Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The X-Files: I Want To Believe

• 28-07-2008 8:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know the official Irish opening date for The X-Files: I want to believe. On Cineworld Dublin it just says 'coming soon' and there is no option to pre-book advance screenings. Saw on a poster that the official date was 1st Aug but Cineworld do not have adavance booking for this date, but do have ones for even later, eg. hellboy aug 5th. If anyone has booked preview tickets could you let me know where you got them and for when...

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I saw it over in Germany..it truly is an awful movie!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Tusky wrote: »
    it truly is an awful movie!

I think you're being too kind to this movie

It really is absolutely dire

The Master wrote: »

Yup...I cant think of one thing I liked about it. Really awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Shockingly bad. I was a fan of the series, but it's just dross. Like a bad episode dragged out, with Billy Connolly hopelessly miscast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

billy connolly says it all. Surely if it was going to be any good it would be getting more press. And i dont think you need to prebook it, it wont sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

It had a disastrous opening weekend in the States too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

August 1st from the tv ads. Shame it looks shít, it was lost from season 5 anyway....

The biggest disappointment for me is that this seems like a missed opportunity. The idea to leave behind the long running storyline of the tv show and make an independent science fiction/horror movie was interesting. They could have made one every few years.

The problem is the film isnt scary or interesting. Its also horribly written and Billy Connolly is cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

FX Meister wrote: »
    billy connolly says it all. Surely if it was going to be any good it would be getting more press. And i dont think you need to prebook it, it wont sell out

Not to forget, X to the Z Xzibit!

Shame, the trailer suggested at least a hint of promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I wish. I wish. I hadn't opened this thread.

You would rather waste your money?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Ah crap - a part of me feels compelled to see this, having seen every episode of the original series (often multiple times) but there doesn't seem to be a positive word about it. And the trailer had me wary enough to start with... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

ixoy wrote: »
    Ah crap - a part of me feels compelled to see this, having seen every episode of the original series (often multiple times) but there doesn't seem to be a positive word about it. And the trailer had me wary enough to start with... :(

The trailer how be laughing out loud in the cinema. Billy Connelly, legend/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Billy Connolly is in it??!?

I used to love the XF - would watch and re-watch all the shows (up to around season 8 though).
    Fight The Future was a let down, and this... well, I dunno if I was expecting anything.
    Might buy it on DVD when it hits the bargain bins for 99c next year...

Boston wrote: »
    The trailer how be laughing out loud in the cinema. Billy Connelly, legend/

The trailer actually makes it look 10 times better than it really is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

You would rather waste your money?

Do you base all of your purchases on other people's reviews ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

The negative reviews are killing me, my expectations are now very, very low. The marketing of this film has been pretty abysmal and putting it up against The Dark Knight was a stupid decision. On the one hand the secrecy is good in terms of hiding the plot and creating a some buzz, but it does piss off the media.

Kim Newman gave it 3/5 which is alright. He usually knows his stuff.

The Master wrote: »

Shockingly bad. I was a fan of the series, but it's just dross. Like a bad episode dragged out, with Billy Connolly hopelessly miscast.
    eamon234 wrote: »
    It had a disastrous opening weekend in the States too

I can't get over how bad it was. I used to really like the series back in the day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I'm a huge x files fan and all this makes me a sad panda.

fight the future was a good movie imo.

tbh the fact that they pretty much killed everyone off in the series, didn't leave much open for a movie. csm, lone gunmen, krycek, x, all quality features of the show gone and it wasn't just mulder and scully who made it, it was combining all the other shows "bit part" players that made a really good episode.

i remember watching trailers for the tv shows "ohhh csm/kyrcek is in this something bigs gonna happen"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Jesus! the trailer does make it look like it's gonna be a big steaming pile of turd and that tw@ Billy Connolly didn't help (I really, really dislike him. Unfunny f*cker) And Scully is looking really.... pudgy or something!

I'm not going anywhere near this unless there's free things involved

The negative reviews are killing me, my expectations are now very, very low. The marketing of this film has been pretty abysmal and putting it up against The Dark Knight was a stupid decision. On the one hand the secrecy is good in terms of hiding the plot and creating a some buzz, but it does piss off the media.

Kim Newman gave it 3/5 which is alright. He usually knows his stuff.

Three stars from Empire means nothing! It's the category that nearly all films get regardless! It's like they're thinking "we can't say it's rubbish but it's not very good" . But I agree Kim Newman does know his stuff.

These ubiquitously bad reviews are bordering on it's "so bad it's good" .

Read this one from Aint it Cool news.com , it's titled "You'll Want to Believe Latauro's Review of X-FILES 2 Is a Hoax..."

