Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what do i do? big predicament about dole and returning to work..

• 29-07-2008 6:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭

so i'm currently on social welfare being collected in the post office.
    i started a new job today, investment accounting so thats good.
    i'm getting paid for the first time 4 weeks from now.

do i sign of and have zero money, and zero access to money from either from banks, friends or family.. i'm in debt to all 3.

or do i sign of just before i get my first paycheck so i can survive for the next month?

the first option isn't really an option to be honest... i wont have money for rent, food or bus to work. is the second option illegal? can i still be signed on till my first paycheck?

if anyone calls me scabby or anything, you've never been in my predicament or understand the severity of my situation.. its ironic that i could survive grand without a job but now that i have one, i could be left for a month with zero income.

what do i do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Personally, I..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

If your new employer discovers you're still signing on you could be sacked.
    If the dole office finds out you're working you may have to pay them back the overpayment. They have a record of your employment history from the tax office and will eventually discover the overlap. Also, if you eventually lose your new job and sign back on the P45 will indicate the job's start date and this will clash with your social welfare payment history on the dole office's IT system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Have been there a couple of times - cash flow sucks. Signed off and didn't get paid for a month - had to beg and borrow and bounce all my direct debits. Its a terrible situation - and you'd think that someone somewhere would have copped on to this.

If you stay signed on and get found out - well you'll end up in a lot of trouble. Jeez the last time I signed off I got an earfull because apparently I was paid to the Tuesday and then owed them 2 days - and somewhere that 2 days has likely festered into 2 million eurons even though I tried to pay it back at the time and it was like hitting my head off a brick wall.

If your employer is decent - they may offer you an advance?

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭turf

ok nolanger.. now could you advise me how to survive and keep a roof over my head? thats my big issue.. i see what ur sayin and i know its true, it just seems like i'm being punished for getting a job with a salary where i only get paid monthly

Personally, i would sign off just before my first pay check. If you really won't have ANY money in the mean time, then you don't really have a choice in the matter. Screw legalities.
    if i get fired, it so wont be worth it..... fuk.

anyone here a loanshark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I would have thought that the obvious thing to do would be to talk to your bank about temporarily extending your overdraft facility. If you explain your situation and don't have a dreadful credit record then I'm sure they'll be able to accommodate you in some way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Or talk to your new employer about some kind of advance, or perhaps paying you weekly (or a quarter of your monthly salary every Friday for the first couple of weeks).

If I were you and genuinely had nowhere else to go you *could* stay signed on and agree to repay the overpayment if they'll allow you. I don't advocate fiddling the system, but the rules rarely bend to accommodate those trying to ultimately do the right thing (i.e. take a job rather than stay on the dole).

its a company with 50,000+ employees.. advancements etc. i doubt wont be possible. the extension of the overdraft is an idea, how shud i go about it without being able to go to the bank during the day?

ellscurr wrote: »
    Or talk to your new employer about some kind of advance, or perhaps paying you weekly (or a quarter of your monthly salary every Friday for the first couple of weeks).

If I were you and genuinely had nowhere else to go you *could* stay signed on and agree to repay the overpayment if they'll allow you. I don't advocate fiddling the system, but the rules rarely bend to accommodate those trying to ultimately do the right thing (i.e. take a job rather than stay on the dole).
    i must be the most impressionable person ever.. once i read that i think i shud keep claiming and pay it back. poll? :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

turf wrote: »
    its a company with 50,000+ employees.. advancements etc. i doubt wont be possible. the extension of the overdraft is an idea, how shud i go about it without being able to go to the bank during the day?
    Well i'm with BOI and these kind of things can be arranged over the phone, it is possible that they'll ask you to go into a branch though.

I think too many people have too much faith in our welfare system. If you honestly think signing off just before she gets paid will get her in trouble and/or sacked then you're quite deluded tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

These are often the best companies to try it with - they'll have a dedicated HR department, and these are often far more sympathetic and able to help than a mom & pop type outfit. You won't have been the first employee to ask, and you won't be the last, especially in the current economic climate.

