Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New closing hours for off licences - 10 pm 7 days a week

• 29-07-2008 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭

Waaaaah? I just caught the end of this on the radio.

Apparently a new rule comes into effect at the end of this week whereby all off licences have to close by 10 pm 7 days a week. Can anyone provide more info on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

how dare the government try and make ireland a happier, sober magical place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Unbelievable!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

July 29 is the new april fools day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Stupid rule. I find it hard enough having to dash down for 11/11:30 as it is :(

How will offie's closing earlier make Irish people any more sober? Good friday is probably the day we all drink the most, just because the man says we cant ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Funniest thing I heard was, on Newstalk news I think it was: "Tough new laws for Gardai to deal with blah blah blah".

Oh noes, they can take alcohol away from under 18's in the street now... lolwut? You mean they've not been able to do this all the time?

Tough new laws?

Also, closing an off license a little early and opening it a little later, how exactly does this achieve anything in the real world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Meh.
    My local serves for an hour after closing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

You're in for a shock, snyper. I advise you to have a spare pair of undies handy for when you realise it's not a joke and you drop one. Everybody begin panicking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Waaaaah? I just caught the end of this on the radio.

Apparently a new rule comes into effect at the end of this week whereby all off licences have to close by 10 pm 7 days a week. Can anyone provide more info on this?

They might as well cut off our balls(not mine)

Like seriously wtf?

The thing is for someone like me, go to the off license and stock up for a month!:p

MIN2511 wrote: »
    The thing is for someone like me, go to the off license and stock up for a month!:p
    or go an hour earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Overheal wrote: »
    or go an hour earlier?

Nah too lazy! As it is, me and the flatmate buy alcohol when we are doing the weekly shopping... 6 bottles of wine(3 red & 3 white) in Aldi/Lidl for good prices! Why bother!

Off license are rip offs(except when i need a naggin:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

go away yank.. keep your bible laws in the deep south with god, incest and grits.

:p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

This won't have any effect. It's basically the definition of bollox.

snyper wrote: »
    go away yank.. keep your bible laws in the deep south with god, incest and grits.

:p;)

rofl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

This has been in the offing (no pun intended) for months now. It was first proposed in April and has been mentioned every month since. People who say they're only hearing about it now have obviously been asleep for four months.

I'm delighted, serving drink at 9 in the morning like i currently do is just plain wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

lived in sweden for 5 months, were the offies closed at about 8/9 on week nights then on saturdays very few were open and the ones that were were only open from like 12-3 and sundays they were closed...result= big massive queus in the offies on friday evenings..
    i think this will make no difference if anything it will make things worse because us and our logical irish minds will think that because the off license is closing an hour earlier the smart thing to do is buy double the drink just in case,,

grenache wrote: »
    This has been in the offing (no pun intended) for months now. It was first proposed in April and has been mentioned every month since. People who say they're only hearing about it now have obviously been asleep for four months.

or drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I best buy twice as much at 9:50 then.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Won't affect me too much. My local sells cans (classy joint) so I can pop down any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭mikewest

Meh, can they please force the offies to stay open until 10. Our stupid local closes at 7 mon to wed 9 thur to sat and 6 on sunday, IDIOTS. And its the only one in town. If you want a can of beer or bottle of wine on the way home from work then Lidl is the only option. At least they're open till 9 every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Mena wrote: »
    Funniest thing I heard was, on Newstalk news I think it was: "Tough new laws for Gardai to deal with blah blah blah".

Oh noes, they can take alcohol away from under 18's in the street now... lolwut? You mean they've not been able to do this all the time?

Tough new laws?

Also, closing an off license a little early and opening it a little later, how exactly does this achieve anything in the real world?
    Yeah i'm going to take a High Court challenge and look for all those cans of Dutch and bottles of Coke with a naggin in them which were poured out back

And as a f*ck you to the government i'm gonna go to the offy at 9.55 every night and buy more cans than I would have before

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

And as a f*ck you to the government i'm gonna go to the offy at 9.55 every night and buy more cans than I would have before

yeah! Fight the Power! Hurt them where it really hurts! Pay EXTRA excise duty...

tool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I live abroad and have been keeping an eye on this since the bill.

Can't believe there hasn't been more upheaval by the public, If not for the pure stupidity of it all.