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/37560

I've read a few reviews and the case is strong for it being rubbish. The script was rushed to finish before the writers' strike, Xhibit is in it, continuity is sort of out the window -
    Afterall Series 9 ended with the date set for the alien invasion and Xfiles 2 doesn't mention it apparently.
    and the list goes on....
    I'm still curious though.

Harrry's review here - http://www.aintitcool.com/node/37666

Three stars from Empire means nothing! It's the category that nearly all films get regardless! It's like they're thinking "we can't say it's rubbish but it's not very good" . But I agree Kim Newman does know his stuff.

These ubiquitously bad reviews are bordering on it's "so bad it's good" .

Read this one from Aint it Cool news.com , it's titled "You'll Want to Believe Latauro's Review of X-FILES 2 Is a Hoax..."

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/37560

I've read a few reviews and the case is strong for it being rubbish. The script was rushed to finish before the writers' strike, Xhibit is in it, continuity is sort of out the window -

Harrry's review here - http://www.aintitcool.com/node/37666

Any review featured on AICN is instantly null and void. Subjective criticism is something that AICN could never quite grasp. Fangoria gave it 2 and a half skulls out of 4, blood-disgusting gave it a 1 out of 5, so the gap between reviewers is quite large.

The best way to judge the film is to go see it yourself and make up your own mind rather than allowing other people to dictate what you watch.

Any review featured on AICN is instantly null and void. Subjective criticism is something that AICN could never quite grasp. Fangoria gave it 2 and a half skulls out of 4, blood-disgusting gave it a 1 out of 5, so the gap between reviewers is quite large.

The best way to judge the film is to go see it yourself and make up your own mind rather than allowing other people to dictate what you watch.

says you who thinks that Batman 6 is the best film in the universe :p;)

Well it is, so there.

Knowle's is infamous for giving preferential treatment to any film which the studio allow him early access to, gives him free stuff, sends him on holidays, pays for his liposuction, ect, ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Just in the door from it and very, very disappointed.

To sum it up, if average John and Mary were put in place of Mulder and Scully you wouldn't know it was an X-Files movie. There were feck all hints to the series and nothing extra-terrestrial-y in the plot.

4/10 if I'm nice.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Just in the door from it and very, very disappointed.

To sum it up, if average John and Mary were put in place of Mulder and Scully you wouldn't know it was an X-Files movie. There were feck all hints to the series and nothing extra-terrestrial-y in the plot.

4/10 if I'm nice.

It really was a load of bollix. I really thought it was going to be about
    Aliens. O no, its about a ****ing pedo priest that has visions about people he had relations with as young boys! What a load of horse **** TBH

Was it just me or was their hints that it was going to be a
    werewolf movie
    . I remember reading something about that ages ago and I got really excited when Molder was going on about
    dogs barking

Well it is, so there.
    Mature :rolleyes:
    Knowle's is infamous for giving preferential treatment to any film which the studio allow him early access to, gives him free stuff, sends him on holidays, pays for his liposuction, ect, ect.
    You could easily say that about any and every review(er) wether it be Jonathan Ross, Empire Magazine or Knowles. I linked to his site cause I thought that review was sort of funny in a tragic way!
    It really was a load of bollix. I really thought it was going to be about
    Aliens. O no, its about a ****ing pedo priest that has visions about people he had relations with as young boys! What a load of horse **** TBH
    That's not really a spoiler! That's just the plot synopsis
    Was it just me or was their hints that it was going to be a
    werewolf movie
    . I remember reading something about that ages ago and I got really excited when Molder was going on about
    dogs barking
    Carter released a pic of a werewolf to put peopple off the scent!

You could easily say that about any and every review(er) wether it be Jonathan Ross, Empire Magazine or Knowles. I linked to his site cause I thought that review was sort of funny in a tragic way!

That's not really a spoiler! That's just the plot synopsis

Carter released a pic of a werewolf to put peopple off the scent!

A bit **** to release a picture that hints at a much more interesting plot than the genuine plot.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Apparently details about how they created misinformation will be on the DVD.

From Frank Spotnitz's blog:
    I've been waiting for this! Pictures of Chris with werewolf head: fake. Photoshop image of David as werewolf: fake. Several call sheets: fake. Some script pages: fake. Expect more details on the "making of" documentary on the DVD.

Apparently some people broke into cars belonging to crew members during shooting in order to try and steal/find call sheets. That's just lousy behaviour.

A bit **** to release a picture that hints at a much more interesting plot than the genuine plot.

I was taken in by all the secrecy created by Carter too. I'm slightly shocked the reviews are this bad! I've watched every episode of the show on DVD in the last year. The first film wasn't great but it was still alright, like a long episode really and I'm assuming that's what this will be like - one of them bad post series 6/7 episodes.

