Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the best ps3 game out???

• 29-07-2008 11:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭

In your own opinion what is the greatest ps3 game out?????????????????

Metal Gear Solid 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Metal Gear Solid 4.
    /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

This is gonna get ugly! :pac:

Having said that, I love MGS4 in its own, special way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

COD4/Drakes Fortune are top of a very very short list of good games.

GTA 4, Turok and feckin HAZE - Oh how I wasted my hard earned on that sh!te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭Niska

Have to say MGS4 as well, though Uncharted is excellent, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

For a game I constantly come back to, its MGS4.

Honourable mentions: COD4, WarHawk, Uncharted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

thought mgs 4 was kinda rubbish myself

Helix wrote: »
    thought mgs 4 was kinda rubbish myself

I can understand MGS4 being against a lot of people's tastes with the long cutscenes, but I can't see how you could call a game like MGS4 rubbish with all its good points.

The sound and music are phenomenal. The gameplay caters to every taste. The story, IMO at least, is more engaging than most games out there at the moment.

Though I will concede that the online mode is hairy at times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Uncharted for me, followed by Resistance FOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Keith C

Oblivion - game of the year edition

Only scratching the surface of this game & will keep me going for months. great value & should tide me over till FF XIII is ever released :)

Gris is probably the best racing game ive played (compared to GT prologue & F1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

COD4/Drakes Fortune are top of a very very short list of good games

Good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Good one.

What do you mean by that? That those 2 games aren't great or that there ARE a good few quality ps3 games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

tiger woods for me, whats with the mgs big ups it was rubbish

Everyone is entitles to their opinion but I suggest looking at the 20 review scores if you wiki the game. Only one is below 90%. Most re mid-to-high nineties.

Not saying this makes it so, but if we are looking for an indicator as to whether or not to buy the game then they might help rather than the odd dissenter here.

noodler wrote: »
    Everyone is entitles to their opinion but I suggest looking at the 20 review scores if you wiki the game. Only one is below 90%. Most re mid-to-high nineties.

Not saying this makes it so, but if we are looking for an indicator as to whether or not to buy the game then they might help rather than the odd dissenter here.
    cool noodles , i really wanted to like the game ,but all the movie like clips made me want to punch someone aaaaggghhhh, only for that probley have got my vote, some people like that crap not me sorry bud

Cool. I haven't played it I must admit. I did love the previous ones (even 2 despite its lengthy cut scenes)

Its something I call C&C fever. When I played the first C&C (Or even RA) I used to view the cut scenes as a kind of reward for winning a misson. Considering how crap they were (both acting wise and story wise) it probaly explains why I love being told a good story these days (lets face it-the acting and plots have come a long way!)

I am told MGS4's gameplay (when you get to actually play) is pretty well done.

Cool. I haven't played it I must admit. I did love the previous ones (even 2 despite its lengthy cut scenes)

Its something I call C&C fever. When I played the first C&C (Or even RA) I used to view the cut scenes as a kind of reward for winning a misson. Considering how crap they were (both acting wise and story wise) it probaly explains why I love being told a good story these days (lets face it-the acting and plots have come a long way!)

I am told MGS4's gameplay (when you get to actually play) is pretty well done.
    totally agree with the game play being ok, just that ok nothing more, i played the last titles and they were vgood, it just seems this one is geared with so many cut scenes it like trying to tell people who have never played it the "STORY SO FAR" and they failed big time ,complete waste of time.

In your opinion...obviously!
    Im just pointing out your in the minority cos Id hate for the guy not to try what many argue is the best game on the system for himself.

What else did u like for argument's sake? Bar Tiger Woods?

In your opinion...obviously!
    Im just pointing out your in the minority cos Id hate for the guy not to try what many argue is the best game on the system for himself.

What else did u like for argument's sake? Bar Tiger Woods?
    oooh were do i start , cod4 ,battlefield ,grid [when it works] resistence , gears of war, fifa , tigger woods . there my online choice.

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    This is gonna get ugly! :pac:

Having said that, I love MGS4 in its own, special way.

Yup, looks like you were right - its getting ugly :D:D

MGS 2 was a good game but not a great game thanks to the bloody cutscenes. Stopped me going out to buy more in the series. Pity you can't disable the cutscenes and just play the game through without the overly dramatic "storyline". If you want to watch a movie, go to xtravision. Gamers want to shoot things not watch some techo nerd's wet dream come to life:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

MGS 2 was a good game but not a great game thanks to the bloody cutscenes. Stopped me going out to buy more in the series. Pity you can't disable the cutscenes and just play the game through without the overly dramatic "storyline". If you want to watch a movie, go to xtravision. Gamers want to shoot things not watch some techo nerd's wet dream come to life:p

Gamers want a wide variety of things. Why should a game have to conform to any given formula? That sort of thinking would give us nothing but FPS games.

we dont want nerdy cutscenes we want to shoot people PERIOD.UGGHH

OK Just to clarify, besides one or two very short ones, cutscenes in MGS4 are entirely skippable, one of the reasons I mention how it caters for everyone. If you want all-action, all the time, then simply press Start and hit Skip...