Go down the overdraft route if you can though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

Ask them for an advance, it's not such a big deal for most companies. You can ask the HR people directly, if they are not clued in ask your new supervisor/manager to smooth it over. They can get you money from misc. fees if neccessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Get an overdraft. The bank might want to see a copy of your contract proving you have a new job, but it's safer than breaking the law by defrauding the benefits system.

It's a pity there's no system in place for people in your situation. Really you should keep getting the dole at least for the first 2 weeks or so, to cover your expenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

if anyone calls me scabby or anything, you've never been in my predicament or understand the severity of my situation.. its ironic that i could survive grand without a job but now that i have one, i could be left for a month with zero income.

what do i do?

Are you serious?

You have a job. The dole is for people who don't have jobs.

It is not the social welfare office's fault that you didn't build up some savings to see you through your first month of employment.

Ask someone for a loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

dublindude wrote: »
    Are you serious?

It is not the social welfare office's fault that you didn't build up some savings to see you through your first month of employment.

Ask someone for a loan.

Give the OP a break, he is working and trying to survive. He obviously isnt looking to screw the system for all its worth, hes just looking to get by till next payday ad then hell be fine.

Its aint easy to build savings on Jobseekers benefit. The dole money just about covers weekly expenses and rent and stuff, most of the time not covering it.

Its not the social welfares fault he doesnt have money, it also aint his fault as he hasnt had a job.

I agree that claiming jobseekers isnt the right thing but we're here to help not get at him.

OP, a few options you have:
    1. Get in touch with local citizens information office, they may be able to give you some great advice as they are very experienced with this stuff.
    2. Talk to you job as these large organisations usually have a better understanding of the difficulties of starting a job and waiting till first paycheck, I worked for large financial institution a week after college and was told if i was stuck for money they could give me an advance.
    3. Get an overdraft, try not get another loan as interest will probably be higher. They will usually give an overdraft no problem just explain the situation

chris85 wrote: »
    Give the OP a break, he is working and trying to survive. He obviously isnt looking to screw the system for all its worth, hes just looking to get by till next payday ad then hell be fine.

When are people going to start taking responsibility for their life?

It is not up to the taxpayer to fund the OP's inability to save.

I have no problem with people on the dole while they look for work, but trying to scam the system (which is what he's trying to do) is wrong.

If we all scammed a bit here and there it'd add up to a lot of money.

When are people going to start taking responsibility for their life?

It is not up to the taxpayer to fund the OP's inability to save.

I have no problem with people on the dole while they look for work, but trying to scam the system (which is what he's trying to do) is wrong.

If we all scammed a bit here and there it'd add up to a lot of money.

Ok i get your view and i think the Op realises he cant get anything now hes in work. I still think its better to provide help to him

I dont think the OP wants to take money from the system if he doesnt need to but he is feeling in a situation where he thinks he has no other option in order to pay the bills. Better to help and explain the alternatives well rather than just making him feel bad about his situation because lets face it, it could be anyone one of us who gets on the dole and savings dwindle while looking for work as the dole isnt massive.

I just feel its help the OP needs to get sorted at the moment.

I agree he needs help, but it should be from a family member or his partner, not the tax payer.

agreed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

Keep signing on a collect until you get paid. Several months later, the social welfare office,,, may ,,, and it's a big may,, send you a not asking you to repay the overpayment.

You can always try calling your health board and asking for some emergency money. Your local office may have a fund.

Anyway if you've paid PRSI in the past, which you probably have, your just getting back what you put in.

We don't all have nice mammys and daddys, who keep us snug, buy us our first car, pay for all the extras, help us get on the property ladder.

I've known people who've had to sleep rough (that's in parks and grave yards) to get through the first month.

Your just taking back what's yours ..Just think about the lazy fat bellied Irish farmers, who just because they inherited big farms from their daddies, get 10's of thousands from the government, stolen from low paid workers in urban areas,, who can't afford savings because they have to pay for the lazy farmers children.

