Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Victim of road rage - advice needed

• 29-07-2008 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭

Monday night i was coming home from work in Limerick. About 4 miles from home, the car behind me, whose lights were dimmed, started tail-gating me at a very close distance, we're talking like 6 or 7 feet. I gave him a minute or two to see if he would back off, he didn't. So i broke gently to send him a hint to pull back from me. He didn't seem to like this and flashed his lights aggressively, before proceeding to turn his full headlights on me. It was clear to see that he was trying to intimidate me and ''get his own back'' for me braking on him. Now my eyes are quite sensitive to bright lights, so by doing this he made it quite difficult for me to see. Even with the my middle rear mirror pointed away from me, i still had the beaming reflection coming off my wing mirror and dazzling me. He drove behind me like this for about three miles. I was just about to pull in, let him pass, and take down his number, when i saw a garda checkpoint in the near distance. So when i reached the checkpoint, i voiced my annoyance to the guard about the driver's behaviour. He took down the details, rang me back yesterday, and i am to make a statement on Friday.

My question is this: has anyone on here reported dangerous driving or road-rage before? How far did you go and what is likely to happen? The guard has said that if its contested, it will go to court. Since it is just his word against mine, is he likely to get away with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭melbourne

Hi Grenache, I had an incident back in June when a car driver looked me in the eye and then side swiped me into the kerb at a set of road works. The other drivers lane was ending so she forced me out of the way with her door. I caught up with her a few minutes later but she refused to stop, so I went straight to the nearest Garda station. The end result was that it was my word against hers, however the Gard that I was dealing with could see that I was still genuinely shook up so he decided to follow it up. It turns out that surprise surprise she blamed me, however when asked to produce her insurance down the station it turned out she did not have any. The Garda was very good and took it very seriously so I would pursue it, even if they only have to go and produce their documentation, it make make them think twice the next time they decide play the bully.

I was also told that I could take a civil suit, but that would still be just my word against hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

thanks melbourne, like you case, the guard i was dealing with too could see i was very annoyed, i was positively boiling! I certainly don't want to let him get away with it, but I don't want to create any unnecessary hassle for myself either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭meanmachine3

grenache wrote: »
    [Mods - i don't know if this is in the correct forum or not, feel free to move it if needs be]

Monday night i was coming home from work in Limerick. About 4 miles from home, the car behind me, who's light were dimmed, started tail-gating me at a very close distance, we're talking like 6 or 7 feet. I gave him a minute or two to see if he would back off, he didn't. So i broke gently to send him a hint to pull back from me. He didn't seem to like this and flashed his lights aggressively, before proceeding to turn his full headlights on me. It was clear to see that he was trying to intimidate me and ''get his own back'' for me braking on him.
    just to throw a spanner in the works grenache but did you do anything to antaganoise him/her. e.g. pull out in front of them, cut them up etc. or was it that you were just sticking to the speed limit.
    the reason i'm askin is that i had some fool using a lane that leads onto a slip road for the M50 ( the lane clearly states M50 in big letters with a big arrow for turnig left)then at the last second pull directly out in front of me crossing a continous white line causing me to jam on and all because i was driving something slower than he was. i can tell you this guy also saw my headlights.
    if we had hit someone was a goner and all because of this nut cases impatience.
    these guys can wrap themselves and their passengers around a tree for all i care so long as they dont try to take me with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

just to throw a spanner in the works grenache but did you do anything to antaganoise him/her. e.g. pull out in front of them, cut them up etc. or was it that you were just sticking to the speed limit.

I would hardly call sticking to the speed limit justifiable grounds for being antagonised by someone!

OP, Good luck with things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

generally for the sake of your digestion its best to shrug off these annoyances and move on....content yourself with the knowledge that you are a better driver than they are....

No, i did absolutely nothing to antagonise him. I was in row of cars, doing 55mph on a wet surface and keeping well back from the car in front of me. I know full well that he didn't like me telling him to get off my backside, so he took the 'smart alec' approach by trying to blind me. He'll be sorry he did so. Guard told me today on the phone that he was a pychiatrist - well, he could start by looking at his own problems first of all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭bauderline

As long as he denies it point blank they cannot prosecute him, waste of time and taxpayers money to take it to court as its impossible to prove, so they cannot do anything other than ensure his documentation is in order as in a similar case above.

