Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

diet critque

• 06-08-2008 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

I just back from hols in spain and ive decided to quit the beer and crap food food a while and get my self in shape

Im about 130kg and 28% bodyfat heres a diet im thinking of doing

7.00am 6 large eggwhites 1 yolk omelete
    4 oz of lean ham
    mushrooms
    onions
    spinach
    1 slice of lowfat cheese
    2 fish oil caps

10.00 2 scoops of whey 1 ser of udos beyond greens
    2 fish oil caps

12.30 (stirfry)chick peas
    chicken breast
    onions
    tomatoe
    garlic
    cumin spices
    2 fish oil caps

3.30 as 10.00 meal

6.30 (stirfry) 250g very lean mince
    carrots
    onion
    cabbage
    green peppers
    chilli spice
    peanut sauce
    2 fish oil caps

9.30 meal similar to 6.30 meal

For Training I am thinking of doing thai boxing twice a week and judo twice a week and also ripptoes starting strength program

let me know what you think

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

How tall are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭liberation

5ft 11in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

that looks like an excessive ammount of calories IMO ... do you really need that much meat? yeah it is good but judging by those meals you could be taking in over 1kg each day .. prob a bit excessive. you could try having scambled eggs / porridge / fruit for breakfeast and some non tropical fruit / nuts for snacks during the day ..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

liberation wrote: »
    I just back from hols in spain and ive decided to quit the beer and crap food food a while and get my self in shape

7.00am 6 large eggwhites 1 yolk omelete
    4 oz of lean ham
    mushrooms
    onions
    spinach
    1 slice of lowfat cheese
    2 fish oil caps

10.00 2 scoops of whey 1 ser of udos beyond greens
    2 fish oil caps

12.30 (stirfry)chick peas
    chicken breast
    onions
    tomatoe
    garlic
    cumin spices
    2 fish oil caps

3.30 as 10.00 meal

6.30 (stirfry) 250g very lean mince
    carrots
    onion
    cabbage
    green peppers
    chilli spice
    peanut sauce
    2 fish oil caps

9.30 meal similar to 6.30 meal

For Training I am thinking of doing thai boxing twice a week and judo twice a week and also ripptoes starting strength program

let me know what you think

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055304697
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055304911

So which copied and pasted diet is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Superdub2

5ft 11in

5 foot 11 and 20 stone?? Am i reading that correctly??

You can change your username but you never change your tune.
    You pretended to be 16 stone in another thread.Really,i cant see the point in all this.Are you actually going to do anything??

There is nothing wrong with meat

Its a myth that its bad for you

I didnt copy and paste this diet

All the recipes are from Gourmet Nutrition which is the recipe book from

www.PrecisionNutrition.com

Degsy. No need to be on attack mode all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Degsy wrote: »
    You can change your username but you never change your tune.
    You pretended to be 16 stone in another thread.Really,i cant see the point in all this.Are you actually going to do anything??

Just so you know i am about an inch away from banning you for purposefully dragging a thread off topic.

Some advice, don't get involved in threads if they are started by people you don't like.
    Degsy. No need to be on attack mode all the time

And If YOU have an issue with a post then report it. Right now you are here on sufferance alone.

There is nothing wrong with meat

Its a myth that its bad for you

of course its not bad for you but your intake is way too high if the figures you mention are correct ... Also if you have that much weight to loose you need to cut calories from somewhere .. Just a very rough guess but from the diet you posted up you could be taking in close to 3800 - 4000 cal / day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Let's keep it simple. You don't need 6 meals per day and what you have listed below is actually a lot of food. Do you really need another meal at 9.30? You're trying to lose fat by having two dinners in the evening?

At your weight you will find it easy to lose fat just by steering clear of junk. But remember you need to watch your calorie intake too. This is something that is vastly overlooked on this forum. It's usually all about what foods to eat, what times to eat them, what should I eat post-workout and the likes.

I'm beginning to realise that it really is all about calories. I spent the past 3 weeks in the US with your ultra-flavoured fatty sugar huge portion sized food and I actually have LOST weight since I was there, if anything. At the very least it has stayed exactly the same. Why? Cos I was eating big breakfasts and then not eating til maybe the evening time. For a few different reasons I was eating big meals and then not eating for hours and hours afterwards.

