Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why aren't Pigeon Detectives more popular here?

• 30-07-2008 8:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭

They may be Diet Cribs but still, some very catchy radio-friendly tunes and much better than the usual "indie pop" dross on the major stations i.e The Kooks. Anybody else a fan? I wouldn't buy an album from them but tracks like "I Found Out" are cracking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I dunno, I suspect because they aren't that great? The fact you admit that even one album isn't worth buying is hardly an endorsement.

There are some bands I genuinely don't know why they aren't more popular, the Hold Steady or the Replacements for example, but the Pigeon detectives are about as popular as their sub-standard music allows them be. If anything, the fact that anyone even knows their name strikes me as an over-achievement on their part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

They're stunning live, though.

Don't think I've ever smiled more than at their gig in the button factory. The lead singer jumped off a speaker, head-first into the guitarists head stock and sang on, quite dazed. Then he hit some girl in the front when he was swinging his mike. It was like Spinal Tap, but with catchier chorus'. Great fun!

I like them. They're harmless and great to stick on during a party. I think they've peaked in terms of popularity though, as they don't offer more than one dimentional - but good fun - music.

Wouldn't cal them Cribs Lite though. They have far more to offer than that lot, at least in terms of stand out songs. How the Cribs got the headline at the MTV tour is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Shzm

I've seen em live 3 times, 'a certain festival', button factory and the academy.

I like them _b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Because they sound and look the same as most of the other new bands in the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Another one of those fun, harmless, listenable bands. First album was quite good imo. Haven't heard much of the latest one yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I've only heard that song This Is An Emergency which was way too generic so I didn't bother any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Ekels

Dance to the Radio would be a decent label, if they weren't on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

mehfesto2 wrote: »
    They're stunning live, though.

Don't think I've ever smiled more than at their gig in the button factory. The lead singer jumped off a speaker, head-first into the guitarists head stock and sang on, quite dazed. Then he hit some girl in the front when he was swinging his mike. It was like Spinal Tap, but with catchier chorus'. Great fun!

I remember that moment, the thing was too that the song was I'm not sorry - and the l;lyrics suited so well :D "i don't hit back but i think i should"

i loved the first album, haven't heard the 2nd yet

I remember that moment, the thing was too that the song was I'm not sorry - and the l;lyrics suited so well :D "i don't hit back but i think i should"

i loved the first album, haven't heard the 2nd yet

It's not a bad album, imo. Has only about 3, maybe 4 stand out tracks though.
    Got a great review in Q, and considering they wrote the songs, recorded and released it in about 9 months makes it more impressive. To me it sounds rushed. Had they waited and put more depth into it it could've boosted hey're profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Punchbowl

mind numbing stuff.. I mean, come on kids, you've got better taste than that..

Haven't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

I have to say I don't think the Pigeon Detective deserve the knocking they are getting by some. They are a band with great potential, really like their stuff and I agree they are great live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Death or Glory

They are an excellent live band. First album was a classic debut, and the second one is a real grower. Wasn't impressed by it at first, but after repeated listens i certainly developed a liking for it.

Plus they're Leeds lads and all Leeds United thru n thru........ what more can you ask for!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭aliqueenb

i like them yeah it is quite odd that they aren't more popular here imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Absolute mainstream drivel.
    Just a load of sh!te really, nothing new or original.

Their whole.. releasing-two-albums-within-a-year-while-we're-still-cool thing was a total joke as well. May they stay away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

bythewoods wrote: »
    Their whole.. releasing-two-albums-within-a-year-while-we're-still-cool thing was a total joke as well.

Why not? The beatles did this for 3 years in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

The Beatles managed to beat out a few decent tracks though. As in, they were actually pretty good, and not just catchy.

However, in relation to The Pigeon Detectives.. there's no distinct progression between albums, they essentially just threw together another album with the same type of thing while they knew they could still sell it.

Also, their lyrics frustrate me greatly. Who wants a few samples? Yes, they have to make everything rhyme.. eugh!

