin to be a macho man he needs the experience of a few bigger games before we can see what he is made of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

My two cents worth. Probably a load of rubbish but just expressing my opinion.

I posted months ago that if Dublin changed their attitude under Caffrey, they would go very close to winning the AI and I believe they that have changed their attitude.

Provided they mark each other, I think the key to this game is the Cullen/McGuigan and Cahill/Dooher Sherlock/Gormley duels. I've said it before I don't think that Cullen is a natural centre back but the type of game McGuigan plays will suit Cullen play. Cahill will have the legs for Dooher and will be more than happy to be up around the Tyrone 21 yard line. Gormley will give Sherlock lots of it (he knows no different) and if Jayo can keep his cool it'll make a huge difference.

All Tyrones play go through the two mentioned above. If the Dubs cut the supply to these two I reckon it'll go a long way towards winning the game.

The Dubs by about 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I dont know what it is but Dublin just seem so arrogant, I hate to see them winning anything!

What exactly do you mean by 'Dublin'? Do you mean the fans or the team or what?
    You really shouldn't let the media hype that surrounds them every year taint your view of the team or the people that support it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

What exactly do you mean by 'Dublin'? Do you mean the fans or the team or what?
    You really shouldn't let the media hype that surrounds them every year taint your view of the team or the people that support it.

I think I'm going to have to go a Setanta pub for this one, I've put up with the online stream thus far but this match is too big to leave it to chance online!

I'm surprised Bonner is back in, and to a lesser extent Casey out, but as you said blackbelt, it looks like Caffrey has changed his policy somewhat.

I think Tyrone are going to bring everything that they have to this match, and possibly cross the line on occasion. This is based on past performances, so if it's stays free-flowing and clean and is anything like Kerry-Galway I'll be delighted. I fear this won't be the case though.

Dublin need a very strong and very controlled performance. If they get on top it is possible that they might be enticed into a dogfight, as on paper and in practise they're stronger than Tyrone at the moment. If Tyrone get on top and are leading in the second half, Dublin will have to show their fortitude, step it up and show they deserve to be treated as genuine contenders. Tyrone and any neutral knows that on form and ability alone Dublin are the marginal favourites, but as it usually goes in these situation the form goes out the window. This match will be as much about mental strength as it will be about footballing ability and tactics, and if Dublin have serious designs on getting to the steps of the Hogan Stand in September then this is where they start to prove it.

Dublin need to remain focused on playing their own brand of football and not letting Tyrone get to them whatever tactics the use, if they can beat them on the pitch and in the head, then they should win. This match will reveal a lot about the state of both teams, but I fancy (nervously!) Dublin to prevail. As I've already harped on about, it's utterly imperative that Dublin don't get outfoxed in the mind games or handbagging. If some guff starts, then it's up to Dublin to ensure they remain focused on the match and not start throwning their weight around a lá the Meath game or Omagh a couple of seasons ago. If they can keep their heads and stay strong and away from the handbags but at the same time without getting bullied it will be a big marker. All-Ireland champions will not get involved in playing at their opponent's game, rather put their own stamp on proceedings and this is where Dublin have to prove their credentials. The spine of the team like Cluxton, Cullen, Collie Moran, Whelan, Brogan and Jayo need to show their experience and leadership when it starts getting heated out there. I think the close defeats of the past three years have stood to them, and this is where they can show they've the ability, guile and the calibre to go the distance.

If Dublin get dragged into an arm-wrestling match and both teams have yellow and reds marks all over the match programme come full time, then it's safe to say whoever the winner is won't be winning the All-Ireland this year. Kerry have shown in their past two matches how to lay down a marker without getting into a pissing contest. That's the benchmark for now.

Dublin by less than three.*

*Now that I've called it I'm nervous!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

You not in Ireland juvenal? I'm in Australia, meaning throw in will be a 1:00 Sunday morning! It will require a serious effort on my part to even remember the game! Going to have to just not go to the pub until midnight!

F00k, getting a nervous about it now thinking about it! I think we can do it, but you'd never know with Tyrone...

Anyone looking for tickets ring Parnell Park NOW! My friend phoned 5 mins ago and got 2! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Posted here yesterday http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56884453&postcount=26

Also available on ticketmaster at the moment.

Bring snorkel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Only the davin left, meh. Think I will just go the pub and watch the match. The ticket price will get me my drinks and I will be nice and dry.

Jaysus, you sound like my sister now :rolleyes: Theres just no comparison. I'd rather get wet and watch it in Croker..