Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland 1/4 finals 2008

• 03-08-2008 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭

So, we are nearly there, one qualifier left and the draw is only 2 hours away. what are you expecting?

im expecting -

galway v tyrone.

dublin v kerry (if we get through)

armagh v wexford.

cork v kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

oh how i want to see the dubs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

My predictions for the draw...

galway v wexford

dublin v kildare

armagh v kerry

cork v tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Cork v Kildare
    Dublin v Tyrone
    Armagh v Wexford
    Galway v Kerry

My picks:

Cork
    Dublin
    Armagh
    Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

official 1/4 final draw ...

cork -v- kildare
    dublin -v- tyrone
    armagh -v- wexford
    galway -v- kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

istabraq wrote: »
    galway v wexford

dublin v kildare

armagh v kerry

cork v tyrone

i actually thought that was the draw.....clown.

Fixtures haven't been set, they're provisionally fixed for next weekend, but details won't be finalised until tomorrow.

It's unlikely that the GAA will be unable to resist the Dublin - Tyrone game as a standalone fixture ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Cork v Kildare

Dublin v Tyrone

Armagh v Wexford

Galway v Kerry

Oh how the Dublin - Tyrone fixture has possibly handed the GAA a get out of jail free card as regards the possibility of Dublin playing a double header.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    cork -v- kildare
    dublin -v- tryrone
    armagh -v- wexford
    galway -v- kerry

not bad, i got just mixed up kerry & tyrone.

ill go for -

cork (those lads always get an easy draw)
    hesitant vote to dublin.
    armagh.
    kerry.

its hard to predict where these games will be played,the gaa are impossible to second guess.

maybe Saturday : Dublin V Tyrone.
    Sunday : Armagh V Wexford
    G|alway V Kerry

Following sunday : Cork v Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

not bad, i got just mixed up kerry & tyrone.

ill go for -

cork (those lads always get an easy draw)
    hesitant vote to dublin.
    armagh.
    kerry.

its hard to predict where these games will be played,the gaa are impossible to second guess.

maybe Saturday : Dublin V Tyrone.
    Sunday : Armagh V Wexford
    G|alway V Kerry

Following sunday : Cork v Kildare.

Cork and Galway matches have to be played next week, as the winners will be playing the first semi. Most sensible thing to do imo, would be
    Saturday:
    Armagh v Wexford
    Galway v Kerry

Sunday
    Cork v Kildare ( before the hurling)

Saturday 16th August
    Dublin v Tyrone

Keeps everyone happy
    1. Everbody plays in Croke Park
    2. Cork get a double header.
    3. Dublin get a stand alone fixture.
    4. Allows the gaa room to arrange replays if neccesary.

From a cork point of view it's a good draw, apart from galway getting kerry, which sets it up cork v kerry semi :mad:. Annoying too, that dublin and kerry are separted, all the talk will be a dublin kerry final from now until they get knocked out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Kavinsky

I think Galway-Kerry should be played in Tipperary or somewhere closer it doesn't make sense making them both travel to Dublin for that 1.

d coughlin has the right idea. not sure if the gaa will agree, but looks about right. i actually think now that will be it, though the gaa have said the dubs would be playing on the 9th. lets hope they change now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭charba

This may sounds like a stupid question but will the Dublin v Tyrone tickets be available through Ticket master or will it only be through the clubs?
    A couple of years ago I bought Mayo v Laois tickets on ticket master what are the chances that tickets are going to be available on public release? Thanks

charba wrote: »
    This may sounds like a stupid question but will the Dublin v Tyrone tickets be available through Ticket master or will it only be through the clubs?
    A couple of years ago I bought Mayo v Laois tickets on ticket master what are the chances that tickets are going to be available on public release? Thanks

Should be available throught Ticketmaster as they have been for most if not all championship games this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

Cork
    Tyrone
    Wexford...biased...::D
    Kerry

Hopefully there will be some exciting games better than this weekends drab affairs(except for kerry v monaghan)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭charba

Thanks for that.
    I think it should be a good game. Was at the match yesterday (disappointed Mayo fan) and there were times when Tyrone looked like the well oiled machine that they were and if they could maintain that it would be a very good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

charba wrote: »

You will have to be quick though whenever they come out they wont last long.

Mods want to merge? Duplicate threads. . .

cant see this being a ticketmaster game to be honest. clubs only, there will be huge demand in tyrone. if this is a double header, the clubs wont even get them, let alone ticket master :D.

tyrone v dublin has to be played the weekend after, it has to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

cant see this being a ticketmaster game to be honest. clubs only, there will be huge demand in tyrone. if this is a double header, the clubs wont even get them, let alone ticket master :D.

tyrone v dublin has to be played the weekend after, it has to.
    Tickets for Dublin v Tyrone quarter final in 2005 (the first game) were available through Ticketmaster no hassle. That was before Dublin won four Leinsters on the trot and Tyrone got their second All-Ireland, but I reckon if it's a single header there'll be plenty on Ticketmaster for people who get in early enough.

juvenal wrote: »
    Mods want to merge? Duplicate threads. . .

well seen as you started the other one bout 2 hours after this and only one person bar you is posting in it, maybe just stop and lock the other one. no need to merge, the posts are the same thats in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Don't want Kerry but you have to beat the best to win it. Roll on victory.

fixtures announced - looks like common sense has served here. all should be happy.