"She said that my chance has been and gone
    Cos I've been in the same clothes far too long"
    Kudos.

"You told me that you've been here once before,
    You said I made you walk in to a door."
    Fair Play.

Yeah but then you get lyrics like....
    He’s had a few
    We’ve all been there
    Just 17 but he don’t care
    I don’t think he knows the difference
    What would her dad say if he knew?
    She’s on her knees he’s 22

....and you can't help but laugh.

As I said earlier, fun and harmless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭The Everlasting

TAKE HER BACK TAKE HER BACK TAKE HER BACK TO HER PLACE!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Why anybody would want to listen to either a diet or full-fat Cribs is beyond me.

Let's just close this thread and allow the musical version of natural selection to take its course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

The Cribs are fan bloody tastic :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

However, in relation to The Pigeon Detectives.. there's no distinct progression between albums, they essentially just threw together another album with the same type of thing while they knew they could still sell it.

While I adore the Beatles, there was no distinct progression between the first three albums whatsoever and the PD's have only released two thus far. While not trying to advocate the Pigeon Detectives music as Im not a fan, you really need to base your argument on legitimate foundations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

They're not popular here either, the nosey parkers

Dscn2155.jpg

:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Alex Kidd

Maybe it's because they're called "The Pigeon Detectives" which is the worst name ever.

"You told me that you've been here once before,
    You said I made you walk in to a door."
    Fair Play.

I always read that as an abuse lyric. Like when someone gets a black eye off their boyfriend and blames it on walking into a door. It's not that bad at all, really.

Im aware they offer nothing new, but they do a good job of what they want to do. They're not trying to change the world, they're just a a bit of a laugh. Lads-rock.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Alex Kidd wrote: »
    Maybe it's because they're called "The Pigeon Detectives" which is the worst name ever.
    There are worse names out there.

They are catchy and I have their first album and I enjoy listening to it.

Will they ever be huge anywhere? No. Do they want to be? I doubt it. They are young lads enjoying touring and playing music.

Just got the new album over the weekend. It's not nearly as 'fun' as the first but still very listenable.

Absolutely love the bonus track 'Draw The Curtain'. Gonna have a look for the chords when I get home later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

There are a lot of reason that the Pigeon Detectives are not hugely popular.

Record labels of this day and age are more focused on quantity rather than quality and so the mainstream music nidustry is being bombarded with the same sounding, monotonous drivel that is known as britpop/british indie/indie music that has taken flight since the Arctic Monkeys. (Rulers supremee of overrated bands). Thus it is quite difficult for any band to build up a loyal following, as everyone is out buying the single/debut album which has become the "next big thing", only to listen to one track conssitently until next week, when another band is forced upon us, and the CD is left forgotton on the floor of a bedroom.

It is this concentration and devotion to create bands that are essentially no more than on hit wonders that is damaging the chances of any mainstream band making it "big"

To back up my argument, at a certain festival this summer i went to see the Fratellis. While they did attract a large crowd, i felt rather embarrassed as through out their entire set. not one song went by without the joyous roar of da da da da da da da da da da da da da etc etc(chelsea dagger). Personally i would prefer to have a much smaller crowd that knew more than one song from my bands repertoire rather than have a big crowd chanting the words to one song throughout my entire set...

That said, at this same festival i also saw the Pigeon detectives. I would have called them average, nothing more. Their frontman has fantastic charisma but i dont think his attitude oin stage matches the music they play, which is a shame, as it is not often you come across a frontman so..."free"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Hansel

I think they're not that popular because they're mind numbingly boring. They are so boring they don't even offend my ears. They are just white noise to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Think they're a quality band, hope to see them next week in The Academy...