On-topic, the greatest online PS3 game IMO is COD4. Its so addictive, you never wait more than ten seconds to join a game and the different options are fantastic.

The greastest PSN game, besides the ones you can get in disk form is Super Stardust HD, fun, fast and easy to pick up.

Some of us like an ambitious storyline. You'd swear there was nothing to blow up in mgs

Some techno nerd's wet dream? I don't even know how to approach that statement. Think about it and then come back with something more refined that makes sense.

Otacon wrote: »
    I can understand MGS4 being against a lot of people's tastes with the long cutscenes, but I can't see how you could call a game like MGS4 rubbish with all its good points.

very easy, i got bored of it exceptionally quickly. despite its bells and whistles, the actual gameplay is mind numbing
    The sound and music are phenomenal. The gameplay caters to every taste. The story, IMO at least, is more engaging than most games out there at the moment.

Though I will concede that the online mode is hairy at times...

if i want a story ill read a book or watch a movie. if i want a game with a good story, id like the actual gameplay to be interesting too

its worth noting i despised mgs3 too

totally agree with HELIX, look lads its ok to say its a bit s hite , all they done was flung a half arsed game togeter because they knew that there were TECHNO NERDS that would kill there pet hamster to buy it, i bought it i even pre booked it played it for 2 maybe 3 days pants pants pants complete overhyped trivel, HAZE anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Damien360

MGS4 cut scenes are very, very long. The story is a bit silly and very like the last titles. The game itself is fantastic. I am completly hooked.

I keep returning to FIFA 08, just like I did with all the other FIFA titles. FIFA 08 has to win the title for the longest longevity of any game. Easily best value of any game. I will be replacing it only when FIFA 09 appears. Then all other games will be forgotten for a few months.

Damien360 wrote: »
    MGS4 cut scenes are very, very long. The story is a bit silly and very like the last titles. The game itself is fantastic. I am completly hooked.

I keep returning to FIFA 08, just like I did with all the other FIFA titles. FIFA 08 has to win the title for the longest longevity of any game. Easily best value of any game. I will be replacing it only when FIFA 09 appears. Then all other games will be forgotten for a few months.
    fifa and tiger give you the best value for online gaming, 12 months long and fantasicly fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭bassbomber

hahah wow i can see where this is going lol im a huge fan of the mgs series and funny enough because im such a big fan i wasnt sure if everyone felt that mgs4 was their favourite but i can say that it is easily a popular game its my favourite anyway and everyone seems to have the same opinion i have no idea why but there ya go just next to mgs4 would be cod4 assasins creed gta4 and resistance fom never played warhawks but i really wanna get it

almanu wrote: »
    we dont want nerdy cutscenes we want to shoot people PERIOD.UGGHH

Then go play COD4 and stop whinging.

bassbomber wrote: »
    just next to mgs4 would be cod4 assasins creed gta4 and resistance fom

apart from cod4, you have shocking taste in games lol

Some of us like an ambitious storyline. You'd swear there was nothing to blow up in mgs

Some techno nerd's wet dream? I don't even know how to approach that statement. Think about it and then come back with something more refined that makes sense.

O dear. Have we upset a MGS fanboy then. "Techno nerd's wetdream" was refering to Hideo Kojimas (MGS author for those who don't know) overblown and overdone cutscenes that ruin MGS games IMO (I am allowed to have one just like everyone else :p). Its good that you can skip the cutscenes in MGS4 but then you'd miss out on the storyline and possible hints or clues. Now before you jump up and down saying I'm contradicting myself, if you want to tell a story, especially one that involves flashbacks, then why not do it in the form of COD4's backstory in the episode "All Ghillied Up". This way, you learn the history/story while actually playing the bloody game and not having to sit through long, boring and ridiculous cutscenes (that I endured on MGS2). You then get the gaming experience and the backstory without any boring breaks.

As for someone suggesting that all I want are fps as games, I was misunderstood. Gaming is about being involved whether its shooting (COD4, RFOM), adventure (Uncharted) or sports (FIFA). Having a game broken up by overdone intermissions ruins the experience and makes me walk away from it (as I did from the MGS series after MGS2).

I hope you're happy OP, look what you've done! :pac:

O dear. Have we upset a MGS fanboy then. "Techno nerd's wetdream" was refering to Hideo Kojimas (MGS author for those who don't know) overblown and overdone cutscenes that ruin MGS games IMO (I am allowed to have one just like everyone else :p). Its good that you can skip the cutscenes in MGS4 but then you'd miss out on the storyline and possible hints or clues. Now before you jump up and down saying I'm contradicting myself, if you want to tell a story, especially one that involves flashbacks, then why not do it in the form of COD4's backstory in the episode "All Ghillied Up". This way, you learn the history/story while actually playing the bloody game and not having to sit through long, boring and ridiculous cutscenes (that I endured on MGS2). You then get the gaming experience and the backstory without any boring breaks.

