Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why oh why? ... Floods

• 09-08-2008 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭

With the torrential rain we've have in Dublin there was some localized flooding in our estate. Some of it waist high - now what amazes me is the amount of people willing to attempt to drive through this!

One Polo car driver tried and with the water coming over the engine bonnet it stalled (Go figure). Sitting in the middle of this massive pool of water a guy in a Hyundai Trajet, reckoned despite the Polo warning that he could make it! He also got stuck.

And then like a lemming a guy in his Mitsubishi L200 SUV thing reckoned he'd make it - and he got stuck. Pfff.

The silliness continues in our estate at the moment. Anyone else see anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Could be a few stuck in this...

http://www.dublintraffic.com/Site0Camera89.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Flooding bad in ballyfermot at ballyfermot road going to the N4 at both sides of the liffey gaels, Cars were getting through on one of the sides ok but the guards were at the other flooded area not allowing any through and diverting into inchicore.

Nightmare to be honest but got to my destination. Im amazed at some of the drivers. Cutting people off, no lights, some mad stuff to be honest. I just took it easy and didnt take any chances but Almost jumped out the car at some boy racer tailgating me (like come on the guy was being dangerous) , the girlfriend calmed me and persuaded me not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

All these people can consider themselves lucky if "stall" is all their engine did.

With water that high, the engine probably sucked in water and is now properly fubared ..and while the car sits there, getting flooded, some more electronic trickery will depart the land of the living. Way to write off a car :D

Btw ..it only drizzled here for about half an hour or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Mailman

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y173/proud_darcy/DSCF1188.jpg
    http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y173/proud_darcy/DSCF1189.jpg

currently looking at three stranded cars out side where yer man was swimming and one is being rescued by a kind soul in a Range Rover; they're not all bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

jayok wrote: »
    And then like a lemming a guy in his Nissan 200 SUV thing reckoned he'd make it - and he got stuck. Pfff.
    ?

That'll teach him to get a snorkel. (I'm assuming it's a diesel)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭landydef

Mailman wrote: »

currently looking at three stranded cars out side where yer man was swimming and one is being rescued by a kind soul in a Range Rover; they're not all bad.
    is that outside corkage park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Mailman

Blanchardstown Road South

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭guil

And then like a lemming a guy in his Nissan 200 SUV thing reckoned he'd make it - and he got stuck. Pfff.
    ha ha ya sure it wasnt a mitsubishi l200, a nissan 200 is a sporty 2 door car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

peasant wrote: »
    All these people can consider themselves lucky if "stall" is all their engine did.

I remember in a previous workshop I was working in, a chauffeur drove the boss's S600 through a bit of water. The engine hydrolocked and cost €17k+ to replace. The car was off the road for weeks.

Some people may be in for some NASTY shocks after their little aqua-excursions. Their impatience may have cost them dearly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Mailman wrote: »

Brilliant pictures, thats just nutz, fair play to yer man for having a swim in the madness!!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

With the torrential rain we've have in Dublin there was some localized flooding in our estate. Some of it waist high - now what amazes me is the amount of people willing to attempt to drive through this!

One Polo car driver tried and with the water coming over the engine bonnet it stalled (Go figure). Sitting in the middle of this massive pool of water a guy in a Hyundai Trajet, reckoned despite the Polo warning that he could make it! He also got stuck.

The silliness continues in our estate at the moment. Anyone else see anything?

any pics? pics would be awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Well it took me an hour to do normally what would be a 3/4minute drive home.. coming from the blanch shopping center! It's total madness up around there and from what I heard there is still people stuck up there in carparks waiting to get out (A mates stuck up there).

Here my pic of the day. ( I stopped to take on the way home )
    1000260bt1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Jesus that's gas, i haven't ventured out yet, going out soon-ish though. I don't think i'll be going far. Poor old Golf's wheels aren't big enough. Great pics lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭jayok

guil07 wrote: »
    ha ha ya sure it wasnt a mitsubishi l200, a nissan 200 is a sporty 2 door car

Sorry yeah - its was a Mitsu L200 horrible looking thingy (IMO). Not as off-roader as he hoped :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭jayok

any pics? pics would be awesome

Didn't even think of some - went out now but its too dark! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Near Leixlip Confey had me a nervous wreck. An Alfa 156 & a Leon got stuck in the big drink. Everybody else seemed to be getting through so I said Id chance it thru a flood there. Bloody scary when you are easing thru it and you hear chugging and other funny noises with about 1 foot of water. All other routes to my destination were even worse. I knew my air intake was high which is a blessing.

Drivers near Finglas village were using the footpath in numbers.

Irish Summers rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    Near Leixlip Confey had me a nervous wreck. An Alfa 156 & a Leon got stuck in the big drink.

The alfa was probably stuck there before the floods came :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Bad day to have a cold air intake. :D

Fair play to the guy who went for a swim.