Just cut the junk as much as you can, eat well when you do eat, and only eat when truly hungry!

Thanks celestial for your input but there are on or 2 points I dont agree on

weightloss and fatloss are not the same thing

If you want fatloss you have to eat frequently throughout the day

I think its a bad idea to wait till your hungry to eat because that type of straegy leads to bingeing

also I dont think there is anything wrong with eating at night there is alot of food there but the bulk of my carbs are coming from veg which give you alot for very little calories

also even though im 130kg people are shocked because i dont look it I have a few years training under my belt

At my weight and bf% and the fact im training I need 3000 calories minimum or I will go into starvation mode and lose muscle you wouldnt tell a women half my weight but with the same bf% to go below 1500 calories would you

I think its a bad idea to wait till your hungry to eat because that type of straegy leads to bingeing

also I dont think there is anything wrong with eating at night there is alot of food there but the bulk of my carbs are coming from veg which give you alot for very little calories

also even though im 130kg people are shocked because i dont look it I have a few years training under my belt

At my weight and bf% and the fact im training I need 3000 calories minimum or I will go into starvation mode and lose muscle you wouldnt tell a women half my weight but with the same bf% to go below 1500 calories would you

not trying to be smart here but two things, firstly you wouldnt be the weight you are unless you are taking in excess calories on a regular basis and / or not training hard / often enough. Secondly, if you think the diet you mention is optimal why not try it (rather than planning / over analysing) for a month and see if you drop b/f ?

Superdub2 wrote: »
    5 foot 11 and 20 stone?? Am i reading that correctly??

Yeah, and he's carrying two stone more lean body mass than me so he must be pretty jacked looking.

OP I'm surprised you managed to get to that level of muscularity but don't know how to diet or train properly.

EDIT: And bodyweight in lbs x 11, split it 40% protein, 30% carbs and 30% fat. Divide it equally over six meals.

Oh and stop talking, start doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

You have you priorities all wrong.

Well over a quarter of your bodyweight is fat. You don't need to worry about losing muscle mass. Maintaining muscle mass when cutting calories is something that serious athletes and bodybuilders should be concerned with.

Cut out the junk and move more. I seriously doubt you became 130kgs @ 28% bodyfat by eating clean cals and exercising.

Can you expand on the details of the few years training you have under your belt please?

Dude you kinda sound like you're just parroting some theories there that you have seen elsewhere, possibly on this forum!!

There's nothing wrong with eating at night - what I was talking about was the amount of cals you are consuming - a dinner at 6.30 and a similar dinner at 9 or so is too much!

You will NOT go into starvation mode and lose muscle!!! Not unless you are planning on stopping eating for a month or so? They are just theories dude. You need to just eat less and keep up the exercise.

Lol.... that's brilliant. If you know so much, why are you carrying as much bodyfat as you are....??

Maybe you DON'T need 3000kcals. You've 28% bodyfat. There's LOTS of fuel there to keep your body going before it starts to "lose muscle".

Tbh I don't even know why this is being allowed. Every few months for the last year and a half you've posted stuff like this. And here we are over a year down the road and you're still in the same situation, you're still getting the same advice and you're still telling us you know better. Says more about what you're doing that what we're advising tbh.

EDIT: Just thinking, if you can get your weight down you'd be able to step on a BB stage at 97kg and less than 5% bodyfat. That's so sick. You need to do it, for yourself!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

I'm away last few months and I see these kinda posts/threads again, lovely to be back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

You don't need 3000 calories. You need to go on a treadmill and stay there. You need to reduce your calories to lose weight. If you have training under your belt, why are you using Mark Rippletoes book? Surely, you should know compound lifts or did you just focus on isolated exercises previously?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I beg to differ on the too much
    (red) meat isn't bad for you statement, studies are proving otherwise...
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/3149062.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Seriously, who gives a dam about the pros and cons of red meat in relation to the original question.

Liberation i think its time for a reality check - your seriously overweight and even slight adjustments to your current diet will help get your weight down.