A clear word of advice on this subject, don't get involved, not even by breaking gently to remove them from your rear end, its just not worth it, you could have provoked a far more serious reaction than what you have outlined.

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

What i've done in the past in those sort of situations is gently lift the handbrake:rolleyes:
    When he rear-ends you, take him to the cleaners!
    But seriously, i used to get annoyed by these fellows/ladies, now i let them pass safely at my next convenience.In these wet weather conditions it's better they kill themselves elsewhere rather than a stupid accident maybe caused by you or him.
    Just pray he kills nobody else in the process....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No, i did absolutely nothing to antagonise him. I was in row of cars, doing 55mph on a wet surface and keeping well back from the car in front of me.

Were you in an overtaking lane doing 55mph?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I had an incident like this a while ago and made a statement to the guard. The guard at the time said that when these cases go to court, they invariably find in favor of the person making the statement.

Go ahead to court, the person was driving aggressively & dangerously. follow the guard's advice/opinion, they will know best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

but did you do anything to antaganoise him/her.
    No, i did absolutely nothing to antagonise him.
    Really?
    I broke gently to send him a hint to pull back from me.

Regardless of the other driver, what you did was stupid. Brake testing is highly dangerous. You really should become a more patient driver. If your that annoyed by someone driving so close perhaps it would be a good idea to pull over rather than trying to control the car behind.

All the same best of luck with the complaint, nothing worse than being blinded. I would fully expect the other drive to make a complaint regarding your brake testing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Clare_Guy

No, i did absolutely nothing to antagonise him. I was in row of cars, doing 55mph on a wet surface and keeping well back from the car in front of me.

you were doing 88kph in the overtaking lane of a dual-carriage way on a WET surface with no cars in front of you and you braked suddenly? Are you familiar with the rules of the road?

No wonder the person behind you got upset!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Where does it say that the poster was on a dual carriageway? He/she was in a line of traffic driving at 55mph.

And it's hardly fair to call the OP impatient when some moron was driving up their ass!

queen-mise wrote: »
    I had an incident like this a while ago and made a statement to the guard. The guard at the time said that when these cases go to court, they invariably find in favor of the person making the statement.

Go ahead to court, the person was driving aggressively & dangerously. follow the guard's advice/opinion, they will know best

wrong wrong wrong !

The evidence *** MUST *** always be considered on an impartial basis. When that evidence is a statement which can be credibly refuted by a competent solicitor then its game over.

As pointed out above the OP actions could be considered wreckless driving moreover they have openly admitted it !!

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Clare_Guy

"driving up her ass" is subjective, the person behind may have a different opinion about how close they were. She has admitted she "brake-tested" him on a wet surface. I know which case i'd be pursuing if i was a garda.

Where does it say that the poster was on a dual carriageway? He/she was in a line of traffic driving at 55mph.

And it's hardly fair to call the OP impatient when some moron was driving up their ass!

I asked if they were because they mentioned 'pulling in' to let him pass.

The offending driver was clearly wrong to tailgate and especially to switch on his full beams, but it rarely happens to me. That's because I don't expect a medal for observing the speed limit while hogging the overtaking lane. While, again, I don't in any way condone what he did, you are going to get more than your share of clowns like this tailgating you if you hog lanes.

Apologies OP, if you were not in the overtaking lane!

Also if this goes to court, bear in mind that brake testing in wet conditions with a line of cars ahead of you is a recipe for a multi-car pileup and will be seen as equally dangerous as tailgating. Also, it will make the clown behind you even angrier.

I can't even act innocent in this regard. I have used the brake tap a few times in the past to deter dangerously persistent tailgaters, but I've seen how extreme as response it can provoke. Now I would just tap the hazards, and then get out of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

I find that truck drivers are f$ckers for this. Always happens on the N3, even when Im doing the legal speed limit, it infuriates me!