All-Ireland SFC quarter-final draw:

Saturday, 9 August

Armagh -v- Wexford, 2.00pm

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Dublin -v- Tyrone, 4.00pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/402-01.html

looks like dublin game is moved till the weekend after

Saturday, 16 August

Yeeesssss I should be able to go this because if had been of fixed for this Saturday coming I wouldn't have been able to go. :D

may even go myself,never seen the dubs play except when they are playing us, would be an experience id say, without the added tension of being involved. have a massive weekend that weekend, party friday night, party saturday night and old trafford on sunday....this would top off a great weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

may even go myself,never seen the dubs play except when they are playing us, would be an experience id say, without the added tension of being involved. have a massive weekend that weekend, party friday night, party saturday night and old trafford on sunday....this would top off a great weekend.

I should be fun. Im in New York from Tuesday, and I felt that it may be impossible to bear the tension from Lexington Avenue. 2000 Miles away from Croke Park is a terrible feeling. Last year I woke up at 9am in a Dallas hotel room and paced up and down the room until the reult against Laois in the Leinster Final was Iron Clad. It made 2 weeks with the Young Democrats of America more enjoyable. However, I was in agony on that Sunday morning.

Difficult to say who will win. However, I imagine Dublin will be the favourites. Much of Tyrone will be built on their reputation, and their preceeding two games have been fairly mediocre. However, I could never, ever rule them out.

Cork should take Kildare, while Armagh will probably do enough to overcome and admittadly impressive Wexford. Kerry v Galway will be a stormer of a game

Plus the GAA have done a good job in organising the fixtures this time. Cork will bring up a decent crowd along with the Lillywhites, and the Hurling will add spice to the game.

I expect a 45-50,000 crowd on the saturday, while the full 82,000 will watch Tyrone and the Jacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Speer

This qualifier thing seems to benefit the strongest counties most.it's ridiculous that Kerry are given a second chance again.They should be out after the munster final.They'll have to introduce a seeding system which would mean only weaker counties would be given a seeding while strong teams such as Kerry would be gone after losing a game.

well seen as you started the other one bout 2 hours after this and only one person bar you is posting in it, maybe just stop and lock the other one. no need to merge, the posts are the same thats in here.

Well perhaps I should've said delete then ;)

I didn't see the other thread, I was surprised it was started hours before the draw took place - and I see now only had idle speculation as to the fixtures. :confused:

Anyway, back on topic!
    fixtures announced - looks like common sense has served here. all should be happy.

Saturday, 9 August
    Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August
    Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Smart move; at least they used their heads. The Cork double-header will be a good day out. Three good days for Croker, should see big attendances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Worst possible draw for Galway, and conversly the best possible draw for Kerry. They have gotten the bad game (i.e the munster final against Cork) out of their system and seem to have gotten over a long lay off better than last year.

You'd have to question Galway's long lay off and how that will effect them. On the few other occasions that they won the Connacht championship (since the new structures came into being) they have never won an All-Ireland 1/4, against opposition that IMO were far poorer than what Kerry will be the next day.

Kerry to win by 5 + points (at their ease)

As for the other matches, Cork will have too much for a limited Kildare team who could only score 3 or 4 points in the 1st half today.

Armagh to account for Wexford, and I'd say that Dublin will shade it against a Tyrone team who are on the way down IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Dublin will be far from happy. Their training and preparation was geared towards playing on the 9th. Moving the game back a week will disrupt everything and Tyrone will have an extra week to prepare and get players fit :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Exocet

Quater Final Predictions:

Cork by 9
    Dublin by 3
    Armagh by 10
    Kerry by 7

in all fairness, this "dublin were geared for the 9th" crap is complete rubbish. what would have happened if there was a draw today? with the current set up, theres no way you can plan ahead. had they lost to wexford 2 weeks ago, there training regime would have been out the window anyway.

i dont think there was ever a realistic chance of all 4 games going ahead next weekend, its a week too late. tomorrow would have been an ideal day for the dubs v tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 corklady

Anyone know when tickets are going on sale for the cork matches? and where???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

in all fairness, this "dublin were geared for the 9th" crap is complete rubbish. what would have happened if there was a draw today? with the current set up, theres no way you can plan ahead. had they lost to wexford 2 weeks ago, there training regime would have been out the window anyway.

i dont think there was ever a realistic chance of all 4 games going ahead next weekend, its a week too late. tomorrow would have been an ideal day for the dubs v tyrone.

It's not complete rubbish, the DCB were told during the week that they were going to be playing a double header on the 9th yet as soon as they see the €€€€€ signs, bingo shaft the Dubs and give Tyrone an extra week recuperation.

If our lads need any extra motivation to beat the Red hand then this is it! :mad:

dcr22B wrote: »
    It's not complete rubbish, the DCB were told during the week that they were going to be playing a double header on the 9th yet as soon as they see the €€€€€ signs, bingo shaft the Dubs and give Tyrone an extra week recuperation.