Its much worse than the first film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Well I'm still gonna see it. TBH I'm put off mostly by Billy Connollys presence rather than the slew of bad feedback. Tho that said he was good in the Debt Collector and Lemony Snicketts so who knows.....

Pigman II wrote: »
    Well I'm still gonna see it. TBH I'm put off mostly by Billy Connollys presence rather than the slew of bad feedback. Tho that said he was good in the Debt Collector and Lemony Snicketts so who knows.....

I'm put off every time I see Billy Connollys name on a cast list. He should stick to comedy!

Dont get me started on this man!

xfilesxzRUCK2904_468x335.jpg

I think we need a sarcasm smilie on here. :D

The review was tragic no doubt about that.

Is Ross even a critic? Having watched some of his reviews he does'nt actually review the film so much as offer a plot synopis followed by some less than steller criticism. More often than not he will slate an actor on Film 2008 then be sucking up to them on his chat show come Friday. And lets not forget that he called Batman Forever "the greatest movie ever made"

While every critic is guilty of it Knowles just crosses the line and does it on such an obvious manner. Look through any of his reviews and it's difficult to find a negative one in there. He panders to anyone who offers him freebies which completely undermines his position as a reviewer.

Roger Egbert is a bonafied film critic. His initial distaste for Vincent Gallo's Cannes cut of The Brown Bunny and the war of words which himself and Gallo engaged in isinfamous. Yet when the film was released in a re-edited form Egbert gave it a positive review showing just how subjective he could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭stereoroid

Roger Egbert is a bonafied film critic.
    "Egbert"? :pac:

Anyway: Mark Kermode of the BBC hasn't reviewed it in full yet, but he has said a little bit about a "Jump The Shark" type moment he wasn't previously aware of: here.

I'd just like to emphiase again how god damn bad it was !

I'd actually tell people to go and see it just to see how bad it is :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭FionnMatthew

I saw it there too. Last Thursday, actually. In the Sony Centre in Berlin's Potsdammerplatz! Where were you?

My review of the movie is here, for anyone who wants to read it, btw.

stereoroid wrote: »

That's him, my apologies, yesterday was not wxactly a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Just after seeing it.
    Character wise Mulder and Scully are the same as always ,a bit darker and bitter ,but thats to be expected.
    The acting and characterisation by Duchovny and Andersen is good too and there is chemistry between them .

People expecting a summer blockbuster will be sorely disappointed,its not that type of film.
    There are virtually no optical special effects in this movie.
    There are few action sequences.
    There is little violence of any kind, and there are no explosions whatsoever.
    All the fireworks, rather...are purely human; emotional.

The Dialogue and internal conflicts of the characters are well developed.
    However the main plot/X file is very disappointing.
    Its predictable,drawn out ,cliched and the ending isnt even fully explained .
    There's very little paranormal activity and the hidden secrets/inner workings of the FBI are missing.

The characters are the same but the plot is just too poor to rescue it.
    Its seemed to be a vehicle just to resurrect Mulder and Scully but a vehicle with no engine.
    6/10

I saw it there too. Last Thursday, actually. In the Sony Centre in Berlin's Potsdammerplatz! Where were you?

My review of the movie is here, for anyone who wants to read it, btw.

Thats really weird! I saw it in the Sony Center as well. Could well have been Thursday also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

And lets not forget that he called Batman Forever "the greatest movie ever made"

Are you serious?

You can't be serious...

Are you serious?

You can't be serious...

Unfortunatly I am, it was embossed across the back of the VHS. Ross is little more than a poster quote whore.

stereoroid wrote: »

Anyway: Mark Kermode of the BBC hasn't reviewed it in full yet, but he has said a little bit about a "Jump The Shark" type moment he wasn't previously aware of: here.

Ironically enough one of the last episodes was called "Jump the Shark". Very odd interview! I think he's taking the piss a bit.
    I think it's knaff that Mulder and Scully have "Got it on "
    too. But ah well, loads of itnernet geeks wanted it to happen, there's some akward moments in the last 2 series and the baby angle was just odd.
    Unfortunatly I am, it was embossed across the back of the VHS. Ross is little more than a poster quote whore.

Ah give it a rest!

I was expecting to seriously hammer it completely but once the lights went out I felt all that wanting to loathe it drift away as I wanted to give it a fair chance. I was honestly preparing myself to come here and post a long rant about how many of us began a journey 15 years ago, had reached the present only to be visited by a pile of crap. I guess I was a little knocked by the reviews but as stated I dropped all that once the lights dimmed. Overall, I would say it wasn't great but not atrocious. I don't know why but the projector or something was slightly out of line so any time the location showed up in the bottom left hand corner in traditional XF manner, it was somewhat obscured. It was the same with FTF. Annoying.