I had a 'gator recently, he was about 5metres from my bumper on the N6 I was in lane 1 (the left hand one), right lane & road ahead were empty, I was doing 110kmh.

I completely ignored him!

He stayed there for four or five Kms, then stopped on the hard shoulder before reversing into one of those "garda" hidaways.

Draw your own conclusions!!!!!

Good call db you handled it the correct way and it paid off !

I remember scooting down to kells a few years ago, maybe a little quicker than I should have been when I came across a red mondeo in front of me, a quick scan of the back window confirmed my suspicions, it was an unmarked garda car. Fair enough leave well alone. Next thing I have some guy behind me all over my read end, I used the hazards, made signals in the rear mirror, but he didn't twig and decided to pass both of us on a mild corner over a double white line.... he got about level with the unmarked unit before the lights went on.... that was that... I would guess he got a fair roasting .....

Don't mess around on the road, even if you believe you are in the right, there is no telling if its the Gardai or Mike Myers in the car behind...

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

So i broke gently to send him a hint to pull back from me.

This is lethally dangerous and can get you done for dangerous driving if you're seen / reported doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

A) It's braked, not broke

B) If someone tries to blind you with their full-beams, I find sticking on the fog lights for a minute or two usually solves the problem*

*I am perfectly aware of the legality of using fog-lights when it's not foggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

really? Because i've never seen this myself.
    Honey-ec wrote: »
    B) If someone tries to blind you with their full-beams, I find sticking on the fog lights for a minute or two usually solves the problem*

*I am perfectly aware of the legality of using fog-lights when it's not foggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

If somebody is giving you agro with the full beams, up the arse I always knock away my mirrors, fog lights on and then drive at 30mph.

Nice one squire.... no doubt I will be reading of your untimely demise in the newspaper in years to come.. "found by the side of road with throat slit.." springs to mind....

silly silly man....

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

Much and all as it feels good to 'get your own back' I'd suggest more caution these days. A lot of posters in this thread have advised various methods of pissing of the other driver even more.

There's just no point at all trying to escalate these kind of situations. There are piles of nutters on the roads who don't give a damn about you and prodding them with a stick when they do something stupid will only make matters worse.

I saw someone flip the lid in traffic the other day because he got caught behind an old biddy in the right lane waiting at traffic. Only when the lights turned green did she bother to indicate right (it was a straight ahead lane too as was the left lane) so he freaked out so much his car was shaking. He then got out and started hurling abuse and kicking the car the auld one was in before immediately getting back in and tearing around her as she moved off. I had already phoned the cops at that stage but it was a Polish reg so I doubt anything will ever come of it.

Road rage is getting more and more commonplace these days. If you encounter it just be smart and pull over and let the nutter on his way. No harm jotting the reg if you can and reporting it but don't go putting yourself in harms way for it.

Puruse it. If nothing else he could be a learner driver without a licenced passenger....they'll find a way to do him for something. Likewise they could also get you for something so be careful.

without a passenger... and how exactly would you imagine the Gardai could prove that !

bauderline wrote: »
    without a passenger... and how exactly would you imagine the Gardai could prove that !

A question for the OP did the rager follow you through the checkpoint?

Honey-ec wrote: »
    A)

If someone tries to blind you with their full-beams, I find sticking on the fog lights for a minute or two usually solves the problem*

20-30% of the cars on the road seem to do this anyway. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

bauderline wrote: »
    Nice one squire.... no doubt I will be reading of your untimely demise in the newspaper in years to come.. "found by the side of road with throat slit.." springs to mind....

silly silly man....

B.

Throat slit? How do you come to that conclusion you little werido?
    There's just no point at all trying to escalate these kind of situations. There are piles of nutters on the roads who don't give a damn about you and prodding them with a stick when they do something stupid will only make matters worse.

I'm one of these nutters so I'm not too scared what other road users are going to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭horseydevine

i had a youngfella tailgatin me at bout 3 feet between me going through an estate..car full of youngwans with him trying to show off. the next set of red traffic lights, me mate hopped out of the car to "enquire" as to what his problem was...he went white as a ghost... i know it was a "slight" case of road rage but it was stress soothing..:D

now the onslaught...:D

Throat slit? How do you come to that conclusion you little werido?

