Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riot in Mullingar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Up to 200 people were involved in the incident at Dalton Park in Mullingar, during which two petrol bombs were thrown.
    Extra gardaí have been drafted in from surrounding areas and a garda helicopter is also at the scene. No arrests have been made.

Nobody saw nothing:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

This never would have happened if Joe Dolan was still alive. All he had to do was hum a few bars of one of his hits and the lion would lie down with the lamb and peace would break out everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

They mention petrol bombs but they don't mention slash hooks... for shame, every good riot has slash hooks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

jester77 wrote: »
    They mention petrol bombs but they don't mention slash hooks... for shame, every good riot has slash hooks!

Its just not the same without the auld slash hooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Pffft, sensational thread title, it was a violent clash, not a riot! No slash hooks required for a VC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

caoibhin wrote: »
    Just on newstalk, 200 people involved in a riot in an estate in Mullingar.

Link; http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhqlkfojqlid/

Our traveller friends perhaps?

RTE say 100. Appalling , disgraceful, lock 'em all up. Sure what's a bored scumbag to do on a hot sunny afternoon in the Midlands anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

Gardaí say the scene is now quiet

:D this cracked me up for some reason :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Gardaí say the scene is now quiet

:D this cracked me up for some reason :D

They were probably protesting against the recession. Bless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

More likely they were protesting against being stuck in Mullingar.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Warm up for Irish Olympic boxing squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Dalton Park is a hole anyway, they should just raize it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Memorized and added to list of no-go areas like Dunsink Lane, Castleknock :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

It's Mullingar so who cares.

Always remember your Dublin brothers love you :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭BeansMeansHynes

The dispute began at around 12pm and gardaí said it may have been triggered by what they described as a 'king of the tinkers-style' fist fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Petrol bombs at noon is mad though, you wouldn't get that with a bunch of orangies walking through West Belfast. Riots when most young lads are still in BED during the summer. Can't doubt their passion.

Any idea what they were rioting over yet?

The dispute began at around 12pm and gardaí said it may have been triggered by what they described as a 'king of the tinkers-style' fist fight.
    I, for one, welcome our new tinker overlord.

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Petrol bombs at noon is mad though, you wouldn't get that with a bunch of orangies walking through West Belfast. Riots when most young lads are still in BED during the summer. Can't doubt their passion.

Any idea what they were rioting over yet?

That sounds almost civilised and they'd have tea and scones on the lawn afterwards. "Family feud", the usual cover for a come all ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

i dont really understand why these thins are stopped!!

surelt to god if they're killing/maiming/injuring each other and not interfering with the rest of us, then whats the problem!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Lord Muck

i heard it started when the 'stop riden your sister parade ' passed the local halting site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭redarmy

:D:D:D
    Lord Muck wrote: »
    i heard it started when the 'stop riden your sister parade ' passed the local halting site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I've been kicking myself ever since I missed the O'Connell St. riot, why didn't anyone tell me, I loves a good riot I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Lord Muck wrote: »

lul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I also heard on the news that a number of them have been carted of to hospital.

More draining on the health service no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

Trojan911 wrote: »

Three apparently.

One arrested out of 200?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭BeansMeansHynes

There were more scuffles up at the the General Hospital later on.

This feud has been going on for ages. It always flares up every now and again but today was at lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

andrewie wrote: »
    One arrested out of 200?

They got him, thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

kowloon wrote: »
    I've been kicking myself ever since I missed the O'Connell St. riot, why didn't anyone tell me, I loves a good riot I do.

Same, I have my slash hooks ready just in case it happens again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Same, I have my slash hooks ready just in case it happens again though.

Pfff, a trident and a big net is the only way. Gives a riot that classical feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Trojan911 wrote: »

Hehe..."carted"...tinkers... :D

I like the Gardaí referred to it as a "king of the tinkers" style riot, rather than an "increased hostility zone" or somesuch. Call a spade a spade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

There were more scuffles up at the the General Hospital later on.

This feud has been going on for ages. It always flares up every now and again but today was at lot worse.

Are the feuds in Grange and Dalton Park related?

oooo I hear lots of sirens now :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Bit of hot weather + recession + s**thole of a town = riot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Nolanger wrote: »
    Bit of hot weather + recession + s**thole of a town = riot.