They say it's to reduce underage drinking. How is that going to work? Kids usually start lushin at about 7/8 o' clock anyway.

The thing to do was increase the age for buying from Offies to 21 or even 23. Not many 21/23 year olds will buy drink for 16 year olds. Not too many I know anyway.

So now we all get punished.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

ghey

Yeah i'm going to take a High Court challenge and look for all those cans of Dutch and bottles of Coke with a naggin in them which were poured out back

While you're "fighting the powah" by paying more taxes, if you could find it in your heart to pay my wages, my PAYE and PRSI as well I'd appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Off license are rip offs(except when i need a naggin:D)

They are fairly decently priced here.Closing at 10pm isn't a problem either, the local offl is starting to deliver from 4pm instead of 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I can't imagine this having much of an effect on anybody unless you're some sort of an alcoholic. The worse it does is slightly inconvience people. You could just buy your drink earlier and if you ran out then you've probably had enough already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭turf

they're making us start drinking earlier in the evening?

and buy in bulk in case we miss the 10pm curfew?

apart from the inconvenience, this will jus make people drunker... student accomodation in every college goin to the offie at 9.30 instead of 10.30 means an hour extra drinkin. government are pretty stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Exactly.

But hey, at least if they start drinking earlier, they're more likely to hit the bed early too and hence make an appearance in school the next day. Then again, sure it's only the junior cert :rolleyes:

Based on my local off licence, the problem isn't the opening hours, but WHO is getting booze. I'm only 18 and hardly old man river, apparently everyone who looks under 21 is supposed to be id'd. I've seen lads who don't look 16 carry enough Dutch out of the place to fill a swimming pool.

It's all nanny state sh!te, just enforce the age stuff more and stop denying legal adults the right to decide what to do with their time/money/blah blah. If I'm at a house party I often pop down the off licence to buy a few cans between a few of us, am I not allowed do that now in case some 12 year old is bollocksed up the laneway? If this is supposed to stop underage drinking, it's a mighty F'Up.

Close the pubs before it gets dark ministers, please :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

GET OUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭BumblebeeGirl

I work in an offie and am delighted that we have to close at 10pm- it means i have more time to play catch up at the weekend! But im not looking forward to seeing all those confused/angry faces from tomorrow night when we close up at 10- we already get enough hassle from the drunks as it is....bah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

Ah if they want drink bad enough they'll go before 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

The offie thing I just dont understand but we are also losing early opening.

This is a joke I mean lots of people coming off shift head in for a brekkie and a pint in what is their eveing I know I have.

Anyone think jobs could be lost becaue of this know at least 2 people who just work the breakfast shift in pubs

Think we still have the same opening hours, what time is opening for pubs now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

turf wrote: »
    How are they making you drink earlier? You don't have to drink as soon as you buy it. Do you try to eat a week's food shopping as fast as you can?

Now in response to what you probably meant by that:
    Do you not have a fair idea of how much you drink in a night? Surely you can just head off and buy some during the day.

Like I said if you've finished it off by the end of the night then you've probably had enough. Based on the amount of drink I see people buying, it should really be more than enough.

As for buying in bulk and somehow consuming more in a night leading to more drunken behavior, well you really shouldn't buy more than you'll need in the first place. Then there's the whole idea of knowing your limits and showing self control. I don't know where people get the idea that all of it has to be gone by the end of the night as opposed to just saving it for the next time.

I'm actually a little disturbed by everybody's obsession with drink. There's more to life than drink and if you actually feel more than just a little inconvenienced by this law than you may have a problem. You all seem so dependent on it. It's worrying.

Though I think that regardless of how much they try to enforce the current laws the situation will barely improve. I'm not saying this will change things dramatically but hell, at least they're doing something.

Oh and I think it's become a boards law that whenever any legislation to do with alcohol comes up, somebody will use the term "nanny state" or a similar variant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

This just means i'm gonna start drinkin an hour earlier. I used to pride myself in being in a decent state at club closing time cause I may have not started drinking til after 11pm'ish - now the government are forcing* me to go drinking earlier

* I'm a student, go fcuk yourself PC brigade

What do you mean theyre forcing you to drink earlier?? What a load of rubbish-im a student too AND work till 11 (10 from tomorrow) at night and dont feel that im being "forced to drink earlier"....grow up, theres only a difference of one hour, its not the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Davidius wrote: »
    How are they making you drink earlier? You don't have to drink as soon as you buy it. Do you try to eat a week's food shopping as fast as you can?