There is absolutely no need to get complicated as its quite likely you need to do much clearing up with your diet and honest to god hard training.

"Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned."
    ~ Peter Marshall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Hanley wrote: »
    Tbh I don't even know why this is being allowed.
    Because I believe in second (and third, and possibly even fourth) chances. If I didn't there'd be a lot of people on this forum who would have been perma-banned a long time ago. If his statistics are to be believed, this guy is morbidly obese and putting his life in danger. As frustrating and head-banging-against-a-wall as his threads might be, I'm not going to turn my back on someone in that situation who has asked for help.

Having said that, Dragan is quite right, liberation you are here under great sufferance and the ice you're treading on is nano-thin. You asked for posters' thoughts on your diet and you got them. Arguing back is doing you no favours whatsoever.

Most of you are right and thanks for your feedback. I think the reason I keep posting is because im just plain bored and I dont mean to bait or waste anybodys time

I know enough already to be able to get into decent shape but my biggest stumbling block is that I have made failure a habbit also all my friends like most young men in ireland only want to go drinking at the weekend

It really is a social stumling block to be into a fitness lifestyle unless you have friends that do the same

I would like some suggestions on what to do at the weekends instead of drinking

I bought myself a wi which should help some bit but Id like something more socialble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

I beg to differ. None of my friends are into fitness at all. They don't exercise, eat junk and drink 2-4 nights a week. However, their behaviour doesn't bother me in the slightest. Its their decision and I respect it in the same way they accept and respect my lifestyle choices. I don't let a peer group dictate my behaviour.

You need to start by taking responsibility for your own actions IMO. Neither your friends or Irish society are to blame for your obesity. If you really had the desire to reach goal you would.

Joining in MA or any other sport is a great way of keeping fit and meeting people.

I started gymming three years ago at 15 stone.My correct weight should've been around ten stone but i ballooned up from drinking beer every night and eating takeways.
    Three years later i'm STILL 15 stone but most of that is muscle,i'm carrying maybe an extra stone round the belly because i still like a beer at the weekends.
    I laso eat three times what i used to eat in those days and i'm dropping bodyfat gradually still.
    The answer?
    Excersise and Diet.
    Go to the gym three or four times a week,dont make excuses,dont kid yourself.Just do it.Work out hard,tidy up the diet and the weight will fall off.
    Have a drink or ten at the weekend but make sure you hit the gym the following day,dont eat a shed load of carbs when you're drinking either because it'll pile teh weight on really fast.
    Diets you see on the internet arent for everybody.If you have 5 stone of fat to lose and you claim to be working out then you need to drastically cut the amount of calories you're taking in.Nevermind the wii,buy a bicycle and cycle ten miles a day.
    Mostly i would say GET OFF THE INTERNET and into a gym.

Most of you are right and thanks for your feedback. I think the reason I keep posting is because im just plain bored and I dont mean to bait or waste anybodys time

I know enough already to be able to get into decent shape but my biggest stumbling block is that I have made failure a habbit also all my friends like most young men in ireland only want to go drinking at the weekend

It really is a social stumling block to be into a fitness lifestyle unless you have friends that do the same

I would like some suggestions on what to do at the weekends instead of drinking

I bought myself a wi which should help some bit but Id like something more socialble

A Wii??

It sounds like you need a real good kick up the arse. I mean that in a constructive way btw - I was fat for years until I just said I was gonna do something about it no matter what. And I did. You need to put in some work at the start, see the results you can get for yourself and that will motivate you to improve more and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

You could have got a gym membership for a bit more than you paid for that bloody WII.

Your missing the point I do go to the gym I joined the king fisher in waterford but I cant spend all the time I have off in the gym I mean if i go to the gym for an hour every day the week days are grand because I have work but there is alot free time I have on sat and sun. Im just looking for ways of stopping from drinking and eating crap which is exagerbated from bordom

just go to the gym whenever you feel bored on a Sat / Sun? Ultimately you know what the end result is likely to be if you keep eating / drinking crap everytime your bored, that should be enough to get your ass in gear and do something about it ... Like other posters have advised, get off the internet and into the gym!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Dirk_Diggler

Is this Juan?

lightbulb.gif

Lol, sorry. Couldn't resist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

What ever happened to Juan? Did he fulfill his dream of becoming a personal trainer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Lads, enough, let's just treat the user on the merits of his current questions ok?