I'm one of these nutters so I'm not too scared what other road users are going to do.

I am neither little nor weird... please refrain from personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Please take it easy on each other. Just because feelings run high doesn't allow carte blanche for insults and personal abuse. Insults and personal abuse give me carte blanche for infractions, warnings and bannings which cut into my value time.

This has 30 minutes before I decide whether it's better placed in Motors or locked. I'm betting on locked.

God i leave the thread for 24 hours and its a case of 'forum rage' when i return :D

To reply to some of your comments/questions:
    Clare_Guy wrote: »
    "driving up her ass" is subjective, the person behind may have a different opinion about how close they were. She has admitted she "brake-tested" him on a wet surface.
    I am a 'he' thank you ;)
    MYOB wrote: »
    This is lethally dangerous and can get you done for dangerous driving if you're seen / reported doing it.
    Correct me if i'm wrong, but i was always taught to keep the car behind you at a safe distance always. I gently braked, i did not 'slam on the brakes' and do a 180 on the road!! If i had to brake to avoid a car in front of me, would this be an offence too?? People have to brake for all sort of reasons in wet weather, as far as i'm concerned i was keeping him a safe distance from me. He was the antagoniser in this situation, not me.
    A question for the OP did the rager follow you through the checkpoint?
    After i pulled off, they were questioned by the guard, i pulled in home barely half a mile back the road and did not see him behind me.
    stovelid wrote: »
    I asked if they were because they mentioned 'pulling in' to let him pass.

The offending driver was clearly wrong to tailgate and especially to switch on his full beams, but it rarely happens to me. That's because I don't expect a medal for observing the speed limit while hogging the overtaking lane. While, again, I don't in any way condone what he did, you are going to get more than your share of clowns like this tailgating you if you hog lanes.

Apologies OP, if you were not in the overtaking lane!
    By 'pulling in', i meant pulling in to the hard shoulder. I never made any mention of a dual carriageway, i was driving on a single lane stretch of road, in a line of about 8 cars, with this neantherdal stuck up my backside.
    Calina wrote: »
    This has 30 minutes before I decide whether it's better placed in Motors or locked. I'm betting on locked.
    Don't lock it please, i want to hear what people have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Correct me if i'm wrong, but i was always taught to keep the car behind you at a safe distance always. I gently braked, i did not 'slam on the brakes' and do a 180 on the road!! If i had to brake to avoid a car in front of me, would this be an offence too?? People have to brake for all sort of reasons in wet weather, as far as i'm concerned i was keeping him a safe distance from me. He was the antagoniser in this situation, not me..

You can't make a car behind you keep distance. Tapping the brakes is extremely dangerous - it could cause the car behind to slam on and cars to go in to him, or if you do it repeatedly then brake for real, cause the car to ram you at full speed as they've "learnt" that your spoofing. This is why it is classed as dangerous driving, both by driving professionals and the Gardai.

In wet weather it is even worse as braking distances are increased, so Mr Tailgater has even more chance of ramming you if he ignores for a second, or of whoever is a "safe distance" in their eyes for dry weather behind him to ram him if he slams on.

I'd suggest you read Roadcraft or any similar advanced driving manual before attempting to police other drivers driving again. Thats the job of the police, and the correct response - which admittedly you also did - was to report the driver in question. The Gardai are surprisingly good at following up on reported incidents, and theres even a number to do it 'on the go' so to speak, 1890 205 805.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but i was always taught to keep the car behind you at a safe distance always. I gently braked, i did not 'slam on the brakes' and do a 180 on the road!! If i had to brake to avoid a car in front of me, would this be an offence too?? People have to brake for all sort of reasons in wet weather, as far as i'm concerned i was keeping him a safe distance from me. He was the antagoniser in this situation, not me.

