Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best chipper in Galway?

• 10-08-2008 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,
    I have a hankering for a decent chicken and chips. Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

McDonaghs have great chips. And fish too - not sure about their chicken though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

Keedowah wrote: »
    I love their chips but I'm not a fish fan unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

chicken is decent too, greasy but decent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

chicken in mcdonaghs is great.

def with a try.

Nice one for the responses. (Puts coat on and heads out door)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Come back! I've found zanadoo when it comes to fish and chips in Galway - Kettle of Fish, across from Buskers.

Was a McDonaghs fan for manys a year however I think their food has gotten extremely greasy recently (even for fish and chips). The food in KOF is top quality and in my humble opinion the best chipper in town.

If you're looking for a burger or a kebab look no further then Charcoal Grill. 1/4 pounder with cheese is quality. Mmmm Charcoal Grill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭foxy_19-89

donner meat fries in charcoal grill, yum yum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Kebab House for all your greasy needs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

I like Vinnies on Dominick St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

Marios merlin park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Come back! I've found zanadoo when it comes to fish and chips in Galway - Kettle of Fish, across from Buskers.

was in there last week.. its ok but the food doesn't travel (i.e. takeaway, goes very mushy)

also the price seems to be very steep compared to the rest

nice veggie burgers though.

still though.. cant beat mcdonaghs for chicken and chips... i don't bother buying fish from them any more ( i have a freezer full from fishing trips :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

foxy_19-89 wrote: »
    donner meat fries in charcoal grill, yum yum :D

Divine:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Curry cheese chips from the kebab house. that's what i'm talking about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

Del Rio's RIP.
    THe original Italian take away in Galway which closed a long time ago. The staff were actually Italian (as opposed to the Polish & Chinese guys in Mario's in Barna) and they would talk about football while they deep fried your battered sausage ***mouth waters as he types***

Anyone else remember Del Rio's?

Bake N' Take?
    Beefeaters?
    Wimpy?

I don't think I ever eat from these joints whilst I was sober.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

JIZZLORD wrote: »

I see and approve your choice of food, Kebab house all the way, try the above with garlic sauce on top and throw in a monster burger with everything on it but NO TOMATOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Duurty, but it tastes like honey licked off Keira Knightly when you're pissed!

Where was Del Rio's? I remember the Wimpy though...deeecent!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Anima wrote: »
    Kebab House for all your greasy needs

amen
    Duurty, but it tastes like licking honey off Keira Knightly when you're pissed!
    Cheers for image!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭redshoulder

kebab house and salt n pepper in salthill.

salt and pepper have seriously gone downhill over the past few years, they seem also to change the staff more than enough too..

mid to late 90's salt and pepper was the place to eat in salthill, at least its still better than supermac's though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Bass Cadet

Keedowah wrote: »

When you eat in there, it is really good but the take away is muck. Fish and chips in a cardboard box, like a supermacs snackbox?! Not good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

ErnieBert wrote: »
    Del Rio's RIP.
    THe original Italian take away in Galway which closed a long time ago. The staff were actually Italian (as opposed to the Polish & Chinese guys in Mario's in Barna) and they would talk about football while they deep fried your battered sausage ***mouth waters as he types***

Bake N' Take?
    Beefeaters?
    Wimpy?

Del Rio's was quality, i went to school with one of the lads, sound as a bell.

Beefeaters was good, quality curry.

My favourite though was the old Salt n Pepper.They used to do quality chips, don't know if their supplier changed or its the new cooking units but they just ain't the same.Still do a proper 1/4 punder though.

Wimpy was rough, it was like a cattle mart the queing system, you were always guaranteed a fight outside on the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Salt n Pepper was brilliant years ago but not great these days, the Garlic sauce is mank, more a vinegar taste from it:mad:

Was a McDonaghs fan for manys a year however I think their food has gotten extremely greasy recently (even for fish and chips). The food in KOF is top quality and in my humble opinion the best chipper in town.

If you're looking for a burger or a kebab look no further then Charcoal Grill. 1/4 pounder with cheese is quality. Mmmm Charcoal Grill.
    Funnily enough I ended up going in to KOF instead. It was delicious! Totally satisfied the craving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Ah, does poor auld Pat McDonagh and Supermas not get a look in?

Love their curry chips. That said Kebab house are particularly spectacular after a feed of pints in the Róisín, especially the chip butty thing they have with all the sauces.

Mmmm!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Duurty, but it tastes like honey licked off Keira Knightly when you're pissed!
    How does that taste? I've only ever licked honey off her when I'm stone cold sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Del Rio's RIP.

Bake N' Take?
    Beefeaters?
    Wimpy?

Del Rio's was miles ahead of the competition, I was passing by there with some friends the other night and we all started grumbling that we had to go to "Super"macs...missed Del Rio's. A curry chip (drenched in vinegar) with the monster onion rings they used to make..that, my friends, was good living.

There have been lot's of pretenders since Del Rio closed but none really come close (that chipper on Domnic street near Monroe's ain't bad though).