Too much food,too much beer,not enough excercise.
    Weekends are your friend in the gym,far quieter than weekdays.
    If the weight aint coming off,excersise harder and longer and cut back on the calories.
    Leave bodybuilding diets to bodybuilders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Dirk_Diggler

Ha cheers Hanley:D I'm mighty quick I am.

Right,

I'm going to say thins ONCE more and then i'm breaking out the ban stick.

Everyone saw me tell both Degsy and Liberation to shut the hell up and keep conversation on topic.

The same goes for EVERYONE. I can see at least one person who kept it going long after i made my first post and i am making the broad assumption that as they post on the internet they can also read. That person should really know better at this point.

Drop the whole "is this Juan/you never do anything" ****. If you don't want to help the dude, then don't. Don't read his threads, don't answer him and sure as hell don't give him any crap.

If you see a thread you don't like report it, if you see want to say something to someone then PM a mod.

Minimum ban for dragging this crap out will be a MONTH.

Get over it, help the guy or get lost.

I will say this to you right now, if you want to post on Fitness and help people out and relay experiences then i am happy to have you here. If you want to post on Fitness to judge the contents of others posts and there efforts based off your own then get lost. Your not welcome.

Answer the question that is asked, keep further opinion about OP's to yourself.

Dragan
    Fitness Forum Moderator.

I have tempted to go back to bodyforlife and go with the diet and training plan as its what im most familar with and its lower in calories I was actually doing very well with this routine for 4 weeks and lost 15lbs but had one night out and then spiralled out of control im a kind of all or nothing person 1 slip up and the whole thing is ruined.

6.00am bodyforlife workout
    7.30 mrp
    9.30 lowfat cottage cheese and lowfat yougurt
    12.30 chick peas chcken and veg
    3.30 mrp
    6.00 stirfry
    9.00 protein shake and apple

But your right the time for talking is over and I need to commit to a plan so I will set up a 4 week mini journal and see how I get on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

i cannot for the life of me understand why on earth you persist in wanting to follow a 'plan' when doing the bloody basics is where you need to start.

People are not 'all or nothing' they are belief and value driven so if you do not value your health and looking fit/healthy and you have plenty of ****ty beliefs to back this up then of course your going to slide back to bad habits. The key is to learn from those who have gone before and accept what works. Progress is not always in a straight line so suck it up and keep going.

In regards to the social side of things - the only difference to you and what you become in 5, hell 20 years are the books you read and the people you meet.

So go enjoy a good book, spend time with friends without drinking alcohol and you will feel better about yourself for staying on the path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

I think maybe you need a support network. If you can't commit to doing it for yourself - then you need a community effort - so maybe a team sport, with group training or something like that? How about the bootcamp sessions? Maybe that would be good as you get to know the others taking part and it's more of a motivation to keep going.

Don't let one slip up ruin all of your efforts. Being nice to yourself won't do your health any favours - be smart. Treat your body the way it needs to LIVE. Live your life and get off the endless circle of ruined efforts.

good luck

Why does anybody need "bodyforlife" or any of these plans if they,personally KNOW where they're going wrong?
    You cant say "**** it,i'll binge for six months and then some yoke i read on the internet will help me shed the lot".
    It doesnt work like that,the people who write these diets and programmes do it,usually for money.They dont have nay proof it'll work for anybody,much less everybody.
    If you're at the extreme end of the scale and need to shed 5 stone then its your diet and lifestyle thats causing the problem.
    Somewhere between the 6 eggwhite omelletes and the spoonfulls of myoplex is where the real problem lies.You're obviously binging on food thats either unhealthy in itself or simply toomuch of it.
    Booze is a killer weight-wise but it wont make you fat by itself.
    There are extra calories by the thousand going into your body and you need to cut them back to lose the weight.
    What are you REALLY eating?Be honest.How many pints do you drink and how often?Too many?
    Then there's excercise.You CAN eat 5000 calories a day and not turn them into fat provided you work them off.If you're gymming like a llunatic or your lifestyle is so frenetic that you're on the move the whole time you can burn crazy amounts of calories.
    If you're just sitting around the house,maybe working behind a desk.Not going to the gym or NOT working as hard as you think you are those calories are gonna turn to fat.
    The huge diets you see on T-nation etc are for advanced bodybuilders who can train for 5 days a week,are probably receiving "help" and are eating,sleeping and shiiting bodybuilding.The average Joeshmoe certainly doesnt need that amount of food.