A farmers idea of poverty, is having to live on 3 times your salary. Ireland is full of parasites who feel very proud and think they deserve your money by birthright

krd wrote: »
    Anyway if you've paid PRSI in the past, which you probably have, your just getting back what you put in.

I'm really bad with money. I blow my wages on booze and clothes every month.

Do you recommend I try to claim the dole on the sly?

After all, I'll just be getting back what I put in, and I think it's fair to expect the tax payer to fund my lack of money management skills.

/Sarcasm
    We don't all have nice mammys and daddys, who keep us snug, buy us our first car, pay for all the extras, help us get on the property ladder.

What does this have to do with anything?

The OP, while I have some sympathy for him, is being very unreasonable to expect the tax payer to fund his lack of savings. He should ask a friend for a loan. He shouldn't try to scam the system.

Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I think people should try to be good citizens.

After all, I'll just be getting back what I put in, and I think it's fair to expect the tax payer to fund my lack of money management skills.

No save all that money you spend on booze and clooths because you never know when you could be unemployed and then get a job and have no money to pay rent for a month or buy food while waiting for the first payday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Are you serious?

Ask someone for a loan.

/Sarcasm

The OP, while I have some sympathy for him, is being very unreasonable to expect the tax payer to fund his lack of savings. He should ask a friend for a loan. He shouldn't try to scam the system.

How the hell can anyone be expected to keep their head above water and make ends meet with 200 quid a week ? And on top of that have a stash of savings ? You don't want tax payers money to be used to cover a problem like this which happens more often than you may realise. How do you feel about how the government squanders your taxes ?
    I can never get this rubbish of lets all sh*t on the little guy trying to get by while Fianna Fail rob ye blind.

Best of look to the OP, I'd spot you a few quid if I had it to spare.
    +1 on the getting in touch with local citizens information office.

dublindude, u prick. im in loads of debt to banks, parents and friends since i just finished my degree, which costs loads of money, my parents cant afford any more money to me and i owe my friends over 500euro

how can i save while in college? and during summer i'm getting riddled for 50euro interest a month from banks.. how can i save? u even admitted to spending all ur money on drink and clothes. me, i cant afford me phone bill and meteor are sayin they're gonna cut me off..

why cant i afford my phone bill? cause i needed a suit and shoes for the interview. u still gonna rip at me? in 2 months, i'll be ok, do u think i care about defrauding the system if im on here looking for advice..

dublindude, u prick. im in loads of debt to banks, parents and friends since i just finished my degree, which costs loads of money, my parents cant afford any more money to me and i owe my friends over 500euro

how can i save while in college? and during summer i'm getting riddled for 50euro interest a month from banks.. how the fuk can i save u self? u even admitted to spending all ur money on drink and clothes. me, i cant afford me phone bill and meteor are sayin they're gonna cut me off..

why cant i afford my phone bill? cause i needed a suit and shoes for the interview. u still gonna rip at me aszhole?

Good luck anyway man, don't let that bloke get to you.

dublindude, u prick.

Classy guy.
    im in loads of debt to banks, parents and friends since i just finished my degree, which costs loads of money, my parents cant afford any more money to me and i owe my friends over 500euro

How is this the tax payers fault?

You do realise you want the tax payer to pay for your lack of money management skills?

An ex-employer screwed me over which left me 9k in debt, but I never once thought I should scam social welfare to get me out of the hole I was in.
    how can i save while in college?

I had a part-time job when I was in college. I managed to save thousands.

It's called living within your means.
    u even admitted to spending all ur money on drink and clothes. me, i cant afford me phone bill and meteor are sayin they're gonna cut me off..

That was sarcasm. I even wrote "Sarcasm" after it.

Again, how is the tax payer responsible for your debt situation?

Are you so selfish you cannot grasp it's wrong to expect the tax payer to pay for your lack of money management skills?

And let's be clear, you want to scam social welfare.
    why cant i afford my phone bill? cause i needed a suit and shoes for the interview. u still gonna rip at me aszhole?