Now in response to what you probably meant by that:
    Do you not have a fair idea of how much you drink in a night? Surely you can just head off and buy some during the day.

Like I said if you've finished it off by the end of the night then you've probably had enough. Based on the amount of drink I see people buying, it should really be more than enough.

As for buying in bulk and somehow consuming more in a night leading to more drunken behavior, well you really shouldn't buy more than you'll need in the first place. Then there's the whole idea of knowing your limits and showing self control. I don't know where people get the idea that all of it has to be gone by the end of the night as opposed to just saving it for the next time.

I'm actually a little disturbed by everybody's obsession with drink. There's more to life than drink and if you actually feel more than just a little inconvenienced by this law than you may have a problem. You all seem so dependent on it. It's worrying.

Though I think that regardless of how much they try to enforce the current laws the situation will barely improve. I'm not saying this will change things dramatically but hell, at least they're doing something.

Oh and I think it's become a boards law that whenever any legislation to do with alcohol comes up, somebody will use the term "nanny state" or a similar variant.

Try to keep it for another time? Nice idea but in practice trying to protect your stockpile at the end of the night would be a nightmare. :D

Anyways, people will always want more drink once they're drunk to sustain their drunken state as long as possible. Its pretty crap sobering up.

Although, I do agree with what you say about people being too reliant on drink. Whole drinking malarky is too expensive anyways. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

More importantly did the doing away of nightclubs running theatre licences until 3:30am go ahead? Heard nothing more on it.

Davidius wrote: »
    i buy my food just before i eat it.. never hav anythin in the press so yes.

and what i mean is instead of headin for a few cans at 11 before a club, ya hav to go at 10.. and you will not sit around idle waiting to start.

this law is goin perfect wit bav's 8 pack deal. its the new standard 6 pack.

What do you mean theyre forcing you to drink earlier?? What a load of rubbish-im a student too AND work till 11 (10 from tomorrow) at night and dont feel that im being "forced to drink earlier"....grow up, theres only a difference of one hour, its not the end of the world.

god u sound lik bad craic in college.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Why is it that Ireland always seems to want to interfere in people's drinking habits? In Oz and NZ you can find bars open till all hours and they have a big drinking culture here too, like ours really, I mean the majority of folk here are descendants of Brits/Irish anyway. Are they blaming crime, assaults etc. on booze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

That's it I'm just going to have to start making my own Poitín .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Why is it that Ireland always seems to want to interfere in people's drinking habits? In Oz and NZ you can find bars open till all hours and they have a big drinking culture here too, like ours really, I mean the majority of folk here are descendants of Brits/Irish anyway. Are they blaming crime, assaults etc. on booze?

I never remember it being such a big issue until Prime Time ran a few docs filmed late night, the worst of the worst scenes picked.

In truth I havent seen a fight in Dublin at night in god knows how long. It is completely blown out of proportion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

This is terrible news :(

I'm just back from Berlin. The off license beside out apartment stayed open until 3 a.m on weekdays and 4:30 a.m on weekends. The clubs and bars stay open all night. 11 euro for a bottle of jagermeister & about the same for a crate.

Time to get out of this country.

yea they blame it on booze. i blame it on every club closing at the exact same time.

Tusky wrote: »
    This is terrible news :(

I'm just back from Berlin. The off license beside out apartment stayed open until 3 a.m on weekdays and 4:30 a.m on weekends. The clubs and bars stay open all night. 11 euro for a bottle of jagermeister & about the same for a crate.

Time to get out of this country.

Not many jobs at all in Berlin, unemployment is rife, you may as well say you were in Thailand and everything was much cheaper than Ireland, getting a job and living there is probably just as feasible...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Feck. I was kind of amused by the uproar over the nightclub closing hours since I don't generally go to clubs, but this is sh1t!

Phlann wrote: »
    Feck. I was kind of amused by the uproar over the nightclub closing hours since I don't generally go to clubs, but this is sh1t!

What has happened with the nightclub closing hours?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Haven't they changed too? Or have I misunderstood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

turf wrote: »
    yea they blame it on booze. i blame it on every club closing at the exact same time.

They have already admitted that there is no significant fall in drink related incidences since the introduction of the 24-hour licence over in England.