Degsy wrote: »
    Why does anybody need "bodyforlife" or any of these plans if they,personally KNOW where they're going wrong?
    You cant say "**** it,i'll binge for six months and then some yoke i read on the internet will help me shed the lot".
    It doesnt work like that,the people who write these diets and programmes do it,usually for money.They dont have nay proof it'll work for anybody,much less everybody.
    If you're at the extreme end of the scale and need to shed 5 stone then its your diet and lifestyle thats causing the problem.
    Somewhere between the 6 eggwhite omelletes and the spoonfulls of myoplex is where the real problem lies.You're obviously binging on food thats either unhealthy in itself or simply toomuch of it.
    Booze is a killer weight-wise but it wont make you fat by itself.
    There are extra calories by the thousand going into your body and you need to cut them back to lose the weight.
    What are you REALLY eating?Be honest.How many pints do you drink and how often?Too many?
    Then there's excercise.You CAN eat 5000 calories a day and not turn them into fat provided you work them off.If you're gymming like a llunatic or your lifestyle is so frenetic that you're on the move the whole time you can burn crazy amounts of calories.
    If you're just sitting around the house,maybe working behind a desk.Not going to the gym or NOT working as hard as you think you are those calories are gonna turn to fat.
    The huge diets you see on T-nation etc are for advanced bodybuilders who can train for 5 days a week,are probably receiving "help" and are eating,sleeping and shiiting bodybuilding.The average Joeshmoe certainly doesnt need that amount of food.

The bodyforlife program isnt just some yolk off the internet millions of people have found success with it and the reason they have sucess is because theres a structure to it and it not only focuses on nutrition and exercise it goes deeper it makes you set out goals and develop and makes you focus on your future self

Bfl has been out going on 12 years and it has helped over 3 million people the author bill phllips practices what he preaches and he has his own personal transformation forum now

www.transformation.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

The bodyforlife program isnt just some yolk off the internet millions of people have found success with it and the reason they have sucess is because theres a structure to it and it not only focuses on nutrition and exercise it goes deeper it makes you set out goals and develop and makes you focus on your future self

Bfl has been out going on 12 years and it has helped over 3 million people the author bill phllips practices what he preaches and he has his own personal transformation forum now

www.transformation.com

But is it working for YOU? I think a step back to basics could be more useful.

www.transformation.com

I'm tired of this already. All you are going to do is waste my forum users time AGAIN. I decided i would give you a few days to see a positive turn around in your attitude and your efforts but once again we have seen nothing of the sort.

The questions was "why do you need this plan", your answer was purely defensive again. You have been advised endlessly on what to do and your still here faffing around.

I have to be honest and say i simply don't think you are ever going to be able to make the positive changes that you want to and i am tired of valuable posters wasting their time on you.

At this point you must have looked into every possible diet and espoused every big name trainer going as being the one who system would help you change your life. It's not going to happen until you start actually doing something.

In the time you have been banging on about changing your life other people on this forum have lost huge amounts of weight, run marathons and ultramarathons, broke WR's in powerlifting contests, had their first MA tourneys or fights and entered all kinds of contests and acheived all kinds of personal goals.

The only difference between you and them is that they stopped talking and started doing. Give the doing a shot if you can.

I hope you prove me wrong and acheive your goals but at the moment i doubt it.

I will say this here, if i find you have re-reg'd again after this banning in order to work around it i will be asking the Admin's to siteban you....it's that simple.

This time stay gone.

Dragan
    Fitness Forum Moderator.