I think this is the fundamental issue here. I have no doubt that this guy was driving to close behind you and was making you feel uncomfortable and unsafe. No doubt about it his driving was dangerous. However it is not legitimate to break in order to control the driving or the distance of the car behind you. You will not find this practice in the highway code or any relevant driving manual. The reason for this is simple, its DANGEROUS, you cannot control behind you just like you cannot control the car in front of you, what you can do with the car in front is allow a safe distance between you and him that in the event he gets into trouble you have sufficient time to avoid and take appropriate action.

If someone is driving up your rear pull over at a safe location and let them past, that is the only safe thing to do.

If you break gently to try to get him to put more distance between the cars you run the risk of firstly him driving into the back of you beacause he is more concerned with trying to get past you, secondly your actions may only serve to aggravate the hell out them, which whilst may give you a modicum of satisfaction may cause the offending drive to start driving in an even more erratic fashion possibly leading to crash and serious injury to yourself or other road users.

"Gentle Breaking" is not a legitimate or safe tactic. Don't do it. The roads are dangerous enough already.

That's my opinion.. for what's it worth.

I do feel your pain though.

B.

Grenache,

I didn't say you were on the dual carriageway. I asked.

'Gently braking' and slamming on the brakes looks exactly the same to the car behind.

Being tailgated is a pain in the arse (and the guy sounds like a clown) but your (from your posts anyway) continuing anger, defensiveness, and desire to teach him a lesson seems to suggest that you're playing down how much you braked and/or how much you were determined to 'get your own back'.

When you say you want to hear what people say, I get the feeling that you really want us to say what you want to hear?

Just what comes across anyway.

Grenache,

I didn't say you were on the dual carriageway. I asked.
    My apologies, my reply was ment for Clare Guy who took the assumption that i was blocking the overtaking lane of a dual carriageway.
    to teach him a lesson seems to suggest that you're playing down how much you braked and/or how much you were determined to 'get your own back'.

When you say you want to hear what people say, I get the feeling that you really want us to say what you want to hear?

Just what comes across anyway.
    No i'm very open minded, and if I in some way exasparated the situation then i will take my part of the blame for it.
    I understand that perhaps i was wrong to brake, but it wasn't out of any anger or wanting to 'get my own back' that i did this. Of that i can assure you. I am not an aggressive driver. I simply wanted him to keep his distance from me. Imagine if for some reason, i did have to brake hard, because of an obstacle up ahead. Where would he be then? Half way up my axle no doubt!

I am taking on board what people are saying, and in future, i think pulling into the hard shoulder would be a better course of action. I am still in two minds whether to give a statement to the cops or not, its the full headlights that really made me furious. That was far more dangerous and callous an act than my braking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

I just want to make a point in relation to the perception that some people may have that now that this case has been reported it will go to court. I was assaulted by a driver while cycling my bike a few months ago and reported the incident to the Guards. The driver of the car denied my allegations and as such it was my word against his as there were no witnesses. Because I wasn't injured (although I was physically assaulted), when questioned the guy could not be cautioned and was not required to answer any questions or make a formal statement. I made a formal statement and as such he was required to present himself at the station but he continued to deny any encounter and couldn't be cautioned to make a statement. The file was sent to the Superintendant who decides if there is enough evidence to refer the file to the DPP and in my case he felt there wasn't so nothing is going to happen. The only consolation for me is that this guy had a Guard call to his door and had to present himself at the station, so at the very least he was inconvenienced and it may make him think before he decides to act like an aggressive idiot again. Also, if he is ever reported for any driving offences, the details pertaining to my complaint against him will be on the system.

I think in cases like this, even if nothing happens you have done the right thing in reporting him. Its this culture of giving out but not bothering to do anything about it which plays a part in why people like him act like they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I keep water balloons full of paint in a bucket in my car for situations like this, its works much better than brake checking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Doesn't matter how much of a pri(k someone is being, if theres room for you to pull in slightly, always pull in and let him by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭meanmachine3

I would hardly call sticking to the speed limit justifiable grounds for being antagonised by someone!