Groups of knackeres + Drink = Riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

I mean this is unbelievable. Why are people fighting down there? Just read the report off the RTE website, come on, 'king of the tinkers-style' fist fight, wtf? It's a pretty sad state of affairs if that's why they are fighting. They need to get out there, get educated and move away, find themselves a decent job. Staying too long in a place is not good for you especially if you have built up anger over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Thats true, the riots always happen before childrens allowance payday, gets real confusing with sisters, brothers and cousins fighting over the same child :D

Ringside seat for sale!!!

http://www.daft.ie/1291222

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

200 ppl fighting ...

Traveling comminity im certain.

If im wrong i will apologise.

There will be no need to i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

DonJose wrote: »
    Thats true, the riots always happen before childrens allowance payday, gets real confusing with sisters, brothers and cousins fighting over the same child :D

Ringside seat for sale!!!

http://www.daft.ie/1291222

Features:

* Good reachable traffic
    * Catchment Area for School
    * Solid Fuel Heating
    * Near Motorway
    * Near Church
    * A mere bottle throw from the famous Dalton Park annual event "King of The Tinkers"

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭barnacle

Typical...

200 People In Riot
    10 Squadcars at Scene
    3 People In Hospital
    2 Petrolbombs
    1 Arrest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

barnacle wrote: »
    Typical...

200 People In Riot
    10 Squadcars at Scene
    3 People In Hospital
    2 Petrolbombs
    1 Arrest

4 arrests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

barnacle wrote: »
    Typical...

200 People In Riot
    10 Squadcars at Scene
    3 People In Hospital
    2 Petrolbombs
    1 Arrest

1 King of the Tinkers. There can only be one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

There was a fight in Nobber on Saturday for 45,000. Thomas knockout Nevin from Mullingar, as his nickname goes, knocked out ''exteriminator'' MacDonagh after 40 mins.
    Word has it the skirmish was over the winner not being paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I read in the Metro (I know, I know...) today that it was actually the result of an unpaid bet on the King-of-the-Tinkers fistfight.

is_that_so wrote: »

One way to stop all this would be to give those guys hurleys instead of shovels and train them as a team. Westmeath would soon be challenging for All-Ireland honours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Boys O boys, here we are and everyone making a laugh out of this.

Ok I'm a taxpayer, high end tax payer.

Bunch of lazy knackers get involved in a riot,houses thrashed, garda expenses, medical expenses, extra garda expense in the future.

All the protagonists ,no doubt, on state assistance, never paid a cent tax in their lives, I feel quite confident in saying,and never will.

And here we are making a laugh at cnunts who are bleeding us dry?????

Every day of the week 24/7/365!!!!!

I'm not laughing, I have to pay for these people.

Do you people not pay taxes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Boys O boys, here we are and everyone making a laugh out of this.

Ok I'm a taxpayer, high end tax payer.

Bunch of lazy knackers get involved in a riot,houses thrashed, garda expenses, medical expenses, extra garda expense in the future.

All the protagonists ,no doubt, on state assistance, never paid a cent tax in their lives, I feel quite confident in saying,and never will.

And here we are making a laugh at cnunts who are bleeding us dry?????

Every day of the week 24/7/365!!!!!

I'm not laughing, I have to pay for these people.

Do you people not pay taxes??

That's right FlutterinBantam, just like my post on the previous page. It is stupid that they resort to this. That's where our tax money is going. Very disillusioned right now I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Sorry Denman, I knew your post treated the issue seriously.

my sentiments too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

I think we should respect their culture more. I thought Ireland was a progressive multicultural society? We can't be judging them using our value system. We have to make allowances for other people to express their native culture within our borders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

I think we should respect their culture more. I thought Ireland was a progressive multicultural society? We can't be judging them using our value system. We have to make allowances for other people to express their native culture within our borders.

This has to be a windup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭kelator

Bull, If i came come from a long line of alchoholics, then was out getting locked every night, i couldt dodge responsibility for my actions by saying it was part of my culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Scootay

This is a drugs fued. They've been squaring off to each other for weeks over it and the fight in Nobber was supposed to resolve it but obviously failed to do so.

The number of arrests was low because, as with the previous incidents in Grange, the gardai just kept them in one area and then concentrated on keeping the crowds of onlookers back.