Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has a fellow Boardsie ever helped you really deal with a real life situation?

• 31-07-2008 11:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭

Right, well we all now about RedXV and his legendary help on PI. Great lad!

But has a Boardsie ever helped you deal with something that was bothering you?

There was a girl I liked but she was completely playing me like a SUCKAAA.
    And I was falling for it, she's a succubus of some sort!
    So I was talking to ChewChew while texting her and she HELPED AN INCREDIBLE AMOUNT!

After a while I sent the girl a message:
    Yep I think about you a good bit. But I'm not bothered anymore with thinking or bothering. I'm off, see ya around. All the best.
    So ChewChew has helped me so much. My head feels free, I'm feeling ****ing happy and I didn't think I would with this.

So to me, ChewChew is a Legend of the Boards, and I might well nominate her sometime ;)

Who has helped you and in what sort of situation? :pac:

-FunkZee, a very ridiculously happy camper. :cool:

Has a Boardsie ever helped you with a real life situation that was getting you down? 52 votes

Yes, and I now owe them the world!
    0% 0 votes
    Nope, but I'd like a Boardsie to.
    63% 33 votes
    Nope, and the can feck off
    15% 8 votes
    I don't have real life situations!
    21% 11 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

Yup, went anon in PI and got some great advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Stoner once helped me hold Grimes down while monkeyfudge held the camera and Dre as in Dray kept watch ... thats team work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

An Fhile helped me with my Irish at Irish college. I'm sure he's done more. Nice guy. I can even excuse the poor grammar ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

A boardsie helped me with some really tough stuff in my life in the last few months, but i knew that person before boards! She knows who she is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Jailbait subscriber group. My boys until one of us gets nabbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yea two boardsies have helped me in different ways,but i won't name them in case they don't want me to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Kold wrote: »
    Jailbait subscriber group. My boys until one of us gets nabbed.
    Nevaaahhhhh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭mikewest

Ronan|Raven helped me out so much over the years it aint funny. Thanks big guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Ah this is cool. It seems the people here are just CLASS! =P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Been helped out a lot on the tech forums whenever I had a problem with something. It started with a college project a few years ago where basquille and a few others (sorry lads can't remember the names) helped me sort a few things on it. It's always the same whenever I've seen someone with a problems there. There's always someone to help you out.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Yep, Helped me threw some dark times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭STUBBORNGIRL

i read other peoples problems and relate it to my own experience and find myslelf scooting through the forum for Wibbs response! i dont think there is one thing i could disagree with him on!He gets it right every time! his advice is like religion to me, i breathe it!!!!!! its like he knows it all and has lived everything! Red is amazing too and for the age of 21 i cannot believe he is so good - old head on young shoulders?

thanks guys i do believe ye bring alot to the PI forum and talk a sh!t load of SENSE!! :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Gave you a torch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I've been helped out a bit on Mac forum but apart from that nothing that comes to mind immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Jigsaw wrote: »
    I've been helped out a bit on Mac forum but apart from that nothing that comes to mind immediately.
    HEY!! We found Emer, didn't we? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Jigsaw wrote: »

i think jigsaw helped us all laugh again.(well not through the above post obv)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

been helped out a fair bit beit when i use PI seldomly or anywhere i post regularly.

nothing to life saving or in real life though.

i couldn't say ohh i was walking down the street and suddenly i got mugged but out of nowhere came Angry_Badger to tame my mugger.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Gave you a torch?

You're so funny I burst an blood vessel in my eye laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

It started with a college project a few years ago where basquille and a few others (sorry lads can't remember the names) helped me sort a few things on it. It's always the same whenever I've seen someone with a problems there. There's always someone to help you out.
    Hmmmmm.. that doesn't sound like me at ALL! :D I typically go out of my way to make problems for people.

I have been helped on Boards plenty of times but can't think of getting any examples really. Actually, witnessmenow gave me some great advice on repairing a DS Lite that the charger got stuck it, so appreciate that! Also posted on PI unregged once with a personal problem.

Boards is chock-a-block with sound down-to-earth individuals who'll typically be all out to help.. and I hope I'm helping in the large First Gen iPhone thread in the Mobiles forum as cdebru ain't there nearly as often as he used to be with useful advice.

You're so funny I burst an blood vessel in my eye laughing.

I actually got a serious laugh out AC post!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Everything is solvable with the right cream.

Ask again any time :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yes,a boardsie helped me out in tight and difficult times.

Was heavily constipated and sluggish,but ******* recommended an excellent and fast acting suppository and wham!!!!!