If our lads need any extra motivation to beat the Red hand then this is it! :mad:

lets be realistic here, there was never a chance of a double header, never. there were 3 possible outcomes - tyrone, kerry or kildare. all 3 of these would be massive games and guaranteed sell outs.

tyrone - massive support (even mayo would have been big, going on 1/2 2 years ago)
    kildare - massive support (even fermanagh would have brought a huge crowd)
    kerry - cos its kerry

the dcb would have went mental had this been a double header, ye get your own game, people still are not happy. theres even a thread here giving out about the chances of a double header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

All I know is that the players wanted the game this weekend and if you consult the Master Fixtures list on the GAA website, next weekend is scheduled for the AI QFs. Why would a team not have all their preparations geared towards that date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Cork got the best draw by a mile....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 the_brain

Dublin will be far from happy. Their training and preparation was geared towards playing on the 9th. Moving the game back a week will disrupt everything and Tyrone will have an extra week to prepare and get players fit :mad:

ah you gotta love the logic of some people. the same people that were whinging about the dubs match not being a stand alone fixture are probably the ones now whinging about preperation for the match.

if anything an extra week prob benefits them.... can now do another weeks worth of hard training and prep work for tyrone.

gaa happy as this may make an extra bit of revenue. dubs fans happy as now more tickets are available. cant please everyone it seems

the_brain
    (dubs fan)

corklady wrote: »
    Anyone know when tickets are going on sale for the cork matches? and where???

Afaik they are on the ticketmaster website from 9am on tuesday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Yeah lorweld is right,
    Other Fixtures in August

Tickets for matches on the following weekend (the 9th and 10th of August) will be available from usual GAA sources, Ticketmaster and through the GAA Ticket Office on 01-8658657 (Credit Card or Laser Card required) from Tuesday the 5th of August at 9am.

Source

+1; Any casual observer could have told Dublin last week that their quarter-final would be a standalone fixture, and either on Saturday 9th or 16th.

Given that the winner other the other tie will be playing the first semi-final, it's easy to deduce that it will be on Saturday week. The GAA are hardly going to turn down a guaranteed sell-out, and I suspect that Dublin would prefer a standalone tie, where as many of the fans as possible can attend.

If Dublin have serious designs on an All-Ireland title, then the extra week or the opponent is of small importance, and they should be confident of beating Tyrone or anyone for that matter. I think we're capable of winning this year, (although I also did the past two years!:o), and I'm confident that the entire panel and management team will prepare meticulously and be ready to fire on Saturday week. The squad will prepare for this match as they would with any other, and they won't be worried about how many days rest Tyrone have. IMO a standalone tie is much better for Dublin, Tyrone, the fans, and the GAA.

Dublin have been involved in arguably the standout matches of the past three seasons, against Tyrone, Mayo and Kerry, and their primary focus is to end up on the right side of the result for the next three games. The rest of the season's matches have the potential to be great contests, and Dublin will be ready to give it their all. Location, opponent and time are all minor details.

Sunday 24th August - Croke Park

Galway/Kerry v Cork/Kildare

Sunday 31st August - Croke Park

Dublin/Tyrone v Armagh/Wexford

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Just heard on the news that the Dublin Tyrone game is a stand alone fixture and will be played on Saturday the 16th.

Delighted now, no mad scramble for tickets. There would have been killings at my club on Thursday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

There is only one clown amongst us homerjay if u had opened your eyes and looked at the word predictions before you described me as a clown you would have been better off.But don't worry i won't get to upset!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

There is only one clown amongst us homerjay if u had opened your eyes and looked at the word predictions before you described me as a clown you would have been better off.But don't worry i won't get to upset!

Lets keep it friendly lads

oh really? nothing about the fact that your post was edited bout 6 hours after. read my original & unedited quote. bullsh*tting wont get you anywhere on here.

apologies cruiserweight, moving on, nothing to see, just setting the record straight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 the_brain

them is fighting words.... can we not stick to the topic ;)

oh really? nothing about the fact that your post was edited bout 6 hours after. read my original & unedited quote. bullsh*tting wont get you anywhere on here.

apologies cruiserweight, moving on, nothing to see, just setting the record straight

That was edited by Smashey! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Another day out in Croker for the kingdom. Don't want to complain because im glad we're still in the championship, but why not have the Wex/Arm and the Dub/Tyr game as a double header on Saturday, and Ker/Galw in Limerick or Thurles? Its 4 hours from Kerry to Croker, and 3 1/2 from Galway to Croker! only 1 1/2 from Kerry and Galway to Limerick! All about the €€€ for getting Dublin on their own! You won't get 30,000 on Saturday! Mad really but as i said before can't complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The reason for not doing that DDC1990 is that all the counties want to play in Croke Park. The fly in the ointment now however is that apparently the Kildare County Board don't want to play next Sunday, as it would be their fourth weekend in a row playing. I hope the GAA don't entertain their claims. It makes more sense to play the two Cork matches together.