How is this the tax payers problem? :confused:

Bizarre and depressing.

And let's be clear, you want to scam social welfare.

No he doesn't, he's asking for advice. What kind of nut would advertise that he's trying to break the law ?

How is this the tax payers problem? :confused:

Bizarre and depressing.
    Well he could've done with getting a prepay sim card or something:confused:

No he doesn't, he's asking for advice. What kind of nut would advertise that he's trying to break the law ?

He wants to continue on the dole while in employment.

That is scamming social welfare.

so i'm currently on social welfare being collected in the post office.
    i started a new job today, investment accounting so thats good.
    i'm getting paid for the first time 4 weeks from now.

do i sign of and have zero money, and zero access to money from either from banks, friends or family.. i'm in debt to all 3.

or do i sign of just before i get my first paycheck so i can survive for the next month?

the first option isn't really an option to be honest... i wont have money for rent, food or bus to work. is the second option illegal? can i still be signed on till my first paycheck?

what do i do?
    He wants to continue on the dole while in employment.

That is scamming social welfare.

He's looking for advice.

I'm sure he also wants Rockefellar to decend from the heavens and hand him a million billion euros .

He's looking for advice.

Eh... I think it's pretty obvious from his post what he has already decided to do.

Adding a question at the end doesn't change the previous couple of paragraphs.
    alan dunne wrote:
    I'm sure he also wants Rockefellar to decend from the heavens and hand him a million billion euros .

That's the problem with this country. Everyone thinks "ah sure he only scamming them a little bit".

If we all scammed a little bit our country would be in bits, especially with a recession on the way and our Government deep in debt.

Does no one care what happens to this country?

We should not tolerate and support scammers.

dublindude wats ur problem with me? i landed a good job and have a predicament for a while.. ur not hard havin a go at lads on the internet. wat age are you? if ur over 21, stop.. im 20 and feel to old to be at that.

thanks to everyone else tho, good advice and that.. :P

Eh... I think it's pretty obvious from his post what he has already decided to do.

Adding a question at the end doesn't change the previous couple of paragraphs.

i've decided not to actually, gonna ring social welfare officer tomorro durin my break and ask what to do.. jus leave the thread will ya. ur more a nuisance on society right now that i am.

and out of interest, what do you do with your life? ive a 2.1 degree, a good job and studying for chartered exams already.. i think i'll be an addition to this country in the long run. ur jus a prick on boards.

dublindude wats ur problem with me?

I don't like people who think the tax payer should pick up their mess.

You think there's nothing wrong with scamming the Government out of a few hundred quid.

That's my problem with you.

You are completely selfish and cannot understand or refuse to understand how your actions affect more people than just you.
    turf wrote:
    i landed a good job and have a predicament for a while.. ur not hard havin a go at lads on the internet. wat age are you? if ur over 21, stop.. im 20 and feel to old to be at that.

I wish you well in your job, but you need to take responsibility for your current situation. Only you are the reason you are in debt and have no savings. Not the tax payer.

im in debt cause of college.. is that a new concept to you? ya kno.. like debt to get somewhere in life?

nd did i blame the tax payer once ever? no. fuk off.

and out of interest, what do you do with your life? ive a 2.1 degree, a good job and studying for chartered exams already.. i think i'll be an addition to this country in the long run. ur jus a prick on boards.

I'm a qualified accountant. I used to be a financial controller.

Don't compare yourself to me, you'll just get embarrassed.

Now grow up because you sound like a 12 year old.

I hope you follow through on your statement and do the right thing.

you don't sound like an accountant. unfortunately my new job is investment accountant so now i'm afraid i might end up just like you.

You're making a fool of yourself.

I hope you realise there is more to society than your own needs and wants.

/The end

/the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

dublindude, u prick.

infracted. please mind your language when addressing other posters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

nd did i blame the tax payer once ever? no. fuk off.

Why don't YOU fuk off.

Months ban. Learn some manners while you're not posting in here.