How does that taste? I've only ever licked honey off her when I'm stone cold sober.

Sorry should have put a comma after Knightly. Tut tut, no excuse for bad grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Cathal01

Del Rio's RIP.

I remember Del Rio's! I used to live beside them in knocknacarra. The food in there was unbeatable..

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Anyone remember Hannibal's on Lower Dominick St? Man alive, I'd kill for one of their BLTs, to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Any chance of a poll?

If you are really old, you might remeber a shortlived place called Kaspers on Mary Street (around the corner from GPO nightclub0. It opened 24 hours a day. It was busy up until 6am but sis no business between 6am and lunchtime. Oh and the food was crap.

don't forget about the one which was between the GPO and The Great Outdoors

cant remember name though (something like buck rogers , maybe not though)

and the one that used to be across from Roisin Dubh, Hannibals i think it was... now that was good food

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

don't forget about the one which was between the GPO and The Great Outdoors

cant remember name though (something like buck rogers , maybe not though)

and the one that used to be across from Roisin Dubh, Hannibals i think it was... now that was good food
    It was Buck Rogers all right, there was another one on Prospect Hill as well. I vaguely remember it was terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

Chicken donner and fries in Charcoal Grill is the way to go man!

I wish there was a KFC in Galway, it's a perfect hangover cure although it gives a friend of mine really potent farts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was in the charcoal grill the other week and I have to say I found their food overpriced and pretty poor could get the same freezer food from any half arsed chipper in the country. Wouldn't be going back in a hurry, could say the same thing about McDonaghs. Overcooked chips and insanely greasy.

Actually the more I think about it I haven't had a decent meal in Galway city for a while. I went to one of those restaurants across from McDonaghs with an American friend and wasn't all that impressed either. I know their only there to rape the tourists but still, they could put in a bit of effort.

You can get far better food (even chipper food) in just about any other small town in the county.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I think people do overrate chips here a lot, especially in mcdonaghs.

i cant believe people rate the chips from th charcoal grill.
    mc donaghs ones are grand but the kettle of fish have some of the best in town. but as i mentioned earlier, kebab house all the way when it comes to my curry cheese chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭booooonzo

i think mc donaghs is really over rated, espically when you compare it to kettel of fish.

any one tried their battered mars bar....

of yes, yes i have

i cant believe people rate the chips from th charcoal grill.

Yea the chips in charcoal aren't anything special.They're pretty bog standard greasy spoon chips. That being said they are really just mandatory filling when maunching down on a quality kebab or quater pounder with cheese (or god forbid a half pounder - oh the meat sweats!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

I too find the chips and the fish to be very over-rated in McDonaghs. Greasy to the point of being sickly. The fish is very fresh, but the batter isn't the best.

I find the Charcoal grill to be hot and cold, with the quality not being the same as it used to be. The unfriendly service has remained the same though. A smile wouldn't kill the lads behind the counter. The last few times I have been in Galway on the batter I have found myself in the late night shop across the road from Cuba, late night breakfast roll for the win.

I lived in Galway for 5 years and always found the chipper situation to be dire enough, nothing really stood out. It is one of the things that Dublin just does better, every village/community in Dublin usually has at least one top class chipper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Haven't eaten in Mc Donaghs in donkeys, the last 2-3 times i got a fish n chips in there i got more batter than fish, its totally overrated.Get Conlons on a good day and they are excellent.

I've begun to suspect the last few times I've got Fish'n'chips in McDonaghs, that they aren't preparing the fish themselves anymore.

Time was when you would see them battering the fish but now it all seems to come in suspiciously uniform shapes. I still think the chips are great though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Actually I just remembered that la Salsa are staying open til 2 or 3 am from now on. Bit expensive but the food is quality. Great chips as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Bass Cadet

I wish there was a KFC in Galway, it's a perfect hangover cure although it gives a friend of mine really potent farts.

KFC is evil. I've only ever had one and I barfed it up right after eating it. Complete muck

anyway all multi-national restaurants like McDonalds/KFC/Burger King, even the bould supermacs should be banned from the discussion! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Ya, i've never been dying about Mcdonaghs, chips are lovely but fish is way way too greasy, i feel so ill afterwards.

Conlons is really good, but that said haven't been since their swanky new renovation so dont know if its as good now.

Really like kettle of fish tho, yumyum. Charcoal grill chips are pretty crappy, and i prefer the Mary st gaff to the one on cross st i must say.

Chips in Vinnys are pretty sweet too but the staff freak me out in there!!

Nothing soothes a hangover like La Salsa tho, and man o me, their cinnamon churros are AM~AZING!!!!!

We could do witha Jackie Lennox' up here tho, the only thing I miss about Cork **slobber** Drool**

It's not like that muck needs to be banned, nobody should mention it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭tobiesheba

Currently a Vinnies' fan. Have transfered my allegiance from McDonaghs. Used to be a big fan of Gourmet Burger but considering they didn't last very long I must have been the only one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Steak

Charcoal Grill 'nuf said. I'd be quite partial to a Supermacs too though...