The FBI characters were wasted, CC's talk about Peet being somehow Scully-like in terms of intelligence just didn't quite come through for me. I wasn't expecting her to be a Scully-clone but generally the FBI peoples were a bit underdeveloped. OK, so it's about M & S, I get that, but sometimes it's no harm to flesh out the surrounding characters, anything, a peculiar personality trait, sorry but I just wanted a little more there. It simply wasn't scary, this is what we kept hearing and what they were trying to sell us from pre-production to now. It didn't have that eery feel of say, The Mist, no real jump out of your seat moments and it just didn't feel like an X File. Of course jumping out of your seat is not always an accurate measure of something being scary, and perhaps TXF often took a less is more approach, and we had plenty of episodes ending with the monster not being fully investigated or caught. I liked some of the little nods such as pencils in the ceiling and Mulder leaving Scully a voicemail, there's something about the Mulder's phone mannerism that I find hilarious. Perhaps Scully was right back in the day 'Mulder, if you had to do without a cell phone for two minutes, you’d lapse into catatonic schizophrenia.' :D

The scene after the credits was pretty silly and I'm glad the camera didn't zoom in too much. I was the only one to stay for that part. If we were to cut this down to the running time of an episode from back in the day, and were given the task of introducing some to TXF, then this is not something I would show them. It just isn't up there. I wasn't expecting a masterpiece or a blockbuster, and to be honest I don't get some of the fierce online hatred of Chris Carter, but the story is essentially what lets it down. I've said it didn't feel like an X File and it just doesn't, is it because the FBI trappings/leash (not that a leash always stopped the duo's antics!) are absent, who knows but most weeks in the series we got a taste of something strange, odd, freaky, a good conspiracy back when it was comprehensible...whatever you want to call it. This felt a bit static, flat.

I thought Gillian was amazing though, might just be me but wow, what a screen presence.

I don't think I've been particularly harsh but I don't think I can give it more than 2/5. I feel the plot is the main reason I can't be generous and give it 3. As I said, I expected to hammer it, and I was going to come out saying the best thing about it was that there was hot girl a few seats away from me, ahem, but I don't believe my criticism is stinging like it is in some quarters. It was no The Happening but it just felt like they could have done more. I know some fellow philes who expressed some concerns about the short window of production time and release around the time the film got the greenlight. I can't help but wonder if they were right. I wonder if the writers' strike played a role here, weren't the TPTB sort of half boasting that they'd gotten the script sorted out prior to the strike kicking off? I mean, maybe they put themselves under unnecessary pressure to finish it and crammed. We know they said Fox said that it's pretty much now or never but I think they could have given themselves a little more time, and who knows held off until Xmas 2008 or summer 2009 for a release date. At least that way they might have been able to sharpen the storyline. I was never expecting a masterpiece but they could have ensured that all the necessary elements worked.

Is it a good X File? No
    Is it a good film? Not particularly.
    Is it an achievement that they made it considering it was stuck in development hell for yonks and yonks? Well, yes.

Been a fan of the X-Files as long as I can remember and went in with my expectations seriously lowered given the amount of negative reviews that the film has attracted.

I would love to say that I have an opinion of the film but unfortunatly I endured 100 minutes of threats, abuse and the misfortune of having two sumbags hold me against the wall and inform me that if I "went out to complain they would stab me".

I had to move twice during the film, listen to said scum bags answer their phone, play tunes, talk throughout the film, threaten other people there including myself and eventually bear witness to a fight between them and another cinema goer. The saddest aspect of all this is that there was'nt a staff member to be found during the duration of the film even though myself and three other people went out on a number of ocassions to complain. After a few attempts to get staff to intervene the scumbags began to run out after us and threaten us. In the end the guards were called and something which I had dreamed of for nearly 14 years was completely ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

God damnit, that's so infuriating. If I'm ever diagnosed with a terminal illness I'm going on a scumbag-rampage.

I know the feeling. Everytime I or someone else told them to shut the fuck up they would spit at us and just talk louder. Afterward when the guards were called and failed to show up I was talking to someone who worked there and had finished at 9 about it was and telling herwhat happened and how there were no staff to help. She told me that once the last showing began all that were left were the projectionist and two members of staff.

She did say that the scumbags in question would be barred and that she would get me some complimentary tickets so it's not all bad. That said one of my childhood dreams was to see Mulder adn Scully on the big screen and that dream was ruined though I do plan on going back tonight and seeing it again. Hopefully this time I'll get to see it in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

something which I had dreamed of for nearly 14 years was completely ruined.

Eh?

Pigman II wrote: »
    Eh?

I've been a massive fan of the X-Files since I first saw it 14 years ago and always said that I wanted to see it in the cinema. I never got to see the first film in the cinema as my local cinema never got it in and I had to wait to see it on video.