OP, Good luck with things.
    i didn't say it was justifible. what i'm trying to say here is that most tailgating happens when people who know how to drive actually stick to the speed limits. the speed limits set out are the max for a particular type of road, not the minimum as alot of tailgaters think.
    and TB.H. what the O.P. did would not be seen as antaganoising in my opinion.
    some of the posters are saying pull over to the hard shoulder and let the tailgater through. thats all fine if you have hardshoulders to do that, but most of the roads leading into dublin city centre dont have hard shoulders.
    plus i stand to be corrected on this one but i believe it's illegal to use a hard shoulder unless it's a break down of some sort.
    there are lots of roads where you cant do anything but put up with tailgating ,also i know it's been law for quite a while now but i've never heard of anyone getting done for tailgating and yet it's one of the most common things you'll ever see while driving.

Okay, I'm under somewhat less pressure now so will respond to this. It's on its way over to Motors as well but if the mods there have any strong feelings about it, they can bat it back and I'll close it on C&T.

OP, on occasion, I have to make the following declaration of interest: braking, however softly, was not a sensible thing to do. What would you have done if he had hit you? Getting rear-ended is nothing other than wholly inconvenient and not without risks. Braking was one of the worst things you could do. It's not a question of "perhaps" you were wrong. You were wrong on several grounds, the key one is that it poses a massive risk to yourself, much more than headlights in your rearview mirror. Did you really want to be rear-ended at that speed? You brake when you have to brake, and reasons do not include "teaching the driver behind you a lesson that they are too close".

With respect to the question of being a victim of road-rage, I'm sorry, I don't buy it. There are plenty of stupid drivers around. For the most part, road-rage is what happens when you respond to that stupidity with some aggression. From my point of view, by braking to try and alter another driver's behaviour, it was you who were doing the roadraging. Yes, the other driver should not have been driving up your rear end, but most of what you appear to be complaining about would never have happened if you hadn't braked. Yes, the guy was aggressive and nasty but frankly, I would not have behaved the way you did in the situation you were in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Braking with your left foot while accelerating with your right is how I get rid of tailgaters:)

A blue strobe light in the rear window works even better ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Braking with your left foot while accelerating with your right is how I get rid of tailgaters:)
    I used to do that but my new car throws a wobbly when I do it and kills power :eek:
    Now I tend to spray the windscreen washers to annoy them....if that doesn't work, go into too high a gear and floor it (which billows out smoke from my diesel :D), failing that I just continue along my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Pull in where it's safe to do so, let the idiot pass an then ...most imortantly ...keep well back and don't retaliate ...that's how you do it

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

MYOB wrote: »

Braking at any time, even jamming on fully is not dangerous unless the car behind you is not keeping a safe distance.

I'm not saying I agreee with tipping the brakes to get someone to back off is right, but if the OP did have to brake for an unknown reason it would amount to the same hazard to the car behind. The hazard is from not driving at a safe distance not braking. Never braking.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

But for me, there is some importance attached to intent. Effectively, the OP braked not because of an emergency ahead - which is justifiable - but to cause the driver behind to change their behaviour. In so doing, they could have directly caused an accident.

Surely accident avoidance is better? "They were too close and what if there was an accident, so I braked and did cause an accident" is no justification.

I'll give you that driving too close is a hazard. But braking for this reason strikes me as wrong and contributory to any potential accident. Leave the braking for when the road ahead demands it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Braking at any time, even jamming on fully is not dangerous unless the car behind you is not keeping a safe distance.

The hazard is from not driving at a safe distance not braking. Never braking.

Wrong!

Braking when you have to is one thing ...needlessly braking (or just slowing down) because someone is hitching a lift on your tow bar quite another.

Also ...consider this ...if you brake hard to avoid running over a small animal and this causes the car behind you to crash into you ...it will be your fault. You should have just run over the bunny-wabbit and not endangered the people in the other car behind you.

And lastly ...the tailgaiter behind you is already raging ...enraging them further by braking for no other reason than to "teach them a lesson" could bring the rage over the critical level ...they can see that you just braked because of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

peasant wrote: »
    Pull in where it's safe to do so, let the idiot pass an then ...most imortantly ...keep well back and don't retaliate ...that's how you do it

absolutely correct....