As for someone suggesting that all I want are fps as games, I was misunderstood. Gaming is about being involved whether its shooting (COD4, RFOM), adventure (Uncharted) or sports (FIFA). Having a game broken up by overdone intermissions ruins the experience and makes me walk away from it (as I did from the MGS series after MGS2).

Okay, COD4: "A skinny little wimp who gets bullied in real life's payback". You can phrase these things however you want. Fan boy? Im convinced the only people who use that word still say stuff like cowabunga or dude.

Nobody actually insulted you for your choice of game. And as I have already said, 20 reviews on Wiki of the game, all but one above 90. Maybe its everyone else who IZ DA KOOL 1s and you are the techno nerd! OMGZ LOL

Edit: I hope the sarcasm is self-evident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Listen we all know that Sack Boy and Kratos are going to wipe the floor with messrs Snake, Nathan Hale & Soap Mctavish(Sounds like a pornstars name).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

For me it's MGS4. I love the cut scenes too, everything seems so perfect! Although as pointed out, there's only a small selection of games in the running on the PS3 as I find a lot of the games play better on the 360.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Helix wrote: »
    if i want a story ill read a book or watch a movie. if i want a game with a good story, id like the actual gameplay to be interesting too
    What's the point in reading a book?! I fùcking hate reading books!! And why would you watch a film if you could play MGS!? :)

And to the guy whinging about the cutscene... stop being a little puta!

Okay, COD4: "A skinny little wimp who gets bullied in real life's payback". You can phrase these things however you want. Fan boy? Im convinced the only people who use that word still say stuff like cowabunga or dude.

Nobody actually insulted you for your choice of game. And as I have already said, 20 reviews on Wiki of the game, all but one above 90. Maybe its everyone else who IZ DA KOOL 1s and you are the techno nerd! OMGZ LOL

Edit: I hope the sarcasm is self-evident.

'Fan boy' - used it as everyone else seems to use it and I just wanted to fit in :rolleyes::D.

And if you read through the posts, someone did critique me for only wanting fps. I actually think Uncharted just shades it for me over COD4 as its funny, great story and makes you think, i.e. puzzles.

Ok, you like MGS, good for you. However, imho, its just another overblown game like GTA IV and the ridiculous Haze. Roll on Uncharted 2, thats if they haven't made a hash of it.

Oh and finally, just what is wrong with cowabunga? Got something against Turtles as well???????:p:p:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

The gameplay caters to every taste.
    Not true. There are no minecart-riding sections :(

True, how could they have missed such a huge gameplay opportunity? Oh I know, the story got in the way. Too bad, could have been an excellent section.

As a matter of fact, there is a section in Act 2 where Snake appears to enter a mine, however, he then just appears at the other side! Maybe the minecart section was cut!?

Or maybe you have to save and reload after waiting a certain number of days to access the minecart minigame ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

jeez... all the ragin fanboi's in here :rolleyes:

lets just stop arguing for a day, then all get Soul Calibur 4 and then we can all agree that that is the best game out for the PS3

L31mr0d wrote: »

lets just stop arguing for a day, then all get Soul Calibur 4 and then we can all agree that that is the best game out for the PS3

Virtua Fighter ftw! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Fùck ya's all! If puzzlefarter comes to the PS3 it'll demolish them all!! :)

Stop using Fanboi/Fanboy or whatever - it upsets people :p:D:D:D

Aliens Colonial Marines will kick all asses if it ever gets released. Aliens on the PS1 was brill, yup I'm showing my age and I don't care:cool:

While I am looking forward to Aliens CM, after Sega's Iron Man, I'm also prepared to be disappointed!

doesnt count its not out yet but it will be a kick ass game

Stop using Fanboi/Fanboy or whatever - it upsets people :p:D:D:D

Aliens Colonial Marines will kick all asses if it ever gets released. Aliens on the PS1 was brill, yup I'm showing my age and I don't care:cool:
    aliens was the first game i ever played on the ps1 i was pretty young at the time hahahahaha and now im really ****ed up hahahaha thank god for aliens!!! all joking aside i loved that game probly wasnt a good game to be playing at round 7 years of age or younger i cant remeber wha age i was

Aliens on the PS1 was brill, yup I'm showing my age and I don't care:cool:
    Yes, because you've played a PS1, you must be pretty old :confused:

By the way, why do all the women in soulcalibur 4 look like anne freakin hathaway? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

definately cod4 on prestige 6 and still loving it