Just need ID :(

Stupid over 18's blah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Arctic Monkeys. (Rulers supremee of overrated bands)

I stopped reading here. The Arctic Monkey's are amazing and in a different league to pretty much every British Indie band at the moment.
    Whoever gave Pigeon detectives their break ought to be ashamed of themselves. They are almost as bad as the Kooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Ekels

It's a pity that they're seen as the flagship band on the Leeds scene, which has spawned such great bands in recent times as This Et Al, iForward, Russia!, Pulled Apart by Horses, Her Name is Calla, Napoleon 111rd, Grammatics, iLIKETRAINS etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The Pigeon Detectives are grand, and certainly not as cringingly awful as some others, but they sound the exact same as at least a dozen other British NME-style indie bands. Their songs are pretty much interchangeable with the Kooks, the Cribs, and their legions of band-wagon bands. The market is flooded with this sort of derivative drivel, if the pigeon detectives had arrived four or five years ago, who knows, this thread could've been about the Kooks :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

The Pigeon Detectives are grand, and certainly not as cringingly awful as some others, but they sound the exact same as at least a dozen other British NME-style indie bands.

I agree - if you are going to seem them play here make sure to catch the support band The Aftermath from Mullingar/Drumlish/Leeds.... a fine bunch of humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

I haven't read this thread at all, but upon reading the title, I have just this to say:

They're ****. Utterly, utterly ****.

Shyter than the Blizzards/Coronas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Animo

Alex Kidd wrote: »

Well they did get their name from a Christmas cracker if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I stopped reading here. The Arctic Monkey's are amazing and in a different league to pretty much every British Indie band at the moment.
    Whoever gave Pigeon detectives their break ought to be ashamed of themselves. They are almost as bad as the Kooks.

what he said. there's a lot of hate for arctic monkeys out there and I don't really understand it. they are brilliant, and the pigeon detectives are ****e and there lies the answer

I like them. First album's great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Saw them live during the Summer. Had me want to go home and eat my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Also saw them live. One of my mates is mad into them, and since I'd only heard their singles I said I'd go along. I wasn't impressed at all. Each song just seemed to mesh into the previous one and the lyrics seem to just rhyme. Have to say I was quite bored. The frontman put on quite a mad show though, jumping about and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I also saw them live. I ran away and started looking in the shops nearby, I could still hear them though :mad:

Notorious wrote: »
    Also saw them live. One of my mates is mad into them, and since I'd only heard their singles I said I'd go along. I wasn't impressed at all. Each song just seemed to mesh into the previous one and the lyrics seem to just rhyme. Have to say I was quite bored. The frontman put on quite a mad show though, jumping about and what not.

From what I've seen on TV they're well tatty live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

the Cribs, and their legions of band-wagon bands.

Get out. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I don;t like all the pretentious rubbish people post in here sometimes re: oh they sound like X or Y, who gives a toss, so long as you like the song?

oh they sound like X or Y, who gives a toss, so long as you like the song?

Ultimately that could be argued to be the last word ........... there isn't a definitive good or bad, no matter how much one feels one way or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Ultimately that could be argued to be the last word ........... there isn't a definitive good or bad, no matter how much one feels one way or the other.

Exactly, the thing I hate the most is the "i liked that song until everyone started listening to it".

I disagree.

I was listening to 'Mr. Brightside' about 6 months before The Killers explosion took off. Loved the song to bits. But then it became popular and was all over the radio and on Lifestyle ads. Basically it was overplayed to fook and I fell out of love with it.

'Mr. Brightside' is the perfect example of a song I liked until everyone else starting listening to it because basically they ruined it for me.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I disagree.

I was listening to 'Mr. Brightside' about 6 months before The Killers explosion took off. Loved the song to bits. But then it became popular and was all over the radio and on Lifestyle ads. Basically it was overplayed to fook and I fell out of love with it.

'Mr. Brightside' is the perfect example of a song I liked until everyone else starting listening to it because basically they ruined it for me.

But you say it as if you had no say in the matter?

Turn the radio off!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    But you say it as if you had no say in the matter?

Turn the radio off!!

In fairness, Mr.Brightside was fcuking everywhere. Xavi6 works in the media as well so I say he found it hard to tune out of the rest of the industry.

Xavi6 works in the media

Don't we all ...:D