I guess averge peron doesnt realise they can tun there engine to scrap by giving it a big drink of puddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Hydrolock (short for either hydraulic lock or hydrostatic lock) is a condition of an internal combustion engine in which an incompressible liquid has been introduced into its cylinder(s), resulting in the immobilization of the engine's pistons. The liquid causing this malfunction is often water, hence the prefix "hydro-". Hydrolock occurs in a 4-stroke engine when liquid is sucked into the engine's cylinder(s) during the intake stroke and, due to the incompressibility of the liquid, makes the compression stroke impossible. This, in turn, prevents the entire engine from turning, and can cause significant engine damage if one attempts to forcibly turn over or start the engine. Typically, connecting rods will be bent, making the engine uneconomical to repair
    Hydro lock is relatively common when driving through floods, either where the water is above the level of the air intake or the vehicle's speed is excessive, creating a tall bow wave
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrolock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭the corpo

we had a nightmare getting out of blanch earlier, compounded by the amount of idiots on the road.

worst being, when getting onto the roundabout out of blanch towards the m50/n3 when some PLANK decides to go the wrong way around an already jammed roundabout to get where he wanted....the mind boggles....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Cionád

Yeah, plenty of idiots out there, I saw a lad tearing it around a saturated corner, spinning a 180 and almost hitting an electricity fuse box thingy. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

Crazy indeed,

I was driving from Blanchardstown, near the Roselawn Tesco and was heading to Celbridge,

First road was Luttrellstown Road near the golf Club,

Not a change to drive trough, some cars, blue Alfa 156 were already stuck there.

Then back to Blanch Village > Tyrrelstown and Clonee.

No luck to drive from Clonee Village to Leixlip (R149 road), so I had to drive trough Dunboyne.

From Dunboyne I was driving towards Maynooth, then take the shortcut that would lead to me close to Intel.

There is a small, narrow bridge in that R149 road that goes through the River near Intel,

Not a change to go trough, I had to reverse my car back trough the bridge,

then I was heading to Leixlip, I just got trough, a loads of water in that road.

Then in Oldtown Road near the St Raphaels Ave I had to drive trough sidewalk because there was so much water in the road.

Just crazy conditions, but I am happy that I was able to get home and not to break my car, many people were way too brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,152 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Coming back from Donegal, have never seen so much traffic in the opposite direction on the N2 at 11pm - traffic that couldn't get on to the M1 I'm guessing. Road from the N3 in to Dunboyne was passable at 5mph in a Grande Punto but any higher I suspect the wake would have got up in to the intakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Mental night weather wise!

Went for a spin to have a look around the place and rescued a couple of people in the Navara tonight. Dragged a guy out of a massive flood near Lispopple. He was blessed that his car started going again - water flooded out of the exhaust like a hot tap! Also gave 2 people a lift through a flood to Roganstown golf club that was mental - a couple of cars floating in it!

Must say the jeep was legendary. Going through massive floods where the back of the jeep was floating and the bonnet was totally submerged and it just kept on going. Was really worried at times as it felt like it was gone, but we kept going. Really impressed with it.

Carpets are damp and it sounded a bit sick coming in but it was a good laugh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Goldstar

Can you claim off the insurance for any damage done to a car in floods like this. Just say its parked outside your house and the whole locality floods and you car becomes a write off - i presume comprehensive must cover it.

If I drive into a flood and damage the car, i presume comprehensive will cover it also. Anyone have any experience of this?

Incidentally, I presume most of the big jeeps, landrovers etc would be able to go through about a foot of water or would they?? It would be interesting to compile a list of cars that could go through them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Goldstar, We went through about 4 foot of water at one stage, but it can comfortably do 2 1/2 - 3 feet of water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Mirto

I arrived into the airport at 22:00. Only home to Tallaght now :( The M50 was a disaster from the Derry exit to the blanch one. We all had to go up the middle of the road works inside the works barriers. It looked like the normal lanes were rivers on either side.

Pain in the goulies but good for anger management. I for one wanted to kill all around me but I didn't. Not yet. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Mister Robinson

Left Blanchardstown Centre round six from work.Went by the bridge over the Navan road.No cars on the route to navan due to floods,and 4 lanes of traffic from Navan towards M-50.It was mental

Also backloged from the Blanch Centre through the blanch village and both towards castleknock and the M-50. Was just talking to the Gf and she said its still crazy there. Took her 20 minutes to drive to what normally takes a 5 min drive even with the traffic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭nickhilliard

Goldstar wrote: »
    If I drive into a flood and damage the car, i presume comprehensive will cover it also. Anyone have any experience of this?

I've heard about cases of people who have been refused cover because from the point of view of the insurance company, they deliberately did something which was risky and which consequently damaged their vehicles. YMMV.
    Incidentally, I presume most of the big jeeps, landrovers etc would be able to go through about a foot of water or would they?? It would be interesting to compile a list of cars that could go through them..