/Sarcasm

I've seen alot of scams. Some of the scams I've seen have been so large, that if you added up the sum total of all dole fraud for the last 20 years, it wouldn't come anywhere near what I've seen stolen.

I've gone through periods of having good savings. I've also gone through periods where employers didn't pay my wages and where landlords stole my money.

One thing I've learned from life. Is that often those that come out with banalities about frugality and saving etc have been the most helped out in their lives. And anytime they needed any comfort they got it.

Some worthless people get a smug sadistic thrill from kicking people when they're down. With crap like 'aw well you should've saved your money,, instead of being a spendthrift on essentials like rent and cheap foodstuffs'

Again, how is the tax payer responsible for your debt situation?

Are you so selfish you cannot grasp it's wrong to expect the tax payer to pay for your lack of money management skills?

And let's be clear, you want to scam social welfare

But he is a taxpayer. So all he's doing is taking some of his tax back.

Where I grew up. In rural smelly Ireland. Before the days of the celtic tiger. In a time of rat infested schools and rampant paedophilia. There were certain dispensations allowed to people on the dole, where they wouldn't be struck off for dole fraud. These were working the occasional nixers on local farms. This was an official position.

It paid really badly. But the big fat lazy smelly farmers, would get subsidised labour, and have a few more pound in their pockets.

I can honestly say, the people who have shocked me the most in their spending have been heavily taxpayer subsidised farmers. The spending is not conspicous,,, unless you know what your looking at

I'm a bloody taxpayer,,

The disaportionate amount of my tax that goes to worthless gob****es (like farmers) I do have a problem with. It's like I'm feeding the hand that whips me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

Turf, once again, you should approach your company for an advance.
    This is not a situation to 'save face' by doing the wrong thing. They have money and will give it to you......... this request is probably more common than you think.

Dublin Dude is correct in his offensive way that you are not entitled to that money. Also there are more people using the internet than you and DublinDude, how about you learn to spell correctly and stop writing obscenities on here. I and other posters gave you advice and you react with this crap.

However if you can't get the money by any other means I personally wouldn't see anything wrong with it...claiming dole extra month, you can pay it back later if you want to do the 'right' thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭stressed out

One thing I've learned from life. Is that often those that come out with banalities about frugality and saving etc have been the most helped out in their lives. And anytime they needed any comfort they got it.

Absolutely - anyone who can save 'thousands' while part-time working at college is living a privileged life.

Boards.ie mods sure do like to drop bans left right and centre!

Absolutely - anyone who can save 'thousands' while part-time working at college is living a privileged life.

I worked 35 hours a week, and made an effort not to buy things on credit.

Got no help from the folks whatsoever! So it can be done. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Not really true, I work friday evening and all day Sat/Sun while in college and managed to save quite a bit through college. Any one in Ireland who claims to be in debt after leaving college was just too lazy to get a job, Working one day a week would be enough to cover spending money and travel costs. From the sounds of it, it's turf who lead the privileged life.

turf if you have landed a good job like you say you have just go to your bank and ask for a short bridging loan, saying you'll pay it back over 3/4 months. It may mean things are tight for that time but so is life. What odds if you can't go out on the town for a few months, after that time, once you have evenything in order, you can carry on as normal.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I worked 35 hours a week, and made an effort not to buy things on credit.

Got no help from the folks whatsoever! So it can be done. :)

This is true. I've saved money in the past,,, by avoiding spending a single ****ing penny on anything.

I have Polish friends who lived on an entire budget of under 500 a month, rent included, so they could go back to Poland and set up businesses. They said they had never lived like that, but they were working towards something that would really pay off in the long run. It can be done. It's incredibly uncomfortable to do it, but it can be done.

Some people,,, and I know these people,,, still have their communion money.

But back to the topic of the thread... some times ,,, good people have got to do bad things to survive. Like hereos like 50'ddy cent and Jay-z, who had to sell crack cocaine and child pornography ,,, and work in a recruitment agency just to get by.

#

Eh sorry , what ? Can you elaborate ?