Tks for that squarejaw:o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Snyper sorted me out with some top tips ;)

I'll never be caught again

hussey wrote: »
    Snyper sorted me out with some top tips ;)

I'll never be caught again

Jaysus I don't like to think about what sort of tips he could give. Haha!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ah yeah, some have! Rough patch a couple of years ago. The brightest hour in my darkest day.
    Programming help was good too.

The brightest hour in your darkest day?

Hmmm.... /thinks! But it's cool the way Boards helped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A couple of users have helped me when I moved overseas and was stuck in a bit of a rut for a while. I have since returned the favour a few times over (or tried to :/).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Quite a few people helped me out when I was really ill a while back and quite a few became friends- thank you all who helped me then. Unfortunatly one of my best friends subsequently died (I miss you Scenic911), I miss him every day but am still in contact with his wife and kids. I also of course married a boardsie but we met outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Hmmm, quite a few of my friends are boardsies, i live with a boardsie and regularly hang around with boardsie's ( and yet very few of us met through boards....weird right? ) so yes, my boardsie friends have helped me immesurably at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Several boardsies have cóck blocked me in the past for "lulz".
    You know who you are. Bastards ;)

And yeah, loads helped me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

A few of them help me pass the day. Lulz are had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes, but not in difficult real life situations.

Mostly through my training with motivation and support at competitions. At one time or another I've trained with a majority of the lads in the Martial Arts forum (and got drunk with the rest).

One stands head and shoulders above the rest, 'CowzerP'. He's been a great encouragement to me and is a real gent in every sense of the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Have gotten help from boardsies countless times in countless ways. Lots of people willing to volunteer their time and knowledge. I hope I've helped some people occasionally too.

I love you guys!

/sniffle

Yes, especially engineering related information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

when my computer went caput i put a message up to ask if i could fix it. one boardsie pm'ed me and offered to come to my house and back up my data. he did and i was able to stop worrying! mind you, i had my bf over too, so it's not like i invited a total stranger over and i was on my own... :) boardsies rock :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

I was helped countless times posting anon in PI. Also helped indirectly by posts in PI on similar issues to myself.

Also, I had a craving for lucky charms once and Ruu sent me over a box from the US. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

I've gotten advise on a few occasions from a lot of different boardsies. A lot of nice helpful people on here. Really anyone who goes on to the PI forum is there to help or get help so tere really is a lot of great people on here. One guy in particular though who deserves special mention, and he's already been named, is RedXIV. Absolute legend and a real Boards Hall of Famer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Aww, this thread is really nice.

RedXIV and Wibbs are the legends of PI for sure.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Nothing quite like a good cock blocking at a boards event :)

Many boardsie's have helped me out, most of them being the ones i sit chatting to all day long to help pass the time inbetween work. <3 You guise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ruu and others helped me big time a while ago when i had major problems on an old machine, thanks guys:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

The good folks over at Nutrition/Diet and Fitness are very helpful and a wealth of knowledge :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

yeah, a few of them have helped me out in the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

yep, a few of the soccer folk have helped me with Tickets for games and me vice versa. one of them saved me €150 in tickets that i was left with and he sold them outside a football ground for me. some sound people on here for definate.

Piste wrote: »
    The good folks over at Nutrition/Diet and Fitness are very helpful and a wealth of knowledge :)

Ah yes plenty of the advice over there has helped me massively in the past, and will do so very soon. Time to take out the old training and eating logs I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I've only posted twice in the martial arts forum when I've had some questions. But both times there's been lots of responses to my threads, and PMs from really helpful people.

They seem like a sound bunch, and as soon as my martial arts is good enough for me to contribute something I shall become a regular poster :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I've only posted twice in the martial arts forum when I've had some questions. But both times there's been lots of responses to my threads, and PMs from really helpful people.

They seem like a sound bunch, and as soon as my martial arts is good enough for me to contribute something I shall become a regular poster :P

I have regularly sought medical advice from tallaght01 and he is consistent in not giving it. Charter fanboi!

Not really, love ya Doc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

sueme wrote: »
    I have regularly sought medical advice from tallaght01 and he is consistent in not giving it. Charter fanboi!

Not really, love ya Doc!

LOL. Once my paypal account gets sets up, I can the change the bio/med forum charter and retire to the bahamas purely on my boards earnings I reckon :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Nerin and Hagar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭DenMan

Terry has been a real help for me, he has been through some real bad times and has come out of it brilliantly. Cheers man. It is great to be able to give some help back to people who need it. I have benefited from his insight.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Quite a few Boardsies have helped me get p*ssed, but I like to think I was able to return the favour and help them get equally p*ssed. :D

But yeah, Boardsies have helped me, none more so than the good folk of BGRH who helped me retain my sanity when I was laid up on sick leave and confined to the house for the best part of a year.