I did about a meter of moving river water in a hummer H1 one day. Unfortunately, the owner hadn't put in the bungs on the passenger side, so water started pissing in through the floor. If he had put them in, it would otherwise have been fine. The engine was happy to run underwater, apparently.

-nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

I got stuck in Rolestown having taken a load of back roads to get away from Blanchardstown. Went through a particularly deep one at the school and conked it about three-quarters of the way through. I'm just praying that I didn't suck up a load of water (air intake is pretty low) but I'm not optimistic. :(

Thanks to the kind Samaritans who helped push me out, offered cups of tea and gave me a lift as far as Swords, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

MOAR pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

thank god i was in the landcruiser.....carnage on the way home from airport with cars in ditches everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭audismelly

guys coming from offaly to lucan ,clonee then dunboyne in a couple of hours has the route cleared up:(:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Santrycommunity

You can view photos of the floods on 9th August on www.santrycommunity.info If you have any photos you would like to submit please email info@santrycommunity.info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

A view of the N3 at Blanchardstown this morning at 10:00.

20080810_0012.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭audismelly

audismelly wrote: »
    guys coming from offaly to lucan ,clonee then dunboyne in a couple of hours has the route cleared up:(:confused:

looking bad:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

One of these babies would have been useful last night:

http://www.vikingsplash.ie/duk-history.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Those lads with the tractor and tank on the back must be getting payed by the hour :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Those lads with the tractor and tank on the back must be getting payed by the hour :D

I thought that was funny. It wouldn't take long to fill the tank & then where do they dump the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

joolsveer wrote: »
    A view of the N3 at Blanchardstown this morning at 10:00.

20080810_0012.jpg

That's a familiar sight! Not learning anything from the three or four times it's happened previously, I see. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭JD1763

We were visiting the other halfs parents in Churchtown left there around half 6 to be in Blanch for a bday dinner. Went fine till the slip road for Liffey Valley, traffic was backed up there - thought it was just the usual toll bridge, how very wrong we were!

Took us two hours to get to the Blanch slip road from the toll - the fact that I had to get across 4 lanes of solid traffic to get to the off lane from the easypass lane didn't help. Then of course the N3 was closed so had the two lanes off the N3 condensing down to the first slip road at the Quinn Direct building - was great fun to get through. Managed to finally get on the road up to the national aquatic center and take the back roads to Ashbourne. Complete nightmare over 3 hours to get home.

But what really really p***** me off in addition to the usual muppetry goings on were the absolute clowns coming up the hard shoulder on the M50 at speed and without a care in the world. Everyone in the two left lanes were queuing correctly to get off at Blanch with those morons speeding up their offside. There were also broken down cars on the shoulder and god forbid the emergency services should need to use the shoulder. Fair play to the truck in front of me who eventually straddled the shoulder to stop them - hero of the day award right there.

It is the one time I would whole heartedly support putting in cameras to monitor the hardshoulder and heap penalty points and large fines on anyone doing that :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,528 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Took a spin up to Croke park yesterday, parked my car in Clonliffe college carpark (i.e. a soggy field!) Upon leaving the Hogan stand, the access road to get to my car was under a few feet of water! The guards had the roads closed and we had monsoon-like rain drenching us.... We weren't really dressed for it... disaster! I was then fearing the worst, that I'd only recognise my car by its aerial :pac:

Got back to the car eventually and all was OK, we then sat in soggy clothes in traffic, crawling through Lucan for 2.5 hours. Half the dual carraigeway under water.

Is heavy rain in Dublin that unusual?! I've seen heavier showers here in Galway every other day and I've never seen the likes of the chaos it caused in Dublin.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Is heavy rain in Dublin that unusual?! I've seen heavier showers here in Galway every other day and I've never seen the likes of the chaos it caused in Dublin.

It was just the sheer volume, 76mm of rain in 24 hours, is A LOT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭ongarite

Cionád wrote: »
    It was just the sheer volume, 76mm of rain in 24 hours, is A LOT!

Most amount of rain ever recorded in 24 hrs in August since records began according to Met Eireann.

ongarite wrote: »
    Most amount of rain ever recorded in 24 hrs in August since records began according to Met Eireann.

With the exception of during Hurricane Charlie.

MYOB wrote: »
    With the exception of during Hurricane Charlie.

No it surpassed Hurricane Charlie:

"Met Eireann's weather station in Dublin Airport recorded 76.2mm of rain between midnight on Friday night and midnight last night, 3mm more than was recorded on the previous wettest day when Hurricane Charlie hit in 1985."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2008/0810/breaking4.html?via=mr

I stand corrected!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Yes. Dublin's the driest part of the country. Why do you think so many people live there? :D